Requirements for Importing Honey Bees into Ontario
(Last updated April 19, 2018)

1. Application Requirements

Individuals and businesses intending to import honey bees into Ontario from another Canadian province must apply to the Ontario Provincial Apiarist for an import permit for each shipment. The application form to import honey bees into Ontario can be found at www.omafra.gov.on.ca/english/food/inspection/bees/importbees.htm.

All applications must be accompanied by official inspection reports from the province of origin, based on inspections of the honey bees to be imported. Details are as follows:

Note: the health status of the honey bees detailed in the inspection reports and Orders issued in the province of origin will determine whether an import permit will be issued. Restrictions may be added or amended at any time, due to changes in the disease status of any jurisdiction or beekeeping operation.

2. Import Requirements

The following are considered to be the minimum inspection requirements in order to be considered for an Ontario import permit. Further requirements may be requested due to the disease status of the originating operation or region within the exporting province, or at the discretion of the Provincial Apiarist (of either the exporting province or Ontario). These minimum conditions apply to operations without a history of American foulbrood (AFB).

Colonies or Nucleus Colonies Entering Ontario from another Province

  • All honey bees to be imported into Ontario must be inspected in the province of origin.
  • Inspections must be conducted by provincially appointed government inspectors under the legislation governing honey bees (e.g. Bees Act) in the originating province.
  • Inspections must be conducted in the current beekeeping season, within no more than 45 days of the intended date of entry to Ontario.
  • Inspection reports must be completed for each inspection, and signed by the provincially appointed government inspector.
  • Completed inspection reports must be sent by the Provincial Apiarist (or equivalent) of the exporting province, to Ontario's Provincial Apiarist.
  • Inspection reports submitted within 7 days prior to shipment may not be processed, potentially resulting in denial of the requested import permit.
  • The Provincial Apiarist (or equivalent) of the exporting province must provide to Ontario's Provincial Apiarist the documentation related to the honey bees being imported into Ontario, including:
    • all regulatory Orders issued within the previous 24 months, and
    • all official pest and disease corrective measures required by the exporting province's Apiary Program within the previous 24 months.

Colonies or Nucleus Colonies Passing Through Ontario from another Province

If colonies are travelling through Ontario on their way to another province or country:

  • The beekeeper must provide Ontario's Provincial Apiarist with the date of transit and the transit route 7 days in advance of entering Ontario. Any changes in the details of the transportation must be communicated immediately (date of changes) to the Ontario Provincial Apiarist.
  • The Provincial Apiarist of the province of origin must provide the Ontario Provincial Apiarist with the current inspection reports supporting the movement of bees, and the number of colonies being transported.

3. Inspection Conditions

The following are the minimum inspection conditions for any honey bee colonies, nucleus colonies, honey bee queens, or used hive equipment being imported into Ontario.

Honey Bee Colonies, Nucleus Colonies and Honey Bee Queens

For each apiary or bee yard that is providing colonies for the load that will be imported into Ontario:

  • A minimum of ten honey bee colonies or 10% of the total number of colonies in the apiary or bee yard (whichever is greater) must have a brood nest inspection and a top bar scan (completed for the presence small hive beetle).
  • A minimum of 3 brood frames must be inspected in each colony receiving a brood nest inspection.
  • Top bar scans (completed for the presence of small hive beetle) must be conducted on an additional 20% of the total number of colonies in the apiary.
  • If clinical signs of AFB are found in any colonies within an apiary or bee yard, then brood nest inspections must be conducted on 100% of the colonies in the apiary.

Used Hive Equipment

  • wax comb in honey supers (minimum three frames per box) must be inspected at a minimum of 10% of the boxes or 70 boxes (whichever is the greater number of boxes).
  • wax comb from the brood nest, dark or old honey supers (where the wax comb is dark) (minimum three frames per box) must be inspected at a minimum of 30% of the boxes or 100 boxes (whichever is the greater number of boxes).
  • If symptoms of AFB are detected in any of the equipment being inspected for import into Ontario:
    • all boxes (100%) must be inspected. Exceptions may be made if all boxes (100%) are irradiated with cobalt irradiation and documentation that the irradiation took place (from the irradiation facility) is provided to Ontario's Provincial Apiarist.

4. Restrictions

American foulbrood (Paenibacillus larvae):

  • Full sized or nucleus honey bee colonies or honey bee packages will not be permitted to enter Ontario as a permanent destination from counties or rural municipalities where strains of AFB resistant to the antibiotics Oxytetracycline or Tylosin ('resistant AFB' = rAFB) have been detected.
  • Full sized or nucleus honey bee colonies or honey bee packages will not be permitted to enter Ontario as a permanent destination from beekeeping operations where strains of rAFB have been detected.
  • Used beekeeping equipment will not be permitted to enter Ontario as a permanent destination from counties or rural municipalities where strains of rAFB have been detected. Exceptions may be made if all the equipment is irradiated with cobalt irradiation prior to shipment and is accompanied with documentation from the irradiation facility demonstrating that the equipment has been irradiated.
  • Full sized or nucleus honey bee colonies or honey bee packages may be permitted to enter Ontario from a yard that has less than 2% of the colonies, but no more than 10 colonies, that are positive for AFB. However;
    • If permitted to enter Ontario, the colonies must be detained at the receiving site within Ontario for a period of two years.
    • No colonies that were found to be positive for AFB will be permitted to enter Ontario.
    • No colonies will be permitted from yards found with any clinical AFB from a province where rAFB has been detected.
    • Tracking documentation must be provided for the AFB positive colonies in a positive yard before any of the AFB negative colonies will be permitted to enter Ontario.

Varroa mites (Varroa destructor):

  • Full sized or nucleus honey bee colonies or honey bee packages will not be permitted to enter Ontario as a permanent destination (other than transit through) from counties or rural municipalities where strains of varroa mites resistant to the pesticide amitraz (resistant varroa) have been detected (resistant varroa = varroa which respond amitraz treatment with less than 80% efficacy by a Pettis or modified Pettis test).
  • Full sized or nucleus honey bee colonies or honey bee packages will not be permitted to enter Ontario as a permanent destination from beekeeping operations where strains of resistant varroa have been detected.

Small Hive Beetle (Aethina tumida):

  • Honey bee operations and apiaries with small hive beetle (SHB) may be permitted to enter Ontario.
  • In addition to the inspection reports provided by the originating jurisdiction, exporting beekeepers must report a positive SHB status to the Ontario Provincial Apiarist in any bee yards or honey bee colonies making up the import.
  • Individual honey bee colonies with SHB damage and showing evidence of excessive SHB reproduction will not be permitted to enter Ontario as a permanent destination (other than transit through). This may include >20 SHB larvae in a single colony.

Transportation through Ontario

  • After inspection, shipments are to be transported directly and continuously through Ontario.
  • Transportation plans are not to be modified en route.
  • Colonies must be secured to the vehicle and are not permitted to be removed from the vehicle while passing through Ontario.
  • If the vehicle transporting the bees is not enclosed, all colonies must be covered with netting from the point of departure in the exporting province until they have passed through Ontario (and any other provinces on the route).
  • If there is an accident where the vehicle is stopped and honey bee colonies have come off the vehicle or the stability of the load is greatly compromised while in Ontario, the Ontario Provincial Apiarist must be notified.

From Outside of Canada, including the USA

  • No full sized colonies, nucleus colonies, or used hive equipment (i.e. wax comb) are permitted to enter Ontario from other countries.
  • Honey bee queens or packaged honey bees entering Ontario from other countries must have a signed federal import permit from the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA).
  • This federal import permit must be submitted to the Ontario Provincial Apiarist in order for the importer to qualify for an Ontario import permit. Both federal and provincial import permits are required for the bees to enter Ontario.
  • The exporting apiary must be certified as free from Africanized honey bee genetics as follows:
    • The queens and packaged honey bees originate from an apiary free of genes from the sub-Saharan type of Africanized honey bee, Apis mellifera scutellata and/or Apis mellifea capensis; and
    • In the past year, based on current maps and surveillance programs for Africanized honey bees, Africanized honey bees have not been detected within 100 miles of any of the apiaries from which the queens and packaged honey bees originate.

Report prepared by Paul Kozak, Provincial Apiarist at the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Paul Kozak, Provincial Apiarist at the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs.
Creation Date: 19 April 2018
Last Reviewed: 19 April 2018

Exigences pour l'importation d'abeilles mellifères en Ontario
(Dernière mise à jour le 20 avril 2020)

1. Exigences liées à la présentation d'une demande

Les personnes et les entreprises qui souhaitent importer des abeilles mellifères en Ontario en provenance d'une autre province canadienne doivent présenter une demande à l'apiculteur provincial pour un permis d'importation pour chaque arrivage. Le formulaire de demande pour importer des abeilles mellifères en Ontario est disponible au www.omafra.gov.on.ca/french/food/inspection/bees/importbees.htm.

Toutes les demandes doivent être accompagnées des rapports d'inspection officiels de la province d'origine, basés sur l'inspection des abeilles mellifères qui seront importées. Les détails vont comme suit :

Remarque : L'état de santé des abeilles mellifères détaillé dans les rapports d'inspection et les arrêtés émis dans la province d'origine détermineront si un permis d'importation sera délivré. Des restrictions peuvent être ajoutées ou modifiées à tout moment, en raison de changement dans l'état sanitaire de toute collectivité publique ou exploitation apicole.

2. Exigences pour l'importation

Les exigences qui suivent sont considérées comme les exigences minimales en matière d'inspection afin qu'une demande de permis d'importation en Ontario soit prise en considération. D'autres exigences peuvent être exigées en raison de l'état sanitaire de l'exploitation ou de la région d'origine au sein de la province exportatrice, ou à la discrétion de l'apiculteur provincial (de la province exportatrice ou de l'Ontario). Ces conditions minimales s'appliquent aux exploitations sans antécédent de loque américaine.

Colonies ou colonies pour essaimage arrivant en Ontario en provenance d'une autre province

  • Toutes les abeilles mellifères qui seront importées en Ontario doivent être inspectées dans la province d'origine.
  • Les inspections doivent être réalisées par des inspecteurs gouvernementaux nommés par la province en vertu de la législation qui régit les abeilles mellifères (p. ex. la Loi sur l'apiculture) dans la province d'origine.
  • Les inspections doivent être réalisées au cours de la saison apicole actuelle, au plus 45 jours avant la date d'entrée prévue en Ontario.
  • Des rapports d'inspection doivent être remplis pour chaque inspection et être signés par l'inspecteur gouvernemental nommé par la province.
  • Les rapports d'inspection dûment remplis doivent être envoyés par l'apiculteur provincial (ou son équivalent) de la province exportatrice à l'apiculteur provincial de l'Ontario.
  • Les rapports d'inspection présentés dans les sept jours qui précèdent l'arrivage peuvent ne pas être traités, ce qui pourrait entraîner le refus du permis d'importation demandé.
  • L'apiculteur provincial (ou son équivalent) de la province exportatrice doit fournir à l'apiculteur provincial de l'Ontario la documentation reliée aux abeilles mellifères qui seront importées en Ontario, notamment :
    • tous les arrêtés réglementaires délivrés au cours des 24 mois précédents;
    • toutes les mesures correctrices officielles contre les ennemis des cultures et les maladies exigées par le programme d'apiculture de la province exportatrice au cours des 24 mois précédents.

Colonies ou colonies pour essaimage qui traversent l'Ontario en provenance d'une autre province

Si des colonies traversent l'Ontario en direction d'une autre province ou d'un autre pays :

  • l'apiculteur doit fournir à l'apiculteur provincial de l'Ontario la date du transport et l'itinéraire sept jours avant d'entrer en Ontario. Tout changement dans les détails du transport doit être communiqué immédiatement (à la date du changement) à l'apiculteur provincial de l'Ontario;
  • L'apiculteur provincial de la province d'origine doit fournir à l'apiculteur provincial de l'Ontario les derniers rapports d'inspection appuyant le déplacement des abeilles, et le nombre de colonies qui sont transportées.

3. Conditions d'inspection

Voici les conditions minimales d'inspection pour les colonies d'abeilles mellifères, les colonies pour essaimage, les reines ou le matériel apicole usagé qui sera importé en Ontario.

Colonies d'abeilles mellifères, colonies pour essaimage et reines

Pour chaque rucher qui fournit des colonies pour le chargement qui sera importé en Ontario :

  • Un minimum de dix colonies d'abeilles mellifères ou 10 % du nombre total de colonies dans le rucher (soit la valeur la plus grande) doit subir une inspection du nid à couvain et un examen de la traverse supérieure de cadre (pour détecter la présence de petit coléoptère des ruches).
  • Un minimum de trois cadres de couvain doit être inspecté dans chaque colonie dont le nid à couvain est inspecté.
  • Des examens de la traverse supérieure (pour détecter la présence de petit coléoptère des ruches) doivent être réalisés sur 20 % de plus du nombre total de colonies dans le rucher.
  • Si des signes cliniques de loque américaine sont détectés dans des colonies d'un rucher, des inspections du nid à couvain doivent être réalisées sur 100 % des colonies du rucher.

Matériel apicole usagé

  • Les rayons de cire dans les hausses (au moins trois cadres par boîte) doivent être inspectés dans un minimum de 10 % des boîtes ou de 70 boîtes (soit le nombre de boîtes le plus élevé).
  • Les rayons de cire provenant du nid à couvain, de hausses foncées ou vieilles (lorsque le rayon de cire est foncé) (au moins trois cadres par boîte) doivent être inspectés dans un minimum de 30 % des boîtes ou de 100 boîtes (soit le nombre de boîtes le plus élevé).
  • Si des symptômes de loque américaine sont détectés dans du matériel inspecté à des fins d'importation en Ontario :
    • toutes les boîtes (100 %) doivent être inspectées. Des exceptions peuvent être faites si toutes les boîtes (100 %) sont irradiées et que des documents appuyant l'irradiation (fournis par l'installation d'irradiation) sont fournis à l'apiculteur provincial de l'Ontario.

4. Restrictions

Loque américaine (Paenibacillus larvae) :

  • Les colonies d'abeilles mellifères complètes ou pour essaimage ou les caisses d'abeilles mellifères n'auront pas l'autorisation d'entrer en Ontario comme destination permanente si elles proviennent de comtés ou de municipalités rurales où des souches de loque américaine résistante (loque américaine résistante) aux antibiotiques oxytétracycline ou tylosin ont été détectées.
  • Les colonies d'abeilles mellifères complètes ou pour essaimage ou les caisses d'abeilles mellifères n'auront pas l'autorisation d'entrer en Ontario comme destination permanente si elles proviennent d'exploitations apicoles où des souches de loque américaine résistante ont été détectées.
  • Le matériel apicole usagé n'aura pas l'autorisation d'entrer en Ontario comme destination permanente en provenance de comtés ou de municipalités rurales où des souches de loque américaine résistante ont été détectées. Des exceptions peuvent être faites si tout le matériel subit une irradiation au cobalt avant l'expédition et qu'il est accompagné de documents provenant de l'installation d'irradiation démontrant que le matériel a été irradié.
  • Les colonies d'abeilles mellifères complètes ou pour essaimage ou les caisses d'abeilles mellifères peuvent être autorisées à entrer en Ontario en provenance d'un rucher dans lequel moins de 2 % des colonies, mais pas plus de 10 colonies, sont positives à la loque américaine. Cependant :
    • si elles sont autorisées à entrer en Ontario, les colonies doivent être gardées au site de réception en Ontario pour une période de deux ans;
    • aucune colonie positive à la loque américaine n'aura l'autorisation d'entrer en Ontario;
    • aucune colonie ne pourra provenir de ruchers où des signes cliniques de loque américaine ont été trouvés dans une province où la loque américaine résistante a été détectée;
    • de la documentation de suivi doit être fournie pour les colonies positives à la loque américaine dans un rucher positif avant que l'une des colonies négatives à la loque américaine soit autorisée à entrer en Ontario.

Varroa (Varroa destructor) :

  • Les colonies d'abeilles mellifères complètes ou pour essaimage et les caisses d'abeilles mellifères n'auront pas l'autorisation d'entrer en Ontario comme destination permanente (sauf pour y transiter) en provenance de comtés ou de municipalités rurales où des souches de varroa résistantes au pesticide amitraz (varroa résistant) ont été détectées (varroa résistant = varroa qui répond au traitement amitraz avec une efficacité inférieure à 80 % par un test Pettis ou un test Pettis modifié).
  • Les colonies d'abeilles mellifères complètes ou pour essaimage ou les caisses d'abeilles mellifères n'auront pas l'autorisation d'entrer en Ontario comme destination permanente si elles proviennent d'exploitations apicoles où des souches de varroa résistant ont été détectées.

Petit coléoptère des ruches (Aethina tumida) :

  • Les exploitations agricoles et les ruchers où le petit coléoptère des ruches est présent peuvent avoir l'autorisation d'entrer en Ontario.
  • En plus des rapports d'inspection fournis par la collectivité publique d'origine, les apiculteurs exportateurs doivent signaler à l'apiculteur provincial de l'Ontario un statut positif de présence du petit coléoptère des ruches dans tout rucher ou dans toute colonie d'abeilles mellifères faisant partie de l'importation.
  • Les colonies d'abeilles mellifères individuelles endommagées par le petit coléoptère des ruches et présentant des preuves de reproduction excessive du petit coléoptère des ruches n'auront pas l'autorisation d'entrer en Ontario comme destination permanente (sauf pour y transiter). Cela peut comprendre un nombre de 20 larves ou plus de petits coléoptères des ruches dans une seule colonie.

Transport transitant par l'Ontario

  • Après l'inspection, les envois doivent être transportés directement et de façon continue à travers l'Ontario.
  • Les plans de transport ne peuvent pas être modifiés en cours de route.
  • Les colonies doivent être arrimées au véhicule et ne peuvent pas en être enlevées pendant leur passage en Ontario.
  • Si le véhicule qui transporte les abeilles n'est pas fermé, toutes les colonies doivent être couvertes d'un filet du point de départ dans la province exportatrice jusqu'à ce qu'elles aient traversé l'Ontario (et toutes les autres provinces sur l'itinéraire).
  • En cas d'accident où le véhicule est immobilité et les colonies d'abeilles mellifères sont sorties du véhicule ou où la stabilité du chargement a été grandement compromise alors que le véhicule était en Ontario, l'apiculteur provincial de l'Ontario doit être avisé.

Abeilles mellifères provenant de l'extérieur du Canada, y compris des États-Unis

  • Aucune colonie complète, aucune colonie pour essaimage ou aucun matériel apicole usagé (c.-à-d. un rayon de cire) ne sera autorisé à entrer en Ontario en provenance d'autres pays.
  • Les reines mellifères ou les caisses d'abeilles mellifères entrant en Ontario en provenance d'autres pays doivent détenir un permis d'importation fédéral signé délivré par l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA).
  • Ce permis d'importation fédéral doit être présenté à l'apiculteur provincial de l'Ontario afin que l'importateur soit admissible à un permis d'importation de l'Ontario. Le permis d'importation fédéral et le permis d'importation provincial sont tous les deux requis pour que les abeilles puissent entrer en Ontario.
  • Le rucher exportateur doit être certifié exempt de sources génétiques d'abeilles mellifères africanisées de la manière qui suit :
    • les reines et les caisses d'abeilles mellifères proviennent d'un rucher exempt de gènes d'abeilles mellifères africanisées de type subsaharien, Apis mellifera scutellata ou Apis mellifea capensis;
    • au cours de la dernière année, en fonction des cartes et des programmes de surveillance actuels pour les abeilles mellifères africanisées, ce type d'abeilles n'a pas été détecté dans un rayon de 50 miles de tout rucher d'où proviennent les reines et les caisses d'abeilles mellifères.

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca