Recent investments

Ontario is one of the largest and most competitive food clusters in North America. Yet the overall cost of doing business in Ontario is lower than in the United States. That is just one reason why so many multinational companies have located here in Ontario.

Dr. Oetker Company Logo

 Dr. Oetker

Dr. Oetker Canada Ltd. chose London, Ontario for its first North American frozen pizza factory. The more than $70-million project is the largest one-time investment the company has ever made outside its home base of Germany. The 200,000-square-foot manufacturing, storage and distribution facility will produce 50 million frozen pizzas a year for the North American market. It will also take advantage of Ontario's skilled workforce, providing 125 new jobs in London and inducing another 300 in the region. The company will also source an estimated 11 million kilograms of high-quality ingredients a year from Ontario farmers and food processors wherever possible.


Canada Bread Company Logo

 

 Canada Bread Company

A $100-million, 375,000-square-foot, state-of-the-art bakery has been built in Hamilton, Ontario by Canada Bread. The new facility features leading-edge equipment and technologies and will create up to 300 jobs when running at full capacity. Canada Bread employs more than 8,700 people in Canada, the U. S. and the United Kingdom. It makes freshly baked bread products, as well as frozen unbaked and partially baked breads, rolls and bagels, serving retail in-store bakeries and food- service customers. Hamilton’s skilled workforce, excellent infrastructure, easy access to markets, and government support led to the company’s decision to build the new plant in Ontario.


Maple Leaf Company Logo

 Maple Leaf Foods

Canada’s largest food processor also chose Hamilton, Ontario as the location for its $395-million processed meat facility. The plant will be the largest and most modern of its type in Canada and the best in its class in North America. The factory is expected to bring 670 new jobs to the city and is part of the company’s national restructuring plan. The new plant will produce deli meats, processed meats and will make the majority of wieners distributed in Canada.


Bakkavor  Foods Company Logo

 Bakkavor Foods

This growing global food company, which specializes in fresh prepared food, operates in 11 countries and employs more than 19,000 people. It chose Cobourg, Ontario as the site for its new Canadian production facility, which will supply one of Canada’s largest grocery retailers with a new range of premium fresh products, including Italian, Asian and traditional meals, vegetable sides, soups, sauces, side salads and salad entrées. Close proximity to the Toronto market, combined with support from provincial and municipal governments made the site choice an easy one for Bakkavor.


The Original Cakerie Company Logo

 The Original Cakerie

This Canadian company has grown to be the largest privately owned dessert manufacturer in Canada. It distributes frozen desserts from coast to coast and across North America. When its original plant in Delta, British Columbia reached capacity, The Original Cakerie looked east to Ontario, at the heart of the North American market. The company has invested $45M in a new 150,000 square foot plant, employing 250 people when they reach full capacity.


Ferrero Company Logo

 Ferrero

This Italian-owned confectionery giant had $11 billion in sales in 2009. It ranked number four in confectionary sales globally. Ferrero’s products include Tic Tac, Rocher and Nutella. In 2006, the company opened a 900,000 square foot plant in Brantford, close to the U.S. border. Ferrero ships products around the world from their Brantford location. The plant has 500 permanent employees, hiring up to 900 people at peak times.


Maidstone Company Logo

 Maidstone Bakeries

If you have ever eaten a Tim Hortons donut, Timbit or other baked goods, you’ve had food from Maidstone Bakeries. Like Ferrero, Maidstone operates in Brantford, near the U.S. border. There, from its 400,000 square foot, state-of-the art bakery, Maidstone can produce and distribute bakery products by road or rail across North America. Maidstone has invested over $200 million in their Ontario plant with a current workforce of over 340.


Bolthouse Farms Company Logo

 Bolthouse Farms

The Bolthouse family began commercial vegetable farming in western Michigan in 1915. Now its product line includes fresh and baby-cut carrots, juices/smoothies and salad dressings. In 2010, the company invested $8.5 million and created 40 new jobs to retrofit an existing facility in Wheatley to make baby-cut carrots from locally grown carrots. Bolthouse supplies Loblaws and other major grocery chains.


high rise buildings and Canadian flag

How To Get Started

If you're considering expanding or relocating your business - or if you have an idea for a new venture - please contact us.

The Business Development Branch at the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA) helps international companies looking to invest in Ontario. Our goal is to make a move to Ontario as simple as possible.

 


 


Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 23 March 2011
Last Reviewed: 02 August 2012

Investissements récents

L'Ontario est l'une des grappes du secteur alimentaire les plus importantes et les plus concurrentielles en Amérique du Nord. Jusqu'à présent, le coût global du commerce en Ontario est plus bas qu'aux États Unis. Ce n'est qu'une des raisons pour lesquelles tant de multinationales s'y installent.


Dr. Oetker Company Logo

 Dr. Oetker

Dr. Oetker Canada ltée a choisi la ville de London, en Ontario, pour sa toute première usine de pizzas surgelées nord-américaine. Le projet, d'une valeur de plus de 70 millions de dollars, constitue le plus gros investissement ponctuel réalisé par l'entreprise à l'extérieur de son pays d'origine, c'est-à-dire l'Allemagne. D'une superficie de 200 000 pieds carrés, le centre de fabrication, d'entreposage et de distribution produira pour le marché nord-américain 50 millions de pizzas surgelées par année. L'entreprise mettra également à profit la main-d'œuvre qualifiée de l'Ontario en créant 125 nouveaux emplois à London et en entraînant la création de 300 autres dans la région. Selon les estimations, l'entreprise se procurera auprès d'agriculteurs et de transformateurs d'aliments ontariens 11 millions de kilogrammes d'ingrédients de haute qualité chaque année, lorsque cela sera possible.


Canada Bread Company Logo

 

 Canada Bread Company

Canada Bread a fait construire à Hamilton, en Ontario, une boulangerie ultramoderne d'une superficie de 375 000 pieds carrés. Les coûts de construction se sont élevés à 100 millions de dollars. Lorsqu'elle fonctionnera à plein rendement, la nouvelle boulangerie, qui est munie d'équipements et de technologies de pointe, emploiera jusqu'à 300 personnes. Canada Bread compte plus de 8 700 employés au Canada, aux États-Unis et au Royaume-Uni. L'entreprise confectionne des produits panifiés frais ainsi que des pains, des petits pains et des bagels congelés non cuits et partiellement cuits qu'elle vend aux boulangeries de magasins d'alimentation et à l'industrie de la restauration. La main-d'œuvre qualifiée que l'on trouve à Hamilton, l'excellente infrastructure, la facilité d'accès aux marchés et l'aide gouvernementale sont toutes des facteurs qui ont mené à la décision de l'entreprise de construire sa nouvelle usine en Ontario.


Maple Leaf Company Logo

 Aliments Maple Leaf

Le plus important transformateur d'aliments au Canada a également opté pour la ville de Hamilton, en Ontario, pour implanter sa nouvelle usine de transformation de viandes, dont les coûts de construction se chiffrent à 395 millions de dollars. L'usine sera la plus grande et la plus moderne en son genre au Canda et la meilleure de sa catégorie en Amérique du Nord. La nouvelle usine, qui fait partie du plan de restructuration national de l'entreprise, devrait permettre de créer 670 nouveaux emplois à Hamilton. On y produira des charcuteries, des viandes transformées et la majorité des saucisses à hot-dog vendues au Canada.


Bakkavor  Foods Company Logo

 Bakkavor Foods

Cette entreprise alimentaire internationale en pleine croissance, qui se spécialise dans la confection de plats préparés frais, exerce des activités dans 11 pays et emploie plus de 19 000 personnes. L'entreprise a fixé son choix sur Cobourg, en Ontario, pour sa nouvelle usine de production canadienne, laquelle approvisionnera l'un des plus importants détaillants de produits d'épicerie au Canada en une nouvelle gamme de produits frais de première qualité, dont des mets italiens et asiatiques traditionnels, des légumes d'accompagnement, des soupes, des sauces, des salades d'accompagnement et des salades-repas. La grande proximité du marché torontois conjuguée à l'aide offerte par le gouvernement provincial et l'administration municipale faisait de Cobourg l'endroit tout indiqué pour l'emplacement de la nouvelle usine de Bakkavor.


The Original Cakerie Company Logo

 The Original Cakerie

Cette entreprise canadienne est devenue la plus importante société privée de desserts au Canada. Elle distribue des desserts surgelés d'un océan à l'autre et dans toute l'Amérique du Nord. Lorsque la première usine de Delta en Colombie-Britannique a atteint sa capacité, l'Original Cakerie s'est tournée vers l'Ontario, au cœur du marché nord-américain. La société a investi 45 M$ dans une nouvelle usine de 150 000 pieds carrés, qui emploie 250 personnes lorsqu'elle fonctionne à plein régime.


Ferrero Company Logo

 Ferrero

Ce géant italien de la confiserie a obtenu des ventes de 11 milliards de dollars en 2009. Il occupait le quatrième rang mondial des ventes de confiserie. Les produits F errero incluent Tic Tac, Rocher et Nutella. En 2006, la société a installé une usine de 900 000 pieds carrés à Brantford, près de la frontière américaine. Ferrero livre des produits dans le monde entier à partir de son usine de Brantford. L'usine compte 500 employés permanents et embauche jusqu'à 900 personnes dans les périodes de pointe.


Maidstone Company Logo

 Maidstone Bakeries

Si vous avez déjà mangé un beigne, un trou de beigne ou d'autres produits de Tim Hortons, vous avez goûté à la nourriture de Maidstone Bakeries. Tout comme Ferrero, Maidstone s'est installée à Brantford, près de la frontière américaine. C'est dans ces installations de pointe de 400 000 pieds carrés que Maidstone fabrique des produits de boulangerie et pâtisserie qu'elle distribue par voie ferrée ou par camion dans toute l'Amérique du Nord. Maidstone a investi plus de 200 millions de dollars dans son usine ontarienne qui emploie actuellement plus de 340 personnes.


Bolthouse Farms Company Logo

 Bolthouse Farms

La famille Bolthouse s'est lancée dans la production de légumes dans l'ouest du Michigan en 1915. Aujourd'hui, elle produit entre autres des carottes miniatures, des jus, des boissons fouettées et des vinaigrettes. En 2010, l'entreprise a investi 8,5 millions de dollars et créé 40 nouveaux emplois pour rénover une installation de Wheatley dans le but de fabriquer des carottes miniatures à partir de carottes cultivées dans la région. Bolthouse approvisionne Loblaws et d'autres chaines alimentaires importantes.


high rise buildings and Canadian flag

Comment démarrer

Si vous songez à agrandir ou à délocaliser votre entreprise- ou si vous avez une idée de nouvelle entreprise - n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous. Nous serons heureux de vous aider.

La Direction du développement des entreprises du ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario aide les sociétés internationales qui souhaitent investir en Ontario. Notre objectif consiste à rendre l'installation en Ontario aussi simple que possible.

 



Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 23 mars 2011
Dernière révision : 02 août 2012