Foaling and Predicting Foaling Time

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Parturition
  3. Tests to Predict Foaling
  4. A Note of Caution
  5. Care of the Newborn Foal
  6. References

Introduction

It can be frustrating watching mares and predicting when they will foal. Mares are usually consistent in their foaling pattern from year to year. Therefore, horse owners and managers should become familiar with each mare and record their observations on the mare's record. The average gestation length of a mare (period between breeding and foaling) is 340 days. It can vary within 20 days either side. In one study, 65.5% of mares foaled at night between 8 p.m. and 1 a.m.

The visual signs of a mare's readiness to foal are:

  1. Udder distension begins 2-6 weeks prior to foaling.
  2. Relaxation of the muscles of the croup 7-19 days prior to foaling; relaxation around the tail head, buttocks, and lips of the vulva.
  3. Teat nipples fill 4-6 days prior to foaling.
  4. Waxing of the teats 2-4 days before. Waxing (or wax beads) refers to the colostrum (first milk) which appears at the end of the teats.
  5. Dripping of colostrum 24-48 hours before foaling. Loss of colostrum may result in an inadequate supply for the newborn foal.
  6. Prior to foaling, the mare's body temperature will be equal to or drop lower than her normal morning temperature.

Parturition

Stage 1 In the preparation phase, the mare becomes nervous and uneasy and will lie down and get up frequently. The tail will twitch. Sweating, urination and signs of mild colic are common. Stage 1 lasts for 2-3 hours and terminates with the "breaking of water" when 2-5 gallons of uterine fluids are released.

Stage 2 In the active parturition stage, the mare's cervix dilates and uterine contractions increase. The feet and nose of the foal are forced into the pelvis and eventually the amniotic sac and encased feet are seen protruding from the vulva. The mare is usually lying down and the contractions normally expel the foal in 15 minutes. The mare will generally remain lying to allow the blood from the umbilical cord to pass to the foal.

Stage 3 The final stage involves the expulsion of placental membranes. The placenta is usually passed within 15 minutes to one hour. Draft mares may take longer. Should the mare retain the placenta for four hours, consult your veterinarian promptly.

Tests to Predict Foaling:

There are various tests which use the changes in calcium carbonate level in mammary secretions to predict the probability of foaling in a given time period e.g., in the next 24 hours. Sampling begins 10 to 14 days prior to the mare's expected foaling date. Once the unit values of the test exceed 100 ppm for calcium carbonate with the FoalWatch kit, or zone 3 with a hardness check kit, then it is important to check the mammary secretions twice each day.

Hardness Check Kit

D. Freeman, Equine Specialist, Oklahoma State University, suggests using a water-hardness check strip. These strips detect the relative levels of the minerals, calcium and magnesium, in water samples. The test strips are inexpensive and are available at hardware stores.

Items required are: test tubes, distilled water, a syringe, a container to obtain milk and the check strips. Distilled water is used because it is relatively free of these minerals.

  1. Begin several days before the suspected foaling date.
  2. Obtain 10 ccs of milk by hand milking.
  3. Using the syringe, draw 6 ccs of distilled water and 1 cc of milk into the syringe.
  4. Mix the sample and place it in a test tube that has a test strip in it.

The test strips have 4 zones that change color, depending on the mineral concentration. A zone change from level 1 to level 2 usually indicates that the mare is approaching foaling within 2-4 days. Zone changes from level 3 to level 4 usually indicate that the mare is expected to foal within 24-48 hours. The test should be done daily when 2 zone changes are observed. Move the mare to the foaling stall or paddock when 3 or more zone changes have occurred. The test is simple but not 100% accurate.

FoalWatch Test Kit

This kit is designed specifically to predict foaling. It is very sensitive and specific, with a useful predictive value indicating a mare's readiness for birth. The calcium carbonate levels of the colostrum will rise above 200 ppm when the mare is ready for birth. In the study, 98% of the mares tested with calcium carbonate levels equal to or greater than 200 ppm foaled within 24 hours. Maiden mares had a greater frequency of foaling before colostrum calcium carbonate levels were greater then 200 ppm. FoalWatch may be available from your veterinarian or by contacting CHEMetrics 1-800-356-3072.

Interference with Results
  1. Distilled water is needed to wash the equipment used for these tests since a residue of hard water will interfere with the results.
  2. Some mares will plateau at 100-175 ppm for several days before increasing.
  3. In certain regions of North America, fescue toxicity will reduce the mammary secretions of mares. This is a condition known as agalactia. The lack of milk and the lack of udder development will interfere with an owner's dependance on physical signs to predict pending foaling and will result in no milk to sample.

A Note of Caution

Owners or managers may want to predict when a mare will deliver so personnel can observe the delivery and intervene if necessary. The down-side of trying to predict the time of foaling is the inaccuracy (variability) of testing and adverse effects on the mare and foal. There may be health implications to the mare if the collection of mammary secretions results in mastitis (infection of the mammary gland). Stimulation of the mammary gland may also result in milk letdown in the udder and subsequent loss of colostrum. Although these risks are uncommon, they should be considered when developing management strategies for the foaling mare.

Care of the Newborn Foal

A foal will usually get up within an hour of foaling and should nurse within 2 to 4 hours. Nursing should be within 4 hours to maximize the absorption of colostral antibodies. The foals intestinal tract can absorb antibodies from the colostrum for the first 24 hours after foaling. The foal should pass meconium (a yellow fecal material) by 6 hours after foaling. The navel should be dipped in tamed iodine or chlorhexidine solution for several days after birth. Ask your veterinarian for advice on the need to give tetanus antitoxin at birth and antibiotics.

This is also a good time to perform imprint training with your foal. Imprint training introduces the newborn foal to various stimuli, such as: hair clippers, sprayers, and tapping on the feet. Refer to Dr. Robert Miller's educational material on Imprint Training of the Foal.

References:

  1. Freeman D.W., Oklahoma State University, Equine Specialist
  2. Ley W. B., Management of the Foaling Mare: Predicting Readiness for Birth and Inducing Foaling. Veterinary Practice, June 1994 p. 570-577.

For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Dr. B. Wright - Veterinary Scientist, Equine and Alternative Livestock/OMAFRA; Dr. Dan Kenney - Staff Veterinarian, Ontario Veterinary College/University of Guelph
Creation Date: March, 2000
Last Reviewed: March, 2000

Mise bas et prévision du moment de la mise bas

Introduction

Il peut être frustrant d'observer des juments pour prédire quand elles mettront bas. Les juments sont habituellement assez constantes d'année en année quand vient le temps de mettre bas. Donc, les propriétaires de chevaux et les gestionnaires devraient connaître chaque jument et enregistrer dans un rapport des observations à leur propos. La durée moyenne de la gestation chez les juments (la période entre l'accouplement et la mise bas) est de 340 jours. Elle peut varier de plus ou moins 20 jours. Dans une étude, on rapportait que 65,5 % des juments mettent bas la nuit entre 20 h 00 et 1 h 00.

Voici les signes visuels de l'approche de la mise bas :
  1. Dilatation des pis qui commence 2 à 6 semaines avant la mise bas;
  2. Relaxation des muscles de la croupe qui se produit 7 à 19 jours avant la mise bas; on observe aussi une relaxation autour de la tête de la queue, des fesses et des lèvres de la vulve;
  3. Mamelons de trayons se remplissent 4 à 6 jours avant la mise bas;
  4. Cirage des trayons qui se produit 2 à 4 jours avant. Le cirage (ou les billes de cire) fait référence au colostrum (le premier lait) qui apparaît au bout des trayons;
  5. Égouttement du colostrum a lieu 24 à 48 heures avant la mise bas. Une perte importante de colostrum peut entraîner une provision inadéquate pour le poulain nouveau-né;
  6. Température du corps de la jument égale ou inférieure à sa température normale du matin.

Parturition

Étape 1 Dans la phase de préparation, la jument devient nerveuse et s'agite. Elle se couche et se lève fréquemment. Sa queue présente des convulsions. On observe habituellement une sudation, l'urination et des signes mineurs de colique. L'étape 1 dure entre 2 et 3 heures et se termine avec " la perte des eaux " où 2 à 5 gallons de liquides utérins s'écoulent.

L'étape 2 Dans l'étape de parturition active, le col de l'utérus de la jument se dilate et les contractions utérines augmentent. Les pattes et le nez du poulain sont forcés vers le bassin et, finalement, le sac amniotique et les pattes emballées font saillie de la vulve. La jument reste habituellement couchée et les contractions expulsent normalement le poulain en 15 minutes. La jument restera généralement couchée pour permettre au sang du cordon ombilical de se rendre jusqu'au poulain.

L'étape 3 L'étape finale implique l'expulsion des membranes placentaires, ce qui peut prendre entre 15 minutes et une heure. L'attente peut être plus longue chez les juments de trait. Si la jument conserve le placenta pendant quatre heures, consultez rapidement votre vétérinaire.

Des tests pour prévoir la mise bas :

Il existe plusieurs tests qui utilisent les changements du niveau de carbonate de calcium dans les sécrétions mammaires pour prévoir la probabilité de la mise à bas au cours d'une période donnée, par exemple, dans les 24 heures suivantes. Le prélèvement d'échantillons commence 10 à 14 jours avant la date prévue de mise bas de la jument. Une fois que la valeur des unités du test excède 100 ppm en carbonate de calcium pour la trousse FoalWatch, ou atteint la zone 3 pour la trousse de vérification de la rigidité, il devient alors important de procéder à la vérification des sécrétions mammaires deux fois par jour.
Trousse de vérification de la rigidité

D. Freeman, spécialiste des chevaux, de l'Université Oklahoma State, suggère d'utiliser une bande de vérification de la dureté de l'eau. Ces bandes détectent les niveaux relatifs en minéraux, en calcium et en magnésium, dans des échantillons d'eau. Elles sont peu coûteuses et en vente dans les quincailleries.
Voici les articles nécessaires : éprouvettes, eau déminéralisée, seringue, contenant pour le lait et bandes de vérification. L'eau déminéralisée est utilisée parce qu'elle contient relativement peu de ces minéraux.

  1. Commencez plusieurs jours avant la date de mise bas prévue.
  2. Prélevez 10 cm3 de lait par traite manuelle.
  3. Avec la seringue, prélevez 6 cm3 d'eau déminéralisée et 1 cm3 de lait.
  4. Mélangez l'échantillon et placez-le dans une éprouvette qui contient une bande d'essai.

Les bandes d'essai ont 4 zones qui changent de couleur, selon la concentration minérale. Un passage de la zone 1 à 2 signifie d'habitude que la jument mettra bas d'ici 2 à 4 jours. Le passage de la zone 3 à 4 signifie d'habitude que la jument mettra bas d'ici 24 à 48 heures. Ce test doit être effectué quotidiennement après qu'un changement de deux zones ait été observé. Déplacer la jument à la stalle de mise bas ou dans l'enclos quand la valeur du test varie de plus de trois zones. L'essai est simple, mais n'est pas 100 % précis.

La trousse d'évaluation FoalWatch

Cette trousse est conçue spécifiquement pour prévoir la mise bas. Le test est très sensible et spécifique. Les niveaux de carbonate de calcium du colostrum dépassent 200 ppm quand la jument s'apprête à mettre bas. Dans l'étude, 98 % des juments dont le niveau de carbonate de calcium était évalué à 200 ppm ou plus ont mis bas dans un délai de 24 heures. On a observé chez les juments dont il s'agissait de la première mise bas une fréquence de mise bas supérieure que les autres quand les niveaux de carbonate de calcium du colostrum n'avaient pas encore atteint 200 ppm. Demandez à votre vétérinaire ou appelez CHEMetrics au 1-800-356-3072 pour obtenir FoalWatch.

Attention aux résultats faussés

  1. L'eau déminéralisée est nécessaire pour laver l'équipement utilisé dans le cadre de ces essais puisqu'un résidu d'eau dure faussera les résultats.
  2. Certaines juments plafonnent à une teneur de 100 à 175 ppm pendant plusieurs jours avant de continuer à progresser.
  3. Dans certaines régions de l'Amérique du Nord, la toxicité en fétuque réduira les sécrétions mammaires des juments. Il s'agit d'une condition connue sous le nom d'" agalactie ". Le manque de lait et la croissance des pis rendent impossible pour le propriétaire de mesurer les signes physiques nécessaires pour prévoir la mise bas prochaine : il ne dispose pas d'échantillons de lait.

Note d'avertissement

Les propriétaires ou les gestionnaires peuvent désirer prévoir quand une jument mettra bas pour que leurs employés soient en poste pour observer la naissance et intervenir s'il y a lieu. L'inconvénient de tenter de prévoir le moment de mise bas est l'inexactitude (la variabilité) des tests et de leurs effets défavorables sur la jument et le poulain. Il peut y avoir des complications pour la santé de la jument si la collecte de sécrétions mammaires aboutit à une mastite (l'infection de la glande mammaire). La stimulation de la glande mammaire peut aussi aboutir à un manque de lait dans le pis et à la perte subséquente du colostrum. Même si ces risques se présentent peu fréquemment, on doit en tenir compte au moment de concevoir des stratégies de gestion pour la jument mettant bas.

Soin du poulain nouveau-né

Un poulain se lève habituellement dans l'espace d'une heure après la mise bas et doit téter dans un intervalle de 2 à 4 heures. L'allaitement doit se produire en l'espace de 4 heures pour maximiser l'absorption d'anticorps colostraux. Le tube digestif d'un poulain peut absorber des anticorps du colostrum pendant les 24 premières heures après la mise bas. Le poulain devrait évacuer le méconium (une matière fécale jaune) dans l'espace de six heures après la mise bas. On devrait plonger son nombril dans de l'iodophore ou une solution de chlorhexidine pendant plusieurs jours après la naissance. Demandez à votre vétérinaire des conseils sur la nécessité de donner une antitoxine de tétanos à la naissance ainsi que des antibiotiques.

Il s'agit aussi du meilleur moment pour désensibiliser le poulain. Cela permettra au poulain nouveau-né de se sensibiliser à divers stimuli comme le rasoir électrique et les pulvérisateurs, mais aussi à se faire tapoter les pattes. Veuillez consulter le matériel éducatif du docteur Robert Miller sur la désensibilisation du poulain.

References:

  1. Freeman D.W., Oklahoma State University, Equine Specialist
  2. Ley W. B., Management of the Foaling Mare: Predicting Readiness for Birth and Inducing Foaling. Veterinary Practice, June 1994 p. 570-577.

| Haut de la page |


Auteur : Dr. B. Wright - scientifique vétérinaire, chevaux et animaux non traditionnels/MAAARO; Dr. Dan Kenney - vétérinaire membre du personnel/Collège de médecine vétérinaire de l'Ontario, Université de Guelph
Date de création : 01 mars 2000
Dernière révision : 01 mars 2000

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca