Farm Stewardship

Introduction

The Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food & Rural Affairs (OMAFRA) together with its partners promotes environmental stewardship on farms in Ontario. OMAFRA staff coordinate the creation of booklets and infosheets about environmental issues on the farm, and promote our environmental programs. This page provides links to further information about the types of stewardship practices that OMAFRA promotes.

Environmental Stewardship Priorities

Environmental Stewardship Promotion


Environmental Stewardship Priorities

Water

Soil

Air

Biodiversity

Green Energy


Environmental Stewardship Promotion 

Best Management Practices (BMPs)

Farming is a business with many risks: weather, finances, and market uncertainties. Certain farming practices may affect the quality of our environment. Farmers experience some of the resulting problems themselves, such as lower crop yields, loss of soil, and polluted water. But rural and urban neighbours may also be affected. Not all environmental problems are severe, and not all farms have problems. But for those farmers who are affected, practical solutions exist. The links below are intended to help farmers and others interested in farms stewardship explore workable solutions for water, soil, air, and biodiversity problems that are covered in greater detail in the Best Management Practices booklets available from Publications Ontario.

Best Management Practices Booklet Series

Programs

The Environmental Farm Plan Program

Since 1992, more than 35,000 farmers in Ontario have voluntarily participated in the Environmental Farm Plan (EFP) program. Those farmers represent almost two-thirds of all the farms in the province!  Farmers are busy people, and that's why they can participate in the EFP program as much as they like, or as little as their time allows.

The first step involves attending an EFP workshop to learn about environmental issues on their own farm. The second step is to complete a plan of action that will address any issues identified on the farmer's own farm. The plan identifies actions that the farmer can take on the farm as his time and budget allows. Farmers can also opt to apply for funding that is available to them pay for some of the costs of taking these actions. The action plan provides farmers with a road map to help them make improvements on their farm over time that will benefit the environment.

Educational workshops allow farmers to meet with their peers and discuss issues in their own area. The knowledge gained from these workshops results in the greater appreciation for the environment, and a strong incentive to take action.

The success of the EFP program is reflected in the strong partnerships that the program requires. The Government of Canada through Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada provides funding to help farmers complete projects on the farm. OMAFRA staff provide technical advice for the program. The Ontario Soil and Crop Improvement Association delivers workshops across the province, facilitates the creation of action plans, and helping farmers apply for funding to complete their projects. The Ontario Farm Environmental Coalition (OFEC)  continues to help design the program as it evolves. Farmers are well represented by OFEC's 4 member organizations: the Ontario Federation of Agriculture, the Christian Farmers Federation of Ontario, the Ontario Farm Animal Council, and Agricultural Groups Concerned with Resources and the Environment).

RUSLE2

The Revised Universal Soil Loss Equation (RUSLE2) is a software program designed to help farmers estimate the potential for soil erosion under different land management and cropping practices. OMAFRA has adapted RUSLE2 for Ontario farmers.

Further infomation
Other Programs

For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 09 November 2009
Last Reviewed: 19 November 2015

Gérance agroenvironnementale

Introduction

Le ministère de l'Agriculture, de 'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario (MAAARO) et ses partenaires encouragent la gérance agroenvironnementale dans les exploitations agricoles de l'Ontario. Le personnel du MAAARO coordonne la création de livrets et de fiches d'information portant sur les questions environnementales touchant les exploitations agricoles et il fait la promotion de nos programmes environnementaux. La présente page contient des liens menant à plus de renseignements sur les types de pratiques de gérance agroenvironnementale encouragées par le ministère.

Priorités en matière de gérance agroenvironnementale

Promotion de la gérance agroenvironnementale


Priorités en matière de gérance agroenvironnementale

Eau

Sol

Air

Biodiversité

Formes d'énergie verte


Promotion de la gérance agroenvironnementale

Pratiques de gestion optimales

L'agriculture est un domaine qui comporte de nombreux risques, à cause des incertitudes relatives aux conditions météorologiques, aux finances et au marché. Certaines pratiques agricoles peuvent influencer la qualité de l'environnement. Les agriculteurs subissent eux-mêmes une partie des effets négatifs, comme le faible rendement des cultures, la perte de sol et la pollution de l'eau, et leurs voisins des régions rurales et urbaines peuvent aussi être touchés. Les problèmes environnementaux ne sont pas tous très graves, et les exploitations agricoles n'ont pas toutes des problèmes. Il existe néanmoins des solutions pratiques pour les agriculteurs qui sont touchés. Les liens ci-dessous mènent à des renseignements destinés à aider les agriculteurs et les autres parties qui s'intéressent à la gérance agroenvironnementale à explorer des solutions pratiques pour les problèmes concernant l'eau, le sol, l'air et la biodiversité, qui sont examinés de façon plus détaillée dans les livrets sur les pratiques de gestion optimales distribués par Publications Ontario.

La série de fascicules « Les pratiques de gestion optimales »

Programmes

Programme des plans agroenvironnementaux

Depuis 1992, plus de 35 000 agriculteurs de l'Ontario ont accepté volontairement de participer au Programme des plans agroenvironnementaux ou Programme PAE. Il s'agit de près des deux tiers de tous les agriculteurs de la province! Les agriculteurs sont des gens très occupés, et c'est pourquoi c'est à eux de décider le temps qu'ils consacrent au Programme.

La première étape consiste à assister à un atelier sur le Programme PAE pour se renseigner sur les problèmes environnementaux qui touchent leur exploitation. Ils doivent ensuite établir un plan d'action destiné à régler les probl&eagrave;mes relevés dans leur exploitation. Ce plan indique les mesures que l'agriculteur peut prendre, selon le temps et les moyens financiers qu'il a. L'agriculteur peut aussi présenter une demande de financement pour l'aider à payer une partie des frais relatifs à ces mesures. Le plan d'action indique aux agriculteurs les améliorations qu'ils peuvent apporter à leur exploitation agricole avec le temps pour contribuer à préserver l'environnement.

Les ateliers d'information permettent aux agriculteurs de rencontrer d'autres agriculteurs et de discuter des problèmes qui existent dans leur région. Par la suite, ils ont une meilleure connaissance de l'environnement et une plus grande motivation à agir.

Le succès du Programme PAE s'illustre par les étroites relations de partenariat à sa base. Par l'intermédiaire du ministère de l'Agriculture et de l'Agroalimentaire, le gouvernement du Canada verse des fonds destinés à aider les agriculteurs à réaliser des projets dans leur exploitation. Le personnel du MAAARO fournit des conseils techniques au sujet du Programme. L'Association pour l'amélioration des sols et des récoltes de l'Ontario donne des ateliers un peu partout dans la province, fournit de l'assistance pour l'élaboration de plans d'action et aide les agriculteurs à présenter une demande d'aide financière pour leurs projets. L'Ontario Farm Environmental Coalition (OFEC) continue de contribuer à l'élaboration du Programme à mesure qu'il évolue. Les agriculteurs sont bien représentés par les quatre organismes membres de l'OFEC, soit la Fédération de l'agriculture de l'Ontario, la Fédération des agriculteurs chrétiens de l'Ontario, l'Ontario Farm Animal Council et Agricultural Groups Concerned with Resources and the Environment.

RUSLE 2

  • L'équation universelle révisée des pertes de sol (RUSLE2) est un progiciel conçu pour aider les agriculteurs à estimer le potentiel d'érosion du sol en fonction de diverses pratiques de gestion et de culture des terres. MAAARO a adapté RUSLE2 pour les agriculteurs ontariens.

Plus amples renseignements :

Autres programmes


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 09 novembre 2009
Dernière révision : 02 decembre 2014