Minister's Order: Ontario Wildlife Damage Compensation Program [0010/2018]

Whereas the program known as the Ontario Wildlife Damage Compensation Program was established on July 1, 2011 by Order-In-Council 1313/2011 and continued by Order-In-Council 502/2016 for the encouragement of agriculture and food within Ontario;

And whereas section 7(8) of the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Act provides that a program established by the Lieutenant Governor in Council under section 7 of that Act before March 22, 2017 and that is still in effect on that day, is deemed, on and after that day, to be a program established by the Minister under section 6.2 of that Act;

And whereas the Ontario Wildlife Damage Compensation Program, meets the criteria set out under section 7(8) of the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Act and is deemed to be a program established by the Minister under section 6.2 of that Act;

And whereas sections 49 and 54 of the Legislation Act, 2006 has the effect of providing the Minister with the power to amend, revoke or replace from time to time an order establishing a program under section 6.2 of the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Act;

And whereas I, the Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs, wish to make amendments to the Ontario Wildlife Damage Compensation Program.

Now therefore, and pursuant to my authority under sections 6.2 and 7(8) of the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Act and sections 49 and 54 of the Legislation Act, 2006, I hereby order the following:

Part 1 – Interpretation

  1. For the purposes of this Order, the following terms will have the meanings set out below:

    "OIC" means Order-In-Council 502/2016;

    "Order" means this Minister's Order, number 0010/2018;

  2. Any capitalized term not defined within this Order will have the same meaning as set out under the OIC.

Part 2 – Amendments to the Administration of the Program

  1. Section 11(9)(c) of the OIC is revoked and replaced with:
    1. Any changes to the Guidelines will be effective as of the date set out therein; and

Part 3 – Amendments to Eligibility Requirements

  1. The following provision is added as section 15(3) to the OIC:

    (3) Despite section 15(2)(d), an Applicant will not be considered ineligible to receive compensation under this Program where that Applicant has failed to adhere to the filing dates in Ontario Regulation 722/93: Filing Dates, made under the Farm Registration and Farm Organizations Funding Act, 1993.
  2. The following provision is added as section 15(2)(f) to the OIC:
    1. Have a valid Farm Business Registration Number in the current year or the year immediately preceding the current year or have a valid Farm Business Registration Number exemption.

This Order is effective as of the date of signature set out below.

Original signed by

The Honourable Ernie Hardeman
Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs

Executed on this 4th day of September, 2018.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Arrêté du ministre : Programme ontarien d'indemnisation des dommages causés par la faune [0010/2018]

Attendu que le programme connu sous le nom de Programme ontarien d'indemnisation des dommages causés par la faune a été mis sur pied le 1er juillet 2011 par le décret 1313/2011 et prorogé par le décret 502/2016 afin de favoriser l'essor de l'agriculture et de l'alimentation en Ontario;

Et attendu que le paragraphe 7 (8) de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales prévoit qu'un programme qui a été mis sur pied par le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil en vertu de l'article 7 de cette Loi avant le 22 mars 2017 et qui est toujours en vigueur ce jour-là est réputé, à compter de ce jour, avoir été mis sur pied par le ministre en vertu de l'article 6.2 de cette loi;

Et attendu que le Programme ontarien d'indemnisation des dommages causés par la faune respecte le critère prévu au paragraphe 7 (8) de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales et est par conséquent réputé être un programme mis sur pied par le ministre en vertu de l'article 6.2 de cette loi;

Et attendu que les articles 49 et 54 de la Loi de 2006 sur la législation ont pour effet de fournir au ministre le pouvoir de modifier, d'abroger ou de remplacer de temps à autre un arrêté mettant en place un programme en vertu de l'article 6.2 de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales;

Et attendu que je, le ministre de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales, souhaite apporter des modifications au Programme ontarien d'indemnisation des dommages causés par la faune.

En conséquence, et en vertu de mon pouvoir prévu à l'article 6.2 et au paragraphe 7 (8) de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales ainsi qu'aux articles 49 et 54 de la Loi de 2006 sur la législation, je prends par les présentes l'arrêt qui suit :

Partie I - Interprétation

  1. Aux fins du présent arrêté, les termes suivants sont définis comme suit :

    « décret » désigne le décret 502/2016;

    « arrêté » désigne le présent arrêté du ministre, numéro 0010/2018.

  2. Tout terme clé non défini dans le présent arrêté aura le même sens que celui qui lui est attribué dans le décret.

Partie 2 - Modifications visant l'administration du programme

  1. L'alinéa 11 (9) c) du décret est révoqué et remplacé par ce qui suit :
    1. les modifications apportées aux lignes directrices entreront en vigueur à la date qui y est indiquée;

Partie 3 - Modifications visant les exigences d'admissibilité

  1. La disposition suivante est ajoutée à titre de paragraphe 15 (3) du décret :

    (3) Malgré l'alinéa 15 (2) d), un demandeur n'est pas considéré inadmissible à une indemnisation aux termes du programme s'il a omis de respecter les dates de dépôt prévues au Règlement de l'Ontario 722/93 : Dates de dépôt, pris en application de la Loi de 1993 sur l'inscription des entreprises agricoles et le financement des organismes agricoles.
  2. La disposition suivante est ajoutée à titre de paragraphe 15(2)(f) du décret :
    1. Avoir un numéro d'inscription d'entreprise agricole valide pour l'année en cours ou pour l'année qui précède l'année en cours l'année en cours ou bénéficier d'une exemption valide de numéro d'inscription d'entreprise agricole.

Le présent arrêté entre en vigueur à compter de la date de la signature indiquée ci-dessous.

Original signé par

L'honorable Ernie Hardeman
Ministre de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales

Signé ce 4 jour de septembre 2018.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca