Grade, Container and Label Requirements for Honey in Ontario

Introduction

Ontario Regulation 119/11 - Produce, Honey and Maple Products (O. Reg. 119/11) is a provincial regulation under the Food Safety and Quality Act, 2001. It sets out legal requirements for grading, packaging, labelling, transporting and selling honey in Ontario. Any person who packs, transports or sells honey that is packed in a non-federally registered or licenced establishment in Ontario must ensure the honey complies with the requirements under this regulation.

This provides a summary of the grade, container and label requirements for honey under O. Reg. 119/11. For complete details of all requirements, please refer directly to O. Reg. 119/11, which is available at ontario.ca/laws.

These requirements are in addition to applicable federal legislation such as the Food and Drugs Act or the Safe Food for Canadians Regulations.

O. Reg. 119/11 does not apply to honey that is packed or repacked in a federally registered or licensed establishment. For information about regulations that apply to these establishments, please consult the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) at www.inspection.gc.ca.

Grade and Colour Classification Requirements

Anyone who packs, sells or transports honey (including bulk honey) that is offered for sale or intended for sale directly to a consumer or retail outlet must grade and assign a colour class to the honey in accordance with sections 8, 9, and 11 of O. Reg. 119/11.

Grade and colour classification can be carried out by the packer or producer, or a person acting on their behalf; and must occur before the honey is transported or sold to the consumer.

If honey is re-packed, then the re-packer of the honey must ensure that the honey is labelled with the correct grade and colour class.

Grade and colour classification are not required for:

  • comb honey,
  • honey in containers less than 150 grams, or
  • honey that is produced in the producer's own apiary and sold directly to a consumer from the producer's residence. This is commonly referred to as "farm gate" honey.

Grade

Grade is determined by several factors; including moisture content, flavour, percent water insoluble solids, and the presence of foreign materials. A complete list of requirements for each grade can be found in Table 2 of O. Reg. 119/11. Honey must be labelled as either "Ontario No. 1", "Ontario No. 2" or "Ontario No. 3" in accordance with this table.

Colour

Table 3 of O. Reg. 119/11 provides the requirements for four applicable colour classes: "White", "Golden", "Amber", or "Dark". Honey must be classified for colour in accordance with this table, and colour classification must occur while the honey is in liquid form.

Container requirements

Container requirements are set out in section 17 of O. Reg. 119/11.

A consumer container is any container of honey that has a capacity of five kilograms or less. All consumer containers of honey must be new, clean, sound, and securely closed. Honey (other than comb honey and farm gate honey) must be sold in the following container sizes:

  • Any net weight up to and including 150 grams
  • 250 grams
  • 330 grams
  • 375 grams
  • 500 grams
  • 750 grams
  • 1 kilogram
  • 1.5 kilograms
  • 2 kilograms
  • 3 kilograms
  • 5 kilograms

A bulk container is any container of honey that has a capacity greater than five kilograms. Bulk containers of honey must be clean and sound.

Label Requirements

Label requirements are set out in section 21 of O. Reg. 119/11. Label requirements depend on several factors including the size of the retail container, the type of honey, and the retail location (retail vs. farm gate).

Retail Honey

Honey that is sold from any location other than the producer's place of residence is commonly referred to as "retail" honey. Retail honey in containers of more than 150 grams must have a label with:

  • the name and full address of the packer or the person on whose behalf the honey is packed (such as a retailer, producer, or other person)
  • the word "honey/miel" or, where applicable, "comb honey/miel en rayon"
  • notice that comb honey contains cells of pollen, if applicable
  • place of origin labelling, if required (see below)
  • the grade immediately followed by the colour class (except for comb honey)
  • the net weight of the honey, in grams or kilograms

Containers of honey with a capacity of 150 grams or less do not require a grade, colour class, or net weight on the label. All other labelling requirements apply.

Farm Gate Honey

There are fewer label requirements for farm gate honey. Farm gate honey must be labelled with:

  • the name and full address of the producer, and
  • the words "honey/miel" or "comb honey/miel en rayon" as appropriate.

Containers for farm gate honey are not required to adhere to the container requirements outlined above.

Labels on farm gate honey may include additional information such as the net weight or a grade and colour class. Any additional information included on the label must be correct.

Honey Sold From Bulk Containers

The above label requirements do not apply to containers that are filled by the consumer from a bulk dispenser.

If honey is sold from a bulk dispenser and poured into consumer containers at the time of purchase, then the label on the bulk dispenser does not require a net weight. All other label requirements apply.

If labels on previously used bulk honey containers do not meet the requirements of the regulation, then the previous labels or information on the labels must be completely removed and replaced with new labels that comply with the regulation.

Place of Origin Labelling Requirements

Honey that is produced and packaged within Ontario does not require a place of origin on the label; however, the packer may optionally choose to include this information (i.e. "Product of Ontario").

If all or part of the honey was produced outside Ontario and repackaged within Ontario, then this must be indicated on the label using the words "Product of/Produit de":

  • Honey produced outside Ontario must include the name of the country or the Canadian province where it was produced (e.g., "Product of USA", "Product of Manitoba", or "Product of Canada").
  • Honey that is a blend of Ontario honey and honey produced outside Ontario must include the name of all countries or Canadian provinces where the honey was produced (e.g., "Product of Ontario and Manitoba", "Product of Canada and USA" or "Product of Canada").

Additional Information on Honey Labels

If the label includes a statement indicating that the honey is pasteurized, creamed or liquid, then the honey must meet the requirements for these statements as described in Table 2 of O. Reg. 119/11.

The ministry recommends that honey production lot codes be included on the label. A production lot is the grouping of product produced, processed or packaged under similar circumstances within a given timeframe. A lot code is the specific identifier assigned to all products in a production lot and can be any unique combination of letters and/or numbers. Records must be maintained for each lot code.

Misrepresentation

Under Section 25 of O. Reg. 119/11, honey labels, containers or advertisements must not contain any false or misleading information.

Honey Substitutes

When other ingredients, such as cinnamon or berry extracts are added to honey, the product no longer meets the definition of honey and is instead considered a honey substitute. A honey substitute is defined as any product that resembles honey and is prepared for the same uses as honey and may include honey as an ingredient but not the sole ingredient.

There are labelling and container restrictions with regards to honey substitutes. These are described in Section 26 of O. Reg. 119/11. Specifically, the producer/packer of honey substitutes may not:

  • use words, pictures or designs on any label, container or advertisement; or use a container of a shape that would likely lead a person to mistake the honey substitute for pure honey
  • use the word "honey" on any container of substitute that does not contain any honey

Additional Resources

OMAFRA staff are available to review honey labels and provide advice and guidance to help honey producers bring their products into compliance with O. Reg. 119/11. Please contact the Food Safety Inspection Delivery Branch at fpo.omafra@ontario.ca or call 1-877-424-1300 for more information.

Please see OMAFRA's Honey Labelling Brochure entitled Label Requirements for Honey in Ontario for visual examples of a complete honey label. For information about the ministry's Honey Monitoring Program, please refer to the information page entitled OMAFRA's Honey Monitoring Program.

Provincial (Ontario)

Ontario Regulation 119/11 can be found at: ontario.ca/laws/regulation/110119

The Food Safety and Quality Act, 2001 can be found at: ontario.ca/laws/statute/01f20

Federal (Canada)

Requirements under O. Reg. 119/11 are in addition to federal requirements under the Food and Drugs Act or the Safe Food for Canadians Regulations. For example, the Food and Drugs Act provides requirements for nutrition labelling on consumer containers. Please refer to the Canadian Food Inspection Agency at www.inspection.gc.ca for more information about federal requirements.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Nicole Robb, Regulatory and Standards Coordinator, OMAFRA
Creation Date: 11 April 2019
Last Reviewed: 11 April 2019

Exigences relatives à la catégorie, au contenant et à l'étiquette pour le miel de l'Ontario

Introduction

Le Règlement de l'Ontario 119/11 - Produits agricoles, miel et produits de l'érable (Règl. de l'Ont. 119/11), pris en application de la Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments, est un règlement provincial qui établit les exigences concernant le classement, l'emballage, l'étiquetage, le transport et la vente de miel en Ontario. Quiconque emballe ou réemballe du miel dans un établissement qui n'est ni agréé par le gouvernement fédéral ni titulaire d'un permis délivré par lui ou quiconque transporte ou vend du miel emballé ou réemballé dans un tel établissement en Ontario doit veiller à ce que le miel soit conforme aux exigences énoncées dans le règlement.

La présente les exigences que prévoit le Règl. de l'Ont. 119/11 concernant la catégorie, le contenant et l'étiquette pour le miel. Pour connaître tous les détails sur les exigences, veuillez vous reporter directement au Règl. de l'Ont. 119/11, qui est accessible au ontario.ca/fr/lois.

Ces exigences s'ajoutent à celles prévues par la législation fédérale applicable, notamment la Loi sur les aliments et drogues et le Règlement sur la salubrité des aliments au Canada.

Le Règl. de l'Ont. 119/11 ne s'applique pas au miel qui est emballé ou réemballé dans un établissement agréé par le gouvernement fédéral ou titulaire d'un permis délivré par celui-ci. Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les règlements qui s'appliquent à ces établissements, veuillez consulter le site de l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments, au www.inspection.gc.ca.

Exigences relatives à la catégorie et à la classe de couleur

Quiconque emballe, vend ou transporte du miel (y compris du miel en vrac) qui est mis en vente ou destiné à être vendu directement à un consommateur ou à un point de vente au détail doit le classer selon la catégorie et selon la couleur conformément aux articles 8, 9 et 11 du Règl. de l'Ont. 119/11.

Le classement du miel peut être effectué par l'emballeur ou le producteur, ou une personne agissant en son nom; il doit toutefois être fait avant que le miel soit transporté ou vendu à un consommateur.

L'emballeur ou le producteur, ou une personne agissant en son nom, classe le miel selon la catégorie et selon la couleur avant que celui-ci soit transporté ou vendu.

Si le miel est réemballé, le réemballeur doit veiller à indiquer correctement la catégorie et la classe de couleur sur l'étiquette.

La catégorie et la classe de couleur ne sont pas exigées pour ce qui suit :

  • le miel en rayon;
  • le miel dans des contenants de moins de 150 grammes;
  • le miel produit dans le rucher du producteur qui est vendu directement à un consommateur au lieu de résidence du producteur, c'est à-dire le « miel vendu à la ferme ».

Catégorie

La catégorie dépend de plusieurs facteurs, notamment du taux d'humidité, de la saveur, du pourcentage d'extrait sec insoluble dans l'eau et de la présence de matières étrangères. Le tableau 2 du Règl. de l'Ont. 119/11 donne la liste complète des exigences propres à chaque catégorie. Conformément à ce tableau, le nom de catégorie qui doit figurer sur l'étiquette du miel est l'un des suivants : « Ontario no 1 », « Ontario no 2 » ou « Ontario no 3 ».

Couleur

Le tableau 3 du Règl. de l'Ont. 119/11 indique les exigences pour les quatre classes de couleur applicables : « Blanc », « Doré », « Ambré » ou « Foncé » . Le miel doit être classé selon la couleur conformément à ce tableau, et l'attribution d'une classe de couleur doit se faire lorsque le miel est sous forme liquide.

Exigences relatives aux contenants

Ces exigences figurent à l'article 17 du Règl. de l'Ont. 119/11.

Le terme petit contenant désigne tout contenant de miel d'une capacité de cinq kilogrammes ou moins. Les petits contenants doivent être neufs, propres, en bon état et hermétiquement fermés. Les formats des contenants dans lesquels le miel (à l'exception du miel en rayon et du miel vendu à la ferme) doit être vendu sont les suivants :

  • tout poids net d'au plus 150 grammes;
  • 250 grammes;
  • 330 grammes;
  • 375 grammes;
  • 500 grammes;
  • 750 grammes;
  • 1 kilogramme;
  • 1,5 kilogramme;
  • 2 kilogrammes;
  • 3 kilogrammes;
  • 5 kilogrammes.

Le terme gros contenant désigne tout contenant de miel d'une capacité de plus de cinq kilogrammes. Les gros contenants de miel doivent être propres et solides.

Exigences relatives à l'étiquette

Ces exigences sont indiquées à l'article 21 du Règl. de l'Ont. 119/11. Elles dépendent de divers facteurs, p. ex. du format du contentant destiné à la vente au détail, du type de miel et du lieu de vente (point de vente au détail ou ferme).

Miel vendu au détail

Il s'agit du miel qui est vendu ailleurs qu'au lieu de résidence du producteur. Les contenants de miel vendu au détail d'une capacité supérieure à 150 grammes doivent porter une étiquette sur laquelle figurent les renseignements suivants :

  • le nom et l'adresse complète de l'emballeur ou de la personne pour le compte de qui le miel est emballé (p. ex. le détaillant ou le producteur);
  • les mots « honey/miel » ou « comb honey/miel en rayon », selon le cas;
  • un avis indiquant que le miel en rayon renferme des alvéoles de pollen, le cas échéant;
  • le lieu d'origine, s'il y a lieu (voir ci-dessous);
  • la catégorie suivie immédiatement de la classe de couleur (sauf pour le miel en rayon);
  • le poids net du miel en grammes ou en kilogrammes.

Pour les contenants de miel d'une capacité de 150 grammes ou moins, il n'est pas obligatoire d'indiquer la catégorie, la classe de couleur ni le poids net sur l'étiquette. Toutes les autres exigences d'étiquetage s'appliquent.

Miel vendu à la ferme

Les exigences d'étiquetage sont moins nombreuses pour le miel vendu à la ferme. Seuls les renseignements suivants doivent figurer sur l'étiquette :

  • le nom et l'adresse complète du producteur;
  • les mots « honey/miel » ou « comb honey/miel en rayon », selon le cas.

Les exigences ci-dessus relatives aux contenants ne s'appliquent pas au miel vendu à la ferme.

Les étiquettes utilisées pour le miel vendu à la ferme peuvent contenir d'autres renseignements, comme le poids net ou la catégorie et la classe de couleur. Tout renseignement supplémentaire figurant sur l'étiquette doit être correct.

Miel vendu dans de gros contenants

Les exigences ci-dessus en matière d'étiquetage ne s'appliquent pas aux contenants remplis par les consommateurs à partir d'un distributeur en vrac.

Si le miel est vendu à partir d'un distributeur en vrac et transvasé dans des petits contenants au moment de l'achat, il n'est pas nécessaire que l'étiquette du distributeur en vrac indique le poids net. Toutes les autres exigences d'étiquetage s'appliquent.

Si les étiquettes de gros contenants de miel qui ont déjà été utilisés ne respectent pas les exigences du règlement, il faut enlever complètement les anciennes étiquettes et les remplacer par de nouvelles qui sont conformes au règlement ou oblitérer les renseignements figurant sur les anciennes étiquettes et ajouter ceux exigés par le règlement.

Lieu d'origine

Dans le cas du miel produit et emballé en Ontario, il n'est pas obligatoire d'indiquer le lieu d'origine sur l'étiquette; l'emballeur peut toutefois décider de le faire (p. ex. « Product of Ontario/Produit de l'Ontario »).

Si la totalité ou une partie du miel a été produite à l'extérieur de l'Ontario et réemballée dans la province, il faut le préciser sur l'étiquette en utilisant la mention « Product of/Produit de »).

  • Dans le cas du miel produit à l'extérieur de l'Ontario, l'étiquette doit indiquer le nom du pays ou de la province canadienne où il a été produit (p. ex. « Product of USA/Produit des É. U. », « Product of Manitoba/Produit du Manitoba » ou « Product of Canada/Produit du Canada »).
  • Dans le cas d'un mélange de miel de l'Ontario et de miel produit à l'extérieur de la province, l'étiquette doit indiquer le nom des pays ou des provinces canadiennes où il a été produit (p. ex. « Product of Ontario and Manitoba/Produit de l'Ontario et du Manitoba », « Product of Canada and USA/Produit du Canada et des É.-U. » ou « Product of Canada/Produit du Canada »).

Autres renseignements sur les étiquettes de miel

Si l'étiquette indique que le miel est pasteurisé, en crème ou liquide, le miel doit satisfaire aux exigences pour ces types de miel qui sont énoncées dans le tableau 2 du Règl. de l'Ont. 119/11.

Le ministère recommande d'inclure le code de lot de production sur l'étiquette. Un lot de production est le regroupement de produits fabriqués, transformés ou emballés dans des circonstances similaires et dans un délai donné. Le code de lot est l'identificateur attribué à tous les produits d'un même lot de production. Il peut s'agir d'une combinaison unique de lettres ou de chiffres, ou des deux. Il faut tenir des registres pour chaque code de lot.

Déclarations inexactes

En vertu de l'article 25 du Règl. de l'Ont. 119/11, les étiquettes et contenants de miel et les publicités à son sujet ne doivent pas contenir de renseignements faux ou trompeurs.

Succédanés de miel

Lorsque d'autres ingrédients, comme de la cannelle ou des extraits de petits fruits, sont ajoutés au miel, le produit ne correspond plus à la définition de miel et est plutôt considéré comme un succédané de miel. Le terme succédané de miel s'entend de tout produit qui ressemble à du miel, qui est conditionné aux mêmes fins que le miel et dont le miel peut être un ingrédient, mais non le seul.

Les étiquettes et les contenants de succédanés de miel font l'objet de restrictions qui figurent à l'article 26 du Règl. de l'Ont. 119/11. Le producteur ou l'emballeur de succédanés de miel ne peut faire ce qui suit :

  • utiliser sur une étiquette ou un contenant ou dans une annonce des mots, des images ou des dessins susceptibles d'amener une personne à prendre le succédané pour du miel pur;
  • utiliser des contenants dont la forme est susceptible d'amener une personne à prendre le succédané pour du miel pur;
  • utiliser le mot « miel » ou « honey » sur les contenants de succédanés de miel qui ne contiennent pas de miel.

Ressources supplémentaires

Le personnel du MAAARO peut examiner les étiquettes de miel et donner des conseils aux producteurs afin qu'ils puissent faire le nécessaire pour que leurs produits soient conformes au Règl. de l'Ont. 119/11. Veuillez communiquer avec la Direction de l'inspection de la salubrité des aliments, au fpo.omafra@ontario.ca ou au 1 877 424 1300, pour en savoir davantage.

Reportez-vous à la brochure du MAAARO sur l'étiquetage du miel intitulée Exigences en matière d'étiquetage pour le miel de l'Ontario pour voir à quoi ressemble une étiquette complète. Pour en savoir plus long sur le Programme de contrôle de la qualité du miel du ministère, reportez-vous à la page de renseignements intitulée Programme de contrôle de la qualité du miel.

Ressources provinciales (Ontario)

Le Règlement de l'Ontario 119/11 peut être consulté à l'adresse ontario.ca/fr/lois/reglement/110119.

La Loi de 2001 sur la qualité et la salubrité des aliments peut être consultée à l'adresse ontario.ca/fr/lois/loi/01f20.

Ressources fédérales (Canada)

Les exigences du Règl. de l'Ont. 119/11 s'ajoutent à celles prévues par la Loi sur les aliments et drogues et le Règlement sur la salubrité des aliments au Canada du gouvernement fédéral. Par exemple, la Loi sur les aliments et drogues établit les exigences relatives à l'étiquetage nutritionnel pour les petits contenants. Consultez le site de l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments, au www.inspection.gc.ca, pour en savoir davantage sur les exigences fédérales.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca