New Horizons: Ontario's Draft Agricultural Soil Health and Conservation

Click here to access the PDF version of 'New Horizons: Ontario's Draft Agricultural Soil Health and Conservation Strategy'

We all know that healthy soil is the basis for a strong, sustainable agri-food system. Wise management can ensure that soil is fertile and full of the living organisms that are essential to grow food and other agricultural products. That's why Ontario is committed to working with Indigenous communities, farmers, industry and community partners to develop a strategy that will sustain and support healthy soil so our land can be productive today and well into the future.

The draft strategy builds on the vision, goals, objectives and concepts presented in the 2016 'Sustaining Ontario's Agricultural Soils: Towards a Shared Vision' discussion document.

It also builds on the extensive soil health efforts of agricultural organizations and OMAFRA. It was developed in collaboration with the agricultural sector, and it reflects feedback received during public engagement on the discussion document, from farmers, Indigenous participants and other interested groups and individuals.

We'd like to hear your thoughts and feedback on the draft strategy. Your input will help guide the development of a final Soil Health and Conservation Strategy for Ontario which will be released in spring 2018.

How to participate

New Horizons: Ontario's Draft Agricultural Soil Health and Conservation

We welcome your feedback on the draft strategy by December 31st, 2017. You may submit comments a number of ways:

  1. Submit your comment through the Environmental Bill of Rights Registry at Ontario.ca/ebr registry number 013-1373
  2. Fill out this feedback form
  3. Fax: 519-826-3492
  4. Mail: Agricultural Soil Health and Conservation Strategy
    Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs
    1 Stone Road West, 2nd floor
    Guelph, ON N1G 4Y2

Open Houses

We also invite you to join us at one of our public open houses. Pre-registration is not required at these drop-in events. Participating in an open house will give you the opportunity to talk with OMAFRA soil staff, ask questions and provide input:

Webinar / Teleconference

Another way to hear about the draft soil strategy and provide feedback is through a webinar / teleconference being held on Dec 11 from 1:00-3:00pm. To register for the webinar / teleconference please call the Agricultural Information Contact Centre (AICC at 1-877-424-1300) or email ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca.

Notice Regarding Collection of Information

Any collection of personal information for this public engagement is in accordance with subsection 39(2) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

Organizations and Businesses

Comments or submissions made on behalf of an organization or business may be shared or disclosed. By submitting comments you are deemed to consent to the sharing of information contained in the comments and your business contact information. Business contact information is the name, title and contact information of anyone submitting comments in a business, professional or official capacity.

Individuals

Personal contact information will be used only to contact you and will not be shared. Please be aware that any comments provided may be shared or disclosed once personal information is removed. Personal information includes your name, home address and personal e-mail address.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA
Creation Date: 01 November 2017
Last Reviewed: 01 November 2017

De nouveaux horizons : ébauche de Stratégie pour la santé et la préservation des sols agricoles de l'Ontario

Cliquez ici pour accéder au document en format PDF " De nouveaux horizons : ébauche de Stratégie pour la santé et la préservation des sols agricoles de l'Ontario "

Nous savons tous que la santé des sols est le fondement d'un système agroalimentaire fort et durable. Grâce à une sage gestion, le sol sera fertile et rempli d'organismes vivants qui sont essentiels à la culture d'aliments et d'autres produits agricoles. Voilà pourquoi l'Ontario s'est engagé à travailler avec les collectivités autochtones, les agriculteurs, l'industrie et ses partenaires communautaires à l'élaboration d'une stratégie permettant de maintenir et de supporter la santé des sols, afin que nos terres puissent être productives aujourd'hui et pendant de nombreuses années.

Cette ébauche de stratégie s'appuie sur la vision, les buts, les objectifs et les concepts présentés dans le document de discussion de 2016 « Le maintien des sols agricoles de l'Ontario : vers une vision partagée ».

Elle s'inspire aussi des efforts considérables des organisations agricoles et du MAAARO en vue de la santé des sols. Elle fut élaborée en collaboration avec le secteur agricole, et elle se fonde sur les commentaires reçus de la part d'agriculteurs, d'Autochtones et d'autres groupes et individus intéressés par cette stratégie, lorsque le public a participé à la consultation publique.

Nous aimerions savoir ce que vous pensez de l'ébauche de stratégie et connaître votre réaction. Vos idées nous aideront à orienter l'élaboration de la Stratégie pour la santé et la préservation des sols agricoles de l'Ontario finale, qui sera publiée au printemps 2018.

Comment participer

De nouveaux horizons : ébauche de Stratégie pour la santé et la préservation des sols agricoles de l'Ontario

Nous vous invitons à nous transmettre vos commentaires sur l'ébauche de stratégie d'ici le 31 décembre 2017. Vous pouvez les soumettre de plusieurs façons :

  1. Soumettez vos commentaires sur le Registre environnemental à l'adresse Ontario.ca/ebr (numéro d'enregistrement 013-1373)
  2. Remplissez le présent formulaire de commentaires
  3. Envoyez un courriel : soilhealth@ontario.ca
  4. Envoyez une télécopie : 519 826-3492
  5. Envoyez une lettre par la poste : Stratégie pour la santé et la préservation des sols
    agricoles
    Ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales
    1 Stone Road West, 2e étage
    Guelph (Ontario) N1G 4Y2

Journées portes ouvertes

Nous vous invitons également à venir à l'une de nos journées portes ouvertes. Il n'est pas nécessaire de vous inscrire d'avance à ces activités libres. La participation à une journée portes ouvertes vous donnera l'occasion de parler avec le personnel en matière de sols du MAAARO, de poser des questions et de soumettre vos idées :

  1. 28 novembre, région de Chatham, Country View Golf Course, 25393 St. Clair Road. R. R. 1, Dover Centre (Ontario) N0P 1L0 (de 13 h à 16 h et de 18 h à 21 h);

Webinaire/téléconférence

Un autre moyen d'entendre parler de l'ébauche de stratégie pour les sols et de formuler des commentaires consiste à participer au webinaire/à la téléconférence qui se tiendra le 11 décembre de 13 h à 15 h. Pour vous inscrire au webinaire/à la téléconférence, veuillez téléphoner au Centre d'information agricole au 1 877 424-1300 ou envoyer un courriel à ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca.

Avis relatif à la collecte des renseignements

La collecte de renseignements personnels aux fins de la présente consultation publique est conforme au paragraphe 39 (2) de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la protection de la vie privée.

Organismes et entreprises

Les observations ou commentaires présentés au nom d'un organisme ou d'une entreprise peuvent être partagés ou divulgués. Si vous envoyez des commentaires, nous considérerons que vous consentez au partage des renseignements fournis à cette occasion ainsi que de vos coordonnées professionnelles. On entend par coordonnées professionnelles le nom, le titre et les coordonnées de la personne qui soumet des commentaires dans l'exercice de ses fonctions commerciales, professionnelles ou officielles.

Particuliers

Vos coordonnées personnelles seront utilisées uniquement pour vous contacter et ne seront pas partagées. Veuillez toutefois noter que tout commentaire fourni pourra être partagé ou divulgué une fois vos données personnelles effacées. On entend par données personnelles votre nom, votre adresse postale et votre adresse électronique.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Firstname SPACE Lastname SPACE HYPHEN SPACE Title/Affiliation
(eg. John Doe - Crop Specialist/University of Guelph)
Use a SEMI COLON to separate multiple entries:
(eg. John Doe - Crop Specialist/University of Guelph; Jane Doe - Crop Specialist/OMAFRA)
Date de création : 01 novembre 2017
Dernière révision : 01 novembre 2017