Have You Been Called to a Hearing?

A quick guide to the hearing process

At some point in your work in the agri-food industry, you may be required to appear at a licensing hearing. If so, you may have questions about how a hearing works. Here is some important information that will help you prepare and know what to expect. Use the links below to skip to the questions that relate most to you.

 

Report an offence

If you would like to report alleged illegal activity, or any food safety concerns, contact us at:

Online – Quick and Easy

(519) 826-4537 (secure line)

regulatory.compliance@ontario.ca

For general inquires or information, contact:
1 877 424-1300

 

What is a hearing?

A hearing is a legal process used to settle certain kinds of disputes. For example, a hearing could decide if an operation should be licensed. Or, a hearing could decide how to dispose of detained product.

A hearing works in some ways like a legal court. Like in court, both sides of the case will present evidence. But instead of a judge, a Director under the Act is in charge of the hearing and will make the final decision.

The hearing gives the Director under the Act a chance to hear both sides of the case before making a decision. As the hearing process is conducted under the rules of the Statutory Powers Procedures Act, hearing decisions are determined with respect to the following Acts:

Who attends a hearing?

You can expect to see at least three other people at your hearing:

  • The Director or Deputy Director under the Act conducts the hearing. He or she establishes the procedures and determines all other matters related to the conduct of the hearing.
  • The Hearing Co-ordinator supports the Director during the hearing. For example, he or she will make sure the Director has all the necessary papers at hand.
  • An Operations Liaison/Intelligence Officer will likely represent the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs. This person may bring witnesses to present the ministry's evidence in the case.

As a party to the hearing, you should plan to attend. You may also bring witnesses to present evidence in support of your case.


Note: All hearings are public. In most cases, anyone can observe. However, the Director may decide to exclude the public from some parts of a hearing if confidential, personal or financial information is being presented.


What happens if I don't attend my hearing?

If you are properly served with notice of your hearing and do not attend at the set time and location, the Director may proceed in your absence. If this happens, you will not be entitled to any further notice of your hearing. If you comply with the law in question before your hearing, the Director may cancel the hearing.

Where are hearings held?

If you are located within a two-hour drive from Guelph, your hearing will likely take place in the hearing boardroom of the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs. This boardroom is located at the ministry's Guelph office complex. However, every effort will be made to hold the hearing in a convenient place for all parties.

When you arrive in the boardroom, you will notice that it looks a lot like a courtroom. The Director will sit in the centre. The Hearing Co-ordinator and the Ministry representative will sit to the left. As a party to the hearing, you will sit to the right.

When a witness is called to testify, he or she will be asked to sit between the ministry and the other parties, facing the Director. Any observers sit behind the witness chair. It is a general practice at hearings to require witnesses to either swear an oath on the Bible or make a solemn vow to tell the truth.

Should I hire a lawyer?

This is your choice. You may present your case yourself. Or, you may ask a lawyer or another person to represent you. Most cases that come before the Director do not involve lawyers.

How can I prepare for my hearing?

  • Make a note of all the circumstances and evidence that you want to present. Check the accuracy of your information.
  • Be prepared to prove your case and present everything that is relevant to it. Do not assume that the Director knows the details or the arguments in favour of your case.
  • Ensure that you bring with you and present any documents or other pieces of evidence that explain or support your position. This can include photographs or other records. These documents should be disclosed to the Ministry before the hearing.
  • Ask witnesses who have related information to attend the hearing and present their evidence on your behalf. The Director may accept second-hand (hearsay) evidence. But in most cases witnesses with the most direct (first-hand) knowledge are the most persuasive. These witnesses can be very important to your case if important facts are in dispute. It's in your best interest to make sure they attend.
  • Before the day of your hearing you will receive a copy of all documents and written evidence to be presented. This includes ministry witness statements, if there are any. If it is not possible to send you these documents in advance, you will receive copies on the day of the hearing. You may then ask for an adjournment or for time to review the documents before the hearing starts.

What happens during the hearing?

Hearings follow the rules set out in the Statutory Powers Procedure Act. The process is similar to many court proceedings. It provides for a fair, orderly, and unbiased process. At the beginning of the hearing, the Director will explain how it works. You will find there are three main parts:

1. Opening statements

The Director asks the parties involved (the Ministry representative and you are parties to the hearing) for opening statements. This may include:

  • a brief outline of the evidence you will present
  • a list of your witnesses
  • what decision you feel would be fair
2. The Ministry's evidence

The ministry presents its evidence through witnesses. Each witness will answer questions in this order:

  • Initial questions from the ministry representative
  • Questions from you
  • Possible re-examination from the Ministry representative
  • Questions from the Director, if any
3. Your evidence

After the ministry has presented all its evidence, you will present yours. As a party to the hearing, you may want to testify yourself and/or call other witnesses. If you have witnesses, you will be asked to question them. Then, you and/or your witnesses will answer further questions in this order:

  • Questions from the ministry representative
  • Possible re-examination from you
  • Questions from the Director, if any

Please note: it is a general practice at hearings to require witnesses to either swear an oath on the Bible or make a solemn vow to tell the truth.


4. Summary statements

After all the evidence is presented, each party may make a summary statement (called a summation). This will be a brief summary of:

  • the evidence you presented
  • the arguments that support the decision you feel is fair

Once all of the evidence and summations have been heard, the hearing is concluded

When will I learn the results of the hearing?

You will receive the decision in writing, usually within 21 days after the hearing is over, however, there may be a verbal decision given at the conclusion of the hearing. You will receive the original decision document by courier. Decisions are public documents and the ministry posts them on its website.

What can I do if I disagree with the decision?

You may appeal a decision if:

  • there was a negative impact on your licence
  • any other decision under the Milk Act

You must file your appeal with the Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Appeal Tribunal.

Toll Free: 1-888-466-2372 ext. 63433
Local: 519-826-3433

E-mail: appeals.tribunal.omafra@ontario.ca


What language will the hearing use?

Hearings may be held in English or French.

For hearings in French: You may give your evidence in French or make submissions in French if you request this in advance. You must make your request at least 10 days prior to the hearing. This is to allow time to arrange for interpretation and translation.

For other languages: If you require an interpreter in a language other than English or French is required, you must notify the Director and provide the interpreter at your own cost.

For more information, contact:

The Hearing Coordinator
Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs
1 Stone Road West, 5SE
Guelph, Ontario N1G 4Y2
Tel: (519) 826-4537
Fax: (519) 826-3940


For more information:
E-mail: regulatory.compliance@ontario.ca

Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 29 June 2011
Last Reviewed: 25 November 2011

Avez-vous été convoqué à une audience?

Guide de consultation rapide sur le processus d'audience

Dans le cadre de vos activités dans le secteur agroalimentaire, il se peut que vous ayez un jour à comparaître à une audience concernant la délivrance d'un permis. Le cas échéant, vous pourriez avoir des questions au sujet du déroulement de l'audience. Voici des renseignements importants qui vous permettront de vous préparer et de savoir à quoi vous attendre. Servez-vous des liens ci-dessous pour passer directement aux questions qui se rapportent le plus à vous.

 

Signalement des préoccupations concernant la salubrité des aliments

Si vous souhaitez signaler une activité présumée illégale ou une préoccupation liée à la salubrité des aliments, communiquez avec l'Unité de l'observation des mesures législatives au

En ligne : c’est rapide et facile

(519) 826-4537 (ligne sécurisée)

regulatory.compliance@ontario.ca

Pour plus de renseignements ou d'information, communiquez au :
1 877 424-1300

 

Qu'est-ce qu'une audience?

Une audience est une procédure judiciaire qui sert à régler certains types de litiges. Par exemple, une audience peut servir à déterminer si un permis doit être délivré à un établissement ou encore la façon de disposer d'un produit détenu.

Le déroulement d'une audience est semblable à celui d'une instance judiciaire. Par exemple, les deux parties à la cause présentent des preuves, mais c'est un directeur nommé en vertu de la Loi et non pas un juge qui dirige l'audience et rend la décision finale.

L'audience permet au directeur nommé en vertu de la Loi d'entendre les deux parties avant de rendre une décision. Les audiences se déroulent conformément aux règles prévues par la Loi sur l'exercice des compétences légales, et le directeur peut rendre des décisions concernant les lois ci-dessous :

Qui assiste à l'audience?

Trois autres personnes devraient être présentes à votre audience.

  • Le directeur ou le sous-directeur nommé en vertu de la Loi dirige l'audience, établit la procédure à suivre et détermine toutes les autres questions liées à la tenue de l'audience.
  • Le coordonnateur des audiences prête assistance au directeur pendant l'audience, notamment en veillant à ce que celui-ci ait tous les documents nécessaires à portée de la main.
  • Une agente ou un agent de la liaison opérationnelle et des renseignements sera probablement présent pour représenter le MAAARO. Cette personne peut amener des témoins chargés de présenter les éléments de preuve du ministère.

En tant que partie à l'audience, vous devez prévoir d'y assister. Vous pouvez aussi amener des témoins qui présenteront des preuves à l'appui de votre cause.


Remarque : Toutes les audiences sont ouvertes au public et, en général, n'importe qui peut y assister à titre d'observateur. Cependant, le directeur peut décider d'exclure le public si des renseignements confidentiels, personnels ou financiers sont présentés.


Qu'arrive-t-il si je ne me présente pas à mon audience?

Si l'avis d'audience vous a été signifié comme il se doit et que vous ne vous présentez pas à l'heure et à l'endroit prévus, le directeur peut décider de tenir l'audience en votre absence. Dans ce cas, vous n'aurez droit à aucun autre avis. Si vous vous conformez à la loi visée avant la tenue de l'audience, le directeur pourrait annuler l'audience.

Où ont lieu les audiences?

Si vous vous trouvez à moins de deux heures en voiture de Guelph, l'audience aura probablement lieu dans la salle d'audience du MAAARO qui est située dans les locaux du ministère à Guelph. Cependant, on mettra tout en œuvre pour tenir l'audience à un endroit qui convient à toutes les parties.

Lorsque vous arriverez dans la salle d'audience, vous remarquerez que sa disposition est similaire à celle d'un tribunal. Le directeur sera assis au centre et le coordonnateur des audiences et le représentant du ministère à gauche. À titre de partie visée par l'instance, vous serez assis à droite.

Les personnes appelées à témoigner sont invitées à s'asseoir entre le ministère et les autres parties, en face du directeur. Le cas échéant, les observateurs s'assoient derrière la chaise du témoin. En général, les témoins aux audiences doivent prêter serment sur la Bible ou déclarer solennellement qu'ils diront la vérité.

Dois-je retenir les services d'un avocat?

Cette décision vous appartient. Vous pouvez présenter votre cause vous-même ou vous faire représenter par un avocat ou une autre personne. La majorité des causes portées devant le directeur n'exigent pas la présence d'un avocat.

Comment puis-je me préparer à l'audience?

  • Notez les circonstances et les preuves que vous souhaitez présenter et vérifiez l'exactitude de vos renseignements.
  • Soyez prêt à prouver le bien-fondé de votre cause et à présenter tous les éléments pertinents. Ne supposez pas que le directeur connaît les détails de votre cause ou les arguments à l'appui de votre position.
  • Prenez soin d'apporter et de présenter tous les documents ou autres éléments de preuve qui expliquent ou appuient votre position. Il peut s'agir notamment de photographies ou d'autres documents. Ces preuves et documents doivent être divulgués au ministère avant l'audience.
  • Demandez à des témoins qui possèdent des renseignements pertinents d'assister à l'audience et de présenter leurs preuves en votre nom. Bien que le directeur puisse accepter des preuves de seconde main (preuves par ouï-dire), les témoins ayant la connaissance la plus directe (preuves originales) d'une affaire sont généralement les plus convaincants. Si des faits importants sont contestés, il peut s'avérer très utile d'appeler des témoins ayant une connaissance directe de ces faits. Il est dans votre intérêt de voir à ce que ces personnes soient présentes.
  • Avant le jour de l'audience, vous recevrez une copie des preuves écrites et des documents qui seront présentés, notamment les déclarations des témoins du ministère, s'il y en a. S'il est impossible de vous faire parvenir ces documents à l'avance, on vous les remettra le jour de l'audience. Vous pourrez alors demander que la séance soit ajournée ou qu'on vous accorde du temps pour prendre connaissance des documents avant le début de l'audience.

Que se passe-t-il durant l'audience?

Les audiences se déroulent conformément aux règles prévues par la Loi sur l'exercice des compétences légales. La procédure est similaire à celle de nombreuses instances judiciaires et se veut équitable, ordonnée et impartiale. Au début de l'audience, le directeur expliquera le fonctionnement. Vous verrez que l'audience compte trois parties principales.

  1. Les déclarations préliminaires

Le directeur demande aux parties visées par l'instance (c'est à-dire le représentant du ministère et vous) de faire une déclaration préliminaire, qui peut comprendre notamment ce qui suit :

  • une brève description des preuves qui seront présentées;
  • la liste des témoins;
  • la décision qui serait jugée équitable.
  1. Les preuves du ministère

Le ministère présente ses preuves par l'intermédiaire de témoins. Chaque témoin répond à des questions selon l'ordre suivant :

  • les questions initiales du représentant du ministère;
  • vos questions;
  • les nouvelles questions que peut avoir le représentant du ministère;
  • les questions du directeur, s'il en a.
  1. Vos preuves

Lorsque la présentation des preuves du ministère est terminée, c'est à vous de présenter vos preuves. À titre de partie visée par l'instance, vous pouvez témoigner vous-même et appeler des témoins. Si vous avez des témoins, on vous demandera de les interroger. Vous ou vos témoins répondrez ensuite à d'autres questions selon l'ordre suivant :

  • les questions du représentant du ministère;
  • les nouvelles questions que vous pouvez avoir;
  • les questions du directeur, s'il en a.

À noter : En général, les témoins aux audiences doivent prêter serment sur la Bible ou déclarer solennellement qu'ils diront la vérité.


  1. Les conclusions finales

Une fois que toutes les preuves ont été présentées, chaque partie peut présenter ses conclusions finales. Il s'agit d'un court résumé de ce qui suit :

  • les preuves présentées;
  • les arguments à l'appui d'une décision jugée équitable.

Après l'audition des preuves et des conclusions finales, l'audience se termine.

Quand serai-je informé de la décision?

En général, la décision est communiquée par écrit dans les 21 jours suivant l'audience. Cependant, une décision peut être rendue verbalement à la fin de l'audience. Le document original vous sera envoyé par messager. Les décisions sont des documents publics et sont affichées dans le site Web du ministère.

Que puis-je faire si je suis en désaccord avec la décision?

Vous pouvez appeler :

  • d'une décision qui a une incidence négative sur votre permis;
  • de toute autre décision rendue en vertu de la Loi sur le lait.

L'appel doit être déposé au Tribunal d'appel de l'agriculture, de l'alimentation et des affaires rurales.

Sans frais : 1 888 466-2372, poste 63433
Local : 519 826-3433
Courriel : appeals.tribunal.omafra@ontario.ca


Quelle langue sera utilisée à l'audience?

Les audiences ont lieu en français ou en anglais.

Audiences en français : Vous pouvez témoigner ou présenter vos observations en français si vous en faites la demande au moins dix jours avant l'audience afin de nous permettre de prendre les dispositions nécessaires pour l'interprétation et la traduction.

Audiences dans d'autres langues : Si vous avez besoin des services d'un interprète dans une langue autre que les deux langues officielles, vous devez en aviser le directeur et assumer vous-même les frais d'interprétation.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, communiquez avec :Le coordonnateur des audiences
Ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales
1 Stone Road West, 5 SE
Guelph (Ontario) N1G 4Y2
Tél. : 519 826-4537
Téléc. : 519 826-3940


Pour plus de renseignements :
Courriel : regulatory.compliance@ontario.ca

Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 15 mars 2009
Dernière révision : 19 juillet 2011