Organic Listening Sessions Report Back

To help better understand the needs of the organic industry and to identify ways industry and government can work to grow the organic food market in Ontario, the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA) held listening sessions in late November and early December 2017 with producers, processors, distributors, retailers, marketing boards and agricultural organizations. This document provides a summary of what was discussed during those listening sessions.1

Session Format

Four sessions were held in three different formats (in-person roundtable, in OMAFRA field offices connected via webcast, and online webcast (one in English and one in French)) to ensure broad participation and feedback from across the organic industry value chain. In advance of the sessions, a discussion paper was shared with attendees to help initiate and inform the discussions. OMAFRA began each session with a brief presentation, and then opened the discussion to participant comments.

The presentation contained an overview of the sector, current government supports and potential challenges facing continued growth of the sector. For all of the listening session formats, five questions were posed to participants to generate discussion:

  1. What are the opportunities for continued growth of the organic sector?
  2. Which segments within the organics industry hold the most promise?
  3. What are the barriers to growth and how can Ontario overcome these challenges in order to continue to grow the industry?
  4. What best practices or approaches from other jurisdictions could be considered for Ontario to benefit the organic sector?
  5. How can the industry and government work together to best position the sector for continued growth?

The first session was an in-person Roundtable with 13 industry leaders held on November 28, 2017, in Guelph. The organic value chain was well represented, with attendees from businesses at the producer and retail level, agriculture and food organizations, organic sector organizations and certification bodies.

A second session was held on December 5, 2017, across eight OMAFRA field offices, connected via webcast and teleconference. 49 participants attended the in-person discussions at field offices in Ridgetown, Woodstock, Vineland, Brighton, Kemptville, Verner, Guelph and Toronto.2 Two online webcasts were held on December 7, 2017, one in English and one in French, reaching 38 participants (36 in English, 2 in French).

Participants were also invited to submit any additional feedback by December 15, 2017, and nine additional written submissions were received. In total, the listening sessions included 100 participants with representation from along the entire value chain.

What We Heard

The listening sessions generated wide-ranging and productive discussions of the questions posed in the discussion paper. In follow up, OMAFRA committed to reviewing the feedback and providing a summary of what was heard to participants. Below are the highlights from each of the questions discussed. Overall, the conversations centred on how to support the industry across five main themes:

  • Regulation of the term "organic"
  • Transition support
  • Research and education
  • Technical expertise
  • Data collection

Questions 1 and 2: Organic Industry Opportunities and Potential

The first two questions, "what are the opportunities for continued growth of the organic sector?" and "which segments within the organics industry hold the most promise?" were grouped together for discussion purposes. Overall, session participants painted a picture of an industry with wide-ranging opportunities for continued growth.

OMAFRA heard that there are many opportunities for import replacement, as the volume of imported organic products grows every year. To help address this demand, the industry would benefit both from expanding its foundation of serving the primary product market, and from finding opportunities to focus on value-added activities to serve both domestic and export markets. There is also potential for value-added activities beyond primary food products. Fruits and vegetables, red meat and poultry, dairy and eggs, wine grapes, wine, cannabis, cash crops, legumes and pulses were identified as specific products with the most potential.

OMAFRA also heard that there is an opportunity to market organic products to consumers who need to avoid products with conventional inputs. Similarly, organic products could be better marketed to millennials, who seem to have a high level of interest in buying organic. There is also a growing market for ready-to-eat meals that the organic industry can tap into.

Question 3: Barriers to Growth

The third question focused on challenges facing the organic industry. Participants were asked "what are the barriers to growth and how can Ontario overcome these challenges in order to continue to grow the industry?" In response, OMAFRA heard that in order to capitalize on opportunities for growing Ontario's organic industry, more effort is needed with respect to:

  • data collection and data availability to help the industry determine baseline levels of activity and better assess the size and scope of opportunities, as no comprehensive source of data on the organic industry exists. Since the listening sessions, the Organic Council of Ontario launched its Ontario Organic Directory in January 2018 as a first step in helping to connect and promote Ontario's organic businesses.
  • additional resources and dedicated technical support to provide advice to players along the value chain (e.g. on production practices, disease management, transition preparation, etc.). More organic curriculum, especially in post-secondary institutions, would also be helpful.
  • regulating the term organic as a way to lend consistency and credibility to the marketing of organic food, protect consumers from false advertising, and reduce consumer confusion. At the same time, there was also support for accommodating small producers through an alternative model to formal certification (e.g. a pledge system).
  • building up Ontario organic processing infrastructure and capacity; for example, there is a perceived lack of abattoirs, flash-freezing facilities and storage capacity.
  • developing supports to offset the reported cost of transitioning from conventional to organic production; and
  • research in a range of areas related to organic agriculture, including best production practices, crop varieties and weed control.

Question 4: Best Practices from Other Jurisdictions

A fourth question asked participants to share best practices that Ontario could adopt from other jurisdictions. The question posed was "what best practices or approaches from other jurisdictions could be considered for Ontario to benefit the organic sector?"

Attendees offered examples from other provinces, the United States and Europe.

In Canada, Quebec, British Columbia and Manitoba were seen as leaders in best practices. For example, Quebec and Manitoba governments collect organic sector data and provide extension services, and British Columbia offers a pledge-based model as an alternative to certification for small farmers. In the United States, organic organizations' promotion and research activities are funded via optional re-direction of a small portion (0.1%) of producer, processor and handler sales of organic products. The United States Department of Agriculture also provides funding for organic farm demonstration plots for certain products. And the E.U. conducts research into best practices and technology beneficial to the organic industry and disseminates the results widely through an all-access communications forum. In addition, the E.U. awards merit points to recognize the contribution of organic production to other government goals, such as climate change mitigation and soil health.

Several innovative or best practices were also identified from other Ontario agricultural organizations. For example, the Ecological Farmers Association of Ontario is running farmer-led research programs. The Chicken Farmers of Ontario recently launched an artisanal chicken program, which includes training and coaching to bring small scale producers into the system while also serving niche and growing markets. And ProCert, an organic certification body, offers certification for small farms at a reasonable cost.

Question 5: Government-Industry Collaboration

The fifth and final question asked participants "how can the industry and government work together to best position the sector for continued growth?" Participant suggestions included development of a sector strategy, access to government programming for the organic sector, and consideration for recognition of the ecological services provided by organic production.

Attendees indicated a desire for additional dedicated technical expertise for the organic sector, along with provision of more learning opportunities and information about best practices, including establishing benchmarks. Greater promotion through the already-established Foodland Ontario program Organic logo would also be helpful.

Conclusion

OMAFRA is now working to review and investigate the wealth of content provided in these comments and would like to thank all participants for their valuable contributions.


1 This document provides a summary of comments but is not a transcript of the listening sessions. As a result, comments have not been attributed to individual participants or the organizations or businesses they represented.

2 Sault Sainte Marie was offered as a ninth location but there were no participants that registered or attended this location.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Jill Melo-Graydon - Senior Policy Advisor (EDPB/OMAFRA)
Creation Date: 03 April 2018
Last Reviewed: 03 April 2018

Rapport des séances de discussion sur le secteur des produits biologiques

À la fin de novembre et au début de décembre 2017, le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario (MAAARO), dans le but de mieux comprendre les besoins du secteur des produits biologiques et d'identifier comment le secteur et le gouvernement peuvent faire progresser ce marché en Ontario, a tenu des séances de discussion avec des producteurs, des transformateurs, des distributeurs, des détaillants, des commissions de commercialisation et des organismes agricoles. Le présent document résume la teneur des débats qui ont eu lieu à cette occasion1.

Format des séances

On a tenu quatre séances sous trois différents formats (table ronde en personne, dans les bureaux régionaux du MAAARO reliés par webdiffusion, et par webdiffusion en ligne (une en anglais et une en français)) pour assurer une large participation et une réponse en provenance de l'ensemble de la chaîne de valeur du secteur des produits biologiques. Avant les séances, on a envoyé aux participants un document d'information dans le but d'amorcer et d'éclairer les discussions. Le MAAARO a ouvert chacune de ces séances par un bref exposé, puis il a invité les personnes présentes à formuler leurs commentaires.

L'exposé contenait un survol du secteur, des formes actuelles de soutien apporté par le gouvernement et des obstacles possibles au maintien de la croissance du secteur. Dans tous les formats, on a posé cinq questions pour amorcer le débat :

  1. Quelles sont les opportunités de maintien de la croissance du secteur des produits biologiques?
  2. Quels segments du secteur sont les plus prometteurs?
  3. Quels sont les obstacles à la croissance du secteur et comment l'Ontario peut-il les surmonter pour permettre le maintien de cette croissance?
  4. Quelles sont les meilleures pratiques ou approches adoptées par d'autres juridictions et qui pourraient être bénéfiques au secteur des produits biologiques en Ontario?
  5. Comment le secteur et le gouvernement pourraient-ils collaborer pour positionner le secteur le mieux possible en vue du maintien de sa croissance?

La première séance était une table ronde en personne à laquelle ont assisté 13 chefs de file du secteur; elle a eu lieu le 28 novembre 2017 à Guelph. La chaîne de valeurs des produits biologiques était bien représentée puisque les participants étaient issus d'entreprises de production et de vente au détail, d'organismes agro-alimentaires et du secteur des produits biologiques, et d'organismes de certification.

La deuxième séance a eu lieu le 5 décembre 2017, et elle regroupait huit bureaux régionaux du MAAARO reliés par webdiffusion et téléconférence. Quarante-neuf participants ont assisté aux séances de discussion en personne qui ont eu lieu dans les bureaux régionaux de Ridgeton, Woodstock, Vineland, Brighton, Kemptville, Verner, Guelph et Toronto2. Deux séances de webdiffusion en ligne ont eu lieu le 7 décembre 2017, une en anglais et une en français, avec un total de 38 participants (36 en anglais et 2 en français).

Les participants ont aussi été invités à envoyer leurs autres commentaires avant le 15 décembre 2017, et ils nous ont fait parvenir neuf documents écrits. Au total, ces séances de discussion ont réuni 100 participants représentant l'ensemble de la chaîne de valeurs.

Ce que nous avons appris

Ces séances ont suscité une vaste gamme de discussions constructives sur les questions posées dans le document d'information. Au cours du suivi, le MAAARO s'est engagé à prendre connaissance des commentaires et à en envoyer un résumé aux participants. Voici quels sont les points saillants des réponses apportées à chacune des questions. De façon générale, les conversations ont porté sur cinq principaux volets concernant le soutien qui devrait être apporté au secteur :

  • Réglementation de l'appellation biologique
  • Soutien à la transition
  • Recherche et éducation
  • Expertise technique
  • Collecte de données

Questions 1 et 2 : Opportunités et potentiel du secteur des produits biologiques

Aux fins de la discussion, on a regroupé les deux premières questions (« Quelles sont les opportunités de maintien de la croissance du secteur des produits biologiques? » et « Quels segments du secteur sont les plus prometteurs? ») Globalement, les participants ont fait état d'une large gamme d'opportunités de maintien de la croissance.

Le MAAARO a appris qu'il existait de nombreuses possibilités de remplacement des importations de produits biologiques, dont le volume s'accroît chaque année. Pour pouvoir répondre à cette demande, il serait bon que le secteur élargisse sa base d'approvisionnement du marché des produits primaires, et qu'il trouve des occasions de se centrer sur les activités à valeur ajoutée pour desservir les marchés intérieurs et d'exportation. Il existe également un potentiel d'activités à valeur ajoutés au-delà des produits alimentaires primaires. Les produits spécifiques qui ont été identifiés comme ayant le plus de potentiel sont les fruits et légumes, la viande rouge et les volailles, les produits laitiers et les œufs, les raisins de cuve, le vin, le cannabis, les cultures commerciales et les légumineuses.

Le MAAARO a également appris qu'il existait des possibilités de mise en marché de produits biologiques destinés aux consommateurs qui doivent éviter les denrées contenant certains intrants conventionnels. De même, la mise en marché pourrait être améliorée à l'intention des « milléniaux » qui semblent très intéressés par ce type d'achats. Il existe aussi un marché en croissance pour les repas prêts à consommer, que le secteur des produits biologiques pourrait exploiter.

Question 3 : Obstacles à la croissance

La troisième question portait sur les obstacles auxquels le secteur des produits biologiques est confronté. La question posée était la suivante : quels sont les obstacles à la croissance du secteur et comment l'Ontario peut-il les surmonter pour permettre le maintien de cette croissance? Selon les réponses reçues par le MAAARO, pour pouvoir miser sur les possibilités de croissance du secteur en Ontario, on devra consacrer plus d'efforts aux volets suivants :

  • collecte de données et accès à ces données pour permettre au secteur de définir les niveaux d'activité de base et de mieux évaluer la portée des opportunités en question, parce qu'il n'existe pas de source exhaustive de données sur le secteur des produits biologiques. Depuis ces séances, en janvier 2018, l'Organic Council of Ontario a lancé son répertoire des entreprises du secteur biologique, une première étape en vue de mettre en contact les entreprises du secteur biologique de la province et d'en faire la promotion.
  • ressources supplémentaires et soutien technique dédié à la fourniture de conseils aux intervenants de l'ensemble de la chaîne de valeur (p. ex. sur les pratiques de production, la lutte contre les maladies, la préparation à la transition, etc.). Il serait utile d'élargir le programme d'enseignement sur les produits biologiques, notamment dans les établissements post-secondaires.
  • réglementation de l'appellation biologique pour ajouter de la cohérence et de la crédibilité à la mise en marché des aliments biologiques, pour protéger les consommateurs contre la fausse publicité, et pour réduire la confusion chez les consommateurs. Simultanément, il y avait un appui en faveur d'un autre modèle formel de certification qui conviendrait mieux aux petits producteurs (p. ex. système de mise en gage).
  • augmentation de l'infrastructure de transformation des produits biologiques de l'Ontario et de sa capacité; par exemple, on perçoit un manque d'abattoirs, d'installations de congélation instantanée et de capacité de stockage.
  • création de formes de soutien visant à compenser le coût reporté de la transition de la production conventionnelle à la production biologique.
  • recherche dans une gamme de domaines liés à l'agriculture biologique, notamment les meilleures pratiques de production, les variétés de cultures et la lutte contre les mauvaises herbes.

Question 4 : Meilleures pratiques adoptées par les autres juridictions

La quatrième question adressée aux participants portait sur les meilleures pratiques mises en œuvre dans d'autres juridictions et que l'Ontario pourrait adopter. La question était la suivante : quelles sont les meilleures pratiques ou approches adoptées par d'autres juridictions et qui pourraient être bénéfiques au secteur des produits biologiques en Ontario?

Les personnes présentes ont cité des exemples en provenance d'autres provinces, des États-Unis et d'Europe.

Au Canada, le Québec, la Colombie-Britannique et le Manitoba sont vus comme des chefs de file en matière de meilleures pratiques. Par exemple, les gouvernements du Québec et du Manitoba recueillent des données sur le secteur des produits biologiques et offrent des services de diffusion, et la Colombie-Britannique offre un modèle de mise en gage comme autre voie de certification à l'intention des petits producteurs. Aux États-Unis, les activités de promotion et de recherche des organismes du secteur biologique sont financées par la réaffectation optionnelle d'une petite partie (0,1 %) des ventes de produits biologiques des producteurs, des transformateurs et des manutentionnaires. Le ministère de l'Agriculture du pays finance également les lots de démonstration des fermes biologiques pour certains produits. Toujours aux États-Unis, on effectue des recherches sur les meilleurs pratiques et les technologies utiles au secteur des produits biologiques, et on en diffuse largement les résultats dans un forum de communication accessible à tous. De plus, les États-Unis accordent des points de mérite en fonction de la contribution de la production biologique à d'autres objectifs du gouvernement tels que l'atténuation des changements climatiques et la santé des sols.

Plusieurs meilleures pratiques et méthodes innovatrices ont également été identifiées chez d'autres organismes agricoles ontariens. Par exemple, l'Ecological Farmers Association of Ontario met en œuvre des programmes de recherche gérés par les agriculteurs. Récemment, Chicken Farmers of Ontario a lancé un programme artisanal sur les poulets qui prévoit la formation et l'accompagnement et qui vise à amener les producteurs à petite échelle à entrer dans le système tout en desservant les marchés de niche et en croissance. Et ProCert, un organisme de certification de production biologique, permet la certification de petites fermes à un coût raisonnable.

Question 5 : Collaboration gouvernement-secteur

La cinquième et dernière question adressée aux participants était la suivante : comment le secteur et le gouvernement pourraient-ils collaborer pour positionner le secteur le mieux possible en vue du maintien de sa croissance? Les participants ont suggéré l'élaboration d'une stratégie sectorielle, l'accès du secteur aux programmes du gouvernement et l'examen d'une reconnaissance des services écologiques fournis par la production biologique.

Les personnes présentes ont dit souhaiter une expertise technique supplémentaire dédiée au secteur de la production biologique, ainsi que la création d'un plus grand nombre de possibilités d'apprentissage et d'information sur les meilleures pratiques, y compris la définition de valeurs-repères. Il serait également utile d'ajouter une forme de promotion au moyen du logo Ontario, terre nourricière sur les produits biologiques, qui existe déjà.

Conclusion

Le MAAARO examine et étudie les très nombreuses informations qui ressortent de ces commentaires, et il remercie les participants de leur précieuse contribution.


1 Ceci est un résumé des séances de discussion et non un compte rendu de de celles-ci. Par conséquent on n'a pas identifié les participants individuels auteurs de ces commentaires ou les organismes ou entreprises qu'ils représentaient.

2 On a proposé un neuvième emplacement, soit Sault Ste Marie, mais aucun participant ne s'est inscrit à cet endroit.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Jill Melo-Graydon - Senior Policy Advisor (EDPB/OMAFRA)
Date de création : 03 avril 2018
Dernière révision : 03 avril 2018