Horse Racing Industry Development Program Amendment: Termination date extension

Whereas a program known as The Horse Racing Industry Development Program was continued by OIC 894/2015 effective April 1, 2016 for the encouragement of agriculture within Ontario;

And whereas OIC 894/2015 set out a termination date of March 31, 2019 for the program;

And whereas Ontario wishes to continue the encouragement of agriculture and the investments that increase and promote the breeding and racing of quality Ontario-Bred and Ontario-Sired racehorses and the sustainability of horse breeding within the province of Ontario;

And whereas subsection 7(8) of the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Act provides that a program established by the Lieutenant Governor in Council under section 7 of that Act before March 22, 2017 and that is still in effect on that day, is deemed, on and after that day, to be a program established by the Minister under section 6.2 of that Act;

And whereas the Horse Racing Industry Development Program as continued by OIC 894/2015 effective April 1, 2016 meets the criteria described in section 7(8) of the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Act and is therefore deemed to be a program established by the Minister under section 6.2 of that Act;

And whereas sections 49 and 54 of the Legislation Act, 2006 confers on the Minister certain powers to amend, including a program established under section 6.2 of the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Act;

Now therefore, and pursuant to sections 6.2 and 7 of the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Act and sections 49 and 54 of the Legislation Act, 2006, I hereby order that section 4 of OIC 894/2015 is amended by replacing the termination date of March 31, 2019 with a termination date of March 31, 2021.

This order is effective on the date of signature set out below.

Original signed by

Jeff Leal,
Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs

Date: July 13, 2017


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Firstname SPACE Lastname SPACE HYPHEN SPACE Title/Affiliation
(eg. John Doe - Crop Specialist/University of Guelph)
Use a SEMI COLON to separate multiple entries:
(eg. John Doe - Crop Specialist/University of Guelph; Jane Doe - Crop Specialist/OMAFRA)
Creation Date: dd SPACE fullmonth SPACE yyyy
Last Reviewed: dd SPACE fullmonth SPACE yyyy

Modification apportée au Programme de développement de l'industrie des courses de chevaux : prolongation de la date d'expiration

Attendu que le décret 894/2015 maintenait un programme appelé le Programme de développement de l'industrie des courses de chevaux à compter du 1er avril 2016 dans le but de favoriser l'agriculture en Ontario;

Et attendu que le décret 894/2015 stipulait le 31 mars 2019 comme date d'expiration du programme;

Et attendu que l'Ontario souhaite continuer de favoriser l'agriculture et les investissements qui accroissent et promeuvent la reproduction et les courses de chevaux de course de qualité élevés et engendrés en Ontario ainsi que la durabilité de l'élevage de chevaux dans la province de l'Ontario;

Et attendu que le paragraphe 7 (8) de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales stipule qu'un programme qui a été mis sur pied par le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil en vertu de l'article 7 de cette Loi avant le 22 mars 2017 et qui est toujours en vigueur ce jour-là est réputé, à compter de ce jour, avoir été mis sur pied par le ministre en vertu de l'article 6.2 de cette Loi;

Et attendu que le Programme de développement de l'industrie des courses de chevaux tel que maintenu par le décret 894/2015 à compter du 1er avril 2016 satisfait les critères du paragraphe 7 (8) de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales et qu'il est par conséquent réputé avoir été mis sur pied par le ministre en vertu de l'article 6.2 de cette Loi;

Et attendu que les articles 49 et 54 de la Loi de 2006 sur la l'gislation confièrent au ministre certains pouvoirs de modification, y compris un programme mis sur pied en vertu de l'article 6.2 de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales;

À ces causes et en vertu des articles 6.2 et 7 de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales ainsi que des articles 49 et 54 de la Loi de 2006 sur la l'gislation, j'ordonne par les présentes que l'article 4 du décret 894/2015 soit modifié en remplaçant la date d'expiration du 31 mars 2019 par la date d'expiration du 31 mars 2021.

Le présent arrêté entre en vigueur à la date de signature ci-dessous.

Original signé par

Jeff Leal,
Ministre de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales

Date : 13 juillet 2017


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca