Small Hive Beetle Quarantine Revoked in Southwestern Ontario

Effective March 14, 2019, the Chief Veterinarian for Ontario has revoked the small hive beetle quarantine that was in place for the county of Essex and the municipality of Chatham-Kent. The removal of the quarantine will allow beekeepers with colonies in the quarantine area to resume normal business and hive movement activities, subject to the requirements of the Bees Act.

In 2011, the Chief Veterinarian for Ontario established a quarantine area in southwestern Ontario under the Bees Act in an attempt to limit the spread of small hive beetle by restricting movement of colonies and equipment. The quarantine was successful in slowing the spread of the pest and allowing industry to adapt to its presence.

Since the quarantine was declared, Ontario beekeepers have learned to manage small hive beetle in their hives. The pest has been identified in different parts of Ontario and has also been found in five other Canadian provinces and all bordering states. The province has a multifaceted and collaborative approach in place with industry and researchers to mitigate the spread of small hive beetle, and beekeepers have management strategies in place. Small hive beetle does not pose a threat to human, livestock or poultry health. It is also not a food safety risk.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Wael Haddad - Apiary Data Coordinator/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 15 March 2019
Last Reviewed: 15 March 2019

Révocation de la déclaration de quarantaine visant le petit coléoptère des ruches dans le sud-ouest de l'Ontario

À compter du 14 mars 2019, la vétérinaire en chef de l'Ontario révoque la déclaration de quarantaine visant le petit coléoptère des ruches qui est actuellement en vigueur pour le comté d'Essex et la municipalité de Chatham-Kent. La révocation de la quarantaine permettra aux apiculteurs qui ont des colonies dans la zone concernée de reprendre leurs activités normales et de recommencer à déplacer des ruchers, sous réserve des exigences de la Loi sur l'apiculture.

En 2011, la vétérinaire en chef de l'Ontario a établi une zone de quarantaine dans le sud-ouest de l'Ontario en vertu de la Loi sur l'apiculture dans le but de restreindre la propagation du petit coléoptère des ruches en limitant les déplacements de colonies et de matériel. La quarantaine a ralenti la propagation de ce ravageur et a permis à l'industrie de s'adapter à sa présence.

Depuis la déclaration de la quarantaine, les apiculteurs de l'Ontario ont appris à gérer le petit coléoptère des ruches. Ce ravageur a été identifié dans différentes régions de l'Ontario; sa présence a également été détectée dans cinq autres provinces canadiennes et dans tous les États frontaliers. La province a adopté une approche à volets multiples axée sur la collaboration avec l'industrie et les chercheurs afin de réduire la propagation du petit coléoptère des ruches, et les apiculteurs ont établi des stratégies de gestion. Le petit coléoptère des ruches ne constitue pas une menace pour la santé des êtres humains, du bétail et de la volaille et ne présente aucun risque lié à la salubrité des aliments.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca