Minister's Order: Canadian Agricultural Partnership Business Risk Management Theme Program - AgriRecovery [0008/2020]

Whereas the agriculture, agri-food and agri-based products sector provides an important economic and social contribution within Ontario;

And whereas the responsibility for agriculture within Ontario is shared between Canada and Ontario and both Canada and Ontario have a long history of collaboration in working toward a prosperous agriculture, agri-food and agri-based products sector within Ontario;

And whereas the agriculture, agri-food and agri-based products sector is operating in a rapidly changing global environment where demand is rising in response to ever-growing population, rising incomes and increased non-food uses of agricultural products;

And whereas on July 21, 2017, the majority of Ministers responsible for agriculture across Canada endorsed the Canadian Agricultural Partnership, which sets out the broad parameters for the Canadian Agricultural Partnership Framework, which replaced Growing Forward 2;

And whereas the intent of the Canadian Agricultural Partnership Agreement is to achieve a prosperous, sustainable, competitive and innovative agriculture, agri-food and agri-products sector that is market-responsive and that anticipates and adapts to changing circumstances within Canada as a whole;

And whereas Ontario supports the underlying purposes of the Canadian Agricultural Partnership Agreement;

And whereas Ontario signed the Canadian Agricultural Partnership Agreement on January 19, 2018;

And whereas the Canadian Agricultural Partnership Agreement consists of two general overarching themes: (1) the business risk management theme, which is aimed at helping producers mitigate against the inherent risks involved in producing agricultural products; and (2) the non-business risk management theme, which is aimed at promoting the sustainable growth, innovation and competitiveness of the agriculture, agri-foods and agri-products sector;

And whereas section 4 of the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Act provides the Minister with the authority in relation to the administration of laws relating to agriculture, food and rural affairs and all their branches;

And whereas section 6.2(1) of the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Act provides the Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs with the authority to establish programs for the encouragement of agriculture, food and rural affairs within Ontario;

And whereas the Canadian Agricultural Partnership Business Risk Management Theme Program was established as of April 1, 2018 via the Previous Order pursuant to section 6.2(1) of the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Act;

And whereas Ontario believes it is important decisions made under its business risk management programs be open and transparent as well as subject to third-party reviews and would like to have the BRMRC review decisions made under AgriRecovery

And whereas the Previous Order needs to be amended to provide the BRMRC with the authority to review decisions made under AgriRecovery;

And whereas sections 49 and 54 of the Legislation Act, 2006 has the effect of providing the Minister with the power to amend, revoke or replace from time to time an order establishing a program under section 6.2 of the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Act;

And whereas I, the Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs, wish to make amendments to the program known the Canadian Agricultural Partnership Business Risk Management Theme Program to allow people to request a review from the BRMRC in relation to issues arising under AgriRecovery;

Now therefore, and pursuant to my authority under section 6.2(1) of the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Act and sections 49 and 54 of the Legislation Act, 2006, I hereby order the following:

Part 1 - Interpretation of this Order

  1. (1) For the purposes of this Minister's Order, the following terms will have the following meanings:

    "BRMRC" means the Business Risk Management Review Committee, as continued by the OIC;

    "Minister's Order" means this Minister's Order, as it may be amended from time to time;

    "OIC" means Order-in-Council 1460/2018, which continued the BRMRC, as it may be amended from time to time; and

    "Previous Order" means Minister's Order 0004/2018, which established the Canadian Agricultural Partnership Business Risk Management Theme Program as of April 1, 2018.

    (2) Any capitalized term not defined within this Minister's Order will have the same meaning as set out under the Previous Order.

Part 2 - Amendment to Part XI - AgriRecovery of Previous Order

  1. Section 110 of the Previous Order is amended by adding the following definitions in their proper alphabetical order:

    "BRMRC" means the Business Risk Management Review Committee, as continued by OIC 1460/2018, as amended, and includes any successor entity;

    "OIC 1460/2018" means Order-in-Council 1460/2018, as may be amended from time to time;

    "Review" means a review of the initial decision or reconsidered decision, as the case may be, by the BRMRC;

  2. Section 117(1) of the Previous Order is amended by striking out the reference to "section 37(2) of this Order" and replacing it with "sections 37(1) and 37(2)(a) of this Order".
  3. The following is added as sections 119.1 to 119.12 of the Previous Order:

    Internal Reconsideration

    1. 119.1(1) An internal reconsideration process that allows a Person or Participant to ask for a decision made pursuant to this Part XI of the Order to be reviewed will be established.

      (2) Where an internal reconsideration process is established pursuant to section 119.1(1) of this Order, the following will be done:

      1. A guidance document setting out how the internal review process works will be established;
      2. Timelines in which a decision under the internal review process will be issued will be set out; and
      3. Applicants or Participants will be informed that that Applicant or Participant does not have to request an internal reconsideration of the original decision that was made and can make a request for review to the BRMRC.

    Request For Review To The Business Risk Management Review Committee

    General
    1. 119.2 AgriRecovery is a program in which the BRMRC may hear Reviews pursuant to the OIC 1460/2018.
    1. 119.3 Where an Applicant or Participant is not satisfied with:
      1. The initial decision; or
      2. The decision arising out of an internal reconsideration of the initial decision, the Applicant or Participant may request a Review be undertaken by the BRMRC within ninety (90) days after the initial decision was made or the decision arising out of the internal reconsideration of the initial decision was made.
    1. 119.4 Despite the time in which a request for a Review is to be made under section 119.3 of this Order, the Chair of the BRMRC may extend the time in which an Applicant or Participant may request a Review be undertaken by the BRMRC if the Chair is satisfied extenuating circumstances prevented the Applicant or Participant from making the request for Review within the time limit set out under section 119.3 of this Order.
    Processing Reviews And Business Risk Management Review Committee Recommendations
    1. 119.5 The BRMRC may conduct a Review of the initial decision or reconsidered decision in writing or in person.
    1. 119.6 Where an Applicant or Participant requests a Review pursuant to section 119.3 of this Order, the request will:
      1. Be made to the Chair of the BRMRC;
      2. Be in writing;
      3. Set out the nature of the request for Review;
      4. Set out the grounds upon which the Applicant or Participant intends to rely upon during the Review; and
      5. Set out whether the Applicant or Participant wants the BRMRC to conduct the Review in writing or in person.
    1. 119.7 Subject to sections 119.8 to 119.10 of this Order, the BRMRC will conduct the Review in accordance with the rules the BRMRC established for Reviews made under the AgriStability pursuant to the OIC 1460/2018.
    2. 119.8 The Chair of the BRMRC will, upon receipt of the Review package, assign the Review to the panel responsible for conducting the Review as soon as is practicable after receiving the Review package.
    3. 119.9 The Review conducted by the BRMRC is strictly limited to what the Applicant or Participant has requested be reviewed during the Review. The BRMRC will not consider any other issue not specifically raised in the Review package it receives from the Chair.
    1. 119.10 The Chair of the BRMRC will provide a written copy of the BRMRC's recommendations to the:
      1. Person making the initial decision or the reconsidered decision; and
      2. Applicant or Participant that made the request, as soon as practicable after the recommendations have been made.
    Final Decision
    1. 119.11 The individual responsible for making the final decision on the matter will make a final decision, after considering the recommendation of the BRMRC, within thirty (30) Business days of receiving the recommendation pursuant to section 119.10 of this Order. The individual responsible for making the final decision will also provide a written copy of the final decision to:
      1. The Applicant or Participant; and
      2. The Chair of the BRMRC, within the same thirty (30) Business Day time period in which the final decision will be made.
    1. 119.12 The final decision is strictly limited to what the Applicant or Participant has requested be reviewed during the Review. The individual responsible for making the final decision will not consider any other issue not specifically raised in the Review package the Chair of the BRMRC originally received pursuant to section 119.6 of this Order.

This Order comes into effect upon signature.

Original signed by

The Honourable Ernie Hardeman
Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs

Executed on this 25th day of October, 2020.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Arrêté du ministre : Programme du volet de gestion des risques des entreprises dans le cadre du Partenariat canadien pour l'agriculture - Agri-relance [0008/2020]

Attendu que le secteur de l'agriculture, de l'agroalimentaire et des produits agro-industriels contribue de façon importante à l'économie et à la société ontarienne;

Attendu que la responsabilité de l'agriculture en Ontario est partagée entre le Canada et l'Ontario et que le Canada et l'Ontario collaborent depuis longtemps pour assurer la prospérité du secteur de l'agriculture, de l'agroalimentaire et des produits agro-industriels en Ontario;

Attendu que le secteur de l'agriculture, de l'agroalimentaire et des produits agro-industriels évolue dans un contexte mondial qui change rapidement, où la demande augmente en raison de la croissance soutenue de la population mondiale, de la hausse des revenus et de l'utilisation accrue de produits agricoles à des fins non alimentaires;

Attendu que, le 21 juillet 2017, la majorité des ministres responsables de l'agriculture de l'ensemble du Canada a appuyé le Partenariat canadien pour l'agriculture, qui expose les paramètres généraux de l'accord-cadre dudit partenariat, qui remplace Cultivons l'avenir 2;

Attendu que l'accord-cadre du Partenariat canadien pour l'agriculture a pour but de favoriser un secteur de l'agriculture, de l'agroalimentaire et des produits agro-industriels prospère, durable, compétitif et novateur qui est sensible aux signaux du marché, prévoit les changements et s'y adapte dans l'ensemble du Canada;

Attendu que l'Ontario appuie les objectifs sous-jacents de l'accord-cadre du Partenariat canadien pour l'agriculture;

Attendu que l'Ontario a signé l'accord-cadre du Partenariat canadien pour l'agriculture le 19 janvier 2018;

Attendu que l'accord-cadre du Partenariat canadien pour l'agriculture comprend deux grands volets généraux : (1) le volet de la gestion des risques des entreprises, qui vise à aider les producteurs à atténuer les risques inhérents à la production agricole; et (2) le volet de la gestion des risques non liés à l'entreprise, qui vise à promouvoir la croissance durable, l'innovation et la compétitivité du secteur de l'agriculture, de l'agroalimentaire et des produits agro-industriels;

Attendu que l'article 4 de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales donne au ministre le pouvoir d'appliquer les lois qui se rapportent à l'ensemble des secteurs de l'agriculture, de l'alimentation et des affaires rurales;

Attendu que le paragraphe 6.2(1) de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales donne au ministre de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales le pouvoir de mettre sur pied des programmes visant à favoriser l'essor du secteur de l'agriculture, de l'alimentation et des affaires rurales en Ontario;

Attendu que l'arrêté antérieur, pris en vertu du paragraphe 6.2(1) de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales, a mis sur pied le 1er avril 2018 le Programme relatif à la gestion des risques commerciaux du partenariat canadien pour l'agriculture, renommé Programme du volet de gestion des risques des entreprises dans le cadre du Partenariat canadien pour l'agriculture aux termes de l'arrêté ministériel 0002/2019;

Attendu que l'Ontario estime qu'il est important que les décisions prises dans le cadre de ses programmes relatifs à la gestion des risques des entreprises le soient de façon ouverte et transparente et puissent faire l'objet d'un examen par des tiers et aimerait que le CEPGRE examine les décisions prises dans le cadre du programme Agri-relance;

Attendu que l'arrêté antérieur doit être modifié pour donner au CEPGRE le pouvoir d'examiner les décisions prises dans le cadre d'Agri-relance;

Attendu que les articles 49 et 54 de la Loi de 2006 sur la législation confèrent au ministre le pouvoir de modifier, d'abroger ou de remplacer un arrêté mettant sur pied un programme en vertu de l'article 6.2 de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales;

et Attendu que moi, ministre de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales, souhaite modifier le programme intitulé Programme du volet de gestion des risques des entreprises dans le cadre du Partenariat canadien pour l'agriculture pour permettre à une personne de demander au CEPGRE d'examiner les décisions se rapportant à des questions relevant du programme Agri-relance;

Pour ces motifs, et en vertu des pouvoirs que me confèrent le paragraphe 6.2(1) de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales et les articles 49 et 54 de la Loi de 2006 sur la législation, je prends par les présentes l'arrêté qui suit :

Partie 1 - Interprétation

  1. (1) Les définitions qui suivent s'appliquent au présent arrêté :

    « arrêté » Le présent arrêté ministériel, dans ses versions successives;

    « arrêté antérieur » L'arrêté ministériel 0004/2018, qui a mis sur pied le Programme du volet de gestion des risques des entreprises dans le cadre du Partenariat canadien pour l'agriculture le 1er avril 2018;

    « CEPGRE » Le Comité d'examen des programmes de gestion des risques des entreprises, maintenu par le décret;

    « décret » Le décret 1460/2018, qui maintient le CEPGRE, dans ses versions successives.

    (2) Les termes non définis dans l'arrêté s'entendent au sens que leur donne l'arrêté antérieur.

Partie 2 - Modification de la Partie XI - Agri-relance de l'arrêté antérieur

  1. Les définitions suivantes sont ajoutées, suivant l'ordre alphabétique, à l'article 110 de l'arrêté antérieur :

    « CEPGRE » Le Comité d'examen des programmes de gestion des risques des entreprises, maintenu par le décret 1460/2018 dans ses versions successives, ou toute entité pouvant lui succéder;

    « décret 1460/2018 » Le décret 1460/2018, dans ses versions successives;

    « examen » Examen de la décision initiale ou de la décision prise à l'issue de son réexamen, selon le cas, par le CEPGRE.

  2. Au paragraphe 117(1) de l'arrêté antérieur, les mots « du paragraphe 37 (2) du présent arrêté » sont supprimés et remplacés par les mots « du paragraphe 37 (1) et de l'alinéa 37 (2) a) du présent arrêté ».
  3. Les articles 119.1 à 119.12 ci-dessous sont ajoutés à l'arrêté antérieur :

    Réexamen interne

    1. 119.1 (1) Une procédure de réexamen interne permettant à une personne ou à un participant de demander le réexamen d'une décision prise en application de la Partie XI du présent arrêté sera instaurée.

      (2) Lorsqu'une procédure de réexamen interne est instaurée en application du paragraphe 119.1 (1) du présent arrêté :

      1. un document d'orientation exposant le fonctionnement de la procédure de réexamen interne est rédigé;
      2. un délai est fixé pour la communication de la décision; et
      3. les demandeurs ou participants sont informés qu'ils ne sont pas tenus de demander un réexamen interne de la décision initiale et peuvent demander au CEPGRE de l'examiner.

    Demande d'examen au Comité d'examen des programmes de gestion des risques des entreprises

    Généralités
    1. 119.2 Le programme Agri-relance permet au CEPGRE d'entendre les demandes d'examen conformément au décret 1460/2018.
    2. 119.3 Un demandeur ou un participant qui est insatisfait :
      1. de la décision initiale; ou
      2. de la décision prise à l'issue d'un réexamen interne de la décision initiale, peut, dans les quatre-vingt-dix (90) jours suivant la décision en cause, demander au CEPGRE de l'examiner.
    3. 119.4 Le président du CEPGRE peut prolonger le délai prévu à l'article 119.3 du présent arrêté s'il a la conviction que des circonstances exceptionnelles ont empêché le demandeur ou le participant de présenter une demande dans le délai en question.
    Traitement des examens et des recommandations du Comité d'examen des programmes de gestion des risques des entreprises
    1. 119.5 Le CEPGRE peut procéder à un examen de la décision initiale ou de la décision prise à l'issue de son réexamen par écrit ou en personne.
    2. 119.6 La demande d'examen présentée par un demandeur ou un participant en vertu de l'article 119.3 du présent arrêté doit :
      1. être adressée au président du CEPGRE;
      2. être faite par écrit;
      3. préciser la nature de la demande d'examen;
      4. exposer les motifs sur lesquels le demandeur ou le participant a l'intention de se fonder durant la demande d'examen; et
      5. indiquer si le demandeur ou le participant souhaite que le CEPGRE s'occupe de la demande d'examen par écrit ou en personne.
    3. 119.7 Sous réserve des articles 119.8 à 119.10 du présent arrêté, le CEPGRE effectue l'examen conformément aux règles qu'il a établies pour les examens menés dans le cadre du programme Agri-stabilité en vertu du décret 1460/2018.
    4. 119.8 Le président du CEPGRE confie, le plus tôt possible après réception du dossier d'examen, l'étude du dossier au groupe chargé de l'examen.
    5. 119.9 L'examen effectué par le CEPGRE se limite strictement aux éléments sur lesquels le demandeur ou le participant a demandé que porte l'examen. Le CEPGRE n'examine aucune question n'ayant pas été expressément soulevée dans le dossier d'examen reçu du président.
    6. 119.10 Le président du CEPGRE remet, dans les meilleurs délais, une copie écrite des recommandations du CEPGRE :
      1. à l'auteur de la décision initiale ou de la décision prise à l'issue de son réexamen; et
      2. au demandeur ou au participant ayant présenté la demande.
    Décision définitive
    1. 119.11 Après étude des recommandations du CEPGRE, la personne habilitée rend une décision définitive sur la question dans les trente (30) jours ouvrables suivant la réception, conformément à l'article 119.10 du présent arrêté, desdites recommandations. Elle fait aussi parvenir, dans ce même délai de trente (30) jours ouvrables, une copie écrite de la décision définitive :
      1. au demandeur ou au participant; et
      2. au président du CEPGRE.
    2. 119.12 La décision définitive se limite strictement aux éléments sur lesquels le demandeur ou le participant a demandé que porte l'examen. La personne chargée de prendre la décision définitive n'examine aucune question n'ayant pas été expressément soulevée dans le dossier d'examen reçu par le président du CEPGRE conformément à l'article 119.6 du présent arrêté.

Le présent arrêté ministériel entre en vigueur dès sa signature.

Original signé par

L'Honorable Ernie Hardeman
Ministre de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales

Signé le jour 25 de octobre, 2020.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca