Lice on Horses

Lice on horses in Ontario are not common but questions arise about treatment. Both sucking and biting lice can affect horses. The chewing louse, Bovicola equi, feeds off tissue and cells sloughed from the surface of the skin. The sucking louse of horses, Haematopinus asini, feeds off blood. The species of lice is important since it is easier to kill sucking lice with a systemic insecticide than it is to kill biting lice. Lice cause intense itching (pruritus) around the base of the tail, head and mane. Horses will rub themselves raw.

Lice are normally species-specific. However, the chewing lice of poultry can also affect horses when housed together. The horses should be removed from the building. If the poultry is removed, the lice will continue to harass the horses unless a good cleanup and premise insecticide treatment is used.

Lice and their Life Cycle:

Lice undergo a simple life cycle. They transform from egg to nymph to adult with the entire cycle being completed on the host. The chewing louse is about 1/10 of an inch long, chestnut brown in color, with a yellow abdomen with dark cross bands. They are flat with a broad, rounded head and slender legs. The eggs are attached to the hair and hatch in 5 to 10 days. Nymphs immediately start feeding and mature in 3 to 4 weeks.

The sucking louse is about 1/8 of an inch long and a dirty grey color. They have a broad abdomen which contrasts with their long narrow head. Sucking lice are more common and more irritating than chewing lice. They have piercing mouth parts. When present in large numbers, they can cause anemia. The eggs are attached to the hair and hatch 11 to 20 days later. Nymphs begin sucking blood immediately. They complete their life cycle in 2 to 4 weeks.

Control and Treatment:

Transmission of lice is by direct contact between horses and through contact with infected brushes, blankets and tack. Successful control requires that equipment is cleaned thoroughly with the same insecticide as used on the horses. The cleaning should be repeated in two weeks. Sterilization of equipment by boiling will also kill the lice, nymphs and eggs as will placing blankets and coolers in the drier at the highest heat setting.

The only approved products for the treatment of horses with lice are the powder products, Dusting Powder and Sevin. All other products are used in an off-label, or extra-label, manner and the veterinarian is required to re-label the product, providing directions for use, e.g. the route of administration and frequency as well as human and animal precautions associated with the product.

  • Powders should be used by dusting the entire animal and ensuring that the dust reaches the skin. It is difficult to get the powder down to the skin when animals have a long winter coat. Wetable powders are intended to be mixed with water and applied to improve contact with the skin. Powders may contain any of several chemicals including: rotenone, coumaphos, carbaryl, and fenthion.
  • Systemic treatments such as the avermectins are not approved for treatment of lice on horses. Systemic products usually come as a pour-on and an injectable. Care must be taken before contemplating the use of a pour-on form, since the carrier base (e.g. alcohol) may cause a local skin reaction. The injectable form may possibly be used orally for sucking lice treatment but no research has been reported (1).
  • Pour-on Products

Permethrins can be used as non-systemic, pour-on, insecticides to control lice. A 4% solution is recommended when treating donkeys with lice (2). A 1% solution was very effective in controlling lice in cattle and a 0.1% solution of permethrin was effective against chorioptic mange in cattle. It may be possible to use a 0.1% solution of permethrin for biting lice on horses and reduce the potential for skin reactions which is sometimes seen with a 1% permethrin solution (3). The permethrin solution should be applied along the back and down the face. Two treatments, 14 days apart, are recommended for the optimum control of lice.

The following are products containing permethrin with their concentration of permethrin: Coopers Delice Pour-on - 1%, Disvap Equine 0.1%, Nix (a human product) - 1%, Siecon - 0.5%, and Vetolice - 1%. These can be diluted, as necessary, to get a 0.1% solution (3). Some of these products have an oil-based carrier and will create a mess if the horse rolls in a sandy arena. Siecon, and Disvap-Equine are labeled for use for flies on horses.

  • Shampoos

Seleen shampoo, Sanofi Animal Health, has been reported as being successful in treating lice on horses. Seleen is approved for the treatment of seborrhea in small animals. The 1% selenium sulphide has antiparasitic action. Patterson reported that whole-body bathing of horses with Seleen three times at 10 day intervals was successful in treating lice. Treatment consisted of using the following amounts of Seleen: for ponies - 150 ml; horses up to 500 kg. body weight - 300 ml; and horses greater than 500 kg. body weight - 450 ml (4).

Choice of treatment will vary depending on time of year, ambient temperature and the number of horses being treated. Your veterinarian will provide you with the best treatment option.

References:

  1. Knight P., personal communication, Pfizer Animal Health
  2. Svendsen E. D., The Professional Handbook of the Donkey, 3rd Edition, Whittet Books
  3. Heal J., personal communication, Environmental Biology, University of Guelph
  4. Paterson S., Orrel S., Treatment of Biting Lice in Horses Using Selenium Sulphide, Eq. Vet. Educ. 1995; 11:11-28.

For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Dr. B. Wright - Veterinary Scientist, Equine and Alternative Livestock/OMAFRA
Creation Date: February 1999
Last Reviewed: February 1999

Les poux sur les chevaux

En Ontario, il est rare que les chevaux aient des poux, mais on peut se poser certaines questions sur leur traitement. Les chevaux peuvent être infectés par des poux suceurs ou des poux piqueurs. Le pou piqueur (Bovicola equi) se nourrit de cellules et de tissus qui se sont détachés de la surface de la peau. Le pou suceur ou mallophage du cheval (Haematopinus asini) se nourrit de sang. Comme les insecticides systémiques permettent d'éliminer les poux suceurs plus facilement que les poux piqueurs, il est important de savoir à quelle espèce on a affaire. Ces parasites provoquent une démangeaison intense (prurit) au niveau de la tête et de la crinière et autour de la base de la queue. Les chevaux touchés se frottent jusqu'au sang.

Les poux ne s'attaquent généralement qu'à une seule espèce. Cependant les poux piqueurs des volailles peuvent aussi s'attaquer aux chevaux si ces deux types d'animaux sont logés ensemble. Dans ce cas, les chevaux doivent être retirés du bâtiment. Si on ne retire que les volailles, les poux continuent d'infecter les chevaux à moins qu'on procède à un nettoyage en profondeur et qu'on désinfecte les locaux à l'aide d'un insecticide.

Les poux et leur cycle de vie

Les poux ont un cycle de vie assez simple qui se passe entièrement sur l'hôte (stade de l'œuf, de la nymphe et de l'adulte). Le pou piqueur mesure environ un dixième de pouce de long et il est brun noisette avec un abdomen jaune et des barres transversales foncées. Il a une forme aplatie ainsi qu'une large tête ronde et des pattes minces. Ses œufs sont fixés aux poils et éclosent au bout de cinq à dix jours. Les nymphes commencent aussitôt à se nourrir et atteignent la maturité en trois ou quatre semaines.

Le pou suceur est d'une couleur gris sale et mesure environ un huitième de pouce de long. Il a un abdomen large qui contraste avec la tête longue et étroite. Les poux suceurs sont plus répandus que les poux piqueurs, et ils provoquent une irritation plus intense. Leurs pièces buccales leur servent à percer. Lorsqu'ils sont présents en grand nombre, ils peuvent provoquer une anémie. Leurs œufs sont fixés aux poils et éclosent au bout de 11 à 20 jours. Les nymphes commencent immédiatement à sucer du sang et complètent leur cycle de vie au bout de deux à quatre semaines.

Prévention et traitement

Les poux se transmettent par contact direct entre les chevaux et par contact avec les buissons, les couvertures et les harnais contaminés. Pour assurer une prévention efficace, il faut nettoyer le matériel en profondeur avec le même insecticide qu'on emploie pour les chevaux, et le nettoyage doit être répété après deux semaines. Pour tuer les poux, les nymphes et les œufs, on peut également stériliser le matériel en le faisant bouillir ou placer les couvertures dans une sécheuse qu'on règle à la température maximale.

Les seuls produits approuvés pour le traitement des poux sur les chevaux sont les produits en poudre, la poudre pour utilisation à sec et le Sévin. Tous les autres produits sont employés indépendamment de l'étiquetage existant et, dans ce cas, le vétérinaire est tenu de les réétiqueter et de fournir un mode d'emploi (voie d'administration, fréquence, mesures de protection des personnes et des animaux).

  • Les poudres doivent être saupoudrées sur tout l'animal de façon à ce qu'elles atteignent la peau de celui-ci, ce qui peut être difficile en présence d'un long pelage d'hiver. Avant l'application, les poudres mouillables doivent être mélangées à de l'eau pour assurer un meilleur contact avec la peau. Les poudres peuvent contenir divers produits chimiques dont la roténone, le coumaphos, le carbaryl et le fenthion.
  • Les produits systémiques tels que les avermectines ne sont pas approuvés pour le traitement des poux sur les chevaux. Ils se présentent généralement sous une forme à verser ou injectable. Il faut faire preuve de prudence avant d'envisager l'emploi de produits à verser parce qu'ils sont parfois mélangés à des substances qui peuvent provoquer une réaction cutanée locale (alcool). La forme injectable peut parfois être administrée par voie orale pour le traitement des poux, mais aucune recherche n'a été publiée à ce sujet (1).
  • Produits à verser

    Les perméthrines peuvent être employées comme insecticides non systémiques à verser. On recommande une solution à 4 % pour le traitement des poux chez les ânes (2). Chez les bovins, une solution de perméthrine à 1 % s'est avérée très efficace contre les poux et une solution à 0,1 % a également donné de bons résultats contre la gale chorioptique. On peut tenter d'employer une solution de perméthrine à 0,1 % pour lutter contre les poux piqueurs chez les chevaux tout en réduisant le risque de réaction cutanée qui apparaît parfois en présence d'une solution à 1 % (3). La solution doit être appliquée sur le dos et la face. Pour assurer la meilleure efficacité possible, on recommande deux traitements à 14 jours d'intervalle.

    Les produits suivants contiennent de la perméthrine à la concentration indiquée : Coopers Delice Pour-on, 1 %; Disvap Equine, 0,1 %; Nix (pour les humains), 1 %; Siecon, 0,5 %; Vetolice, 1 %. Au besoin, on peut les diluer pour obtenir une solution à 0,1 % (3). Certains de ces produits ont un adjuvant huileux qui aura un effet désastreux si l'animal se roule dans le sable. L'étiquetage du Siecon et du Disvap Equine indique qu'ils sont destinés à protéger les chevaux des mouches.

  • Shampooings
    Le shampooing Seleen (Sanofi Animal Health) permet de lutter efficacement contre les poux chez les chevaux. Ce produit est approuvé pour le traitement de la séborrhée chez les petits animaux. Le sulfure de sélénium à 1 % a un effet antiparasitaire. Patterson signale qu'on a pu traiter les poux en faisant prendre aux chevaux trois bains au Seleen à 10 jours d'intervalle. Pour ce faire, on a employé les quantités suivantes : poneys, 150 mL; chevaux de moins de 500 kg, 300 mL; chevaux de plus de 500 kg, 450 mL (4).

Le choix du traitement dépend de la saison, de la température ambiante et du nombre de chevaux à traiter. Votre vétérinaire pourra vous indiquer la meilleure stratégie à adopter.

Références

  1. Knight P., communication personnelle, Pfizer Animal Health
  2. Svendsen E. D., The Professional Handbook of the Donkey, 3rd Edition, Whittet Books
  3. Heal J., communication personnelle, Environmental Biology, Université de Guelph
  4. Paterson S., Orrel S., Treatment of Biting Lice in Horses Using Selenium Sulphide, Eq. Vet. Educ. 1995; 11:11-28.

| Haut de la page |


Auteur : Dr Bob Wright - vétérinaire, Élevage équestre et alternatif/ MAAO
Date de création : Février 1999
Dernière révision : Février 1999

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca