Velveting of Deer and Xylazine

Xylazine hydrochloride is commonly used solely or in combination when velveting deer. Velveting is the removal of the entire soft antler in the first 55-65 days of growth. The velvet antler is exported to Asia for use in health products. Rompun®, 20 mg. per ml., is the only product licensed for use in food producing animals in Canada.

Velveting of deer is performed in a number of ways. One of the more common ways is the intramuscular use of xylazine hydrochloride as a hypnosedative with analgesic and muscle relaxing properties. Yohimbine is often used intravenously as a reversal agent.

For 3-4 year old red deer stags (average weight 97-118 kg), 1.5-2 ml. of 2% xylazine is given by intramuscular injection, preferably in the neck. The deer become recumbent very quickly. The antlers are removed with a saw and inverted to retain the blood. A tourniquet is applied to the base of the antler buttons. The antler is frozen and shipped to Asia for processing.

Xylazine is present as early as 25 minutes and as late as 72 minutes after administration in the velvet, at levels of 70-220 nanograms/gram of antler. This level is not considered to be of pharmacological significance to consumers(1).

Human Hazard

In humans, an oral dose of 2 mg. of xylazine is needed to get a very mild pharmacological effect (20 mg. is well tolerated). However, there have been cases reported where people have absorbed xylazine from needle covers, accidental injections and eye contamination (from spray backs) which have required artificial respiration.

Withdrawal Time for Meat: Ref.(2,3)

  • Xylazine - Canada - (cattle): 3 days
  • Xylazine - New Zealand and Australia (depending on product): 2-3 days
  •  Yohimbine (i.v.): 1 day
  • Ketaset/xylazine combination: 5 days

References

  1. Dickson S.J., Stone H.M., Queree E.A., Xylazine (Rompun) Levels in Deer Antler Velvet, New Zealand Journal of Agricultural Research, 1983, Vol. 26: 93-94
  2. Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries New Zealand, Registered Animal Remedies for Use in Deer as of 06 May 98, Wallaceville Research Centre, New Zealand.
  3. Compendium of Veterinary Products, North American Compendiums Ltd., 5th. edition, 1997.

For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Dr. Bob Wright - Veterinary Scientist, Equine and Alternative Livestock/OMAFRA
Creation Date: January 2003
Last Reviewed: 28 September 2015

Prélèvement du velours sur les bois du chevreuil et xylazine

La xylazine de chlorydrate est couramment utilisée, seule ou conjointement avec un autre produit, lors du prélèvement du velours sur les bois des chevreuils. Le prélèvement de velours est l'action de retirer tout le bois de velours durant les 55 à 65 premiers jours de croissance. Le bois de velours est ensuite exporté en Asie, où on l'utilise dans de nombreux produits de santé. Rompunmd, 20 mg par ml, est le seul produit autorisé au Canada pour traiter les animaux destinés à la consommation.

Il existe plusieurs façons de procéder au prélèvement du velours sur les bois du chevreuil. Une des techniques les plus courantes est l'utilisation intramusculaire de xylazine de chlorydrate, sédatif hypnogène aux propriétés analgésiques et myorelaxantes. Par ailleurs, la yohimbine est souvent utilisée par intraveineuse à titre d'agent déactivateur.

Pour les wapitis âgés de 3 ou 4 ans dont le poids moyen varie de 97 à 118 kg, une dose de 1,5 à 2 ml de xylazine 2 % est administrée par injection intramusculaire, de préférence dans le cou. Le chevreuil se couche alors très rapidement. À l'aide d'une scie, les bois sont retirés puis inversés sens dessus-dessous afin de conserver le sang. On applique un garrot à la base des boutons des bois. Les bois sont ensuite congelés et expédiés en Asie pour traitement.

Suite à une administration de 70 à 220 nanogrammes/gramme de xylazine dans le velours, la xylazine produira son effet 25 minutes après l'injection; quant à la durée de l'effet, elle se fera sentir jusqu'à 72 minutes après l'injection. Il a été établi que ce niveau de xylazine n'a aucun effet pharmacologique sur les consommateurs (1).

Risques pour l'humain

Chez les humains, une dose orale de 2 mg de xylazine est suffisante pour ressentir un léger effet pharmacologique (une dose de 20 mg se tolère encore très bien). Toutefois, quelques cas rapportés font état de gens ayant absorbé de la xylazine provenant de l'étui protecteur de l'aiguille, d'injections accidentelles ou de la contamination au niveau des yeux en raison d'éclaboussures; dans tous ces cas, il a été nécessaire d'avoir recours à la respiration artificielle.

Délai d'attente pour la viande : (Réf. 2 et 3)

  • Xylazine - Canada - (bétail) : 3 jours
  • Xylazine - Nouvelle Zélande et Australie (selon le produit) : De 2 à 3 jours
  • Yohimbine (i.v.) : 1 journée
  • Combinaison ketaset/xylazine : 5 jours

Bibliographie

  1. Dickson S.J., Stone H.M., Queree E.A., Xylazine (Rompun) Levels in Deer Antler Velvet, New Zealand Journal of Agricultural Research, 1983, Vol. 26: 93-94
  2. Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries New Zealand, Registered Animal Remedies for Use in Deer as of 06 May 98, Wallaceville Research Centre, New Zealand.
  3. Compendium of Veterinary Products, North American Compendiums Ltd., 5th. edition, 1997.

Auteur : Dr. Bob Wright - scientifique vétérinaire, chevaux et animaux non traditionnels/MAAARO
Date de création : 01 Janvier 2003
Dernière révision : 01 Juillet 2003

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca