Use of soil and Canada Land Inventory (CLI) information for agricultural land use planning in Ontario

Learn about soils mapping and the Canada Land Inventory (CLI) soil capability rating system and how it is used to support provincial planning policies for agricultural land.

The Canada Land Inventory (CLI) soil capability classification system for agriculture

The Planning Act requires that land use decisions made by municipal councils, the Ontario Land Tribunal, or other bodies must be consistent with the Provincial Policy Statement. The Provincial Policy Statement provides direction on the protection and designation of prime agricultural areas in municipal planning documents and establishes criteria to be considered when lands within a prime agricultural area are proposed for non-agricultural land uses. In its definitions of prime agricultural areas and prime agricultural land, the Provincial Policy Statement specifically refers to the Canada Land Inventory (CLI) system.

The CLI system is the recognized system in Ontario for classifying areas with mineral soils according to their inherent capability for growing common field crops. Common field crops include corn, wheat, soybeans, oats, barley, and perennial forage crops such as alfalfa and timothy. The system does not classify soils for horticultural or other specialty type crops.

Since CLI emphasizes the inherent capability of an area for field crops, the present land use, land management, land area or ownership are not considered. For example, a forested area may have a high CLI rating even though it is not cleared and developed for agricultural use.

CLI mapping and soil information is available for land use planning and other uses. Although other systems of classifying land have been developed, the CLI system continues to be the accepted system in Ontario for land use planning.

The CLI classification system for agriculture is an interpretive classification system. It was developed under the Agricultural Rehabilitation and Development Act (ARDA), a cooperative federal-provincial program aimed at providing a comprehensive national survey of land capability and use for various purposes.

The two main components of CLI are: 1) the capability class, and 2) the capability subclass. The capability class indicates the general capability of the soil for growing common field crops. Seven capability classes are defined and are explained in Table 1. The capability subclass indicates the primary type of limitation or hazard for growing common field crops. Thirteen subclasses are defined and are explained in Table 2.

Table 1: Capability classes - Class and Explanation

Classes 1, 2 and 3 - Capable of sustained use for growing common field crops; all or most crops can be grown.
Class 4 - Marginal for sustained use for common field crops; choice of crops that can be grown is limited.
Class 5 - Capable of use only for permanent pasture and hay.
Class 6 - Capable of use only for unimproved pasture.
Class 7 - No capability for agriculture

Table 2: Capability subclasses - Subclass and Explanation

C - Adverse climate
D - Undesirable soil structure and/or permeability
E - Damage from erosion
F - Low fertility
I - Flooding (Inundation) by rivers, streams, or lakes
M - Low moisture holding capacity (droughtiness)
P - Surface stoniness
R - Shallowness to bedrock
S - Two or more of subclasses D, F, M and N
T - Adverse topography
W - Excess wetness

Soil capability ratings

A soil capability rating consists of a capability class number followed by not more than two subclasses represented by their appropriate letters (e.g., 2W, 3FM, etc.). The severity of the limitations identified by the subclasses in the rating influences the class designation. Two subclasses may be shown in a capability rating when: 1) they represent limitations which are equal in severity, and both place the soil in the same capability class; or 2) they represent a combination of limitations which together place the soil in a certain class.

Both single and complexed capability ratings may be shown on capability maps. A single rating is shown in a map symbol when only one soil type occurs (e.g., 2T or 3W). When two soil types occur in an area shown on the map, a complexed capability rating is shown which includes separate ratings for each soil. The proportions of the area represented by each rating are indicated by a small numeral shown as a superscript after each rating. The numeric superscripts denote the proportion of the area out of a total of 10. For example, if the capability rating shown is 2T7 5R3, then 70% of the area is Class 2T and 30% is Class 5R.

Constraints in using the Canada Land Inventory

The classification system is applied only to areas with mineral soils. It cannot be used classify areas with organic soils. Organic soils are simply designated by the letter "O" on capability maps and have no CLI rating.

CLI maps published in Ontario present information at various levels of detail, depending on the scale of the soil survey maps they were derived from (Table 3). More information on soils mapping in Ontario can be found at Soils Ontario. Published provincial Soil Survey Reports can be found at Soil Surveys for Ontario. Small scale maps such as 1:250,000 cannot show areas smaller than 250 hectares in size. Larger scale maps such as 1:50,000 provide more detailed information, but cannot show areas which are less than 12 hectares in size (Table 4). Capability ratings for small areas may not be shown on those maps. Soil capability maps at a scale of 1:50,000 are best suited for municipal planning purposes, and allow for the identification of large continuous prime agricultural areas. While prime agricultural areas may have some areas of lower capability land and scattered non-agricultural uses, prime agricultural areas should not divide individual properties or exclude small, non-agricultural uses that are surrounded by agricultural uses. For more information on assumptions and the CLI System, see Classifying Prime and Marginal Agricultural Soils and Landscapes: Guidelines for Application of the Canada Land Inventory in Ontario.

Table 3: Historical soil maps and reports

County Year Survey Completed ON Report # Scale Last Updated Updated Scale
Blind River-Sault Ste Marie (now Algoma) 50 1:50,000 - -
Brant 1:25,000 - -
Bruce 1:63,360 1975 1:63,360
Dufferin 1:63,360 - -
Dundas 1:63,360 1999 1:50,000
Durham
9
1:63,360 - -
Elgin

63 - v1
63 - v2

1:126,720 1:50,000
Essex 1:63,360 - -
Fort Frances - Rainy River 51 1:50,000 - -
Frontenac 1:63,360 - -
Glengarry 1:63,360 1999 1:50,000
Grenville 1:63,361 2001 1:50,000
Grey 1:63,360 1981 1:63,360
Haldimand - Norfolk 1:25,000 - -
Halton 1:63,360 - -
Hastings 1:63,360 - -
Huron 1:63,360 - -
Kenora - Dryden - Pointe Du Bois 52 1:50,000 - -
Kent (Chatham) 3 1:126,720 1996 1:50,000
Kent (Chatham) Special Report: Soil Maps of Kent County 1994 Special Report - - -
Lambton 1:63,360 - -
Lanark 1:63,360 2000 1:50,000
Leeds 1:63,360 2001 1:50,000
Lennox-Addington 1:63,360 - -
Manitoulin 1:63,360 - -
Middlesex 1:126,720 1:50,000
Niagara 1:25,000 - -
North Bay (now Nipissing) 54 1:50,000 - -
Northumberland 1:42,000 - -
Ottawa - Carleton (Excl. Urban) - - 1:50,000
Ottawa - Urban Fringe 1:25,000 1999 1:50,000
Oxford 1:63,360 1:50,000
Parry Sound 1:126,720 - -
Peel 1:63,360 - -
Perth 1:63,360 1975 1:63,360
Peterborough 1:63,360 - -
Prescott & Russell 1:63,360 1998 1:50,000
Prince Edward 1:63,360 - -
Renfrew 1:63,361 1990 1:50,000
Simcoe 1:63,360 - -
Stormont 1:63,360 1999 1:50,000
Sudbury 49 1:50,000 - -
Thunder Bay 48 1:50,000 - -
Victoria (now Kawartha Lakes) 1:63,360 - -
Waterloo 1:20,000 1996 1:50,000
Wellington 1:63,360 - -
Wentworth (Hamilton) 1:63,360 - -
York 1:63,360 - -

Table 4: Scale relationships and mapping objectives

Map Scale
Field Distances Represented by Map Lines
Minimum Area identifiable on map Mapping Objectives
  Metres Feet Hectares Acres
1:250000 250 812 250 620 Information for general purposes, broad provincial areas
1:250000 125 400 62.5 150 Information for large sub-provincial areas
1:50000 50 160 10 25 Information for municipal planning or watersheds
1:25000 25 80 2.5 6 Information for groups of farms or sub-watersheds

Specialty crop ratings

"Specialty crops" refer to fruit, vegetable and other crops grown commercially in Ontario which cannot be grouped with the "common field crops" (e.g., corn). The Provincial Policy Statement defines "specialty crop areas". While the CLI does not provide a soils capability rating for specialty crop production, the following publications and guidelines are useful for evaluating land and soil quality for specialty crops:

  1. More recent soil survey reports (Brant, Elgin, Haldimand-Norfolk, Middlesex, and Niagara) include ratings of soil suitability for some specialty crops. The ratings published in these reports may also guide the interpretation of reasonably correlated soils in adjacent counties whose soil reports contain no such specialty crop interpretations.
  2. The publication "A Compilation of Soil, Water and Climatic Requirements for Selected Horticultural Crops in Southern Ontario" (Ontario Institute of Pedology Publication, 1989) outlines general landscape and moisture needs for more than 40 different tree fruit, small fruit, and vegetable crops. It comprises many of the soil principles used to arrive at the soil suitability ratings given in soil survey publications cited in (a).
  3. Irrigation and/or artificial drainage are often necessary, depending on the site and crop. Climatic regime needs consideration. The longer the frost-free period and the greater the heat units available, the greater the range and productivity of crops land tends to support.
  4. In general, soils which are interpreted to be "prime" (Class 1-3) for the common field crop types of corn, soybeans, small grains, and forages will have viable suitability for a range of specialty crops. This is most true of sandy and loamy soils. Clayey soils are suitable for fewer types of specialty crops but may still be well suited for some crops.

Examples of when the use of soil and CLI information may be required:

Preparing a new official plan, or updating an existing official plan, that identifies prime agricultural areas

Municipalities with an official plan are required by the Planning Act to review their official plan at least every five years to, among other things, ensure it is consistent with the Provincial Policy Statement, conforms with applicable provincial plans, and has regard for matters of provincial interests. During this process, municipalities should ensure the policies of their official plan reflect changing local needs and priorities. Resource areas of provincial interest such as prime agricultural areas, natural heritage resources and aggregate resources should be identified upfront so they can be considered when other planning issues are dealt with (e.g., the need to expand settlement areas).

The Provincial Policy Statement defines prime agricultural areas as areas where prime agricultural land predominates (i.e., specialty crop areas and areas with CLI Classes 1 to 3 land and associated Classes 4 to 7 land). The Provincial Policy Statement requires planning authorities to designate prime agricultural areas including specialty crop areas. Specialty crop areas receive the highest priority for protection of all prime agricultural areas. There are two approaches for identifying prime agricultural areas beyond specialty crop areas: Agricultural Land Evaluation System (ALES), and Land Evaluation and Area Review (LEAR) process. Both methods rely heavily on CLI mapping. More information on these methodologies is available from OMAFRA's Rural Planners.

Seeking an official plan amendment for a non-agricultural use

The Provincial Policy Statement states that planning authorities may only exclude land from prime agricultural areas for new or expanding settlement areas in accordance with other criteria established in policy. Conversion of prime agricultural area to settlement area may only be considered at the time of comprehensive official plan review, subject to conditions. Within the Greater Golden Horseshoe, an Agricultural Impact Assessment is required for settlement area boundary expansions. This may include analyzing CLI mapping.

The Provincial Policy Statement states that non-agricultural uses, specifically mineral aggregate extraction and limited non-residential uses may only be permitted in prime agricultural areas if certain conditions can be met. For instance, need must be demonstrated, and alternative locations evaluated outside of identified prime agricultural areas; where this is not possible, alternative sites should be identified on lower priority lands within the prime agricultural area. Lower priority agricultural lands are determined based on CLI and factors such as current land use, amount of capital investment into agricultural infrastructure, amount of land under active cultivation, degree of fragmentation to the surrounding agricultural land base, and proximity to adjacent urban and rural settlement areas. For the purpose of considering alternative sites, the scale of existing CLI mapping is appropriate.

Undertaking an Environmental Assessment (EA)

The Environmental Assessment Act requires the evaluation of impacts associated with proposed public sector and some large private sector undertakings on the environment (e.g., landfills, roads). The Environmental Assessment Act broadly defines "environment" as including the natural, social, economic, cultural, and built environments. Proponents must identify and evaluate alternatives, analyze effects, and identify impact mitigation. Consultation with the public, Aboriginal communities and government agencies is mandatory and must also be documented.

The potential impact of a proposed undertaking on prime agricultural areas and how impacts will be managed must be considered during the environmental assessment process. Within the Greater Golden Horseshoe, an Agricultural Impact Assessment or equivalent analysis is required for infrastructure projects which may include analyzing CLI mapping.

Further information on Ontario's environmental assessment process can be found on the Ministry of the Environment's website.

Applying for approval to operate a pit or quarry under the Planning Act and/or the Aggregate Resources Act

As CLI is the primary basis for determining capability for agriculture in Ontario, proponents and approval authorities for pit and quarry applications need to consider CLI information to be consistent with provincial policies that address the protection of prime agricultural areas) and rehabilitation requirements in prime agricultural areas on prime agricultural land. CLI classification is also considered when applying for a license under the Aggregate Resources Act. Further information on the process for pit and quarry applications can be found on the Ministry of Natural Resources' website. An Agricultural Impact Assessment is required for proposed mineral aggregate applications within the Greater Golden Horseshoe.

Resources:

Classifying Prime and Marginal Agricultural Soils and Landscapes: Guidelines for Application of the Canada Land Inventory in Ontario

Agricultural Impact Assessment

Prime Agricultural Areas

Provincial Policy Statement

Land owners, land use planners, agricultural consultants and engineers, municipal governments and academics can go the Agricultural Information Atlas website to get agricultural information and create maps.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Utilisation des renseignements sur les sols et de l'Inventaire des terres du Canada (ITC) pour planifier l'utilisation des terres agricoles en Ontario

Renseignez-vous sur la cartographie des sols et le système de classification du potentiel des sols de l'Inventaire des terres du Canada (ITC) et la manière dont il est utilisé pour appuyer les politiques de planification provinciales pour les terres agricoles.

Le système de classes des possibilités agricoles des sols pour l'agriculture

La Loi sur l'aménagement du territoire exige que les décisions en matière d'aménagement du territoire prises par les conseils municipaux, le Tribunal ontarien de l'aménagement du territoire ou d'autres organismes soient cohérentes avec la Déclaration de principes provinciale. La Déclaration de principes provinciale fournit une orientation sur la protection et la désignation des zones agricoles à fort rendement dans les documents de planification municipale et pose les critères devant être tenus pour compte lorsqu'on propose d'utiliser des terres au sein d'une zone agricole à fort rendement à des fins non agricoles. Dans les définitions qu'elle donne des zones agricoles à fort rendement et des terres agricoles à fort rendement, la Déclaration de principes provinciale renvoie précisément au système de l'Inventaire des terres du Canada (ITC).

Le système de l'ITC est le système reconnu en Ontario pour classer les zones avec des sols minéraux conformément à leur potentiel inhérent pour faire croître les grandes cultures fréquentes. Les grandes cultures fréquentes comprennent le maïs, le blé, le soya, l'avoine, l'orge et les cultures fourragères vivaces comme la luzerne et la fléole des prés. Le système ne classe pas les sols pour les cultures horticoles et les autres types de cultures spéciales.

Puisque l'ITC met l'accent sur le potentiel inhérent d'une zone à soutenir les grandes cultures, l'utilisation actuelle des terres, l'aménagement des terres, la superficie des terres ou leur propriété ne sont pas tenus pour compte. Par exemple, une zone boisée peut avoir une cote plus élevée de l'ITC même si elle n'est pas dégagée et aménagée à des fins d'utilisation agricole.

La cartographie de l'ITC et les renseignements sur les sols sont accessibles pour l'aménagement du territoire et d'autres utilisations. Même si d'autres systèmes de classification des terres ont été élaborés, le système de l'ITC continue d'être le système accepté en Ontario pour l'aménagement du territoire.

Le système de classification de l'ITC pour l'agriculture est un système de classification interprétatif. Il a été conçu aux termes de la Loi sur la revalorisation et l'aménagement des régions agricoles, un programme coopératif fédéral-provincial visant à offrir un levé pédologique exhaustif à l'échelle nationale du potentiel des terres et de l'utilisation des terres à différentes fins.

Les deux principaux volets de l'ITC sont : 1) la classe de potentiel, 2) la sous-classe de potentiel. La classe de potentiel indique le potentiel général du sol à permettre la croissance des grandes cultures fréquentes. Les sept classes de potentiel sont définies et expliquées dans le tableau 1. La sous-classe de potentiel indique le principal type de limitation ou de danger pour la croissance des grandes cultures fréquentes. Les treize sous-classes sont définies et expliquées dans le tableau 2.

Tableau 1 : Classes de potentiel - Classe Explication

Classes 1, 2 et 3 - Potentiel pour une utilisation soutenue pour cultiver de grandes cultures; la plupart sinon toutes les cultures peuvent être cultivées.
Classe 4 - Marginale pour une utilisation soutenue pour cultiver de grandes cultures; le choix de cultures pouvant être cultivées est limité.
Classe 5 - Potentiel uniquement pour une utilisation à des fins de pâturages permanents et de production fourragère.
Classe 6 - Potentiel uniquement pour une utilisation à des fins de pâturages non améliorés.
Classe 7 - Aucun potentiel agricole.

Tableau 2 : Sous-classes de potentiel - Sous-classe Explication
C - Climat défavorable
D - Structure du sol indésirable ou faible perméabilité
E - Dommages causés par l'érosion
F - Faible fertilité
I - Inondations causées par des rivières, des ruisseaux ou des lacs
M - Faible pouvoir de rétention de l'eau (sécheresse)
P - Pierrosité de la surface
R - Faible profondeur de la roche-mère
S - Deux sous-classes ou plus parmi D, F, M et N
T - Topographie défavorable
W - Surabondance d'eau

Cotes de potentiel des sols

Une cote de potentiel des sols est constituée d'un numéro de classe de potentiel suivi par au plus deux sous-classes représentées par leurs lettres respectives (p. ex. 2W, 3FM, etc.). La sévérité des limitations identifiées par les sous-classes dans la cote influence la désignation de la classe. Deux sous-classes peuvent apparaître dans une cote de potentiel quand : 1) elles représentent des limitations d'une égale sévérité et placent toutes deux le sol dans la même classe de potentiel; 2) elles représentent une combinaison de limitations qui ensemble placent le sol dans une classe donnée.

Les cotes de potentiel simples ou complexes peuvent être illustrées sur les cartes de potentiel. Une cote simple apparaît dans un signe cartographique lorsqu'un seul type de sol est en cause (comme 2T ou 3W). Lorsque deux types de sols surviennent dans une zone illustrée sur la carte, une cote de potentiel complexe apparaît qui inclut des cotes distinctes pour chaque sol. Les proportions de la zone représentée par chaque cote sont indiquées par un petit chiffre présenté en exposant après chaque cote. L'exposant numérique indique la proportion de la zone sur un total de 10. Par exemple, si la cote de potentiel indiquée est 2T7 5R3, 70 % de la zone est alors de la classe 2t et 30 % de la classe 5R.

Contraintes liées à l'utilisation de l'Inventaire des terres du Canada

Le système de classification est appliqué uniquement aux zones avec des sols minéraux. Il ne peut pas être utilisé pour classer des zones avec des sols organiques. Les sols organiques sont simplement désignés par la lettre « O » sur les cartes de potentiel et n'ont pas de cote de l'ITC.

Les cartes de l'ITC publiées en Ontario présentent des renseignements à divers niveaux de détail, en fonction de la portée des cartes de levés pédologiques dont elles sont dérivées (tableau 3). De plus amples renseignements sur la cartographie des sols en Ontario sont accessibles sur la page Web Sols de l'Ontario. Les études pédologiques provinciales publiées sont accessibles sur la page Web Études pédologiques pour l'Ontario. Les cartes à petite échelle, comme 1:250 000 ne peuvent pas montrer des régions dont la taille est inférieure à 250 hectares. Les cartes à plus grande échelle, comme 1:50 000 fournissent des renseignements plus détaillés, mais ne peuvent pas montrer des zones dont la taille est inférieure à 12 hectares (tableau 4). Les cotes de potentiel pour les petites zones peuvent ne pas apparaître sur ces cartes. Les cartes de potentiel des sols à une échelle de 1:50 000 conviennent mieux aux fins de la planification municipale et permettent l'identification de grandes zones agricoles à fort rendement continues. Même si les zones agricoles à fort rendement peuvent avoir des zones avec des terres ayant un potentiel plus faible et des utilisations non agricoles dispersées, les zones agricoles à fort rendement ne devraient pas diviser des propriétés individuelles ou exclure de petites utilisations non agricoles qui sont entourées par des utilisations agricoles. Pour en savoir plus sur les hypothèses utilisées et sur le système de classification de l'ITC, consultez la page Web Classification des soles et des paysages agricoles de premier choix et marginaux : Lignes directrices pour l'application à l'Ontario de l'Inventaire des terres du Canada.

Tableau 3 : Cartes et études historiques des sols

Comté Année du levé pédologique Étude ON no Échelle Dernière mise à jour Échelle
Blind River-
Sault Ste Marie
(maintenant Algoma)
50
1:50 000
-
-
Brant
1:25 000
-
-
Bruce
1:63 360
1975
1:63 360
Dufferin
1:63 360
-
-
Dundas
1:63 360
1999
1:50 000
Durham
9
1:63 360
-
-
Elgin

63 - v1
63 - v2

1:126 720 1:50 000
Essex
1:63 360
-
-
Fort Frances-
Rainy River
51
1:50 000
-
-
Frontenac
1:63 360
-
-
Glengarry
1:63 360
1999
1:50 000
Grenville
1:63 361
2001
1:50 000
Grey
1:63 360
1981
1:63 360
Haldimand-Norfolk
1:25 000
-
-
Halton
1:63 360
-
-
Hastings
1:63 360
-
-
Huron
1:63 360
-
-
Kenora-Dryden-Pointe Du Bois
52
1:50 000
-
-
Kent (Chatham)
3
1:126 720
1996
1:50 000
Étude spéciale Kent (Chatham) :
Cartes des sols du comté de Kent
1994
Étude spéciale
-
-
-
Lambton
1:63 360
-
-
Lanark
1:63 360
2000
1:50 000
Leeds
1:63 360
2001
1:50 000
Lennox-Addington
1:63 360
-
-
Manitoulin
1:63 360
-
-
Middlesex
1:126 720
1:50 000
Niagara
1:25 000
-
-
North Bay (maintenant Nipissing)
54
1:50 000
-
-
Northumberland
1:42 000
-
-
Ottawa-Carleton (à l'exclusion de la banlieue urbaine)
-
-
1:50 000
Ottawa-banlieue
1:25 000
1999
1:50 000
Oxford
1:63 360
1:50 000
Parry Sound
1:126 720
-
-
Peel
1:63 360
-
-
Perth
1:63 360
1975
1:63 360
Peterborough
1:63 360
-
-
Prescott & Russell
1:63 360
1998
1:50 000
Prince Edward
1:63 360
-
-
Renfrew
1:63 361
1990
1:50 000
Simcoe
1:63 360
-
-
Stormont
1:63 360
1999
1:50 000
Sudbury
49
1:50 000
-
-
Thunder Bay
48
1:50 000
-
-
Victoria (maintenant Kawartha Lakes)
1:63 360
-
-
Waterloo
1:20 000
1996
1:50 000
Wellington
1:63 360
-
-
Wentworth (Hamilton)
1:63 360
-
-
York
1:63 360
-
-

Tableau 4 : Relations entre l'échelle et les objectifs de la cartographie

Échelle de la carte
Distances des champs représentées par les tracés des cartes
Superficie minimale identifiable sur la carte
Objectifs de la cartographie
Mètres Pieds Hectares Acres
1:250 000 250 812 250 620
Renseignements à des fins générales, vastes zones provinciales
1:125 000 125 400 62.5 150 Renseignements pour de grandes zones sous-provinciales
1:50 000 50 160 10 25
Renseignements pour l'aménagement municipal ou les bassins versants
1:25 000 25 80 2.5 6
Renseignements pour des groupes d'exploitations agricoles ou des sous-bassins versants

Cotes pour les cultures spéciales

Les « cultures spéciales » renvoient aux cultures fruitières, maraîchères et autres qui sont cultivées en Ontario et qui ne peuvent pas être regroupées avec les « grandes cultures fréquentes » (comme le maïs). La Déclaration de principes provinciale définit les « zones de cultures spéciales ». Même si l'ITC ne donne pas une cote de potentiel des sols pour la production des cultures spéciales, les publications et les lignes directrices qui suivent sont utiles pour évaluer la qualité des terres et des sols pour les cultures spéciales :

  1. Les études pédologiques les plus récentes (Brant, Elgin, Haldimand-Norfolk, Middlesex et Niagara) incluent les cotes de potentiel des sols pour certaines cultures spéciales. Les cotes publiées dans ces études peuvent aussi guider l'interprétation des sols raisonnablement corrélés dans des comtés adjacents dont les études sur les sols ne contiennent pas de telles interprétations pour les cultures spéciales.
  2. La publication « A Compilation of Soil, Water and Climatic Requirements for Selected Horticultural Crops in Southern Ontario » (Ontario Institute of Pedology Publication, 1989) décrit les exigences générales liées aux besoins en eau et à l'emplacement de plus de 40 espèces différentes d'arbres fruitiers, de petits fruits et de légumes. Elle comprend plusieurs des principes pédologiques utilisés pour arriver aux cotes de potentiel cultural données dans les publications sur les études pédologiques mentionnées en a).
  3. L'irrigation ou le drainage artificiel sont souvent nécessaires, dépendamment de l'emplacement et de la culture. Le régime climatique doit être tenu pour compte. Plus la période sans gel est longue et plus le nombre d'unités thermiques disponible est grand, plus l'éventail et la productivité des cultures que les terres sont en mesure de soutenir sont grands.
  4. Règle générale, les sols qui sont placés dans la catégorie « à fort rendement » (classes 1 à 3) pour les grandes cultures fréquentes de types maïs, soya, petites céréales et cultures fourragères auront un potentiel viable pour un éventail de cultures spéciales. Cela est particulièrement le cas des sols sableux et loameux. Les sols argileux conviennent à un nombre moins important de cultures spéciales, mais peuvent tout de même être adaptés à certaines cultures.

Exemples où l'utilisation des renseignements pédologiques et de l'ITC peut être nécessaire :

Préparation d'un nouveau plan officiel ou mise à jour d'un plan officiel établissant des zones agricoles à fort rendement

Les municipalités dotées d'un plan officiel doivent, en vertu de la Loi sur l'aménagement du territoire, revoir leur plan officiel au moins tous les cinq ans, notamment pour s'assurer qu'il respecte la Déclaration de principes provinciale, est conforme avec les plans provinciaux applicables et traite des questions d'intérêts provinciaux. Durant ce processus, les municipalités devraient s'assurer que les politiques de leur plan officiel reflètent les changements en matière de besoins et de priorités à l'échelle locale. Les zones ayant des ressources qui présentent un intérêt provincial comme les zones agricoles à fort rendement, les ressources du patrimoine naturel et les ressources en agrégats devraient être identifiées en amont afin qu'elles puissent être tenues pour compte lorsque d'autres questions d'aménagement sont abordées (par exemple le besoin d'élargir les zones de peuplement).

La Déclaration de principes provinciale définit les zones agricoles à fort rendement comme des zones où les terres agricoles prédominent (c.-à-d. les zones de cultures spéciales et les zones de classes 1 à 3 et les terres connexes de classes 4 à 7). La Déclaration de principes provinciale exige que les offices d'aménagement désignent les zones agricoles à fort rendement, y compris les zones de cultures spéciales. Les zones de cultures spéciales reçoivent la priorité la plus élevée à des fins de protections parmi toutes les zones agricoles à fort rendement. Deux approches existent pour circonscrire les zones agricoles à fort rendement au-delà des zones de cultures spéciales : la méthodologie du Système d'évaluation des terres agricoles (SETA), et celle du Système d'évaluation des terres et d'analyse des zones. Les deux méthodologies se fondent très fortement sur la cartographie de l'ITC. De plus amples renseignements sur ces méthodologies sont disponibles auprès des planificateurs de l'aménagement rural du MAAARO.

Demande de modification d'un plan officiel aux fins d'une utilisation non agricole

La Déclaration de principes provinciale stipule que les offices d'aménagement peuvent exclure des terres de zones agricoles à fort rendement uniquement pour établir ou élargir des zones de peuplement conformément aux autres critères prévus dans la déclaration. La conversion d'une zone agricole à fort rendement en zone de peuplement ne peut être envisagée qu'au moment de l'examen exhaustif d'un plan officiel, sous réserve de conditions. Au sein de la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe, une évaluation des répercussions sur l'agriculture est exigée pour l'élargissement des limites d'une zone de peuplement. Cela peut inclure l'analyse de la cartographie de l'ITC.

La Déclaration de principes provinciale stipule que les utilisations non agricoles, en particulier l'extraction des agrégats minéraux et les utilisations non résidentielles limitées ne peuvent être permises dans des zones agricoles à fort rendement que si certaines conditions peuvent être satisfaites. Par exemple, le besoin doit être démontré et des emplacements de rechange doivent être évalués à l'extérieur des zones agricoles à fort rendement identifiées. Lorsque cela est impossible, des emplacements de rechange devraient être circonscrits sur des terres de priorité moindre au sein de la zone agricole à fort rendement. Les terres agricoles de priorité moindre sont déterminées en fonction de l'ITC et de facteurs comme l'utilisation actuelle des terres, la somme des investissements en immobilisations dans l'infrastructure agricole, la quantité de terres activement cultivées, le degré de fragmentation du territoire agricole avoisinant et la proximité de zones de peuplement urbaines ou rurales adjacentes. Aux fins de prendre en compte des emplacements de rechange, l'échelle de la cartographie actuelle de l'ITC est appropriée.

Réalisation d'une évaluation environnementale (EE)

La Loi sur les évaluations environnementales exige que l'évaluation des répercussions associées aux entreprises proposées par le secteur public et à certaines entreprises importantes du secteur privé sur l'environnement (par exemple des lieux d'enfouissement, des routes). La Loi sur les évaluations environnementales définit largement le terme « environnement » afin d'inclure les environnements naturels, sociaux, économiques, culturels et bâtis. Les promoteurs doivent identifier et évaluer des solutions de rechange, analyser les effets et identifier des mesures d'atténuation des répercussions. La consultation du public, des collectivités autochtones et des organismes gouvernementaux est obligatoire et doit aussi être documentée.

Les répercussions potentielles d'une entreprise proposée sur les zones agricoles à fort rendement et la manière dont elles seront gérées doivent aussi être examinées lors du processus d'évaluation environnementale. Dans la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe, une évaluation des répercussions sur l'agriculture ou une analyse équivalente est requise pour les projets d'infrastructure, ce qui peut inclure l'analyse de la cartographie de l'ITC.

De plus amples renseignements sur le processus d'évaluation environnementale de l'Ontario sont accessibles dans le site Web du ministère de l'Environnement, de la Protection de la nature et des Parcs.

Demande d'approbation pour l'exploitation d'un puits d'extraction ou d'une carrière en vertu de la Loi sur l'aménagement du territoire ou de la Loi sur les ressources en agrégats

Puisque l'ITC est l'outil de base pour déterminer le potentiel pour l'agriculture en Ontario, les promoteurs et les offices d'aménagement responsables des demandes pour un puits d'extraction ou une carrière doivent examiner les renseignements de l'ITC afin d'être conformes aux politiques provinciales qui se penchent sur la protection des zones agricoles à fort rendement et aux exigences de réhabilitation dans les zones agricoles à fort rendement sur une terre agricole à fort rendement. La classification de l'ITC est aussi considérée lorsqu'un permis est demandé aux termes de la Loi sur les ressources en agrégats. De plus amples renseignements sur le processus entourant les demandes pour un puits d'extraction et une carrière sont accessibles dans le site Web du ministère des Richesses naturelles. Une évaluation des répercussions sur l'agriculture est exigée pour les demandes visant l'extraction d'agrégats minéraux dans la région élargie du Golden Horseshoe.

Ressources :

Classification des sols et des paysages agricoles de premier choix et marginaux : Lignes directrices pour l'application à l'Ontario de l'inventaire des terres du Canada

Évaluation des répercussions sur l'agriculture

Zones agricoles à fort rendement

Déclaration de principes provinciale

Les propriétaires fonciers, les planificateurs de l'aménagement du territoire, les administrations municipales et les universitaires peuvent consulter le site Web de l'Atlas de l'information agricole pour obtenir des renseignements en matière d'agriculture et créer des cartes.



Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca