Ontario's Livestock Medicines Act

Introduction

In Ontario, livestock owners may purchase a class of drugs, known as livestock medicines, from retail outlets for use in their own animals. These medicines do not require a veterinary prescription. Their sale is regulated under the Livestock Medicines Act which requires outlets obtain a license and are subject to Ministry inspection. The Act specifies that outlets may only sell specific types of livestock medicines, and that they are sold in a responsible manner by knowledgeable individuals.

Outlets

There are presently 552 licensed livestock medicine outlets in Ontario. Unannounced inspections are conducted by appointed Ministry inspectors to monitor compliance with the Livestock Medicines Act and its regulation. Compliance is achieved through education and a review of deficiencies with the outlet operator to rectify problems. The inspection process monitors medicine handling, sales activities and ensures only drugs designated as livestock medicines are offered for sale. A written report is completed on site and this information is used to forecast inspection frequency.

All new licensees receive a copy of the 'Livestock Medicines Act Compliance Manual' which assists outlets in achieving compliance. During an on-site visit by an inspector, the Act and the compliance manual are discussed including promotion and awareness of the operator's role in animal health, food safety and quality assurance initiatives.

Contravention of the Livestock Medicines Act or its regulations may result in regulatory measures including but not limited to product detention, product seizure or a hearing before the Director to consider the license status under the Livestock Medicines Act.

Licenses

The Livestock Medicines Act requires all Class 1 licensees to have an "established place of business" for the storage and sale of livestock medicines. Licensees with a Class 1 Licence can apply for a Class 2 license which allows them to sell livestock medicines at a temporary, fixed location, other than their licensed establishment; for example a horse race or agricultural fair. A temporary Class 2 license is required thirty days prior to an event and will expire immediately after the event date.

Licensees cannot deliver a livestock medicine to a livestock owner without an order from that owner authorizing such delivery, evidenced by an invoice prepared by the licensee in advance of delivery. Door-to-door sales or peddling are strictly prohibited.

Storage

Manufacturers of livestock medicines clearly state specific storage instructions on the labels of their products. Failure to store these products according to the instructions may result in the product not performing as intended, or causing additional side effects.

Some storage considerations include temperature, light, humidity and potential for breakage. Vaccines and some other medicines are particularly sensitive to temperature fluctuations. The regulation requires livestock medicines that require refrigeration be kept in a properly functioning refrigerator used solely for livestock medicines. It is advisable to have a thermometer in this unit to ensure it is functioning properly. Foods intended for human consumption must not be stored in the refrigerator containing livestock medicines. This reduces the risk of accidental contamination of human food with livestock medicines, as well as the potential cross-contamination of livestock medicines with microbial contaminants from human foods.

Storage shelves and cabinets must be constructed or located so that livestock medicines do not come in contact with other health products or human food. The refrigerator and other storage facilities should be maintained in a clean and sanitary condition.

Expired Products

Expired livestock medicines must not be offered for sale under any circumstances. Immediately after the expiration date indicated on the label is exceeded, the licensee must remove the livestock medicine from the display area. The expired product must be kept separate from other livestock medicines and disposed of in an appropriate manner. The chemical composition of livestock medicines may change over time reducing their effectiveness and/or posing side effects. Manufacturers carefully calculate the shelf life of their products including reasonable 'use time' for producers to avoid such outcomes and protect livestock.

Sale of the product after the label expiry date provides no guarantee with respect to the safety or efficacy of the product. Pharmaceutical companies will not support their products' claims once the expiry date has lapsed. Operators are encouraged to routinely check expiry dates of products and rotate inventory on a regular basis in order to prevent the inadvertent sale of expired goods.

Inducement

Livestock medicines are not to be used to induce the purchase of additional livestock medicines or other goods. As well, other goods cannot be used to encourage the purchase of livestock medicines. For instance, livestock medicines can not be given away in conjunction with the purchase of feed or a halter and likewise, a bag of feed or a brush can not be given away with the purchase of livestock medicines. The licensee at the retail level may reduce the price of livestock medicines on a per item basis. For example, reducing the price 20% is permissible, but offering "Buy four, get one free" is not. Livestock owners should not be encouraged to purchase more livestock medicines than they need. Inducements could encourage over-buying which creates the potential for products to expire before they might be used.

Sales Procedure

Licensed livestock medicines outlet operators are required to record the name and address of the purchaser, as well as the lot number of biologicals sold. The brand name and quantity of any other livestock medicines sold are recorded on sales invoices. This provides a 'trace-back' system in the event of a product recall or adverse reaction.

Retail operators are not permitted to repackage livestock medicines. Each product must be sold in its original packaging as it was received from the manufacturer. The label on the manufacturer's package provides directions for use, storage, cautions, withdrawal period and expiry date. The licensee should make the purchaser aware of any warnings or cautions on the label. No advertising by the licensee can exceed the claims or information printed on the manufacturer's label.

The Livestock Medicine Advisory Committee

This committee is composed of representatives from all aspects of the livestock industry. The Ontario Minister of Agriculture Food appoints the members. They review the legislation and address concerns pertaining to sale of livestock medicines. The Minister is advised on matters concerning the Livestock Medicines Act and its Regulations.

Pharmaceutical manufacturers or distributors may make application to the committee for consideration of new products to be included on the list of medicines approved for retail sale. Upon approval, the committee recommends to the Minister that the product be authorized for sale by licensed livestock medicine outlets.

Summary

The Livestock Medicines Act provides an avenue for livestock owners to have access to a class of drugs (livestock medicines) at licensed outlets in order that they can treat their animals.

Indiscriminate use of drugs cannot replace good livestock management practices. Proper use of livestock medicines is an important tool to minimize stress and enhance animal welfare in animal agriculture. Producers are encouraged to consult with their veterinarian if in doubt about either diagnosis or treatment.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAF Staff
Creation Date: 1 January 2014
Last Reviewed: 28 September 2015

La Loi sur les médicaments pour le bétail de l'Ontario

Introduction

En Ontario, les propriétaires d'animaux d'élevage peuvent acheter une certaine catégorie de médicaments, désignés comme des médicaments pour le bétail, auprès de points de vente au détail pour les administrer à leurs animaux. Il n'est pas nécessaire d'obtenir une ordonnance vétérinaire pour utiliser ces médicaments. Leur vente est réglementée en vertu de la Loi sur les médicaments pour le bétail, qui exige que les vendeurs obtiennent un permis pour vendre ces médicaments et soient assujettis à une inspection ministérielle. La Loi précise que les points de vente n'offrent que certains médicaments pour le bétail, et que ces derniers sont vendus de manière responsable par des personnes compétentes.

Points de vente

L'Ontario compte actuellement 552 points de vente autorisés à vendre des médicaments pour le bétail. Des inspecteurs du ministère sont chargés de visiter à l'improviste ces établissements pour s'assurer qu'ils respectent la Loi sur les médicaments pour le bétail et son règlement. Cette conformité est assurée au moyen de l'éducation et d'un examen des points faibles en compagnie de l'exploitant d'un point de vente, afin de rectifier les problèmes. Ce processus d'inspection vise à contrôler les activités de manutention et de ventes, et à s'assurer que ces dernières ne touchent que les médicaments destinés au bétail. Un rapport écrit est rédigé sur place, et les renseignements qu'il contient sont utilisés pour prévoir la fréquence des inspections.

Tous les nouveaux titulaires de permis reçoivent un exemplaire du « Manuel sur les normes de conformité à la Loi sur les médicaments pour le bétail », qui aide les points de vente à respecter la Loi. Pendant une visite sur place par un inspecteur, on discute de la Loi et du Manuel sur les normes de conformité, dont la promotion et la sensibilisation au rôle de l'exploitant dans la santé des animaux, la salubrité alimentaire et les initiatives d'assurance de la qualité.

La violation de la Loi sur les médicaments pour le bétail ou de ses règlements peut entraîner des mesures réglementaires, dont la retenue de produits, la saisie de produits ou une audience devant le directeur afin d'examiner le permis en vertu de la Loi sur les médicaments pour le bétail.

Permis

La Loi sur les médicaments pour le bétail oblige les titulaires de permis de classe 1 à entreposer et à vendre les médicaments pour le bétail dans un « établissement commercial ». Les titulaires de permis de classe 1 peuvent demander un permis de classe 2, lequel les autorise à vendre temporairement des médicaments pour le bétail dans un lieu fixe situé en dehors de leur établissement commercial, par exemple, à une course hippique ou à une foire agricole. Il faut obtenir un permis temporaire de classe 2 30 jours avant l'événement, et ce permis expirera immédiatement après la date de l'événement.

Le titulaire du permis n'est pas autorisé à livrer un médicament pour le bétail à un éleveur sans avoir auparavant obtenu une commande et rédigé une facture. Le démarchage direct ou le porte-à-porte par marchand itinérant est strictement interdit.

Entreposage

Les fabricants de médicaments pour le bétail doivent indiquer des consignes d'entreposage claires, sur les étiquettes de leurs produits. Si l'on n'entrepose pas ces produits en suivant les consignes, ils risquent de ne pas être aussi efficaces que prévu ou de causer des effets secondaires supplémentaires.

Il faut parfois suivre des consignes d'entreposage quant à la température, à la lumière, à l'humidité et au risque de bris. Les vaccins et certains autres médicaments sont particulièrement sensibles aux fluctuations de température. Le règlement exige que les médicaments pour le bétail devant être conservés au froid soient entreposés dans un réfrigérateur qui fonctionne bien et qui est réservé à cet usage. Il est recommandé de garder un thermomètre dans ce réfrigérateur, pour s'assurer qu'il fonctionne correctement. Les aliments destinés à la consommation humaine ne doivent pas être entreposés dans un réfrigérateur qui contient des médicaments pour le bétail. Ainsi, on réduira le risque de contamination accidentelle des aliments destinés à la consommation humaine par des médicaments pour le bétail, ainsi que de possible contamination croisée de médicaments pour le bétail par des contaminants microbiens provenant d'aliments destinés à la consommation humaine.

Les étagères et les armoires doivent être aménagées ou situées de manière à ce que les médicaments pour le bétail n'entrent pas en contact avec des aliments ou des médicaments destinés aux humains. Le réfrigérateur et les autres installations d'entreposage doivent être tenus avec hygiène et propreté.

Produits périmés

La vente de médicaments pour le bétail périmés est absolument interdite. Le titulaire du permis doit immédiatement éliminer de son magasin tout produit dont la date limite de conservation indiquée sur l'étiquette est passée. Le produit périmé doit être mis à l'écart des autres médicaments pour le bétail et mis au rebut de manière appropriée. À mesure que le temps passe, la composition chimique d'un médicament pour le bétail risque de se modifier, ce qui diminuera son efficacité ou suscitera des effets secondaires. Les fabricants calculent attentivement la durée de conservation de leurs produits ainsi que leur « durée d'utilisation » raisonnable, afin que les producteurs évitent d'obtenir de tels résultats et protègent leur bétail.

La vente d'un produit après sa date d'expiration ne garantit pas la sûreté ou l'efficacité du produit. Les sociétés pharmaceutiques n'admettront aucune responsabilité quant à l'effet d'un produit utilisé après le délai indiqué sur l'emballage. Les exploitants sont invités à passer couramment leurs produits en revue pour en vérifier les dates limites de conservation et à en faire régulièrement la rotation, afin d'éviter la vente de biens périmés par inadvertance.

Primes d'incitation

Il est interdit d'offrir en prime des médicaments pour le bétail à l'achat d'autres médicaments ou d'autres produits. De même, aucun autre produit ne peut être offert en prime à l'achat de médicaments pour le bétail. Il est illégal, par exemple, de donner en prime un médicament pour le bétail à l'achat d'aliments ou d'un licol. De même, on ne peut pas donner en prime un sac d'aliments ou une brosse à l'achat de médicaments pour le bétail. Cependant, les détaillants sont autorisés à offrir des rabais sur le prix d'un contenant unitaire de médicament pour le bétail. Par exemple, il est permis d'offrir un rabais de 20 % sur le prix d'un flacon de produit, mais non d'offrir « quatre flacons pour le prix de trois ». Les éleveurs ne doivent pas être incités à acheter plus de médicaments pour le bétail qu'ils n'en ont réellement besoin. Les systèmes de prime pourraient inciter à l'achat d'une quantité excessive de médicaments. Les produits risqueraient alors de ne pas être utilisés avant la date limite.

Méthodes de vente

À chaque vente d'un médicament pour le bétail, le détaillant titulaire d'un permis doit consigner le nom et l'adresse de l'acheteur, ainsi que le numéro de lot des substances biologiques. La marque de commerce et la quantité de tous les autres médicaments pour le bétail vendus doivent figurer sur les factures. Ces renseignements permettent de retrouver les acheteurs de tout produit qui devrait être rappelé en raison d'une contamination ou d'un autre problème.

Les détaillants ne sont pas autorisés à réemballer les médicaments pour le bétail. Ils doivent vendre ceux-ci dans l'emballage d'origine, tels qu'ils ont été livrés par le fabricant. L'étiquette portée par l'emballage d'origine indique le mode d'emploi et d'entreposage, les mises en garde, la période de retrait et la date limite. Le titulaire du permis doit attirer l'attention de l'acheteur sur les éventuels avertissements et mises en garde figurant sur l'étiquette. Dans la publicité qu'il fait au sujet des produits, le détaillant n'a pas le droit d'exagérer les allégations ou les renseignements fournis par le fabricant sur l'étiquette.

Le comité consultatif sur les médicaments pour le bétail

Ce comité est composé de représentants de toutes les branches du secteur des médicaments pour le bétail. Le ministre de l'Agriculture et de l'Alimentation de l'Ontario en nomme les membres. Le comité se réunit pour débattre de la législation et régler les problèmes touchant la vente de médicaments pour le bétail. Il attire l'attention du ministre sur toute question concernant la Loi sur les médicaments pour le bétail et ses règlements.

Les fabricants ou les distributeurs de produits pharmaceutiques peuvent soumettre au comité consultatif une demande en vue de faire inscrire de nouveaux produits sur la liste des médicaments approuvés en vue de la vente au détail. Lorsqu'un produit est approuvé par le comité consultatif, ce dernier recommande au ministre de décréter l'autorisation de vente de ce produit par les établissements titulaires de permis.

Résumé

La Loi sur les médicaments pour le bétail permet aux éleveurs d'avoir accès à une catégorie de médicaments (les médicaments pour le bétail) dans des points de vente sous permis, afin qu'ils puissent traiter leurs animaux.

En aucun cas, l'usage irréfléchi de médicaments n'est de nature à pallier de mauvaises pratiques d'élevage. L'utilisation appropriée de médicaments pour le bétail constitue un outil important pour minimiser le stress et accroître le bien-être des animaux, dans l'agriculture animale. En cas de doute sur le diagnostic d'une affection ou son traitement, il est conseillé aux producteurs de s'adresser à un vétérinaire.


Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 1 janvier 2014
Dernière révision : 1 janvier 2014

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca