Minister's Order: Ontario Edible Horticultural Support Program [0006/2019]

Whereas the Government of Ontario recognizes the important economic and social contribution agriculture plays within Ontario;

And whereas the edible horticultural sector is a significant contributor to Ontario's economy;

And whereas the edible horticultural sector as a whole was experiencing increased cost pressures arising from circumstances beyond their control, such as the increasing costs related to energy and labour;

And whereas the Program was established on January 30, 2018 by the Previous Order, issued pursuant to section 6.2 of the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Act to assist the edible horticultural sector address the increasing costs related to energy and labour;

And whereas the Government of Ontario has since taken action to reduce the costs related to energy and labour;

And whereas the Government of Ontario's actions to reduce energy and labour costs will help to reduce the operational costs for small and medium-sized operators within the edible horticultural sector;

And whereas section 4 of the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Act provides the Minister with the authority in relation to the administration of laws relating to agriculture, food and rural affairs and all of their branches;

And whereas section 6.2(1) of the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Act provides the Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs with the authority to establish programs for the encouragement of agriculture, food and rural affairs within Ontario;

And whereas sections 49 and 54 of the Legislation Act, 2006 have the effect of providing the Minister with the power to amend, revoke or replace from time to time an order establishing a program under section 6.2 of the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Act;

And whereas I believe the Program is no longer needed as a result of the Government of Ontario's actions to reduce energy and labour costs;

Now therefore and pursuant to my authority under sections 4 and 6.2(1) of the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Act and sections 49 and 54 of the Legislation Act, 2006, the Program is hereby, subject to the terms and conditions set out herein, terminated as of the date this Order comes into effect.

Part I – Interpretation

Interpretation

  1. For the purposes of this Order, the following terms will have the following meanings:

    "Order" means this Order, Minister Order Number 0011;

    "Participant" means a person who participated in the Program and received a Program Payment;

    "Previous Order" means Minister's Order Number 0001/2018, which established the Program;

    "Program" means the Ontario Edible Horticulture Support Program, as established by the Previous Order;

    "Program Payment" means the provision of funds to a Participant under the Program;

  2. Any capitalized term not defined within this Minister's Order will have the same meaning as set out under the Previous Order.

Part II – Notification Of Termination Of Program And Posting Of Order

  1. (1) The Program Administrator will notify the Service Provider delivering the Program the Program has been terminated and the date the Program was terminated.

    (2) The Service Provider will post a notice on its website setting out the Program has been terminated, the date of the Program's termination and a copy of this Order.

Part III – Outstanding Program Payments

  1. Any Program Payments arising before but remaining unpaid by the Service Provider at the time this Order is signed will be paid.

Part IV – Non-Accepted Program Payments

  1. (1) Any Applicant that has not accepted a Program Payment by March 31, 2019 will no longer be eligible to receive the Program Payment, provided the requirements set out under section 5(2) of this Order have been met.

    (2) Section 5(1) of this Order will only apply if:

    1. The Program Administrator has sent, or caused to be sent, a first letter of warning to the Participant setting out the Participant will lose his/her/its eligibility to receive the Program Payment if the Participant has not accepted the Program Payment by March 31, 2019;
    2. The Program Administrator has sent, or caused to be sent, a second letter of warning to the Participant setting out the Participant will lose his/her/its eligibility to receive the Program Payment if the Participant has not accepted the Program Payment by March 31, 2019; and
    3. The Participant has not accepted the Program Payment by March 31, 2019.

Part VI – Provision Of Information And Audits Under The Program

  1. (1) Notwithstanding anything else contained within this Order, this Order will not affect a person's obligations under Part VII of the Previous Order.

    (2) For greater clarity, the requirements under Part VII of the Previous Order will apply and be applied as if this Order had not been signed if or when the need arises.

Part VII – Collection Of Debts Arising Under The Program

  1. (1) Notwithstanding anything else contained within this Order, this Order will not affect a Participant's obligation to repay any debts arising under the Program in a timely manner, as required under Part IX of the Previous Order.

    (2) For greater clarity, the requirements under Part IX of the Previous Order will apply and be applied until all debts owing under the Program have been collected or otherwise appropriately dealt with in accordance with the Financial Administration Act as if this Order was not signed.

This Order comes into effect on the date it is signed.

Original signed by

The Honourable Ernie Hardeman
Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs

Executed on this 28th day of February, 2019.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Arrêté ministériel : Programme ontarien de soutien visant les produits horticoles comestibles [0006/2019]

Attendu que le gouvernement de l'Ontario reconnaît l'importante contribution économique et sociale de l'agriculture en Ontario;

Et attendu que le secteur des produits horticoles comestibles est une composante importante de l'économie de l'Ontario;

Et attendu que le secteur des produits horticoles comestibles dans son ensemble subit des pressions accrues sur les coûts attribuables à des situations indépendantes de sa volonté, comme l'augmentation des coûts liés à l'énergie et à la main-d'œuvre;

Et attendu que le programme a été mis sur pied le 30 janvier 2018 par l'arrêté antérieur, pris en vertu de l'article 6.2 de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales pour aider le secteur des produits horticoles comestibles à répondre à l'augmentation des coûts liés à l'énergie et à la main-d'œuvre;

Et attendu que le gouvernement de l'Ontario a depuis pris des mesures pour réduire les coûts liés à l'énergie et à la main d'œuvre;

Et attendu que les mesures prises par le gouvernement de l'Ontario pour réduire les coûts liés à l'énergie et à la main-d'œuvre aideront à réduire les coûts opérationnels des petits et moyens exploitants au sein du secteur des produits horticoles comestibles;

Et attendu que l'article 4 de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales confère au ministre les pouvoirs liés à l'application des lois qui se rapportent à l'ensemble des secteurs de l'agriculture, de l'alimentation et des affaires rurales;

Et attendu que le paragraphe 6.2 (1) de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales confère au ministre de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales le pouvoir de mettre sur pied des programmes visant à favoriser l'essor de l'agriculture, de l'alimentation et des affaires rurales en Ontario;

Et attendu que les articles 49 et 54 de la Loi de 2006 sur la législation ont pour effet de conférer au ministre le pouvoir de modifier, d'abroger ou de remplacer à l'occasion un arrêté mettant sur pied un programme en vertu de l'article 6.2 de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales;

Et attendu que j'estime que le programme n'est plus nécessaire en raison des mesures prises par le gouvernement de l'Ontario pour réduire les coûts liés à l'énergie et à la main-d'œuvre;

En conséquence, et en vertu de mon pouvoir prévu à l'article 4 et au paragraphe 6.2 (1) de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales et des articles 49 et 54 de la Loi de 2006 sur la législation, le programme prend fin par les présentes, sous réserve des conditions qui y sont énoncées, à la date d'entrée en vigueur du présent arrêté.

Partie I – Interprétation

Interprétation

  1. (1) Aux fins du présent arrêté, les termes ci-dessous auront les significations suivantes :

    « arrêté » Le présent arrêté du ministre portant le numéro 0011;

    « participant » Une personne qui a participé au programme et qui a reçu un paiement au titre du programme;

    « arrêté antérieur » L'arrêté du ministre numéro 0001/2018, qui a mis sur pied le programme;

    « programme » Le Programme ontarien de soutien visant les produits horticoles comestibles, tel qu'il a été mis sur pied par l'arrêté antérieur;

    « paiement au titre du programme » Le versement de fonds à un participant dans le cadre du programme;

  2. Tout terme clé non défini dans le présent arrêté du ministre aura le même sens que celui qui lui avait été attribué dans l'arrêté antérieur.

Partie II – Avis de fin du programme et affichage de l'arrêté

  1. (1) L'administrateur du programme avisera le fournisseur de services exécutant le programme que celui-ci a pris fin ainsi que de la date à laquelle il a pris fin.

    (2) Le fournisseur de services affichera sur son site Web un avis indiquant que le programme a pris fin, la date à laquelle il a pris fin ainsi qu'une copie du présent arrêté.

Partie III – Paiements au titre du programme impayés

  1. Tout paiement au titre du programme exigible avant le présent arrêté mais toujours impayé par le fournisseur de services à la date de signature du présent arrêté sera effectué.

Partie IV – Paiements au titre du programme non acceptés

  1. (1) Tout demandeur qui n'a pas accepté un paiement au titre du programme avant le 31 mars 2019 ne sera plus admissible à le recevoir, à condition que les exigences énoncées au paragraphe 5 (2) du présent arrêté soient remplies.

    (2) Le paragraphe 5 (1) du présent arrêté ne s'appliquera que si :

    1. l'administrateur du programme a envoyé, ou a fait envoyer, une première lettre d'avertissement au participant précisant que le participant perdrait son admissibilité à recevoir le paiement au titre du programme s'il n'acceptait pas celui-ci avant le 31 mars 2019;
    2. l'administrateur du programme a envoyé, ou a fait envoyer, une seconde lettre d'avertissement au participant précisant que le participant perdrait son admissibilité à recevoir le paiement au titre du programme s'il n'acceptait pas celui-ci avant le 31 mars 2019; et
    3. le participant n'a pas accepté le paiement au titre du programme avant le 31 mars 2019.

Part VI – Communication de renseignements et vérifications dans le cadre du programme

  1. (1) Nonobstant toute autre disposition du présent arrêté, le présent arrêté n'aura aucune incidence sur les obligations d'une personne en vertu de la partie VII de l'arrêté antérieur.

    (2) Il est entendu que les exigences prévues à la partie VII de l'arrêté antérieur s'appliqueront et seront appliquées comme si le présent arrêté n'avait pas été signé ou en cas de besoin.

Partie VII – Recouvrement de dettes découlant du programme

  1. (1) Nonobstant toute autre disposition du présent arrêté, le présent arrêté n'aura aucune incidence sur l'obligation du participant de rembourser toute dette découlant du programme en temps opportun, comme l'exige la partie IX de l'arrêté antérieur.

    (2) Il est entendu que les exigences prévues à la partie IX de l'arrêté antérieur s'appliqueront et seront appliquées jusqu'à ce que toutes les dettes exigibles aient été recouvrées ou que des mesures appropriées aient été prises à leur égard conformément à la Loi sur l'administration financière comme si le présent arrêté n'avait pas été signé.

Le présent arrêté entre en vigueur à la date à laquelle il est signé.

Original signé par

L'Honorable Ernie Hardeman
Ministre de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales

Signé le 28 jour de février 2019.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca