Culling Decisions: Dairy Cows

Culling animals from the herd is a necessary part of any livestock operation. Understanding herd turnover and making optimal culling decisions using sound criteria is important to improving herd performance, efficiency and overall profitability. Culling cows from the herd today will make way for upcoming replacements which are the next generation of genetic improvement in the herd. These decisions need to be balanced with optimizing cow longevity. Culling decisions have important welfare and economic considerations. Some key culling questions to ask are:

  • How many cows exited the herd last year or suitable timeframe? What were the reasons for removal?
  • How many adult cows died or were euthanized on the farm?
  • What body condition were culled cows in when they exited the herd? Where were they sold? What price was received? Was it the highest price?
  • What is the herd's average longevity and overall herd turnover rate? How does it compare to the industry average?

Herd turnover rate will determine the number of heifers to raise to replace cows leaving the herd. The herd's turnover rate is based on the number of cows leaving the herd either by involuntary (died or euthanized) or voluntary (decision based on performance) reasons.

Cull cow welfare

Cull cow welfare is of upmost importance. In the Canadian National Dairy Study, most producers indicated that they had little knowledge of the final destination of cull cows shipped from their herd.1 When assessing cattle for transport ask yourself, "Is this cow fit to ship?" recognizing cull cows could be in the marketing system for 7-14 days. Increased time in the marketing system can exacerbate pre-existing conditions like lameness. Dairy producers should consult their veterinarian to discuss cull dairy cow welfare and options for cull dairy cows that are not fit to ship.

Every cow should be assessed before shipping for fitness for transport and sale. Assess cows for signs of disease, lameness score, body condition score (BCS), injury, if the cow needs to be dried off and that all drug withdrawal times have been met. Discuss with a veterinarian options for cows that are unfit to ship as they may require treatment, or conditioning, before sale or may require on-farm euthanasia.

For welfare recommendations related to shipping cull dairy cows refer to following resources:

Trends in culling and markets

In Canada, the culling rate of dairy cows from farm is between 26-33%3. In 2018, reasons for exit from the herd from included:

  • reproductive issues (31%)
  • low milk production (16%)
  • high somatic cell count/mastitis (15%)
  • sickness (11%)
  • feet/leg problems (9%)3

The record keeping "disposal codes" in DairyComp only allow a producer to choose a single-reason for exit from the herd, however cows may have more than one condition. Reproductive issues are the top reason for culling of dairy cows but are associated with underlying issues like lameness and metabolic disease.4

There is a tendency for more cattle to be culled in the late fall and early winter months. The number of culled dairy cows are impacted by number of incentive days and market changes. These trends translate into additional cattle at the sale barns and abattoirs and may result in cattle experiencing longer times in the marketing system.

A recent study at Ontario sale barns assessed cull cow condition in the sales ring. The researchers assessed lameness, body condition, hock lesions and tail presence. Cows that had an obvious limp (uneven or irregular step, favouring one or more limbs) sold for a lower price ($0.05 less/kg) than cows with an acceptable gait (no limp present)4. Unacceptable body condition (<2.0 BCS ) had more of an impact on price ($0.20 less/kg) than cows with acceptable body condition score. Ensuring cows are in good condition can result in larger returns and higher income per cull cow.4

Risk for Involuntary and Voluntary Culling

Knowing the risk periods for when cows are most likely to be culled is one way to assess risk factors on the farm that could be increasing the number of involuntary culled animals. An assessment of herd turnover may identify areas to improve with the goal to minimize the number of cows that are culled involuntary, which can increase cow longevity and improve herd profits. Cows are more likely to exit the herd in:

  • early lactation (days in milk <150)
  • late lactation (days in milk <250)

The peripartum period has many challenges that can contribute to an increased risk for involuntary and voluntary culling including reproductive disease, metabolic disease, poor production, and mastitis with the risk of a cow being culled for these reasons declining after 150 days in milk.5

A cow's risk of being culled from the herd increases with age. Generally, primiparous cows have different reasons for being culled compared to multiparous cows. Primiparous cows are more likely to be culled due to poor milk production, milking temperament, and feet/leg problems. Whereas multiparous cows are more likely to be culled due to mastitis/high somatic cell counts (SCC), metabolic diseases and feet/leg problems.5

The risk is the same for both multiparous cows and primiparous cows to be culled later in lactation for infertility, which increases rapidly after 200 days in milk as they near the end of lactation and are not in calf for the next lactation. 5

Early Culling Decisions: Building a Culling Criteria

Knowing what herd size is needed for adequate milk production will help determine criteria for early culling decisions while controlling costs and optimizing the price received for cull cows. There are many factors that can go into developing culling criteria and consultation with the herd's veterinarian and farm advisors can help determine what is best for the herd.

Herd turnover rates may vary based on the current market conditions, replacements' availability, mortality on the farm, disease control, herd size and overall business plan. To determine a herd's turnover rate, add your adult mortality and voluntary culling percentage together (see equations below). This will help determine the number of replacements needed.6

  • Adult Mortality percentage is equal to the Number of cows that died per year divided by the Average inventory of dairy cows per year multiplied by 100
  • Culling Rate percentage is equal to the Number of culled cows per year divided by the Average inventory of dairy cows per year multiplied by 100
  • Herd Turnover Rate percentage is equal to the Adult Mortality rate percentage plur Culling rate percentage.

If adult cow mortality on farm is more than 5%, consult a veterinarian to determine the cause(s) of death and implement prevention strategies to reduce the risk of cows leaving the herd prematurely. High mortality rate and culling for health reasons can impact the operation's economic viability as you will need to raise more replacements and is an animal welfare issue.

Factors used to identify cows to cull will vary from farm to farm as farms have different disease challenges, production goals, and herd performance. Early culling decisions require a producer to determine which cows to cull or keep, breed back or not, keep milking or dry off. Considerations should be made to target improved productive lifespan of cows by optimizing cow comfort and preventative health measures.7 Some areas to analyze include:

  • reproductive performance: longer days open, not pregnant, increased AI services
  • udder health: high somatic cell, chronic udder health issues
  • disease status: test positive for Johne's disease or bovine leukosis
  • milk performance: bottom 10% for milk production and components
  • feed efficiency: body condition, economic return (milk over feed)
  • genetic merit: parent averages for index like Pro$, genomic test results

Genetic merit and progress towards genetic goals are important in making culling decisions. Consulting individual cow records and determining lifetime performance will be important in making these decisions. One strategy to consider when making culling decisions is to determine the economic value of cows in the herd and make decisions based on their ranking. There are a variety of tools available to help determine cows that are in the bottom 10% for performance in your herd including:

  • Lactanet and Holstein Canada's Compass is a web-based tool that is available to help evaluate and manage your herd's genetics
  • DairyComp, robotic milking system software or other herd management software can also analyze overall herd performance

Conclusion

Earlier culling decisions will allow producers to prepare cull cows for market and will improve the price received at market and overall welfare of the cow. It will also allow producers to better assess the economic returns on each cow while balancing longevity and improving overall herd performance. Speaking with a veterinarian and farm genetic advisors can help with developing a plan with both economics and welfare in mind.

Sources

  1. Roche, S.M. et al. 2020. Canadian National Dairy Study: Describing Canadian dairy producer practices and perceptions surroundingcull cow management. J Dairy Sci. 103(4): 3414-3421.
  2. Farm Food Care. (2016) Should this animal be loaded? Cattle, Goat and Sheep.
  3. Canadian Dairy Information Centre. Culling and replacement rates in dairy herds in Canada
  4. Moorman et al. 2018. Associations between the general condition of culled dairy cows and selling price at Ontario auction markets. J Dairy Sci. 101:(110)10580-10588.
  5. Heise et al., 2015. The genetic structure of longevity in dairy cows. J Dairy Sci. 99:1253-1265
  6. Fetrow, J., K. Nordlund, and D. Norman. Culling: Nomenclature, definitions and some observations. 2006. J Dairy Sci. 89(6):1896-1905
  7. De Vries, A. (2020) Symposium review: Why revisit dairy cattle productive lifespan? J Dairy Sci. 103 (4): 3838-3845.

For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Décisions concernant la réforme des vaches laitières

La mise à la réforme des animaux d'un troupeau fait partie intégrante d'une exploitation d'élevage. Il est important de comprendre le renouvellement du troupeau et de prendre des décisions optimales concernant la réforme à l'aide de critères judicieux afin d'améliorer le rendement du troupeau, l'efficacité et la rentabilité globale. La mise à la réforme de vaches du troupeau aujourd'hui fera de la place pour les prochains sujets de remplacement, soit la nouvelle génération qui contribuera à l'amélioration génétique du troupeau. Les décisions doivent néanmoins tenir compte de l'optimisation de la longévité des vaches. Il y a également des facteurs importants de nature économique ou liés au bien-être qu'il faut prendre en considération. Voici des questions clés qu'il faut se poser :

  • Combien de vaches ont été retirées du troupeau l'an dernier ou au cours de toute autre période pertinente? Pourquoi les a-t-on retirées?
  • Combien de vaches adultes sont mortes ou ont été euthanasiées à la ferme?
  • Quel était l'état corporel des vaches de réforme lorsqu'elles ont été retirées du troupeau? Où ont-elles été vendues? Quel était le prix de vente? Était-ce le prix le plus élevé?
  • Quels sont la longévité moyenne et le taux de renouvellement global du troupeau? Où cela se situe-t-il par rapport à la moyenne de l'industrie?

Le taux de renouvellement du troupeau déterminera le nombre de génisses nécessaire pour remplacer les vaches qui quittent le troupeau. Ce taux est fondé sur le nombre de vaches qui quittent le troupeau, que ce soit pour des raisons involontaires (mort ou euthanasie) ou volontaires (décision reposant sur le rendement).

Bien-être des vaches de réforme

Le bien-être des vaches de réforme est extrêmement important. Dans le cadre de la Canadian National Dairy Study (étude nationale canadienne sur l'industrie laitière), la plupart des producteurs ont indiqué qu'ils en savaient très peu sur la destination finale des vaches de réforme provenant de leur troupeau qui sont expédiées1. Lorsqu'on évalue le bétail en vue de son transport, il faut se demander si l'animal est apte à être expédié en tenant compte du fait que les vaches de réforme peuvent demeurer dans le système de commercialisation pendant 7 à 14 jours. Si elles y restent longtemps, des conditions préexistantes, comme la boiterie, pourraient s'aggraver. Les producteurs laitiers doivent consulter leur vétérinaire afin de discuter du bien-être des vaches laitières de réforme et des options qui existent pour celles qui sont inaptes au transport.

Il faut évaluer chaque vache avant l'expédition afin de déterminer si elle est apte à être transportée et vendue. L'évaluation porte notamment sur les éléments suivants : les signes de maladie, le degré de boiterie, la cote d'état corporel, les blessures, la nécessité de tarir la vache ou non et le respect des périodes de retrait pour tous les médicaments. En outre, il faut discuter avec un vétérinaire des options possibles pour les vaches inaptes au transport, car elles pourraient avoir besoin d'un traitement ou d'un conditionnement avant la vente ou devoir être euthanasiées à la ferme.

Pour obtenir des recommandations au sujet de l'expédition de vaches laitières de réforme afin d'assurer leur bien être, consultez les ressources ci-dessous :

Tendances relatives à la réforme et aux marchés

Au Canada, le taux de réforme des vaches laitières provenant de la ferme se situe entre 26 % et 33 %3. En 2018, les raisons pour lesquelles des vaches ont été retirées des troupeaux étaient les suivantes :

  • problèmes de reproduction (31 %);
  • faible production de lait (16 %);
  • nombre élevé de cellules somatiques ou mammite (15 %);
  • maladie (11 %);
  • problèmes aux pieds ou aux membres (9 %).3

Pour la tenue de dossiers dans le logiciel DairyComp, le producteur doit choisir une seule raison (code d'élimination) pour expliquer le retrait du troupeau; cependant, les vaches peuvent avoir plus d'une condition. Les problèmes de reproduction constituent la principale raison de la mise à la réforme des vaches laitières, mais ils sont associés à des états sous-jacents comme la boiterie et les maladies métaboliques4.

Selon la tendance, il y a davantage d'animaux qui sont réformés à la fin de l'automne et au début de l'hiver. Le nombre de vaches laitières réformées est influencé par le nombre de jours d'incitatifs et l'évolution des marchés. Cette tendance se traduit par un nombre supplémentaire d'animaux dans les encans à bestiaux et les abattoirs et pourrait donc faire en sorte que les animaux restent plus longtemps dans le système de commercialisation.

Dans le cadre d'une récente étude menée dans des encans de bestiaux en Ontario, on a évalué l'état des vaches de réforme dans le ring de vente. Les chercheurs ont évalué la boiterie, l'état corporel, les lésions aux jarrets et la présence de la queue. Les vaches qui avaient une boiterie évidente (p. ex. avaient une démarche inégale ou irrégulière ou évitaient de mettre du poids sur au moins une patte) étaient vendues à un prix moins élevé (0,05 $ de moins/kg) que celles ayant une démarche acceptable (absence de boiterie)4. Une cote d'état corporel inacceptable (<2,0) avait une plus grande incidence sur le prix (0,20 $ de moins/kg) qu'une cote d'état corporel acceptable. Voir à ce que les vaches maintiennent un bon état corporel peut faire augmenter le rendement et les revenus par vache de réforme4.

Risque de mise à la réforme involontaire ou volontaire

Connaître les périodes où les vaches sont le plus susceptibles d'être mises à la réforme est un moyen d'évaluer les facteurs de risque à la ferme qui pourraient faire augmenter le nombre d'animaux faisant l'objet d'une réforme involontaire. L'évaluation du taux de renouvellement du troupeau peut permettre d'identifier les améliorations à apporter dans le but de réduire au minimum le nombre de réformes involontaires, ce qui peut accroître la longévité des vaches et améliorer la rentabilité du troupeau. Les vaches sont plus susceptibles d'être retirées du troupeau :

  • au début de la lactation (moins de 150 jours de lactation);
  • à la fin de la lactation (moins de 250 jours de lactation).

Au cours de la période périnatale, plusieurs facteurs peuvent contribuer à accroître le risque de réforme involontaire ou volontaire, notamment une maladie de l'appareil reproducteur, une maladie métabolique, une faible production et la mammite, et le risque qu'une vache soit réformée pour ces raisons diminue après 150 jours de lactation5.

Le risque qu'une vache soit retirée du troupeau augmente avec l'âge. En général, les raisons de mise à la réforme varient selon que la vache est primipare ou multipare. Les vaches primipares peuvent être réformées à cause d'une faible production de lait, du tempérament de traite et de problèmes aux pieds ou aux membres. Dans le cas des vaches multipares, la réforme peut être attribuable à la mammite ou à un nombre élevé de cellules somatiques, à une maladie métabolique ou à des problèmes aux pieds ou aux membres5.

Le risque de réforme à un stade de lactation avancé en raison de l'infertilité est le même pour les vaches multipares et les vaches primipares. À noter que l'infertilité augmente rapidement après 200 jours de lactation, car la période de lactation est presque terminée et les vaches ne sont pas gestantes pour la prochaine lactation5.

Décision anticipée concernant la réforme : établir des critères de réforme

Si on connaît la taille du troupeau nécessaire pour assurer une production de lait suffisante, on peut déterminer à l'avance les critères de réforme tout en limitant les coûts et en optimisant le prix obtenu pour les vaches de réforme. De nombreux facteurs entrent en jeu dans l'élaboration des critères de réforme; il est bon de consulter son vétérinaire et un conseiller agricole pour déterminer ce qui convient le mieux au troupeau.

Le taux de renouvellement du troupeau peut varier en fonction des conditions actuelles du marché, de la disponibilité de sujets de remplacement, de la mortalité à la ferme, de la lutte contre les maladies, de la taille du troupeau et de plan d'activités général. Pour calculer le taux de renouvellement d'un troupeau, on additionne le pourcentage de mortalité des vaches adultes et le pourcentage de réforme volontaire (voir les équations ci-dessous). Cela aide à déterminer le nombre de sujets de remplacement nécessaire6.

  • Le pourcentage des taux de mortalité des vaches adultes est égale au nombre de vaches mortes par année divisé par l'inventaire moyen de vaches laitières par année multiplié par 100
  • Le pourcentage des taux de réforme est égale au nombre de vaches réformées par année divisé par l'inventaire moyen de vaches laitières par année multiplié par 100
  • Le pourcentage des taux de renouvellement du troupeau est égale au pourcentage des taux de mortalité des vaches adultes plus le pourcentage des taux de réforme

Si le taux de mortalité des vaches adultes à la ferme est supérieur à 5 %, il faut consulter un vétérinaire afin de déterminer la cause ou les causes de décès et mettre en œuvre des stratégies de prévention pour réduire le risque que des vaches soient retirées prématurément du troupeau. Un taux de mortalité élevé et la mise à la réforme pour des raisons de santé peuvent avoir une incidence sur la viabilité économique de l'exploitation, car il faudra élever davantage de sujets de remplacement. De plus, le bien-être des animaux est en jeu.

Les facteurs utilisés pour identifier les vaches à réformer varient d'une exploitation à l'autre, car les maladies présentes, les objectifs de production et le rendement du troupeau sont propres à chacune. Pour prendre des décisions anticipées concernant la réforme, le producteur doit déterminer quelles vaches il doit réformer ou garder, réaccoupler ou non, continuer de traire ou tarir. De plus, il doit chercher à améliorer la durée de vie productive des vaches en optimisant leur confort et les mesures de santé préventives7. Voici quelques aspects à analyser :

  • la performance de reproduction : intervalle vêlage-conception plus long, vache non gestante, utilisation accrue des services d'insémination artificielle;
  • la santé du pis : nombre élevé de cellules somatiques, problèmes de santé chroniques des pis;
  • la situation zoosanitaire : résultat positif au test de dépistage de la maladie de Johne ou de la leucose bovine enzootique;
  • l'aptitude laitière : classement dans la tranche inférieure de 10 % pour la production laitière et les composants du lait;
  • l'efficience alimentaire : état corporel, rendement économique (le lait par rapport aux aliments);
  • le mérite génétique : les moyennes de parents pour des indices comme Pro$, résultats de tests génomiques.

Le mérite génétique et les progrès réalisés vers l'atteinte des objectifs en matière de génétique sont importants pour la prise de décisions au sujet de la réforme. De plus, il faut consulter les dossiers sur chaque vache et déterminer le rendement à vie. Une stratégie à envisager pour la prise de décision consiste à établir la valeur économique des vaches du troupeau et à se baser sur leur classement. Il existe divers outils servant à déterminer quelles sont les vaches du troupeau qui ont un rendement dans la tranche inférieure de 10 %. Voici des exemples :

  • Compass de Lactanet et Holstein Canada est un outil en ligne qui sert à évaluer et à gérer la génétique du troupeau
  • DairyComp, un logiciel de système de traite robotisée ou un autre logiciel de gestion de troupeau peut également analyser le rendement global du troupeau

Conclusion

En prenant des décisions à l'avance concernant la réforme, les producteurs pourront préparer les vaches de réforme pour le marché, obtenir un meilleur prix et accroître le bien-être global de la vache. En outre, ils seront en mesure de bien évaluer le rendement économique de chaque vache tout en tenant compte de la longévité et en améliorant le rendement global du troupeau. Il serait utile de consulter un vétérinaire et un conseiller agricole spécialisé en génétique pour élaborer un plan qui tient compte à la fois des aspects économiques et du bien-être.

Sources

  1. Roche, S.M. et coll. "Canadian National Dairy Study: Describing Canadian Dairy Producer Practices and Perceptions Surrounding Cull Cow Management", Journal of Dairy Science, vol. 103, no 4, p. 3414-3421, 2020.
  2. Farm Food Care. Should This Animal Be Loaded? Cattle, Goat and Sheep, 2016.
  3. Centre Canadien d'information laitère. Taux de réforme et de remplacement dans les troupeaux laitiers au Canada.
  4. Moorman et coll. "Associations Between the General Condition of Culled Dairy Cows and Selling Price at Ontario Auction Markets", Journal of Dairy Science, vol. 101, no 110, p. 10580-10588, 2018.
  5. Heise et coll. "The Genetic Structure of Longevity in Dairy Cows", Journal of Dairy Science, vol. 99, p. 1253-1265, 2015.
  6. Fetrow, J., K. Nordlund, et D. Norman. "Culling: Nomenclature, Definitions and Some Observations", Journal of Dairy Science, vol. 89, no 6, p. 1896-1905, 2006.
  7. De Vries, A. "Symposium Review: Why Revisit Dairy Cattle Productive Lifespan?", Journal of Dairy Science, vol. 103, no 4, p. 3838-3845, 2020.

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca