Agriculture Development Branch (ADB) 2015-2016 Successes

Enabling Innovation through Technology Transfer

The Agriculture Development Branch (ADB), a branch within the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA) provides crop, livestock and business management technology transfer and advice to enable innovation and change to strengthen economic and environmental sustainability of a diverse agriculture sector.


Promoting opportunities for Ontario apple growers

Ontario apple growers

Collaborating with apple industry partners to share technical information, Dr. Jennifer DeEll, Fresh Market Quality Specialist, has helped Ontario apple growers to achieve new marketing opportunities.

Working with the Ontario Apple Growers and the Apple Marketers' Association of Ontario, Jennifer recognized an opportunity for the province's apple growers to increase their profit margins by accessing off-season markets.

Alongside industry partners in Ontario, British Columbia and Quebec, Jennifer collaborated on two large research projects. A national research project leveraged close to $700,000 in government and industry funding over five years. In addition, Ontario conducted a regionally-focused research project over two years, funding $95,195 to this research, of which 25% was provided by industry partners. (Partners and collaborators are listed below).

This research evaluated post-harvest handling and storage regimes and investigated new storage technologies to improve the retention of apples after harvest, including new apple cultivars. Jennifer used these research outcomes to create best management practice recommendations for producers to optimize commercial storage regimes. She worked collaboratively to share information with the sector through six reports, six posters and numerous newsletter articles and presentations. Jennifer also presented this research at Ontario's Fruit and Vegetable Conventions in 2014, 2015 and 2016 to audiences of more than 150 people each year.

Read More


Local Hops are a Brewing Industry

Local Hops are a Brewing Industry

After almost a century, hops are re-emerging as a notable specialty crop in Ontario with a significant increase in growers and acreage occurring across the province over the last five years. Driving the demand is Ontario's craft beer industry that is looking for locally produced, high quality hops. Growers have responded by increasing mechanization and processing capacity, implementing a regional processing hub, and pioneering forward contracts with the brewing industry. The province has also seen the incorporation of the Ontario Hop Growers' Association (OHGA) within the last three years; an organization with a mandate to educate growers and promote Ontario hops to the brewing industry. Although acreage is still limited compared to other horticultural crops, the industry is poised to expand.

With the fast growth of the craft beer industry in Ontario, there is potential to create jobs and expand the market for Ontario-grown hops. ADB staff have been involved every step of the way to nurture this expanding industry. In addition to assisting the new and fairly inexperienced industry with agronomic information, staff have partnered on several research projects which has led to the successful identification and registration of over 20 pest control products (both organic and conventional). ADB staff have led the development and growth of the Great Ontario-Hopped Craft Beer Competition which provides a venue to connect growers and brewers while highlighting locally produced beer using locally-grown hops. From its start with 13 teams, the competition has grown in popularity, reaching capacity in record time and having to turn away registrants in 2016! The competition now expands to 18 teams for its fifth anniversary in 2017 and is already at capacity. Since Ontario's craft brewing industry is currently the largest buyer of Ontario-grown hops, developing this industry is key to providing a steady market for hops.
Read more


Fishing for Opportunities in OMAFRA-U of G Aquaculture Workshops

Aquaculture Workshops

While fresh, locally-sourced food is becoming more important to consumers, Ontario rainbow trout farms can only produce enough stock to supply about half of the trout sold in Ontario. We are currently importing trout from Chile, Argentina, Bolivia, Columbia and other countries to meet consumer demand. Rainbow trout is the main species farmed in Ontario, with 4,510 tonnes (9.9 million pounds) produced in 2015.

The aquaculture sector has been growing 15% a year for the past 30 years worldwide. However, aquaculture growth in Ontario did not increase between 1996 and 2013 for many reasons, including:

  1. Need for clear policy to enable aquaculture development in public waters.
  2. The need for regulatory reform of provincial aquaculture regulations.
  3. Lack of information on potential opportunities for aquaculture and aquaponics development in Ontario.

To address the lack of defined policy and need for regulatory reform, provincial and federal government agencies and the aquaculture sector worked to develop policy which would encourage the growth of aquaculture on public waters. Steve Naylor, Aquaculture and Aquaponics Specialist, has assisted with this process since 2003. This work has resulted in the Application Guide for Aquaculture on Public Waters being posted for comment on the Environmental Registry in the spring of 2016 which allowed for public and stakeholder groups' input on future policies that support the growth and potential investment in the sector.

To encourage further understanding of opportunities for aquaculture development, in 2010 Steve partnered with the University of Guelph to deliver the Getting Started in Aquaculture and Aquaponics workshop. Held four to five times a year at the Alma Aquaculture Research Station with about 24 attendees participating each time, the workshop provides hands-on learning about the industry. Participants learn to make informed decisions on whether to invest (or not invest) in aquaculture and aquaponic development opportunities in Ontario.

The cost to establish a commercial fish farm in Ontario is more than $1 million. Approximately one to two people out of each of Steve's aquaculture workshops considers establishing a commercial venture. About the same number decide to establish smaller scale, part time endeavours.

Read more


Long Term Investment in Extension Strengthens Ontario's Dairy Industry

Ontario's Dairy Industry

Extension work often requires vision and patience to see your work pay off. As far back as 2000, the OMAFRA Dairy Team had a vision of a progressive, flexible, innovative dairy industry in Ontario that would lead the way in the adoption of technology to improve producer lifestyle, animal health and welfare and production. The vision was to position the Ontario dairy industry as the North American leader in the adoption of robotic and precision dairy technology. The nature of dairy farming means change does not happen quickly. With significant capital investment in equipment, land, quota, and cows, large scale change and investment in new technology usually requires investment in a new barn as well as the equipment after careful research and thought.

The cost for a robotic milking system in the early 2000s was about $200,000. The price is about the same today but current models have more advanced technology and provide significantly more production and cow data for the producer.

Robotic milking: maximizing profits

In 2002, the Dairy Team began to make their vision a reality by partnering with industry to organize the First North American Conference on Robotic Milking. Attended by 400 dairy farmers and industry members, the conference brought experts on robotic milking to Ontario to present information to our producers and led to regulatory improvements. It also featured exhibits by robotic milker manufacturers so producers talk to the manufacturers directly and get demonstrations of the models available.

As adoption of robotic milking increased, resources were developed to help producers manage these systems also called automatic milking systems (AMS). With roughly 10% of robotic milkers in the early 2000s being removed, information was needed to address management issues. The dairy team developed significant website content for producers fostering the use of herd management software and data available from robots to improve profitability and cow welfare on dairy farms.

Promoting new tools to improve cow welfare

In 2010, the OMAFRA Dairy Team again partnered with industry to deliver the First North American Conference on Precision Dairy Technologies. This conference, along with follow-up resources and events, promoted the adoption of precision technologies such as automatic calf feeders to improve the nutritional status of dairy calves. Electronic technology for individual animals is now able to track cow behaviour (activity) and rumen function which provides improved management opportunities to improve cow health and welfare.

Labour costs are a significant proportion of the cost of milk production and the availability of labour is often an issue for dairy farmers. Canadian dairy farms can achieve a 30% labour savings by adopting robotic technology, eliminating the need to be in the barn at fixed times seven days a week. This also makes the industry more attractive to younger producers.

In 2013, OMAFRA and the University of Guelph partnered through the Knowledge Translation and Transfer (KTT) program to conduct a survey of 33 automatic milking system herds across the province to find out information on management, production and nutrition. This research provided Ontario dairy producers information that was specific to their needs and benchmarked the state of the industry.

Read more


Soybean Industry
A strong foundation of collaboration

Soybean Industry

Field Crop Pathologist Albert Tenuta has built strong working relationships across Canada and internationally over his 25 years of working at OMAFRA. Albert's networks have opened up collaborative business opportunities for Ontario's soybean industry. Albert has always been keenly aware of global opportunities and works to ensure that Ontario growers are aware of sector trends and opportunities that can benefit their businesses.

Since 2014, Albert has worked with the Crop Protection Network (CPN), a regional network of land grant universities in the United States (US) and OMAFRA, which serves as the infrastructure for collaboratively creating crop pathology resources for the soybean industries in Ontario and the North Central States. Canada ranks as one of the major soybean producing countries, with a global reputation for both high quality and high yields. Unfortunately, yields in many of the major soybean countries, including Canada (especially Ontario), are reduced each year due to diseases, resulting in unnecessary losses to the producer and agriculture sector as a whole. The most recent published disease losses for Canada (2006) are 363,000 metric tonnes (13,338,072 bushels) at a potential conservative cost of more than $154,855,015 (Cash Price - $11.61 December 4, 2015) (Wrather et al, 2010, Plant Health Progress).

Working together to combat soybean disease

Albert is the only Canadian on the CPN team. He saw the CPN as a forum to collaborate with extension experts outside of Ontario to create a strong, unified message about soybean disease management. The CPN was created to provide unbiased, research-based information to farmers and agricultural personnel on how to combat emerging field crop disease problems in their fields. This project has been funded through the Grain Farmers of Ontario (GFO) and the North Central Soybean Research Program (NCSRP). The NCSRP program has funded the project at $58,000 per year in 2014, 2015 and 2016. Grain Farmers of Ontario (GFO) has provided $10,000 per year for Ontario's involvement. Without Albert's involvement with the CPN, the information produced by the team would not have been applicable to Ontario growers, and Ontario would have missed this opportunity to be part of a strong brand. Albert's partnership with US colleagues and his long history of working with the GFO and the NCSRP led to Ontario's participation in this project.

Read more



For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 13 August 2014
Last Reviewed: 12 May 2017

Réussites de la Direction du développement de l'agriculture (DDA) en 2015-2016

Dynamisation de l'innovation grâce aux transferts de technologie

La Direction du développement de l'agriculture (DDA), une direction du ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario (MAAARO), propose des transferts de technologie pour la gestion des entreprises, du bétail et des cultures, et donne des conseils pour dynamiser l'innovation et le changement dans le but de renforcer la durabilité économique et environnementale d'un secteur agricole diversifié.


Stimuler les débouchés pour les pomiculteurs de l'Ontario

Stimuler les débouchés pour les pomiculteurs de l'Ontario

Par sa collaboration avec les partenaires de l'industrie pomicole afin de partager l'information technique, Jennifer DeEll, spécialiste, qualité des produits maraîchers, a aidé les pomiculteurs de l'Ontario à créer de nouvelles perspectives de marketing.

En travaillant de concert avec l'Ontario Apple Growers et l'Apple Marketers' Association of Ontario, Jennifer a vu qu'il était possible, pour les pomiculteurs de la province, d'accroître leurs marges bénéficiaires en exploitant les marchés hors saison.

De concert avec des partenaires de l'industrie en Ontario, en Colombie-Britannique et au Québec, Jennifer a collaboré à deux grands projets de recherche. Dans le cadre d'un grand projet national de recherche, on a réuni près de 700 000 $ des gouvernements et de l'industrie sur cinq ans. De plus, l'Ontario a exécuté un projet de recherche à orientation régionale échelonné sur deux ans, injectant 95 195 $ pour cette recherche, dont 25 % a été fourni par des partenaires de l'industrie (liste des partenaires et collaborateurs ci-après).

La recherche portait sur l'évaluation des régimes de manutention et d'entreposage post-récolte et la recherche de nouvelles technologies d'entreposage pour améliorer la conservation des pommes après la récolte, y compris de nouveaux cultivars de pommes. À partir des résultats de ses recherches, Jennifer a formulé, à l'intention des producteurs, des recommandations sur les meilleures pratiques de gestion pour optimiser leurs régimes d'entreposage commercial. Elle a travaillé dans un esprit de coopération pour partager l'information avec le secteur au moyen de six rapports, de six affiches et de nombre de présentations et d'articles publiés dans des bulletins. Jennifer a aussi présenté sa recherche lors des congrès sur les fruits et légumes de l'Ontario en 2014, 2015 et 2016 auprès de publics de plus de 150 personnes par année.

lire la suite


Les houblonnières locales, une industrie où ça brasse

houblonnières locales, une industrie où ça brasse

Après près d'un siècle, le houblon redevient une culture de spécialité importante en Ontario, motivant une forte croissance du nombre de producteurs et de la superficie en culture dans l'ensemble de la province au cours des cinq dernières années. Ce qui stimule la demande est l'industrie ontarienne de la bière artisanale, qui est à la recherche de houblon locale de qualité. Les producteurs ont réagi en augmentant la mécanisation et la capacité de transformation, créant un carrefour régional de transformation et mettant de l'avant des contrats à terme avec l'industrie brassicole. La province a également vu la constitution en société de l'Ontario Hop Growers' Association (OHGA) ces trois dernières années; le mandat de l'organisme est d'informer les producteurs et de promouvoir le houblon de l'Ontario auprès de l'industrie brassicole. Même si la superficie en culture demeure limitée comparativement à d'autres cultures horticoles, l'industrie est sur la voie de l'expansion.

La croissance rapide de l'industrie brassicole artisanale en Ontario offre de bonnes possibilités de création d'emplois et d'expansion du marché du houblon cultivé dans la province. Le personnel de la DDA a été présent à toutes les étapes de la progression de cette industrie en pleine expansion. En plus d'apporter son aide à une industrie nouvelle et peu expérimentée en lui fournissant des renseignements agronomiques, le personnel a œuvré en partenariat dans divers projets de recherche qui ont abouti à l'identification et à l'homologation de plus de 20 produits antiparasitaires (tant biologiques que classiques). Le personnel de la DDA a piloté le développement et la croissance de la Great Ontario-Hopped Craft Beer Competition (le grand concours de la bière artisanale entièrement ontarienne), offrant un lieu où les producteurs et les brasseurs peuvent se rencontrer, tout en mettant en vedette les bières locales élaborées à partir de houblon produit localement. L'événement comptait au départ 13 équipes et, sa popularité augmentant, elle a atteint sa capacité en une période record et dû refuser des candidats en 2016! Le concours est maintenant étendu à 18 équipes pour son cinquième anniversaire en 2017 et est déjà à pleine capacité. Puisque l'industrie ontarienne de la bière artisanale est actuellement le plus gros acheteur du houblon ontarien, le développement de cette industrie est essentiel pour établir un marché stable du houblon.

lire la suite


Ateliers MAAARO-Université de Guelph sur l'aquaculture - Perspectives en pisciculture

Perspectives en pisciculture

Tandis que les aliments frais produits localement prennent de plus en plus d'importance pour les consommateurs, les éleveurs de truite arc-en-ciel de l'Ontario ne peuvent produire qu'environ la moitié des truites vendues dans la province. Actuellement, nous importons des truites du Chili, de l'Argentine, de la Bolivie, de la Colombie et d'autres pays pour répondre à la demande des consommateurs. La truite arc-en-ciel est la principale espèce piscicole en Ontario, avec 4 510 tonnes (9,9 millions de livres) produites en 2015.

Le secteur de l'aquaculture connaît, à l'échelle mondiale, une croissance annuelle de 15 % depuis 30 ans. Toutefois, la croissance de l'aquaculture en Ontario est demeurée au point mort entre 1996 et 2013 pour diverses raisons, notamment :

  1. le besoin d'une politique claire pour favoriser le développement de l'aquaculture dans les eaux publiques;
  2. la nécessité d'une réforme de la réglementation provinciale sur l'aquaculture;
  3. le manque d'information sur les perspectives éventuelles de développement de l'aquaculture et de l'aquaponie en Ontario.

Pour ce qui est de l'absence de politique définie et de la nécessité d'une réforme réglementaire, les agences gouvernementales provinciales et fédérales et le secteur de l'aquaculture ont collaboré à l'élaboration d'une politique qui favoriserait la croissance de l'aquaculture dans les eaux publiques. Steve Naylor, spécialiste de l'aquaculture et de l'aquaponie, a apporté son concours à ce processus depuis 2003. Ce travail a débouché une publication, Application Guide for Aquaculture on Public Waters (guide pratique pour l'aquaculture dans les eaux publiques), affichée pour observations sur le Registre environnemental au printemps de 2016, ce qui a permis au public et aux groupes d'intervenants de donner leur avis sur les politiques futures appuyant la croissance et les investissements éventuels dans le secteur.

Afin de mieux faire ressortir les perspectives de développement de l'aquaculture, Steve, en 2010, a conclu un partenariat avec l'Université de Guelph pour offrir l'atelier Getting Started in Aquaculture and Aquaponics (pour se lancer en aquaculture et aquaponique). L'atelier, offert cinq fois par année à la station de recherche en aquaculture Alma, réunit environ 24 participants chaque fois et permet un apprentissage pratique sur l'industrie. Les participants apprennent à prendre des décisions éclairées sur la question de savoir s'il y a lieu d'investir (ou de ne pas investir) dans les perspectives de développement de l'aquaculture et de l'aquaponique en Ontario.

Le coût de création d'une ferme piscicole commerciale en Ontario dépasse le million de dollars. Dans chacun des ateliers donnés par Steve, environ la moitié des participants envisagent la création d'une entreprise commerciale. Dans environ la même proportion, des participants décident d'établir une entreprise à temps partiel à petite échelle.

lire la suite


Les investissements à long terme dans les services d'information renforcent l'industrie laitière ontarienne

l'industrie laitière ontarienne

Souvent, le travail de vulgarisation exige vision et patience avant que les efforts ne portent fruit. Dès 2000, l'équipe de l'industrie laitière du MAAARO avait la vision d'une industrie laitière progressiste, souple et innovatrice en Ontario, une industrie qui ouvrirait la voie dans l'adoption de technologies visant à améliorer le mode de vie des producteurs, la santé et le bien-être des animaux et la production. Cette vision devait positionner l'industrie laitière ontarienne comme meneur en Amérique du Nord dans l'adoption de techniques laitières robotisées de précision. En raison de la nature des exploitations laitières, les changements sont lents. Compte tenu d'investissements en capital importants dans l'équipement, les terres, les quotas et les vaches, les changements à grande échelle et les investissements dans les nouvelles technologies exigent habituellement d'investir dans une nouvelle grange et dans de l'équipement, après recherche et réflexion approfondies.

Le coût d'un système de traite robotisée, au début des années 2000, était d'environ 200 000 $. Le prix est environ le même aujourd'hui, mais les modèles actuels découlent d'une technologie plus évoluée et offrent aux producteurs des données sur les vaches laitières et une production beaucoup plus importante.

Traite robotisée : maximisation des bénéfices

En 2002, l'équipe de l'industrie laitière a commencé à traduire sa vision dans la réalité en s'associant avec l'industrie pour organiser la première conférence nord-américaine sur la traite robotisée. L'événement a attiré 400 producteurs laitiers et membres de l'industrie et rassemblé des spécialistes sur la traite robotisée, présentant de l'information à nos producteurs et induisant une amélioration de la réglementation. L'événement comportait également des expositions de fabricants de trayeuses robotisées afin que les producteurs puissent discuter directement avec les fabricants et obtenir des démonstrations des modèles disponibles.

Au fil de l'adoption de la traite robotisée, nous avons mis au point des ressources afin d'aider les producteurs à gérer ces systèmes, également appelé systèmes de traite automatique (STA). Puisqu'environ 10 % des trayeuses automatiques du début des années 2000 ont été enlevées, il fallait de l'information pour s'attaquer aux questions de gestion. L'équipe de l'industrie laitière a mis au point un contenu Web important à l'intention des producteurs, pour favoriser l'utilisation des logiciels de gestion de troupeaux et des données disponibles des robots pour relever la profitabilité et augmenter le bien-être des vaches des fermes laitières.

Promotion de nouveaux outils pour augmenter le bien-être des vaches

En 2010, l'équipe de l'industrie laitière du MAAARO s'est associée à l'industrie pour offrir la première conférence nord-américaine sur les technologies laitières de précision. Cette conférence, et les ressources et événements qui ont suivi, favorisaient l'adoption de technologies de précision, par exemple dispositifs automatiques d'alimentation des veaux afin de relever l'état nutritionnel des veaux laitiers. Les technologies électroniques adaptées aux animaux individuellement peuvent désormais permettre de suivre le comportement (l'activité) de la vache et le fonctionnement du rumen, ce qui offre de meilleures perspectives de gestion pour améliorer la santé et le bien-être de l'animal.

Les coûts de main-d'œuvre entrent pour une part importante dans le coût de la production laitière et la disponibilité de la main-d'œuvre est souvent un problème pour les producteurs laitiers. Les fermes laitières canadiennes peuvent parvenir à des économies de main-d'œuvre de 30 % en adoptant les technologies robotisées, ce qui élimine la nécessité d'être dans la grange à heures fixes sept jours par semaine. De la sorte, l'industrie est plus intéressante pour les jeunes producteurs.

En 2013, le MAAARO et l'Université de Guelph se sont associés par l'intermédiaire du programme d'application et de transfert des connaissances (KTT) et ont mené, dans l'ensemble de la province, une enquête sur 33 troupeaux utilisant le système de traite automatique, afin de trouver des renseignements sur la gestion, la production et la nutrition. Cette recherche a permis d'offrir aux producteurs laitiers de l'Ontario de l'information répondant à leurs besoins, tout en établissant un étalonnage de l'état de l'industrie.

lire la suite


L'industrie du soya

De solides assises de collaboration

L'industrie du soya

Albert Tenuta, pathologiste, grandes cultures, a établi de solides relations de travail partout au Canada et à l'étranger au fil des 25 ans qu'il travaille au MAAARO. Les réseaux d'Albert ont donné naissance à des perspectives d'entreprises coopératives dans l'industrie ontarienne du soya. Albert a toujours été très conscient des perspectives globales et œuvre afin que les producteurs de l'Ontario connaissent les tendances et les possibilités du secteur susceptibles de profiter à leurs entreprises.

Depuis 2014, Albert travaille avec le Crop Protection Network (CPN), réseau régional d'universités ayant reçu des concessions de terres aux États-Unis (É. U.) et le MAAARO, qui agit comme infrastructure de création coopérative de ressources en pathologie agricole pour les industries du soya en Ontario et dans les États du centre-nord des États-Unis. Le Canada se classe parmi les principaux pays producteurs de soya et s'est taillé une réputation mondiale au niveau de la qualité et des rendements. Malheureusement, dans nombre des grands pays producteurs de soya, y compris le Canada (notamment l'Ontario), les rendements diminuent chaque année en raison des maladies, entraînant des pertes inutiles pour les producteurs et le secteur agricole dans son ensemble. Les pertes dues aux maladies les plus récentes et publiées pour le Canada (2006) sont de 363 000 tonnes métriques (13 338 072 boisseaux), pour un coût conservateur éventuel de plus de 154 855 015 $ (cours au comptant - 11,61 $ le 4 décembre 2015) (Wrather et coll., 2010, Plant Health Progress).

Combattre ensemble les maladies du soya

Albert est le seul Canadien de l'équipe du CPN. Il voyait dans le CPN une tribune où collaborer avec des spécialistes de la vulgarisation à l'extérieur de l'Ontario afin de créer un message commun et solide concernant la lutte contre les maladies du soya. Le CPN a été créé afin fournir, grâce à la recherche, des renseignements impartiaux aux agriculteurs et au personnel agricole sur la façon de combattre, dans les champs, les problèmes naissants dus aux maladies des grandes cultures. Le projet a été subventionné par l'intermédiaire de Grain Farmers of Ontario (GFO) et du North Central Soybean Research Program (NCSRP). Le programme NCSRP a injecté dans le projet 58 000 $ par an en 2014, 2015 et 2016. Les Grain Farmers of Ontario (GFO) y ont injecté 10 000 $ par an pour la participation de l'Ontario. Sans la participation d'Albert au CPN, l'information réunie par l'équipe n'aurait pu être applicable aux producteurs de l'Ontario et la province aurait raté cette occasion de faire partie d'une marque solide. Le partenariat d'Albert avec ses collègues étasuniens et ses longs antécédents de collaboration avec les GFO et le NCSRP ont abouti à la participation de l'Ontario à ce projet.

lire la suite



Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 18 août 2014
Dernière révision : 12 mai 2017

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424 1300
Courriel :ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca