Mutual Agreement Drains


This eReference tool is not a substitute for specialized legal advice. Always consult a lawyer before implementing any drainage changes to your property or operations or considering any legal action.


When two or more owners of land desire to construct or improve a drainage works on any of their lands and are willing to pay the cost thereof, they may enter into a written agreement for the construction, improvement, financing and maintenance of such drainage works.

What is a mutual agreement drain?

Mutual agreement drains are drainage systems constructed, improved, financed and maintained through an agreement between two or more property owners. These drains are authorized under section 2 of the Drainage Act. Mutual agreement drains are private drainage systems – there is usually no involvement of the local municipality or any government agency, unless they are party to the agreement as a property owner.

How are agreements formed?

Shared drainage systems are often constructed by different forms of agreement.

Oral agreement – when one property owner allows another to construct a drainage system across their property. An oral contract can be binding, but only if it has been witnessed, and is not binding upon any subsequent owners of the involved properties.

Written agreement – a contract between property owners concerning the construction of a shared drainage system. The agreement usually specifies the details of the drainage system, the responsibilities for construction or maintenance of the drainage system and cost-sharing arrangements. A written agreement is binding on the parties to the agreement, but is not necessarily binding on new property owners after the sale of one of the involved properties.

Mutual agreement – must have the seven attributes set out in section 2 of the Act, but is registered on property title. These agreements are binding on all current and future owners.

What is the difference between a mutual agreement drain and a municipal drain?

A mutual agreement drain exists through an agreement between landowners that is registered on the property title. Construction, maintenance and repair are the responsibility of the involved property owners as detailed in the agreement.

A municipal drain is a drainage system that legally exists through a bylaw passed by the local municipality. The municipality is responsible for constructing the drainage system and future maintenance and repair, and costs are recovered from property owners in the drain watershed.

From a landowner's point of view, what are the advantages of a mutual agreement drain over a municipal drain?

  • Agreement drains are usually cheaper to construct than municipal drains;
  • Repairs and maintenance do not depend on a public body, and can often be performed at a time more suitable to the involved property owners;
  • Agreement drains begin with an agreement between owners, and are constructed much more quickly than municipal drains;
  • Landowners must remember that any work in or near watercourses is subject to other laws such as the Conservation Authorities Act and the Fisheries Act. The local conservation authority or Ministry of Natural Resources offices are good places to find out what laws may apply.

From a landowner's point of view, what are the advantages of a municipal drain over a mutual agreement drain?

  • The drainage system constructed as a municipal drain becomes municipal infrastructure, and the municipality is responsible for having work done and complying with environmental regulations;
  • Occasionally, grants may be available for assessments on agricultural land for the construction of municipal drains, and for future maintenance and repair work. No grants are available for mutual agreement drains;
  • Mutual agreement drains are often impractical when major roads, railways or utilities are involved, but can be effectively and fairly dealt with through the municipal drain process;
  • The drainage system is designed by a professional engineer or surveyor. Mutual agreement drains are often designed by the property owner or the contractor hired by one of the involved property owners;
  • The engineer estimates the cost-sharing for a municipal drain. A mutual agreement requires property owners to determine cost-sharing – a process that can be difficult.

How do I find out if I have a mutual agreement drain on my property?

Check your property information at the registry office. If a mutual agreement drain exists on your property, a copy of the agreement should be registered on property title. There may be a fee to obtain information about your land title. Take your municipal tax bill or other information to the registry office to show your lot, concession and property information.

How do I enter into a mutual agreement for drainage?

The first step in developing a mutual agreement drain is to negotiate the agreement with all property owners involved. This is the most important step. If you are able to negotiate an agreement, the next steps are:

  • check the environmental regulations to determine if any approvals or authorizations are required to construct the drain, that may influence what was agreed upon;
  • have a lawyer draft up the agreement and arrange for it to be registered on property title – you can do these things without a lawyer, but legal counsel is recommended;
  • construct, improve and maintain the drain in accordance with the agreement.

What must be in the written agreement for a mutual agreement drain?

For the shared drainage system to be considered a "mutual agreement drain", section 2 of the Drainage Act states the following must be in the written agreement:

  • a reference to the Drainage Act, R.S.O. 1990;
  • descriptions of the lands of the parties to the agreement;
  • the estimated cost of the drainage works;
  • a description of the drainage works, including its nature and approximate location;
  • the proportion of the cost of the construction, improvement and maintenance of the drainage works that is to be borne by each of the owners of the lands;
  • the date the agreement was entered into;
  • an affidavit of a subscribing witness to the signing of the agreement by the parties.
These are the minimum requirements for a mutual agreement drain. Additional terms can be added to the agreement, including:
  • who will be getting the necessary approvals;
  • who is going to coordinate the construction of the mutual agreement drain on affected properties;
  • who is going to be responsible for any future improvements, maintenance or repair of the mutual agreement drain;
  • time restrictions for entering onto the land to construct or maintain the mutual agreement drain.

Why do I need a mutual agreement drain? Why can't I just outlet my drainage system at the property line and let my neighbour deal with the water?

You may not necessarily have legal right to divert surface water. The right to divert surface water must be acquired, and a mutual agreement drain is one method of acquiring this legal right of drainage.

I'm putting in a tile drainage system on my land and my neighbour is allowing me to take a pipe across their land to the outlet. We have a great relationship. Why should I bother with a mutual agreement drain?

A mutual agreement for the drain is not required, but recommended. There are two important factors to consider.

  • The time to enter into a mutual agreement drain is when you get along with your neighbour. If you're not getting along, there's little chance of entering into a mutual agreement later on.
  • You may be about to invest thousands of dollars on your neighbour's land. What protection do you have for that investment? An oral contract gives you the right to install the pipe, but do you have any claim to the pipe after it's installed?

My neighbor wants to install a tile drainage system on their land but need to install a pipe across my land in order to bring the water to the municipal drain. They are prepared to pay all the costs. Should I allow them to do it? What are my responsibilities with a mutual agreement drain? What are the benefits to me?

Entering into an agreement

You have the right to refuse to allow your neighbour to cross your land with the pipe. But if you do, what recourse does your neighbour have? If there is no reasonable or legal alternative for the water to flow, they may be forced to petition the municipality for a municipal drain. If they are successful, a municipal drain could be forced across your property, and you could be forced to share in the cost of the municipal drain.

Responsibilities

The most important element of a mutual agreement drain is the agreement. Your responsibilities for the mutual agreement drain towards the other party are whatever you agree to.

Benefits

The agreement protects you with respect to the other party. Imagine there is no agreement, and after 10 years, a section of the pipe on your property blocks and the water seeps to the surface. Without an agreement, you may be responsible for fixing the pipe with no means of collecting any share of the cost from your neighbour.

Additional resources


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 27 April 2011
Last Reviewed: 27 April 2011

Drains sous entente mutuelle


Le présent outil de référence en ligne ne vise pas à remplacer les conseils juridiques spécialisés. Vous devez toujours consulter un avocat avant d'apporter toute modification aux drains sur votre propriété ou exploitation ou considérer d'entreprendre toute action légale.


Si deux propriétaires fonciers ou plus désirent construire ou améliorer des installations de drainage sur l'un de leurs biens-fonds et sont disposés à en assumer le coût, ils peuvent conclure un accord écrit portant sur la construction, l'amélioration, le financement et l'entretien de telles installations de drainage.

Qu'est‑ce qu'un drain sous entente mutuelle?

Les drains sous entente mutuelle (lien vers la fiche technique) sont des systèmes de drainage construits, améliorés, financés et entretenus dans le cadre d'une entente conclue entre deux propriétaires fonciers ou plus. Ces drains sont autorisés en vertu de l'article 2 de la Loi sur le drainage. Les drains sous entente mutuelle sont des systèmes de drainage privés – ils n'impliquent habituellement pas la participation de la municipalité locale ou d'un organisme gouvernemental, sauf si ces derniers sont partie à l'entente conclue à titre de propriétaire foncier

Comment les ententes sont‑elles conclues?

Les systèmes de drainage partagés sont souvent construits en vertu de diverses formes d'entente.

Entente orale – lorsqu'un propriétaire foncier autorise un autre propriétaire foncier à construire un système de drainage qui traverse ses terres. Un contrat oral peut lier les parties, mais seulement s'il a été fait en présence de témoin et il ne lie pas les propriétaires subséquents des propriétés concernées.

Entente écrite – contrat entre des propriétaires fonciers concernant la construction d'un système de drainage partagé. L'entente stipule habituellement les détails du système de drainage, les responsabilités relatives à la construction ou à l'entretien du système de drainage et les modalités du partage des coûts. Une entente écrite lie les parties à l'entente, mais pas nécessairement les nouveaux propriétaires fonciers après la vente d'une des propriétés visées.

Entente mutuelle – doit inclure les sept éléments énoncés à l'article 2 de la Loi, et est inscrit sur le titre de propriété. Ces ententes lient tous les propriétaires actuels et futurs.

Quelle est la différence entre un drain sous entente mutuelle et un drain municipal?

Un drain sous entente mutuelle est construit dans le cadre d'une entente entre les propriétaires fonciers, laquelle est inscrite sur le titre de propriété. La construction, l'entretien et les réparations sont la responsabilité des propriétaires fonciers concernés tel qu'il est stipulé dans l'entente.

Un drain municipal est un système de drainage qui existe légalement à la suite de l'adoption d'un règlement par la municipalité locale. La municipalité est responsable de construire le système de drainage et des réparations futures, et les coûts des travaux sont imputés aux propriétaires fonciers dans le bassin hydrologique du drain.

Pour un propriétaire foncier, quels sont les avantages d'un drain sous entente mutuelle par rapport à ceux d'un drain municipal?

  • La construction des drains sous entente coûte habituellement moins cher que celle des drains municipaux;
  • Leurs réparations et leur entretien ne relèvent pas d'un organisme public, et les travaux peuvent souvent être réalisés au moment qui convient le mieux aux propriétaires fonciers concernés;
  • Les drains sous entente sont le fruit d'une entente entre les propriétaires et sont construits plus rapidement que les drains municipaux;
  • Les propriétaires fonciers doivent se rappeler que les travaux réalisés dans les cours d'eau ou près de ceux‑ci sont assujettis à d'autres lois, notamment la Loi sur les offices de protection de la nature et la Loi sur les pêches. Il convient de communiquer avec l'office de protection de la nature local ou le ministère des Richesses naturelles pour connaître les lois applicables.

Pour un propriétaire foncier, quels sont les avantages d'un drain municipal par rapport à ceux d'un drain sous entente mutuelle?

  • Le système de drainage construit comme drain municipal fait partie des infrastructures municipales et il incombe à la municipalité de veiller à ce que les travaux soient faits et de respecter les règlements environnementaux;
  • Parfois, des subventions peuvent être accordées pour la réalisation d'évaluations des coûts associés à la construction, à l'amélioration, à l'entretien, à la réparation ou à l'exploitation de drains municipaux sur des terres agricoles. Aucune subvention n'est accordée pour les drains sous entente mutuelle;
  • Les drains sous entente mutuelle ne sont souvent pas réalisables à proximité des grandes routes, des chemins de fer ou des services publics, toutefois, leur construction est possible dans le cadre du processus de construction d'un drain municipal;
  • Le système de drainage est conçu par un ingénieur professionnel ou un arpenteur. Les drains sous entente mutuelle sont souvent conçus par le propriétaire foncier ou l'entrepreneur embauché par un des propriétaires fonciers concernés;
  • L'ingénieur évalue le partage des coûts d'un drain municipal. Une entente mutuelle exige que les propriétaires fonciers déterminent le partage des coûts – un processus qui peut s'avérer difficile.

Comment savoir si un drain sous entente mutuelle a été construit sur ma propriété?

Vérifiez les informations sur votre propriété au bureau d'enregistrement. Si un drain sous entente mutuelle a été construit sur votre propriété, une copie de l'entente doit être inscrite sur le titre de propriété. Vous pourriez devoir acquitter des frais pour obtenir les informations concernant votre titre foncier. Présentez votre facture de taxes municipales ou toute autre information au bureau d'enregistrement pour obtenir des informations sur votre lot, votre concession ou votre propriété.

Quelles sont les étapes pour conclure une entente mutuelle visant la construction d'un drain?

La première étape avant la construction d'un drain sous entente mutuelle consiste à négocier une entente avec tous les propriétaires fonciers concernés. Il s'agit de l'étape la plus importante. Si vous arrivez à une entente, voici les prochaines étapes :

  • vérifier les règlements en matière d'environnement afin de déterminer si vous devez obtenir des approbations ou autorisations pour construire le drain, lesquelles pourraient avoir une incidence sur ce qui a été convenu;
  • demander à un avocat de rédiger l'entente et de l'inscrire sur le titre de propriété – vous pouvez le faire sans l'aide d'un avocat, mais il est recommandé d'en consulter un;
  • construire, améliorer et entretenir le drain conformément à l'entente.

Quels éléments doivent être inclus dans l'entente écrite concernant la construction d'un drain sous entente mutuelle?

Pour qu'un système de drainage partagé soit considéré comme un « drain sous entente mutuelle », l'article 2 de la Loi sur le drainage énonce que les renseignements suivants doivent être inclus dans l'entente écrite :

  • la mention de la Loi sur le drainage, L.R.O. 1990;
  • la description des biens‑fonds des parties à l'accord;
  • le coût estimatif des installations de drainage;
  • la description des installations de drainage, y compris la nature de celles‑ci et leur emplacement approximatif;
  • la part du coût de construction, d'amélioration et d'entretien des installations de drainage dont le paiement incombe à chacun des propriétaires fonciers;
  • la date à laquelle a été conclu l'accord;
  • un affidavit d'un témoin signataire attestant la passation de l'accord par les parties.

Ces renseignements constituent les exigences minimales pour un drain sous entente mutuelle. D'autres modalités peuvent être ajoutées à l'entente, notamment :

  • qui obtiendra les approbations nécessaires;
  • qui coordonnera la construction du drain sous entente mutuelle sur les propriétés concernées;
  • qui sera responsable des améliorations, de l'entretien ou des réparations du drain sous entente mutuelle;
  • les restrictions de temps pour avoir accès aux terrains afin de construire ou d'effectuer des travaux d'entretien du drain sous entente mutuelle.

Pourquoi aurais je besoin d'un drain sous entente mutuelle? Pourquoi ne puis‑je pas simplement aménager une sortie de drainage à la limite de ma propriété et laisser mon voisin s'occuper de l'eau?

Vous n'avez peut‑être pas nécessairement le droit de drainer l'eau de surface. Le droit de drainer l'eau de surface doit être acquis, et un drain sous entente mutuelle est un des moyens d'acquérir ce droit légal de drainage.

J'installe un réseau de drainage souterrain sur mon bien‑fonds et mon voisin m'autorise à faire passer un tuyau sur ses terres jusqu'à l'exutoire. Nous avons une bonne relation. Pourquoi aurais‑je besoin d'un drain sous entente mutuelle?

Une entente mutuelle visant la construction d'un drain n'est pas nécessaire, mais recommandée. Deux facteurs importants doivent être pris en considération.

  • Le meilleur moment pour conclure une entente mutuelle visant la construction d'un drain est lorsque vous vous entendez bien avec votre voisin. Si vous ne vous entendez pas bien, il y a peu de chance que vous arriviez à conclure une entente plus tard.
  • Vous pourriez être sur le point d'investir des milliers de dollars sur le bien‑fonds de votre voisin. Quelle protection avez-vous concernant votre investissement? Un contrat oral vous donne le droit d'installer les tuyaux, mais pouvez‑vous réclamer quoi que ce soit après l'installation de celui‑ci?

Mon voisin souhaite installer un réseau de drainage souterrain sur ses terres, mais, pour ce faire, il doit faire passer un tuyau sur mes terres afin que ses eaux de drainage soient évacuées vers un drain municipal. Il accepte de payer tous les coûts. Dois-je accepter? Quelles sont mes responsabilités à l'égard d'un drain sous entente mutuelle? Quels sont les avantages pour moi?

Conclure une entente

Vous avez le droit de refuser à votre voisin d'installer un tuyau qui traverse vos terres. Mais si vous refusez, quels sont les recours de votre voisin? S'il n'existe aucune solution de rechange légale ou raisonnable pour drainer l'eau, il pourrait devoir présenter une pétition à la municipalité pour la construction d'un drain municipal. Si sa demande est acceptée, un drain municipal pourrait être construit sur votre propriété et vous pourriez devoir partager les coûts de construction du drain municipal.

Responsabilités

L'élément le plus important d'un drain sous entente mutuelle est l'entente. Vos responsabilités à l'égard du drain sous entente mutuelle envers l'autre partie sont tout ce à quoi vous aurez consenti.

Avantages

L'entente vous protège à l'égard de l'autre partie. Imaginez qu'il n'y ait aucune entente et qu'après dix ans, une section du tuyau située sur votre propriété est obstruée et que l'eau suinte à la surface. Sans entente, vous pourriez être responsable de réparer le tuyau sans partager les coûts avec votre voisin.

Ressources additionnelles


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca