Minister's Order: Horse Racing Industry Development Program - Termination of Program [0001/2019]

Whereas the program known as The Horse Racing Industry Development Program was continued by OIC 894/2015 effective April 1, 2016 for the encouragement of agriculture within Ontario.

And whereas a Minister's Order issued July 13, 2017 extended that program until March 31, 2021.

And whereas the province of Ontario wishes to ensure that government programs are delivered efficiently and effectively, and that horse racing funding is being consolidated at the Ministry of Finance and the Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation. The province of Ontario now wishes to have the Ministry of Finance, instead of the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs, continue the work to increase and promote horse breeding and horse racing within the province of Ontario.

And whereas subsection 7(8) of the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Act provides that a program established by the Lieutenant Governor in Council under section 7 of that Act before March 22, 2017 and that is still in effect on that day, is deemed, on and after that day, to be a program established by the Minister under section 6.2 of that Act.

And whereas the Horse Racing Industry Development Program as continued by OIC 894/2015 meets the criteria described in section 7(8) of the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Act and is therefore deemed to be a program established by the Minister under section 6.2 of that Act.

And whereas sections 49 and 54 of the Legislation Act, 2006 confers on the Minister certain powers to amend, revoke, or replace, including a program established under section 6.2 of the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Act.

Now therefore and pursuant to my authority under sections 6.2 and 7 of the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Act, and sections 49 and 54 of the Legislation Act, 2006 the program known as the

Horse Racing Industry Development Program

is hereby terminated effective August 31, 2019. As such, OIC 894/2015, as amended by Minister's Order issued July 13, 2017, is also revoked effective August 31, 2019.

Original signed by:

The Honourable Ernie Hardeman
Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs

Executed on this 25 day of March, 2019.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Arrêté ministériel : Programme de développement de l'industrie des courses de chevaux - date d'expiration [0001/2019]

Attendu que le décret 894/2015 maintenait un programme appelé le Programme de développement de l'industrie des courses de chevaux à compter du 1er avril 2016 dans le but de favoriser l'agriculture en Ontario.

Et attendu que l'arrêté ministériel pris le 13 juillet 2017 prolongeait ce programme jusqu'au 31 mars 2021.

Et attendu que la province de l'Ontario désire s'assurer que les programmes gouvernementaux sont offerts efficacement, et que le financement des courses de chevaux est regroupé au ministère des Finances et à la Société des loteries et des jeux de l'Ontario. La province de l'Ontario désire que le ministère des Finances remplace le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales pour continuer le travail entrepris afin d'accroître et de promouvoir la reproduction et les courses de chevaux dans la province de l'Ontario.

Et attendu que le paragraphe 7 (8) de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales prévoit qu'un programme qui a été mis sur pied par le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil en vertu de l'article 7 de cette Loi avant le 22 mars 2017 et qui est toujours en vigueur ce jour-là est réputé, à compter de ce jour, avoir été mis sur pied par le ministre en vertu de l'article 6.2 de cette Loi.

Et attendu que le Programme de développement de l'industrie des courses de chevaux tel que maintenu par le décret 894/2015 satisfait les critères du paragraphe 7 (8) de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales et qu'il est par conséquent réputé avoir été mis sur pied par le ministre en vertu de l'article 6.2 de cette Loi.

Et attendu que les articles 49 et 54 de la Loi de 2006 sur la législation confèrent au ministre certains pouvoirs de modification, d'abrogation et de remplacement, notamment d'un programme mis sur pied en vertu de l'article 6.2 de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales.

À ces causes et en vertu des pouvoirs que me confèrent les articles 6.2 et 7 de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales, ainsi que les articles 49 et 54 de la Loi de 2006 sur la législation, le programme connu sous le nom de

Programme de développement de l'industrie des courses de chevaux

prend fin, par les présentes, à compter du 31 août 2019. Par conséquent, le décret 894/2015, tel que modifié par l'arrêté ministériel du 13 juillet 2017, est également révoqué à compter du 31 août 2019.

Original signé par

L'Honorable Ernie Hardeman
Ministre de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales

Signé le 25 jour de mars 2019.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca