Horse Racing Partnership Plan

pdf version (64 kb)

A successful and sustainable horse racing industry continues to have an important role to play in the economic and social life of this province, especially in rural Ontario.

The Horse Racing Partnership Plan, which comes into effect April 1, 2014, is the government's five-year plan to invest up to $500 million to support a world-class horse racing industry in the province. The plan reflects the hard work and genuine willingness of many in the horse racing industry to work together and build a new partnership with government.

Standardbred Alliance of Tracks

Critical to the success of the plan is the formation of an innovative, world-leading alliance of standardbred tracks including Woodbine, Mohawk, Flamboro Downs, Georgian Downs, Western Fair, Clinton, Hanover and Grand River.

The alliance represents an unparalleled level of partnership and provides a solid foundation for Ontario Standardbred owners, breeders and horsepersons. The tracks will work together to implement operational efficiencies, co-ordinate a year-round racing calendar, develop a program of racing that is attractive to foreign and domestic customers, and establish consistent purses.

Additional Support for Regional Tracks

The plan provides the appropriate public support to maintain a foundation for racing, but, more importantly, it provides the industry with opportunities for growth. By increasing funding for purses and operational support for regional tracks - Fort Erie, Ajax, Rideau-Carleton, Kawartha Downs, Sudbury Downs, Hiawatha, Dresden and Leamington - the government is giving operators the tools to develop new sources of revenue and build business relationships that will support a sustainable horse racing industry in Ontario.

Integration of Horse Racing into the Province's Gaming Strategy

The government's ongoing support of the horse racing industry is based on accountability, transparency and providing each sector of the industry - owners, breeders and racetrack operators - with the potential to be profitable.

Integrating horse racing into the Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation's (OLG) modernization plan will help achieve those goals.

Integration will include opportunities to develop new gaming products in partnership with OLG as well as consideration of horse racing in the land-based gaming modernization process

Supporting Ontario Racehorse Breeders

The heart of the industry is the racehorse and Ontario has a proud history of breeding some of the world's greatest.

The enhanced Horse Improvement Program will provide incentives to recognize excellence for Ontario B-bred and Sired horses racing in their home province. By continuing to support Ontario's racehorse breeding sector, the plan will maximize the economic impact of racing in Ontario.

Equine Health

The plan has taken measures to ensure that race horses are treated humanely both while they are racing and after retirement. Funding provided to Equine Guelph will assist with development of programs to address health and welfare issues of retired horses and overall horse and herd health concerns of the industry in Ontario.

2014 Race Dates

Ontario has a rich history of horse racing - a history that will continue this season and for many years to come. The Ontario Racing Commission has the most up-to-date information on 2014 race dates.

News Releases

For More Information

The Horse Racing Partnership Plan is part of the Ontario government's plan to foster a dynamic and innovative business environment.

Archive

For further inquiries, please email: horseracingtransition@ontario.ca


Author: Firstname SPACE Lastname SPACE HYPHEN SPACE Title/Affiliation
(eg. John Doe - Crop Specialist/University of Guelph)
Use a SEMI COLON to separate multiple entries:
(eg. John Doe - Crop Specialist/University of Guelph; Jane Doe - Crop Specialist/OMAFRA)
Creation Date: dd SPACE fullmonth SPACE yyyy
Last Reviewed: dd SPACE fullmonth SPACE yyyy

Les courses de chevaux en Ontario

Note : Le 23 mars 2018, le gouvernement de l'Ontario a conclu une nouvelle entente de financement à long terme avec le secteur des courses de chevaux de la province; ce faisant, il soutient l'emploi dans les régions rurales et renforce les économies locales de l'ensemble de la province.

Pour ce secteur, la nouvelle entente prévoit un financement de 105 millions de dollars par an pendant 19 ans à partir du 1er avril 2019, ainsi qu'un soutien supplémentaire aux petits hippodromes et à ceux qui éprouvent des difficultés financières.

Voir le communiqué à cette adresse : L'Ontario soutient le secteur des courses de chevaux et renforce ainsi l'economie locale.

Plan de partenariat pour l'industrie des courses de chevaux

Une industrie des courses de chevaux prospère et viable continue d'avoir un rôle important à jouer dans la vie économique et sociale de cette province, surtout dans l'Ontario rural.

Le Plan de partenariat pour l'industrie des courses de chevaux, qui est entré en vigueur le 1er avril 2014, est le plan quinquennal dont s'est doté le gouvernement pour investir jusqu'à 500 millions de dollars au profit d'une industrie des courses de chevaux de calibre mondial dans la province. Ce plan témoigne des vifs efforts de l'industrie des courses de chevaux et d'une véritable volonté de collaborer avec le gouvernement en vue d'établir un nouveau partenariat.

Alliance d'hippodromes spécialisés dans les courses de standardbreds

La création d'une alliance novatrice et de calibre mondial des principaux hippodromes spécialisés dans les courses de standardbreds, y compris ceux de Woodbine, Mohawk, Rideau-Carleton, Flamboro Downs, Georgian Downs, Western Fair, Clinton, Hanover et Grand River, est essentielle à la réussite de ce plan.

Cette alliance, le fruit d'un partenariat sans précédent, fournit des assises solides aux propriétaires, éleveurs et professionnels spécialisés dans la race standardbred en Ontario. Les hippodromes collaboreront pour réaliser des gains d'efficience opérationnelle, coordonner l'établissement d'un calendrier de courses sur toute l'année, proposer un programme qui attirera la clientèle, à la fois étrangère et nationale, et offrir des bourses substantielles.

Soutien supplémentaire aux hippodromes régionaux

Le plan prévoit un soutien public approprié pour maintenir les fondations nécessaires aux courses et, surtout, apporter à l'industrie des possibilités de croissance. En augmentant le financement des bourses et en améliorant le soutien opérationnel aux hippodromes régionaux - Fort Erie, Ajax, Kawartha, Hiawatha, Dresden et Leamington -, le gouvernement fournit aux exploitants des outils pour développer de nouvelles sources de revenus et bâtir des relations d'affaires qui assureront la viabilité de l'industrie des courses de chevaux en Ontario.

Intégration des courses de chevaux à la stratégie des jeux et paris de la province

L'appui constant du gouvernement en faveur de l'industrie des courses de chevaux est fondé sur un souci de reddition des comptes et de transparence ainsi que sur la volonté de créer des retombées éventuelles pour chaque secteur de l'industrie - les propriétaires, les éleveurs et les exploitants des hippodromes.

L'intégration des courses de chevaux au plan de modernisation de la Société des loteries et des jeux de l'Ontario contribuera à l'atteinte de ces objectifs.

Soutien aux éleveurs de chevaux de course de l'Ontario

Les chevaux de course sont au cœur de l'industrie, et l'Ontario est fier d'avoir vu les meilleurs de leur race au monde être élevés sur son territoire.

Le Programme d'amélioration du cheval offre des incitatifs à la reconnaissance l'excellence des chevaux élevés et accouplés en Ontario qui participeront à des courses dans leur province d'origine. En continuant d'appuyer le secteur ontarien de l'élevage de chevaux de course, le plan maximisera les retombées économiques des courses en Ontario.

Santé équine

Dans le cadre du plan, la Direction de la santé et du bien-être des animaux travaille avec des partenaires de l'industrie à régler des enjeux de santé et de bien-être des chevaux de course.

Dates des courses prévues en 2018

Les courses de chevaux s'inscrivent dans une riche tradition en Ontario - une tradition qui sera perpétuée dès cette saison et pour de nombreuses années encore. Ontario Racing a les informations à jour sur les dates des courses en 2018.



Auteur : Firstname SPACE Lastname SPACE HYPHEN SPACE Title/Affiliation
(eg. John Doe - Crop Specialist/University of Guelph)
Use a SEMI COLON to separate multiple entries:
(eg. John Doe - Crop Specialist/University of Guelph; Jane Doe - Crop Specialist/OMAFRA)
Date de création : dd SPACE fullmonth SPACE yyyy
Dernière révision : 11 août 2017