Pasteurella and Rabbits

Pasteurellosis is one of the most common and severe diseases of rabbits. It can account for mortalities greater than 15-20% of fryers (young weaned rabbits). Pasteurellosis will also reduce feed efficiency and increase the number of days to market. It is characterized by disease of the respiratory system, pyogenic lesions affecting various organs, enteritis or septicaemia. Many rabbits are carriers of Pasteurella multocida and breeding does are the main reservoir. The acute manifestations of the disease are associated with high stocking density, poor ventilation, and high ammonia and humidity levels.

Research from France shows:

  • P. multocida can be isolated from the middle ear of 60% of breeding does (1);
  • the main transmission of P. multocida in rabbits is directly from the doe to the kits; (The term kit is used for baby rabbits prior to weaning while fryer is used post weaning.)
  • airborne transmission does not have a major role in transmission of the bacteria(1); and
  • only 1-2% of rabbits have the infection in their middle ear by 56 days of age (2).

There are no approved antibacterial agents or vaccines for use in rabbits in Canada. However, since kits could be weaned as early as 28 days, it may be worth examining the segregated-medicated-early-weaning management systems adopted by the pork industry.

The following hypothesis may be useful in reducing losses of fryers to pasteurellosis. Kits of similar age, for example 30-35 days, could be weaned as a group to a separate location (e.g., other barn, shed, or green house-like structure). Under the direction of a veterinarian, they would be treated with an antibiotic such as tetracycline in the feed or water for five days. The segregation might prevent the transmission of the bacteria in most of the kits and the tetracycline could eliminate or prevent pasteurella infections from starting. The antibiotic would have 30-40 days to be removed from the fryers before they go to market. Since the withdrawal time for tetracycline used at standard levels for other species is five days, there might be sufficient time for the medication to clear the system. A veterinary-supervised monitoring program could also be put in place to ensure that there are no residual inhibitors in market age fryers. When the fryers are ready for market, they should all be removed to market at once. A complete clean up would follow in preparation for the next group. Should a pasteurella outbreak occur, the segregated weaning would limit its spread to other groups.

This system could be useful in developing minimum disease breeding stock and could minimize the risk of pasteurella infection in breeding does. Medicating the does may also be useful prior to kindling (giving birth) and during the lactation period to reduce the transmission of pasteurella to the kits (3,4).

References:

  1. Coudert P, Rideaud P, Kpodekon M. Pasteurellosis in the Rabbit: present situation. World Rabbit Science 1999; 7: 7.
  2. Rideaud P, Coudert P, Raboteau D. Frequency patterns of Pasteurella multocida otitis of the rabbit after weaning without clinical signs of disease. World Rabbit Science 1998; 6: 13.
  3. McKay SG, Morck DW, Merrill JK, Olson ME, Chan SC, Pap KM. Use of tilmicosin for treatment of pasteurellosis. AJVR 1996; 57 (7): 1180-1184.
  4. Suckow MA, Martin BJ, Bowersock TL, Douglas FA. Derivation of Pasteurella multocida-free rabbit litters by enrofloxacin treatment. Veterinary Microbiology 1996; 51: 161-168.

Copyright October, 1999. Permission is granted to use and reproduce this article in its entirety provided credit is given as follows: Dr. Bob Wright, Ontario Ministry of Agriculture and Food, Fergus, Ontario, Canada. Material may not be changed without the permission of the author.

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Dr. Bob Wright - Veterinary Scientist, Equine and Alternative Livestock/OMAFRA
Creation Date: January 2003
Last Reviewed: 08 July 2003

Pasteurella et lapins

La pasteurellose est l'une des maladies les plus courantes et les plus graves chez les lapins. Plus de 20 % des décès chez les jeunes lapins sevrés sont liés à cette maladie. Elle réduit également la capacité des lapins à transformer les aliments, en plus d'augmenter le nombre de jours avant que ces derniers ne puissent être mis sur le marché. La pasteurellose est souvent caractérisée par une maladie du système respiratoire, des lésions pyogènes touchant plusieurs organes, une entérite ou encore une septicémie. De nombreux lapins sont porteurs de pasteurella multocida, et les lapines affectées à la reproduction représentent un véritable réservoir pour cette maladie. La plupart du temps, les causes de l'apparition de cette maladie sont une densité de logement élevée, une ventilation inadéquate et/ou des niveaux élevés d'ammoniac et d'humidité.

Des recherches menées en France ont démontré que :

  • La pasteurella multocida peut être isolée de l'oreille moyenne dans 60 % des cas chez les lapines destinées à la reproduction (1);
  • Principalement, la transmission de la pasteurella se fait directement de la lapine à ses lapereaux;
  • La transmission aéroportée n'a pas une grande incidence sur la transmission de la bactérie (1); et
  • Seulement 1 à 2 % des lapins ont l'oreille moyenne infectée par cette maladie à l'âge de 56 jours (2).

Au canada, aucun vaccin ou agent antibactérien n'a été approuvé pour les lapins. Toutefois, puisque les lapereaux peuvent être sevrés dès l'âge de 28 jours, il serait utile de se pencher sur la question en examinant les systèmes de gestion de " sevrage précoce médicamenté et isolé " adoptés par l'industrie porcine.

L'hypothèse suivante peut être utile pour réduire le nombre de décès par pasteurellose chez les lapereaux. Des lapereaux ayant sensiblement le même âge, disons de 30 à 35 jours, pourraient être sevrés dans un endroit isolé, par exemple dans une autre grange, une remise ou une serre. Sous la supervision d'un vétérinaire, ils seraient traités avec un antibiotique, par exemple de la tétracycline, qui serait ajouté soit à la nourriture soit à l'eau, pendant cinq jours. L'isolation devrait permettre d'empêcher que la majorité des lapereaux ne soient infectés par la bactérie, et la tétracycline pourrait éliminer voire même prévenir toute formation de pasteurella. L'antibiotique aurait alors de 30 à 40 jours pour sortir complètement du corps des jeunes lapins sevrés avant que ces derniers ne soient mis sur le marché. Le délai d'attente de la tétracycline utilisée à doses normales sur d'autres espèces étant de cinq jours, la médication devrait avoir suffisamment de temps pour sortir totalement de l'organisme. Un programme de surveillance supervisé par un vétérinaire peut être mis en place afin de s'assurer que les jeunes lapins sevrés envoyés à l'abattoir ne contiennent plus aucun agent inhibiteur. Lorsque les jeunes lapins sevrés sont fin prêts à être mis sur le marché, ils devraient tous y être envoyés en même temps. L'endroit devrait ensuite être nettoyé à fond avant qu'un prochain groupe n'y soit amené. Ainsi, dans le cas où une épidémie de pasteurella se déclarait dans un sevrage isolé, elle n'affecterait pas les autres groupes.

Ce système pourrait s'avérer très utile pour réduire au minimum le risque que les animaux reproducteurs soient infectés par la pasteurella, et donc que les lapines destinées à la reproduction le soient. Médicamenter les lapines avant qu'elles ne mettent bas, mais également tout au long de leur période de lactation, est aussi un très bon moyen de réduire les risques de transmission de la pasteurella à ses lapereaux. (3,4).

Bibliographie :

1. Coudert P, Rideaud P, Kpodekon M. Pasteurellosis in the Rabbit: present situation. World Rabbit Science 1999; 7: 7.
2. Rideaud P, Coudert P, Raboteau D. Frequency patterns of Pasteurella multocida otitis of the rabbit after weaning without clinical signs of disease. World Rabbit Science 1998; 6: 13.
3. McKay SG, Morck DW, Merrill JK, Olson ME, Chan SC, Pap KM. Use of tilmicosin for treatment of pasteurellosis. AJVR 1996; 57 (7): 1180-1184.
4. Suckow MA, Martin BJ, Bowersock TL, Douglas FA. Derivation of Pasteurella multocida-free rabbit litters by enrofloxacin treatment. Veterinary Microbiology 1996; 51: 161-168.


Auteur : Dr. Bob Wright - scientifique vétérinaire, chevaux et animaux non traditionnels/MAAARO
Date de création : 01 Janvier 2000
Dernière révision : 01 Juillet 2003

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca