Foreign and Reportable Animal Diseases

The Ministry of Agriculture and Food continually works closely with the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) to maintain surveillance and controls and to disseminate information on foreign and reportable animal diseases. This coordinated, overall risk management approach is essential for Canada to rapidly detect reportable livestock diseases and effectively mitigate any negative impacts should they occur.

While the CFIA is the lead agency for all reportable livestock diseases, the provincial government also has a role to play to ensure continued public health, a safe food supply and protection of our agricultural industries. OMAF provides assistance to the CFIA and public health officials in ongoing investigations, as well as offering ongoing stakeholder support through the Ontario Animal Health Surveillance Network, and dairy and meat inspection services.

One of Ontario's biggest monitoring and prevention assets is our strong network of veterinarians - working in private practice, in government and at provincial and federal abattoirs. Veterinarians are highly trained to recognize symptoms of reportable and other animal diseases and know what to do should any suspicious cases arise.

By law, all reportable diseases, including any suspect case, must be immediately reported to a federal veterinarian. Specific control and eradication measures for these diseases are already established and ready to be implemented if needed.

Early disease detection is instrumental to effective control and eradication.

Reportable Animal Disease Facts Sheets.

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author:
Creation Date:
Last Reviewed:

Maladies animales d'origine étrangère et à déclaration obligatoire

Le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales travaille étroitement avec l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments (ACIA) pour maintenir la surveillance et les contrôles et diffuser l'information sur les maladies animales d'origine étrangère et à déclaration obligatoire. Ce mode de gestion du risque coordonné, global est essentiel car il permet au Canada de déceler rapidement les maladies du bétail à déclaration obligatoire et de limiter les retombées négatives, le cas échéant.

Bien que l'ACIA soit l'organisme responsable de toutes les maladies du bétail à déclaration obligatoire, il incombe au gouvernement provincial de protéger la santé du public, d'assurer l'innocuité de l'approvisionnement en vivres et de protéger nos industries agricoles. Le MAAARO apporte une aide à l'ACIA et aux responsables de la santé publique lors des enquêtes, offre un appui constant aux intervenants par le truchement du Réseau ontarien de surveillance de la santé animale et dispense des services d'inspection des produits laitiers et des viandes.

Un réseau solide de vétérinaires, œuvrant en cabinet privé, au gouvernement et aux abattoirs provinciaux et fédéraux, est au cœur du système de surveillance et de prévention de l'Ontario. Les vétérinaires reçoivent une formation poussée qui leur permet de reconnaître les symptômes des maladies à déclaration obligatoire et autres maladies des animaux et ils savent quelles démarches adopter lorsque des cas suspects se présentent.

En vertu de la loi, toutes les maladies à déclaration obligatoire (y compris les cas suspects) doivent être immédiatement signalées à un vétérinaire fédéral. Des mesures de contrôle et d'éradication s'appliquant spécifiquement à ces maladies sont en place et peuvent être mises en œuvre au besoin.

Le contrôle et l'éradication efficaces relèvent de la détection précoce des maladies.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur :
Date de création :
Dernière révision :