Minimum Distance Separation (MDS) Formulae and Guidelines

In Ontario's rural and prime agricultural areas, the Provincial Policy Statement, 2020, and other provincial land use plans require that new land uses, including the creation of lots and new or expanding livestock facilities, comply with the Minimum Distance Separation (MDS) formulae and guidelines.

The MDS formulae and guidelines are land use planning tools that determine setback distances between livestock barns, manure storages or anaerobic digesters and surrounding land uses, with the objective of minimizing land use conflicts and nuisance complaints related to odour. Demonstrating that an MDS setback can be met, may be required before a land use planning approval or building permit can be issued.

MDS is comprised of two separate, but related, formulae that act reciprocally to help site either new development or new/expanding livestock facilities:

  • MDS I setbacks are determined between proposed new development and existing livestock barns, manure storages and/or anaerobic digesters.
  • MDS II setbacks are determined between proposed new or altered livestock facilities and/or anaerobic digesters and existing or approved development, lot lines and road allowances.

The Minimum Distance Separation (MDS) Document

The MDS formulae, definitions, factors, implementation guidelines, calculation forms, explanatory schematics and additional training information are contained in Publication 853, "The Minimum Distance Separation (MDS) Document: Formulae and Guidelines for Livestock Facility and Anaerobic Digester Odour Setbacks." This document came into effect on March 1, 2017 and replaces all prior versions of the MDS formulae and guidelines.

MDS formulae and guidelines

You can download a digital PDF version of the Minimum Distance Separation (MDS) Document, Publication 853 here (36.9 MB) or order a free hard copy through ServiceOntario.

Online: ontario.ca/publications
By phone: Monday to Friday, 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM
416-326-5300
416-325-3408 (TTY)
1-800-668-9938 toll-free across Canada
1-800-268-7095 TTY toll-free across Ontario

AgriSuite Software

The province has developed AgriSuite software which contains digital tools that allow users to quickly calculate MDS setbacks between proposed:

  • new development and existing livestock barns, manure storages and/or anaerobic digesters (MDS I)
  • new or altered livestock facilities and/or anaerobic digesters and existing or approved development, lot lines and road allowances (MDS II)

Calculated setback distances vary according to five factors and, depending on the type of calculation being done (MDS I or MDS II), users will need to input information into AgriSuite, such as:

  • the type of livestock housed
  • the potential number of livestock housed
  • the percentage increase in the size of the operation
  • the type of manure system and storage
  • the type of encroaching land use
  • the size of the lot on which the livestock facility is located, etc.

This information is used to populate the various factors in the corresponding MDS formula. More details, including suggested sources to obtain this information, are referenced in the MDS Document, Publication 853. It is recommended that users consult this document when utilizing the MDS tools in AgriSuite. Visit the AgriSuite web page to access the MDS digital tools.

Role of Municipalities

Municipalities are responsible for ensuring that MDS setbacks are met when reviewing land use planning applications (e.g., lot creation applications) or building permits. Contact your local municipality for questions regarding the implementation of the MDS in your area if you are proposing to construct a new livestock facility, anaerobic digester or other building, or you are pursuing a land use planning application, such as an official plan amendment, zoning by-law amendment, or an application to create a new lot.

While municipalities are responsible for ensuring that the requirements of MDS are met when reviewing land use planning applications or building permits, municipalities may implement this requirement in different ways. Some municipalities will ask an applicant to provide the information necessary for the municipality to complete the calculation of MDS. In other cases, a municipality may request that an applicant provide a calculated MDS setback. In this instance, it may be helpful for an applicant to hire a land use planning consultant or a nutrient management consultant to undertake the MDS calculation. In all cases, a municipality must review any MDS calculations to ensure they are accurate.

For more information

If you are a farmer or landowner, your first point of contact for inquires related to MDS should be your local municipality. Municipalities are responsible for the implementation of MDS as part of their review and approval of building permit applications and applications under the Planning Act. If necessary, municipalities are encouraged to update local zoning by-laws and official plans.

If you work for a municipality, a land use planning consulting firm or a nutrient management consulting firm and have questions related to the MDS and the calculator tools contained in AgriSuite, or other agricultural land use policies, please contact the Agricultural Information Contact Centre at 1-877-424-1300 or ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca to be directed to the appropriate ministry staff person in your area.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Formules de calcul et lignes directrices pour les distances minimales de séparation (DMS)

En Ontario, les zones rurales et les zones à fort rendement agricoles, la Déclaration de principes provinciale de 2020, et les autres plans provinciaux d'aménagement du territoire exigent que les nouveaux aménagements du territoire, y compris la création de lots et la création ou l'agrandissement d'installations d'élevage, respectent les formules de calcul et les lignes directrices pour les distances minimales de séparation (DMS).

Les formules de calcul et les lignes directrices pour les DMS sont des outils d'aménagement du territoire qui déterminent les distances de séparation entre les bâtiments d'élevage, les structures de stockage du fumier ou les digesteurs anaérobies et les utilisations du sol avoisinantes, avec l'objectif de minimiser les utilisations incompatibles et les plaintes de nuisance liées aux odeurs. La démonstration qu'une DMS peut être respectée peut être exigée avant qu'une autorisation d'aménagement du territoire ou un permis de construire puisse être émis.

Les DMS sont constituées de deux formules séparées, bien que reliées, qui agissent réciproquement pour aider à établir un nouvel aménagement ou établir/agrandir des installations d'élevage :

  • les DMS I sont déterminées entre un nouvel aménagement proposé et des bâtiments d'élevage, des structures de stockage de fumier ou des digesteurs anaérobies existants
  • les DMS II sont déterminées entre des installations d'élevage de bétail nouvelles ou modifiées ou des digesteurs anaérobies et un aménagement, des limites de lot et de réserves routières existantes ou approuvées

Document sur les distances minimales de séparation (DMS)

Les formules de calcul des DMS, les définitions, les facteurs, les lignes directrices de mise en œuvre, les formulaires de calcul, les schémas explicatifs et des renseignements supplémentaires en matière de formation se retrouvent dans la publication 853F, « Document sur les distances minimales de séparation : Formules de calcul et lignes directrices pour les distances de séparation relatives aux odeurs des installations d'élevage de bétail et des digesteurs anaérobies ». Ce document est entré en vigueur le 1er mars 2017 et remplace toutes les versions antérieures des formules et lignes directrices pour les DMS.

Formules de calcul des distances minimales de séparation (DMS)

Vous pouvez télécharger une version PDF numérique du Document sur les distances minimales de séparation, publication 853F ici (36,9 Mo) ou commander un exemplaire papier auprès de ServiceOntario.

En ligne : ontario.ca/publications
Par téléphone : du lundi au vendredi, de 8 h 30 à 17 h
416 326-5300
416 325-3408 (ATS)
1 800 668-9938 sans frais au Canada
1 800 268-7095 ATS sans frais en Ontario

Logiciel AgriSuite

La province a développé le logiciel AgriSuite qui contient des outils numériques qui permettent aux utilisateurs de calculer rapidement les DMS entre :

  • un nouvel aménagement proposé et des bâtiments d'élevage, des structures de stockage de fumier ou des systèmes de digestion anaérobie existants (DMS I)
  • des installations d'élevage de bétail nouvelles ou modifiées ou des digesteurs anaérobies et un aménagement, des limites de lot et de réserves routières existantes ou approuvées (DMS II)

Les distances de séparations calculées varient en fonction de cinq facteurs et, selon le type de calcul effectué (DMS I ou DMS II), les utilisateurs devront inscrire des renseignements dans AgriSuite comme :

  • le type de bétail logé
  • le nombre potentiel d'animaux logés
  • le pourcentage d'augmentation de la taille de l'exploitation
  • le type de système et de stockage de fumier
  • le type d'empiètement sur les terres
  • la taille du lot sur lequel l'installation d'élevage est située, etc.

Ces renseignements sont utilisés pour remplir les différents facteurs dans la formule de DMS correspondante. De plus amples détails, y compris des suggestions de sources pour obtenir ces renseignements, sont mentionnés dans le Document sur les distances minimales de séparation, publication 853F. Il est recommandé aux utilisateurs de consulter ce document lorsqu'ils utilisent les outils pour les DMS d'AgriSuite. Visitez la page Web d'AgriSuite pour accéder aux outils numériques sur les DMS.

Rôle des municipalités

Les municipalités sont responsables de s'assurer que les DMS sont respectées lorsqu'elles examinent les demandes d'aménagement du territoire (par exemple les demandes de création de lot) ou les permis de construire. Communiquez avec votre municipalité pour les questions concernant la mise en œuvre des DMS dans votre région si vous proposez de construire un nouveau bâtiment d'élevage, un digesteur anaérobie ou un autre bâtiment, ou si vous faites une demande d'aménagement du territoire, comme une modification du plan officiel, une modification du règlement de zonage ou une demande pour créer un nouveau lot.

Même si les municipalités sont responsables de s'assurer que les exigences des DMS sont respectées lorsqu'elles examinent les demandes d'aménagement du territoire ou les permis de construire, elles peuvent mettre en œuvre cette exigence de différentes manières. Certaines municipalités demanderont au demandeur de fournir les renseignements dont a besoin la municipalité pour effectuer le calcul des DMS. Dans d'autres cas, une municipalité peut demander à un demandeur de fournir une DMS calculée. Dans ce cas, il peut être utile pour un demandeur d'engager un consultant en aménagement du territoire ou en gestion des éléments nutritifs pour effectuer le calcul des DMS. Dans tous les cas, une municipalité doit examiner les calculs de DMS pour s'assurer de leur exactitude.

Pour plus d'information

Si vous êtes un agriculteur ou un propriétaire foncier, votre première personne-ressource pour des questions relatives aux DMS devrait être votre municipalité locale. Les municipalités sont responsables de mettre en œuvre les DMS dans le cadre de leur examen et approbation des demandes de permis de construire et des demandes en vertu de la Loi sur l'aménagement du territoire. Au besoin, les municipalités sont encouragées à mettre à jour leurs règlements de zonage et leurs plans officiels.

Si vous travaillez pour une municipalités, une société d'experts-conseils en aménagement du territoire ou en gestion des éléments nutritifs et que vous avez des questions relatives aux DMS et aux outils de calculs contenus dans AgriSuite, ou à d'autres politiques d'aménagement du territoire agricole, veuillez communiquer avec le Centre d'information agricole au 1 877 424-1300 ou à ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca pour être aiguille vers la bonne personne travaillant pour le ministère dans votre région.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca