Identifying beef production efficiencies to increase profitability

Increasing output is an important component of increasing farm profitability. But there are inherent issues in relying solely on increasing output as a driver of increased profitability. Most cow calf and backgrounder producers market cattle at pre-determined times of the year which are based on their production cycle, and as such, are generally dependant on the market price at that time with little ability to influence it. This price volatility means there is no guarantee that increasing the numbers of animals sold will lead to an increase in farm profitability. For many cow calf producers increasing the number of animals sold means increasing the number of breeding animals that must be retained. In addition to the natural increase in variable costs, there may also be a requirement to increase capital expenditure - more animals means more housing requirements, increased feed storage space, increased land to graze animals, more fencing, more water lines etc. However, unlike variable costs, capital costs as a rule increase by set amounts independent of actual production. This means that capital investments may lead to a temporary reduction in farm profitability and cash flow through higher interest and capital repayment requirements, until the resulting increase in output is sufficiently large enough to compensate for the increased costs.

Before considering an increase in herd size to generate higher farm income, producers should take a long hard look at their existing enterprise to determine if there is an opportunity to improve farm income through improved production efficiencies. Evidence from the 2017 Ontario-Cow Calf Production Survey suggests there is significant opportunity for Ontario Cow calf producers to improve production efficiencies, reduce costs, increase output and improve farm profitability without any change to herd size. Examining and improving production efficiencies enables produces to extract (a) more output per productive animal unit on the farm and (b) more output per productive acre on the farm. Examining farming output by these metrics will permit producers to identify areas in their production system where efficiencies can be improved (example outlined in Table 1).

Table 1. An illustration of the effect of improving production efficiency on farm output.

Number of cows in the herd 50 50 50
Weaning % 90% 93% 96%
Number of calves weaned 45 47 48
Value of calves weaned (600 lbs* steers at $210/cwt) $56,700 $59,220 $60,480
Output per animal unit (beef cow) $1,134.00 $1,184.40 $1,209.60

*The use of imperial represents the standard measurement used by the industry.

In this simple example we see that improving the percentage of calves weaned from 90% to 96% increased the value of calves sold by 6.5% and increased the productive economic value of each beef cow (the productive economic unit) by $75 per cow from $1,134 to $1,209.60 per cow. This, without any change to the number of breeding units in the herd.

The purpose of this article is to provide cow calf and backgrounder producers with pointers to areas in the production cycle where improvements in efficiency can have a significant impact on farm profitability.

Aim for compact calving and compact breeding

Compact breeding and compact calving are interrelated. Compact breeding and calving are defined as having a breeding season and calving season that takes place over a period of 63 days (9 weeks) or less. The major benefit of compact calving is to produce a larger group of calves that will be of uniform weight at the point of sale. Work by Van Schaik and Chaffe, (2019), demonstrated that feedlot buyers are prepared to pay a premium to purchase larger lots of uniform cattle. Research by Funston et al. (2012) showed that calves born from cows bred within the first 21 days of the breeding season had weaning weights 39 lbs heavier than later born calves. Having more calves born in the first 21 days of the calving season means producers have heavier, more uniform groups of cattle to sell earlier and therefore increase their profit potential. Producers should aim for a calving season with a 70:20:10 distribution where 70% calve within the first 21 days of the calving season, 20% by day 42 of the calving season and the remaining 10% by day 63 of the calving season. Producers should plan that first-calf heifers calve in the first 21 days of the calving season as they tend to take longer to rebreed than mature cows. This way producers can keep the breeding season to a target 63 days.

Aim for a target culling rate of between 10 - 20%

The 2017 Ontario-Cow Calf Production Survey showed that Ontario cow calf producers have an average culling rate of 9%, (recommended 10 - 20%). This means that there are a lot of older cows on many operations. As cows age their reproductive performance declines and with it, overall herd productivity (i.e. more open cows, longer time taken to go back in calf, longer calving season, etc.). Adopting higher rates of culling allows more heifers with greater reproductive performance and higher genetic merit to join the herd leading to quicker improvements in calf quality through the faster introduction of new genetics to the herd. Younger aged herds tend to have fewer health issues, reducing veterinary costs. Higher culling rates may also result in higher cull values as the culls will generally be younger and better quality. In addition, younger herds tend to have more cows that rebreed at the first estrus cycle making it easier to compact the breeding season and therefore the calving season.

Increase pregnancy checking and weaning %

The aim of all producers should be to have a calf per cow per year reared. The average weaning % in Ontario is 91% for cows and 75.5% for heifers. The average breeding season length in Ontario is 118 days, giving a 388-day breeding cycle, (i.e. number of days from the birth of a calf in one year one to the birth of a calf in the next year). A 50-cow herd with a weaning % at the provincial average, (i.e. 91%), could increase the number of calves available to sell by 3 per year, where the breeding season is reduced to 63 days and the breeding cycle to 365 days. More substantial gains can be achieved, (i.e. in the number of calves available for sale), where the % of calves weaned per cow is increased in addition to reducing the length of the breeding cycle closer to the target 365 day breeding cycle.

Only about 66% of Ontario cow calf producers have indicated that they pregnancy check at the end of the breeding season. Identifying open cows, which should be selected for culling, will help reduce winter maintenance costs. The costs of keeping an open cow include the holding costs of feeding and maintaining for 12 months plus the lost income from having no calf to sell, which could amount up to $2,400 or more per open cow. Maintaining open cows on the farm is a substantial cost to any farm business. Breeding females only generate income through the sale of their calves. It's unlikely a commercial beef cow will produce a calf of such quality to compensate for the cost of keeping her open for 12 months. Pregnancy checking heifers is equally critical. Open heifers should be identified early and can then be either sold or transferred from the breeding herd to the feedlot.

Get more from your pasture

The ability to grow and utilize pasture in an efficient and profitable manner is widely considered to be a critical driver of low-cost animal production systems (Hurtado-Uria et al., 2013) and grazed pasture is the most cost-effective feed available to all ruminant livestock, (Finneran et al. 2010). Research by Shalloo et al. (2011), highlighted pasture management as the single biggest influence on pasture yield and utilization. Regular pasture measuring and budgeting provides significant benefits including optimum utilization of spring grass, early identification of pasture surpluses and deficits and the achievement of higher livestock performances from pasture-based systems, (O'Donovan and Dillon, 1999).

Increasing pasture utilization rates, (i.e. getting more of the pasture DM that is grown consumed by the animal), is critical to increase animal performance, although the effect is small, but more significantly, increase the output per unit area. While there is little research available from Ontario cow-calf farms to show the average pasture utilization rates, anecdotally, it's estimated to be less than 50%, (Byrne & Van Camp, 2019, O'Reilly & Menegotto, 2019). Increasing utilization rates allows for (a) more animals to be grazed per unit area or (b) a smaller area to be dedicated to grazing thereby permitting an alternative economic use for the additional land.

Effective management strategies to improve output from pasture include adoption of rotational or other controlled grazing systems, adoption of strategies that permit early spring/late fall grazing (where conditions allow) identifying paddocks with surpluses that can be saved for winter forage, identifying potential deficits early and taking corrective action etc.

Adopt extended grazing practises

The longer livestock can be maintained in the grazing state, the lower the cost of production will be, through reduced requirement for supplementary forage, bedding etc. Extended grazing also presents labour cost/time saving opportunities. Extended grazing practises include grazing alternative crops such as cover crops in the fall and grazing stockpiled pasture or warm season grasses such as Sorghum-Sudan during the summer slump.

If we assume a hay price of $0.22 per kgs, ($0.10 per lb), every extra day spent grazing by a beef cow saves on average $3.75 per cow per day in hay costs. Extending the grazing by 1 month can save up 476.27 kgs, (1,050 lbs), of hay per cow or $105 per cow per month in purchased hay costs. The hay not consumed in the fall can either (a) go towards the hay inventory to protect feed levels in the event of a late spring the following year thereby saving the requirement to purchase hay in such a circumstance or (b) where adequate forage is available the area required to grow the additional 476.27 kgs, (1,050 lbs), of hay per cow can be put to an alternative productive economic use.

Conclusion

Critical analyses of farm output performance can help producers identify areas in the production system where performance can be improved and should be the first approach to improving farm output, gross farm revenue, reducing costs and increasing profitability. Once production efficiency has been satisfactorily achieved producers can look to increase output through increasing herd size.

References

Beef Farmers of Ontario., 2019. Weekly Market Information Report.

Byrne, J. and Van Camp, M. 2019. Calculation of pasture utilization rates by beef cattle grazing two Ontario Community Pastures, (unpublished), Ontario Ministry of Agriculture.

Finneran, E., Crosson, P., O'Kiely, P., Shalloo, L., Forristal, D., and Wallace, M. 2010. Simulation modelling of the cost of producing and utilising feeds for ruminants. J. Farm Manage., 14, pp. 95-116

Funston, R.N., Musgrave, J.A, Meyer, T.L. and Larson, D.M. 2012. Effect of calving distribution on beef cattle progeny performance. J. Anim. Sci. 2012.90:5118-5121. doi:10.2527/jas2012-5263

Gorden, J., 2019. 2017 Cow Calf Production Survey, OMAFRA Virtual Beef

Hurtado-Uria, C., Hennessy, D., Shalloo, L., Schulte, R.P.O, Delaby, L. and O'Connor, D. 2013. Evaluation of three grass growth models to predict grass growth. J. Agric. Sci., 151, pp. 91-104

Molenhuis, J., 2020. Beef Cow Cost of Production Calculator, Budgeting Tools, Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs

O'Reilly, C. and Menegotto, M. 2019. Calibration of a rising plate meter to estimate pasture dry matter yield on Ontario beef and sheep farms, (unpublished), Ontario Ministry of Agriculture.

O'Donovan, M., Dillon, P., 1999. Measurement of Grassland Management Practice on Commercial Dairy Farms, End of Project Reports, URI: http://hdl.handle.net/11019/1433

Shalloo, L., Creighton, P. and O'Donovan, M. (2011). The economics of reseeding on a dairy farm. Irish Journal of Agricultural & Food Research 50: 113-122

Van Schaik, M. and Chaffe, E., 2019. The Value of Special Calf Sales, OMAFRA Virtual Beef


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Accroître la production des bovins pour augmenter la rentabilité

L'augmentation de la production est d'une importance cruciale pour accroître la rentabilité d'une exploitation agricole. L'augmentation de la rentabilité basée exclusivement sur l'accroissement de la production comporte néanmoins des risques inhérents. La plupart des éleveurs de vaches-veaux et des producteurs intermédiaires mettent les bovins sur le marché à des dates prédéterminées de l'année, qui sont fondées sur leur cycle de production et, pour cette raison, ils sont généralement dépendants des prix du marché à ce moment et ils ne peuvent pas faire grand-chose pour les influencer. C'est donc dire qu'à cause de l'instabilité des prix, rien ne garantit qu'une augmentation du nombre de bêtes vendues fera aussi augmenter la rentabilité pour l'établissement. Pour bien des producteurs de vaches-veaux, s'ils veulent accroître le nombre d'animaux vendus, ils doivent aussi garder plus d'animaux de reproduction. Cela a non seulement comme effet naturel de faire monter les charges variables, mais cela peut aussi nécessiter plus de dépenses en immobilisations puisque, s'il y a plus d'animaux, il faut plus d'espace pour les garder et pour entreposer les aliments, de plus grands pâturages, plus de clôtures, plus de conduits d'eau, etc. Or, contrairement aux charges variables, en règle générale, les dépenses en immobilisation subissent une augmentation précise indépendemment de la production réelle. C'est donc dire que les investissements dans les immobilisations peuvent se traduire par une réduction temporaire de la rentabilité de l'établissement et du flux net de trésorerie, à cause des intérêts supplémentaires à payer et du remboursement de l'emprunt, jusqu'à ce que l'augmentation de la production soit suffisante pour contrebalancer les coûts plus élevés.

Avant d'envisager d'agrandir leur troupeau pour augmenter les revenus, les producteurs devraient examiner soigneusement le fonctionnement de leur établissement afin d'évaluer s'il existe des possibilités d'augmenter les revenus de l'établissement agricole en améliorant l'efficacité de la production. D'après l'Enquête de 2017 sur la production vaches-veaux réalisée par l'Ontario, il semble exister pour les producteurs de vaches-veaux de l'Ontario des possibilités d'accroître l'efficacité de la production, de réduire les coûts, d'augmenter la production et d'améliorer la rentatilité sans agrandir le troupeau. L'analyse et l'amélioration de l'efficacité de la production permettent au producteur d'accroître la production par : a) unité animale et b) par acre productif à la ferme. En se basant sur ces critères, les producteurs pourront déterminer les aspects de la production pour lesquels la production pourrait être améliorée (exemple dans le tableau 1).

Tableau 1. Effet de l'augmentation de l'efficacité sur la production de l'établissement agricole

Nombre de vaches dans le troupeau 50 50 50
% de veaux sevrés 90 % 93 % 96 %
Nombre de veaux sevrés 45 47 48
Valeur des veaux sevrés (600 lb* environ 210 $/cwt) 56 700 $ 59 220 $ 60 480 $
Production par unité animale (vache-veau) 1 134,00 $ 1 184,40 $ 1 209,60 $

* Le système impérial est employé, car c'est le système standard de l'industrie.

Ce simple exemple montre qu'en augmentant le pourcentage de veaux sevrés, pour passer de 90 % à 96 %, on crée une hausse de 6,5 % de la valeur des veaux vendus, et que la valeur de production de chaque vache-veau (unité économique productive) augmente aussi de 75 $ pour atteindre 1 209,60 $ comparativement à 1 134 $. Et c'est sans changer le nombre d'unités de reproduction dans le troupeau.

Le but de l'article est de donner aux producteurs de vaches-veaux et aux producteurs intermédiaires des conseils sur les aspects du cycle de production pour lesquels une amélioration de l'efficacité pourrait avoir des effets considérables sur la rentabilité d'un établissement.

Concentrer la saison de reproduction et de mise bas

La concentration de la saison de reproduction va de pair avec la concentration de la saison de mise bas. Il s'agit de limiter la saison de reproduction et de mise bas à au plus 63 jours (soit 9 semaines). Le principal avantage est de produire un plus grand nombre de veaux de poids uniforme au point de vente. Les travaux de Van Schaik et Chaffe (2019) ont montré que les acheteurs de parcs d'engraissement sont prêts à payer une prime pour acheter de plus gros groupes de bovins uniformes. Les recherches de Funston et coll. (2012) ont quant à elles indiqué que les veaux qui étaient nés au cours des 21 premiers jours de la saison de reproduction avaient un poids de 39 lb de plus que ceux nés plus tard. Quand plus de veaux naissent dans les 21 premiers jours de la saison de mise bas, les producteurs ont des groupes de bovins plus lourds et plus uniformes à vendre plus tôt et augmentent ainsi leurs revenus potentiels. Les producteurs devraient viser une saison de mise bas respectant une distribution de 70 20 10, c'est à-dire que 70 % des veaux naissent dans les 21 premiers jours de la saison de mise bas, 20 % dans les 42 premiers jours et les 10 % restants, au plus tard le 63e jour de la période de mise bas. Les producteurs doivent planifier la mise bas par les premières génisses dans les 21 premiers jours de la saison de mise bas vu qu'elles ont tendance à avoir besoin de plus de temps pour se reproduire de nouveau que les vaches adultes. De cette manière, les producteurs pourront limiter la saison de reproduction à 63 jours.

Viser un taux de réforme entre 10 % et 20 %

L'Enquête de 2017 sur la production vaches-veaux réalisée en Ontario révèle que les producteurs de vaches-veaux ont un taux de réforme de 9 %, alors qu'un taux de 10 % à 20 % est recommandé. C'est donc dire qu'il y a beaucoup de vaches âgées dans de nombreux établissements. À mesure qu'une vache avance en âge, sa capacité de reproduction diminue et influence donc la productivité du troupeau (plus il y a de vaches vides, plus il faut de temps pour ravoir des veaux, plus la saison de mise bas est longue, etc.). Avec un taux plus élevé de réforme, plus de génisses ayant un meilleur rendement de reproduction et de meilleurs attributs génétiques peuvent s'ajouter au troupeau pour ainsi améliorer plus rapidement la qualité des veaux avec l'introduction rapide de nouveaux caractères génétiques dans le troupeau. Les troupeaux plus jeunes ont moins de problèmes de santé, ce qui fait baisser les frais de vétérinaire. Les taux plus élevés de réforme peuvent aussi faire augmenter la valeur des stocks d'animaux, car ceux-ci sont en général plus jeunes et de meilleure qualité. De plus, les troupeaux plus jeunes ont souvent plus de vaches qui se reproduisent au premier rut, ce qui facilite la concentration de la saison de reproduction et, par conséquent, de la saison de mise bas.

Augmenter les taux de vérification des grossesses et de sevrage

Chaque producteur devrait se fixer comme objectif d'avoir un veau par vache par année d'élevage. En Ontario, le taux de sevrage est de 91 % pour les vaches et de 75,5 % pour les génisses. La durée moyenne de la saison de reproduction est de 118 jours dans la province, avec un cycle de 388 jours (soit le nombre de jours entre la naissance d'un veau une année et la naissance d'un autre l'année suivante). Avec un troupeau de 50 vaches ayant un taux de sevrage égal à la moyenne provinciale (soit 91 %), on peut augmenter le nombre de veaux prêts à être vendus de 3 % par année, si la saison d'élevage est réduite à 63 jours et le cycle de reproduction ramené à 365 jours. On constate que les gains sont plus substantiels (soit un plus grand nombre de veaux prêts à être vendus) lorsqu'on augmente le pourcentage de veaux sevrés par vache en plus de réduire le cycle de reproduction pour le rapprocher de 365 jours.

Par ailleurs, environ 66 % des producteurs de veaux-vaches de l'Ontario ont indiqué qu'ils faisaient un contrôle des grossesses à la fin de chaque saison de reproduction. Or l'identification des vaches vides, à sélectionner pour la réforme, aide à réduire les frais d'entretien pour l'hiver. Les frais d'une vache vide comprennent les frais d'alimentation et d'entretien pour 12 mois, plus la perte de revenus découlant du fait qu'il n'y a pas de veau à vendre, ce qui pourrait totaliser 2 400 $ ou plus par vache vide. Garder des vaches vides à la ferme représente des coûts considérables pour tout établissement. Les femelles reproductives ne peuvent générer des revenus que par la vente de leurs veaux. Il est peu probable qu'une vache de boucherie commerciale produise des veaux dont la qualité est telle qu'elle compense pour les frais nécessaires pour la garder pendant 12 mois. Le contrôle des grossesses pour les génisses est tout aussi important. Il faut repérer les génisses vides à un stade précoce pour qu'elles puisssent être vendues ou transférées au parc d'engraissement.

Améliorer le rendement des pâturages

La capacité de cultiver et d'utiliser les pâturages de façon efficace et rentable est largement considérée comme un facteur de premier plan pour une production animale peu coûteuse, conformément à Hurtado-Uria et coll. (2013), et l'herbe pâturée est l'aliment le plus économique pour tous les ruminants, comme l'indiquent les travaux de Finneran et coll. (2010). Dans les recherches de Shalloo et coll. (2011), il ressort qu'une bonne gestion des pâturages est la pratique qui a le plus d'influence sur le rendement et l'utilisation des pâturages. Le mesurage et la budgétisation régulières des pâturages sont très bénéfiques, notamment pour faire une utilisation optimale de l'herbe printanière, l'identification précoce des surplus et des déficits des pâturages et l'obtention d'un meilleur rendement du bétail selon un système de pâturages, comme l'indiquent O'Donovan et Dillon (1999).

Pour accroître les taux d'utilisation des pâturages (tirer le maximum de la matière sèche des pâturages cultivés pour la consommation animale), il est primordial d'améliorer le rendement des animaux. L'influence est peut être peu importante, mais ce qui compte surtout, c'est d'augmenter la production par unité de surface. Même s'il y a peu de recherches sur les fermes d'élevage de vaches-veaux en Ontario permettant d'établir les taux moyens d'utilisation des pâturages, il y a des données anecdotiques qui font qu'on estime qu'ils sont de moins de 50 %, selon Byrne et Van Camp (2019) et O'Reilly et Menegotto (2019). L'augmentation des taux d'utilisation permet a) de faire brouter plus d'animaux par unité de surface ou b) d'affecter une plus petite superficie aux patûrages pour ainsi consacrer les terres restantes à un autre usage lucratif.

Les stratégies efficaces de gestion visant à améliorer le rendement des pâturages comprennent les systèmes de pâturage en rotation ou contrôlés, l'adoption d'approches qui permettent d'utiliser les pâturages dès le début du printemps et jusqu'à la fin de l'automne (lorsque les conditions le permettent), l'identification des enclos comportant des surplus pouvant être gardés comme fourrages d'hiver, la détermination précoce des déficits potentiels accompagnée de mesures correctives, etc.

Prolonger l'utilisation des pâturages

Plus le bétail utilise les pâturages longtemps, plus les coûts de production sont bas, compte tenu des coûts moins élevés pour le fourrage supplémentaire, les litières, etc. L'utilisation prolongée des pâturages offre aussi des possibilités d'économiser sur la main-d'œuvre et le temps. Pour ce faire, on peut utiliser des cultures de remplacement, y compris des cultures-abris à l'automne, des mises en réserve sur pied ou des cultures d'été, comme du sorgho et de l'herbe du Soudan pour les baisses durant l'été.

À supposer que le foin coûte 0,22 $ le kilo (ou 0,10 $ la livre), chaque journée de plus passée dans les pâturages par une vache de boucherie permet d'économiser en moyenne 3,75 $ de foin. C'est donc dire qu'en prolongeant l'utilisation des pâturages d'un mois, on peut économiser 476,27 kilos, (1 050 lb) de foin ou 105 $ par vache par mois sur les coûts du foin. Le foin non consommé à l'automne peut servir a) à grossir les stocks de foin pour avoir une réserve au cas où le printemps serait tardif l'année d'après, de sorte qu'il ne sera pas nécessaire d'acheter de foin ou b) si le fourrage est suffisant, la superficie qui aurait été nécessaire pour cultiver les 476,27 kilos (1 050 lb) de foin par vache peut servir à une autre production lucrative.

Conclusion

Une analyse critique du rendement de leur établissement peut permettre aux producteurs de déterminer les aspects du système de production pour lesquels le rendement pourrait être amélioré, et c'est la première chose à faire pour augmenter le rendement à la ferme, accroître les revenus bruts de l'établissement, réduire les coûts et rehausser la rentabilité. Après avoir amélioré l'efficacité de la production de manière satisfaisante, il sera temps pour les producteurs de chercher à accroître la production en augmentant le nombre de têtes par troupeau s'ils le souhaitent.

Bibliographie

Documents infographiques de l'organisme Beef Farmers of Ontario Weekly Market Information Report

Byrne, J. and Van Camp, M. 2019. Calculation of pasture utilization rates by beef cattle grazing two Ontario Community Pastures, (unpublished), Ontario Ministry of Agriculture.

Finneran, E., Crosson, P., O'Kiely, P., Shalloo, L., Forristal, D., and Wallace, M. 2010. Simulation modelling of the cost of producing and utilising feeds for ruminants. J. Farm Manage., 14, pp. 95-116

Funston, R.N., Musgrave, J.A, Meyer, T.L. and Larson, D.M. 2012. Effect of calving distribution on beef cattle progeny performance. J. Anim. Sci. 2012.90:5118-5121. doi:10.2527/jas2012-5263

Gorden, J., 2019. 2017 Cow Calf Production Survey, OMAFRA Virtual Beef

Hurtado-Uria, C., Hennessy, D., Shalloo, L., Schulte, R.P.O, Delaby, L. and O'Connor, D. 2013. Evaluation of three grass growth models to predict grass growth. J. Agric. Sci., 151, pp. 91-104

Molenhuis, J., 2020. Beef Cow Cost of Production Calculator, Budgeting Tools, Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs

O'Reilly, C. and Menegotto, M. 2019. Calibration of a rising plate meter to estimate pasture dry matter yield on Ontario beef and sheep farms, (unpublished), Ontario Ministry of Agriculture.

O'Donovan, M., Dillon, P., 1999. Measurement of Grassland Management Practice on Commercial Dairy Farms, End of Project Reports, URI: http://hdl.handle.net/11019/1433

Shalloo, L., Creighton, P. and O'Donovan, M. (2011). The economics of reseeding on a dairy farm. Irish Journal of Agricultural & Food Research 50: 113-122

Van Schaik, L. and Chaffe, E., 2019. The Value of Special Calf Sales, OMAFRA Virtual Beef


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca