Managing Specified Risk Material Under the Enhanced Feed Ban

Enhanced feed ban regulations came into effect on July 12, 2007. The regulations were designed to complement existing measures to eliminate bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE) from the Canadian cattle herd as quickly as possible. The regulations have led to significant changes, and have impacted livestock producers across Ontario.

Background:

In BSE-infected cattle, the BSE agent concentrates in tissues known as specified risk materials (SRM). BSE is believed to be spread when cattle consume feed containing SRM from infected cattle. To protect public health, these tissues have been removed from all cattle slaughtered for human consumption since 2003.


To prevent the spread of BSE among cattle, Canada banned most mammalian animal proteins, including SRM, from cattle feed in 1997. To better protect animal health at large, as of July 12, 2007 enhanced federal regulations also ban SRM from all other animal feeds, pet foods and fertilizers.


According to the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA), removing SRM from the entire animal feed system greatly reduces the potential contamination of cattle feed during production, distribution, storage or use. Applying precautions to pet food and fertilizer materials limits the possibility of cattle and other susceptible animals being exposed to these products. The enhanced regulations should result in a speedier eradication of BSE from the national cattle herd.

Specified Risk Materials:


SRM are those cattle tissues which are thought to have the potential of transmitting BSE.

They include:

  • the skull, brain, trigeminal ganglia (nerves attached to the brain), eyes, tonsils, spinal cord, and dorsal root ganglia (nerves attached to the spinal cord) of all cattle aged 30 months or older, and
  • the distal ileum (portion of the small intestine) of cattle of all ages.


The whole carcass is considered to be SRM for any dead bovine animal from which the SRM has not been removed.


Livestock producers who handle, transport or dispose of cattle remains need to be aware of their responsibilities under federal and provincial regulations.

O. Reg. 106/09, Disposal of Dead Farm Animals under Ontario's Nutrient Management Act, 2002 allows carcasses of cattle that die on a farm and their SRM to be disposed of on-farm. Farm operators may dispose of carcasses by burial, composting or incineration, or by depositing carcasses or SRM in a disposal vessel or an approved anaerobic digester. The federal Health of Animals Regulations require all cattle remains, including compost derived from cattle to remain on the farm property where the animal died or a farm property contiguous to it unless it is legally transported to a legal disposal site. It is also necessary to continue reporting the Canadian Cattle Identification Agency (CCIA) ear tag numbers of deadstock to the database for removal.

Transporting SRM Off-Farm:

Any cattle deadstock that are moved from the farm where the animal died must comply with the requirements governing the transportation and identification requirements of the federal Health of Animals Regulations. A federal permit will be required if moving a cattle carcass to another non-contiguous farm property for disposal or for moving the carcass to a disposal facility licensed under O. Reg. 105/09-Disposal of Deadstock under Ontario's Food Safety and Quality Act, 2001 or to a waste disposal facility approved under Health of Animals Act and Ontario's Environmental Protection Act. The application form is available through the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA). The contact information is provided below. The permits are free, issued for 90 days, and may involve an on-farm inspection by CFIA staff.


Producers and those transporting dead animals should be aware that they are only allowed to deliver cattle deadstock to a facility that has a CFIA permit to receive SRM material. Check with staff at your normal delivery site to ensure that they have this permit.

The federal regulations require carcasses and any SRM removed from the carcass that are then removed from the farm or other place where the animal died to be stained with an indelible dye that is safe for consumption for animals.


In most cases dead animal collectors have assumed responsibility for staining cattle carcasses prior to removal. Nonetheless, cattle producers who normally use the services of a dead animal collector are advised to discuss this with their service provider.


Under the previous regulatory regime, people who transported deadstock in Ontario were required to have a clearly displayed marker affixed to their transport vehicle. Beginning March 27th, 2009 a marker is no longer required except for collectors licensed under O. Reg. 105/09. However, all persons transporting deadstock must ensure that the following minimum requirements in the provincial regulations are met.

  • Vehicle, trailer or transport container must be designed and equipped to prevent leakage or escape of the materials being transported ,
  • Surfaces that come into contact with a dead animal during transport must be constructed with impervious materials and be capable of withstanding repeated cleaning and sanitizing,
  • Dead animals must be transported without being in public view,
  • Dead animals must not be transported in the same vehicle as live animals or food for human consumption,
  • After delivering to a licensed disposal facility or permitted site, the vehicle must be thoroughly cleaned and disinfected before leaving the facility premises.Cleaning and sanitizing must be done before leaving a disposal facility.
  • Prior to transporting dead cattle a permit must be obtained from the CFIA,
  • Prior to being transported all dead cattle are to be stained down the back in accordance with federal law, have Canadian Cattle Identification Agency (CCIA) ear tag attached and other imposed conditions.

Records:

Record keeping requirements have been added under the CFIA regulations. Producers must record the following information for any movement of SRM and cattle deadstock off-farm:

  • name and address of the transporter
  • date of movement
  • name of the dye used to mark the deadstock or SRM
  • Canadian Cattle Identification Agency (or Quebec) tag number
  • the combined weight of SRM and carcasses considered SRM, as well as the number of carcasses, and
  • the destination.

Because of the long incubation period for BSE, these records must be kept for 10 years.

Feed:


The 1997 feed ban that prohibits most proteins derived from mammals from use in ruminant feed still applies. These materials can still be fed to non-ruminants including chickens, pigs and horses. However, since July 12, 2007, all feed, regardless of the species it is fed to, must be manufactured from SRM-free ingredients.


For more information about the new SRM regulations contact the CFIA at 1-800-442-2342 or visit www.inspection.gc.ca/bse .

Contacts for more information:

Canadian Food Inspection Agency
1-800-442-2342
www.inspection.gc.ca/bse

Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs
Kevin Joynes, Dead Animal Disposal Advisor
519-826-7510
www.ontario.ca/omafra

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

This document is not a description of all of the requirements contained in O. Reg. 105/09, and the regulation itself must be to read to determine all such requirements. In the event that there is a conflict between the FSQA or O. Reg. 105/09 and this document, the FSQA and O. Reg. 105/09 govern.

Stakeholders should seek their own legal advice if they have concerns about the requirements or applicability of O. Reg. 105/09, or about the requirements or applicability of any other Act, regulation or policy mentioned in this document.

This document last was updated on March 26, 2009, and will be updated from time to time. Always check the OMAFRA website to ensure that you have the most up to date version of this document.”


Author: Kevin Joynes - Dead Animal Disposal Advisor/OMAFRA/AHWB/VIA; Bill Groot-Nibbelink - Livestock Regulatory Affairs Specialist/OMAFRA/AHWB/VS
Creation Date: 23 March 2009
Last Reviewed: 23 March 2009

Gérer les matières à risque spécifiées en vertu du renforcement de l'interdiction frappant les aliments du bétail

La réglementation sur le renforcement de l'interdiction est entrée en vigueur le 12 juillet 2007. La réglementation vise à complémenter les mesures actuelles afin d'éliminer plus rapidement l'encéphalopathie spongiforme bovine (ESB) du troupeau bovin canadien. Les changements ont eu un impact sur les opérations des éleveurs de bovins de l'Ontario.

Contexte :

Chez les bovins infectés, l'ESB se concentre dans certains tissus appelés matières à risque spécifiées (MRS). L'ESB se propage lorsque les bovins consomment des aliments du bétail contaminés par des MSR provenant d'animaux infectés. Par souci de protection de la santé publique, on retire ces tissus de tous les bovins abattus pour la consommation humaine depuis 2003.

Afin de prévenir la propagation de l'ESB chez les bovins, le gouvernement canadien a interdit la plupart des protéines d'origine mammifère, y compris les MRS, dans les aliments pour le bétail en 1997. Depuis le 12 juillet 2007, la réglementation fédérale renforcée a aussi interdit les MSR dans tous les autres aliments pour animaux, aliments pour animaux de compagnie et engrais, afin d'accroître la santé animale.


Selon l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA), le fait de retirer les MRS de l'ensemble du système d'alimentation animale contribue grandement à réduire les risques potentiels de contamination des aliments du bétail durant les étapes de production, de distribution, d'entreposage et d'utilisation. L'application de ces mesures aux aliments pour animaux de compagnie et aux engrais limite les risques d'exposition des bovins et des autres animaux susceptibles à ces produits. L'interdiction accrue devrait se traduire par une éradication plus rapide de l'ESB du troupeau bovin national.

Matières à risque spécifiées :

Les MRS sont les tissus de bovins susceptibles de transmettre l'ESB.

Les MRS comprennent :

  • le crâne, la cervelle, les ganglions trigéminés (nerfs attachés à la cervelle), les yeux, les amygdales, la moelle épinière et les ganglions de la racine dorsale (nerfs attachés à la moelle épinière) des bovins de 30 mois et plus; et
  • l'iléon distal (portion de l'intestin grêle) des bovins de tout âge.

Si les MSR ne sont pas retirées d'un cadavre de bovin, la carcasse entière est considérée comme une MSR.
Les éleveurs de bétail qui manipulent, transportent ou éliminent des restes de bovins doivent connaître leurs responsabilités en vertu des réglementations fédérales et provinciales.

Le règlement de l'Ontario 106/09 sur l'élimination des cadavres d'animaux d'élevage, pris en application de la Loi de 2002 sur la gestion des éléments nutritifs, permet l'élimination des cadavres de bovins qui sont morts à la ferme et de leurs MRS sur la ferme. Les exploitants agricoles peuvent éliminer les carcasses en les enfouissant, en les compostant, en les incinérant, ou en déposant les cadavres d'animaux ou les MRS dans un récipient d'élimination ou un digesteur anaérobie approuvé. Le Règlement sur la santé des animaux fédéral stipule que tous les restes de bovins, y compris toutes les matières compostées, doivent rester sur la ferme où l'animal est mort ou sur une ferme contiguë, à moins d'être transportés de façon conforme à un lieu d'élimination approuvé. Il faut continuer à rapporter les numéros d'identification des animaux morts à l'Agence canadienne d'identification du bétail (ACIB) afin qu'ils soient retirés de la base de données.

Transporter des MRS à l'extérieur de la ferme :

Tout cadavre de bovin qui est déplacé de la ferme où l'animal est mort doit être transporté conformément aux exigences régissant le transport et l'identification du Règlement sur la santé des animaux fédéral. Il faut un permis du gouvernement fédéral pour déplacer une carcasse de bovin à une autre ferme non contiguë afin de l'éliminer, ou pour transporter la carcasse à une installation d'élimination titulaire d'un permis en vertu du règlement de l'Ontario 105/09, Élimination des animaux morts, pris en application de la Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments, ou à une installation d'élimination de déchets approuvée conformément à la Loi sur la santé des animaux fédérale et à la Loi sur la protection de l'environnement de l'Ontario Les formulaires de demande sont disponibles à l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA), voir les renseignements plus loin. Le permis, valide pour une durée de 90 jours, est gratuit et pourrait faire l'objet d'une inspection à la ferme par les agents de l'ACIA.


Les éleveurs et ceux qui transportent des animaux morts doivent s'assurer de ne transporter les cadavres de bovins qu'à une installation titulaire d'un permis de l'ACIA lui permettant de recevoir des MSR. Il faut vérifier auprès du personnel de votre fournisseur habituel pour s'assurer que l'établissement est titulaire de ce permis.

La réglementation fédérale stipule que toute carcasse et MRS retirées de la carcasse qui sont ensuite déplacées de la ferme ou d'un autre endroit doivent être badigeonnées d'une teinture indélébile dont la consommation n'est pas nuisible pour les animaux.


On s'attend à ce que les ramasseurs d'animaux morts assument leur responsabilité en badigeonnant les carcasses avant de les déplacer. Néanmoins, il est conseillé aux éleveurs de bovins qui font habituellement affaire avec un ramasseur d'animaux morts d'en faire part à leur fournisseur.

Selon la réglementation précédente, les personnes qui transportaient des animaux morts en Ontario devaient avoir sur leur véhicule de transport un indicateur clairement affiché. À compter du 27 mars 2009, cet indicateur n'est plus exigé sauf pour les ramasseurs d'animaux morts titulaires d'un permis en vertu du règlement de l'Ontario 105/09. Toutefois, toutes les personnes qui transportent des animaux morts doivent satisfaire au moins aux exigences provinciales suivantes :

  • les véhicules, remorques ou récipients utilisés pour transporter les cadavres d'animaux doivent être conçus et équipés de façon à prévenir l'écoulement des liquides ou la fuite des matières transportées;
  • les surfaces qui entrent en contact avec un animal mort pendant le transport doivent être construites de matériaux imperméables et on doit pouvoir les nettoyer et les assainir à répétition;
  • les animaux morts qui sont transportés doivent être cachés à la vue du public;
  • les animaux morts ne doivent jamais être transportés dans le même véhicule que des animaux vivants ou des aliments destinés à la consommation humaine;
  • après la livraison de cadavres d'animaux à une installation ou à un lieu d'élimination approuvé, le véhicule doit être entièrement nettoyé et assaini, le nettoyage et l'assainissement devant être effectués avant de quitter l'établissement;
  • avant le transport de bovins morts il faut obtenir un permis de l'ACIA;
  • avant tout transport, une marque de couleur visible doit être appliquée le long du dos de chaque cadavre de bovins conformément à la loi fédérale, l'animal mort doit avoir à l'oreille l'étiquette d'identification de l'Agence canadienne d'identification du bétail (ACIB) et il faut s'assurer de satisfaire à toute autre exigence.

Tenue de dossiers :

La nouvelle réglementation a ajouté des exigences concernant la tenue de dossiers. Les éleveurs sont tenus de consigner les renseignements suivants concernant le déplacement hors ferme de toute MRS ou de tout cadavre d'animaux :

  • le nom et l'adresse du transporteur;
  • la date du déplacement;
  • le nom de l'encre utilisée pour badigeonner les animaux morts ou les MRS;
  • le numéro d'identification de l'Agence canadienne d'identification du bétail ou d'Agri-traçabilité Québec;
  • le poids combiné des MRS et des carcasses considérées comme des MRS, ainsi que le nombre de carcasses; et
  • la destination.

À cause de la longue période d'incubation de l'ESB, il faut conserver les dossiers pendant 10 ans.

Aliment :

La protection alimentaire de 1997 qui interdisait l'utilisation de la plupart des protéines d'origine mammifère dans les aliments pour ruminants demeure en vigueur. On peut encore servir ces matières à des non ruminants comme les poulets, les porcs et les chevaux. Toutefois, depuis le 12 juillet 2007, tous les aliments doivent être préparés à partir d'ingrédients exempts de MRS, indépendamment de l'animal auquel ils seront servis.


Pour plus de renseignements au sujet de la réglementation des MRS, veuillez communiquer avec l'ACIA au 1 800 442-2342 ou visiter le www.inspection.gc.ca/bse.

Pour plus de détails :

Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments
1 800 442-2342
www.inspection.gc.ca/bse


Ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario
Kevin Joynes, conseiller en élimination de cadavre d'animaux,
1 888 466-2372, poste 67510 ou kevin.joynes@ontario.ca
www.ontario.ca/omafra


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Le présent document ne décrit pas toutes les dispositions du Règlement de l'Ontario 105/09, et celui-ci doit être lu pour connaître toutes les règles qu'il faut observer. S'il y a un conflit entre le présent document et la Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments ou le Règlement de l'Ontario 105/09, ce sont la loi et le règlement qui l'emportent.

Les personnes concernées devraient obtenir des avis juridiques si elles ont des questions au sujet des dispositions ou de l'applicabilité du Règlement de l'Ontario 105/09, ou au sujet des dispositions ou de l'applicabilité des lois, politiques et règlements mentionnés dans le présent document.

Le présent document a été actualisé le 26 mars 2009 et le sera de nouveau de temps à autre. Il faut toujours vérifier le site Web du ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales pour être certain d'avoir la version la plus récente du présent document.


Auteur : Bill Groot-Nibbelink, spécialiste de la réglementation des élevages, MAAARO
Date de création : 12 juillet 2007
Dernière révision : 15 avril 2009