Management Recommendations for
Donkeys and Mules

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Terminology
  3. Anatomical Differences Between Horses and Donkeys
  4. Behaviour
  5. Nutrition and Pasture Management
  6. Shelter
  7. Hoof Care
  8. Genetics and Breeding
  9. Parasites
  10. Vaccination
  11. Summary
  12. References
  13. Related Links


There are estimated to be 50 million donkeys (Equus asinus) and as many mules worldwide. They can be used for such applications as riding, driving, flock protection, companion, breeding, and training calves. Donkeys and mules are not small horses. They have anatomical and physiological differences compared to horses and their care requires special consideration. Structural differences compared to horses mean that they require specialized tack and harness for riding and driving (1).


Jack: Male donkey
Jennet or Jenny (both pronounced the same): Female donkey
Donkey gelding: Castrated male donkey
Mule: The offspring of the mating of a jack with a mare (female horse)
Hinny: The offspring of the mating of a stallion (male horse) with a jennet

Mature animals can be further designated into the following classifications based on height measured at the withers:
Miniature: under 36 inches
Small Standard: from 36.01 to 48 inches
Large Standard: over 48 inches and under 54 inches for females; over 48 inches and under 56 inches for jacks and geldings
Mammoth: 54 inches or over for females and 56 inches or over for male

For more information on registration guidelines, contact the Canadian Donkey and Mule Association.

Anatomical Differences Between Horses and Donkeys

A number of anatomical differences can challenge the first-time donkey owner and their veterinarian. Two of these include:

  • an obscured jugular furrow (the place where blood samples are taken or tranquilizers are given). The cutaneous coli muscle is much thicker than in the horse and hides the middle third of the jugular vein. It is easier to find the upper third of the jugular.
  • The nasolacrimal duct of the donkey is located on the flare of the nostril rather than the floor of the nostril as it is in the horse (2).


Donkeys and mules are known to be very stoic animals that are slow to show pain and discomfort. While these characteristics may be desirable in many cases, it can lead to problems identifying a sick animal.

The attributes we assign to a donkey being stubborn and having a lack of intelligence are actually from their natural responses to new experiences and logical interpretation of a situation. Being tough animals, they will kick easily and swiftly (2). Donkeys and mules are very social animals and will benefit tremendously from the companionship of other animals, such as horses, cattle, sheep or goats.

Nutrition and Pasture Management

Donkeys and mules can survive on coarser pastures than a horse. Lush pastures suitable for horses may be too rich in protein and energy and, therefore, unsuitable for donkeys. Dry matter intake of feed as a percentage of body weight should be 1.75%-2.25% to meet the metabolic demands for maintenance for most donkeys and mules. Animals that are pregnant, nursing, growing, or used for heavy work, will have additional feed requirements (rolled oats, grain, hay or pasture) above their maintenance requirements (1).

Donkeys allowed to graze freely on rich pastures may be prone to obesity, laminitis (founder) and hyperlipidemia (excess of fat in the blood). When calculating the energy demands of your donkey, it is important to know that their body weight cannot be estimated using a girth weight tape intended for horses. Body condition scoring of donkeys will also require a different mind set from that used with horses since donkeys deposit fat somewhat differently than horses.

Donkeys can be alternated with cattle and sheep on pasture. This management helps maximize pasture usage and reduces the occurrence of parasites, since the parasites are not generally shared between species (1,3). Sheep and/or cattle grazing pastures after donkeys consume the remaining grass along with hatched larvae that have migrated from stool clumps up to the grass blades. Donkeys commonly create an area where they can take dust and/or sand baths during warm weather (4).

Donkeys and mules should always have access to clean water and a salt. Loose salt is preferred over a salt block since they will consume a greater volume of loose salt than from a block, especially in below zero degree temperatures. Most animals will consume anywhere from 10 to 25 litres of water per day. Snow will not provide these animals with enough water to meet their needs. Care must be taken to ensure an unfrozen water supply in ambient temperatures below 0°C.


Donkeys and mules originated as desert animals and are well adapted to warmer climates. They can do well in cooler climates, but they do require shelters or barns in the colder and wet weather. Indoor housing or run-in sheds are needed during periods of weather extremes, especially for donkey mares and their foals. The coat of a donkey does not provide the protection needed and the foals can become chilled easily. Donkeys tend to grow longer, coarser coats that lack the protective undercoat that horses have in the winter (4).

Hoof Care

Hoof care for donkeys and mules is required every 6-8 weeks. There are differences in the conformation of the donkey hoof compared to the horse. In general, the hooves are more upright, tougher, and more elastic than those of a horse. The bulbs of the donkey hoof are less developed and the fusion of the bulbs of the heel is less complete. The heels are naturally long. The pastern angles are greater than the horse. The frog of the donkey hoof is not meant to be weight-bearing (5). Overall, mules will have varying degrees of resemblance to either donkeys or horses (6).

Genetics and Breeding

Horses have 64 chromosomes, while donkeys have 62. When horses and donkeys are mated, the mule offspring have 63 chromosomes. The gestation period in donkeys is 12 months on average, but it may vary from 11 to 14 months. Despite being considered sterile, mare mules and mare hinnies will have estrus cycles. These cycles can be regular, or erratic and variable. Female hinnies and mules can be used as embryo transfer recipients but care must be given to compatibility of donor and recipient. There have been documented cases of fertility in the female mule but not the female hinny (7). A report from Morocco indicates that a mule mare produced a foal with 62 chromosomes. The cells of the mule mare were a mosaic, some carrying 63 chromosomes while others carried 62. The foal has 62 and is believed to be fathered by a donkey. This is the fourth female mule to be confirmed to be fertile (8).

Intact male donkeys and mules can be quite "stallion-like" or aggressive in behaviour. If they are not being used for breeding purposes or as a teaser, it is highly recommended that they be castrated. Castration must be performed by a veterinarian.


Donkeys and mules can also be infested by ectoparasites (skin parasites) such as flies, lice, ticks, mites and warbles. Refer to Lice on Horses for further information.

The internal parasites that affect donkeys and mules are typical for other equid species and, therefore, the recommendations for control and treatment are those that we use for horses. However, lungworms are reported to be more common in donkeys than horses. A comprehensive parasite control program should include pasture management and environmental sanitation, and regular anthelmintic wormer administration. Performing routine fecal egg counts will help to determine the efficacy of treatment and control programs. Anthelmintics should be chosen conscientiously and their use should be rotated slowly to decrease the occurrence of resistance. A slow rotation of wormers is recommended (the same wormer over the course of a year or more). Your veterinarian can help to determine the correct parasite control program for you.


The use of horse vaccines for donkeys and mules is necessary because there are no vaccines specifically developed for them. Protocols for a vaccination program are usually adapted from those recommended for horses. The chance of adverse reactions to vaccines are assumed to be the same as in horses. It is important that donkeys and mules are vaccinated to aid in controlling the spread of disease.


The above recommendations are intended to introduce basic concepts of management for your donkey or mule. For more information on donkey, mule and horse care and management, refer to the horse secton of the website.


  1. Svendsen ED. The Professional Handbook of the Donkey. England: Sovereign Printing Group, 1989.
  2. Burnham SL. Anatomical differences of the donkey and mule. Proceedings of the 48th Annual AAEP Convention 2002: 102-109.
  3. Peregrine A. (2003) Personal communication.
  4. The Donkey. Alberta Agriculture and Rural Development
  5. Fowler J. Trimming donkey feet. Equine Veterinary Education 1995; 7: 18-21.
  6. Jackson J. Naturally shaped hooves. Mules and More 1998; 8 (12): 68-69.
  7. Taylor TS, Matthews NS, Blanchard TL. Introduction to Donkeys in the US, Elementary Assology. Texas A&M University College of Veterinary Medicine
  8. Kay G. A foal from a mule in Morocco. Vet Record 2003;152 (3): 92.

Related Links

Canadian Donkey and Mule Association

Lice on Horses

The Donkey. Alberta Agriculture and Rural Development

For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
Author: Heather McClinchey - Ontario Veterinary College/University of Guelph;Jeffrey Sankey - Ontario Veterinary College/ University of Guelph; Dr. Bob Wright - Lead Veterinarian, Equine and Alternate Species/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 01 December 2003
Last Reviewed: 01 December 2003

Recommandations pour la gestion
d'ânes et de mules


Table des matiéres

  1. Introduction
  2. Terminologie
  3. Différences anatomiques entre les chevaux et les ânes
  4. Comportement
  5. Nutrition et gestion de pâturage
  6. Abris ouverts
  7. Soin des sabots
  8. Génétique et reproduction
  9. Parasites
  10. Vaccination
  11. Résumé
  12. References

Introduction

On estime à 50 millions la population mondiale d'ânes (Equus asinus). Et il y a autant de mules. Ils peuvent servir à de telles tâches que les voyages, la conduite, la protection des troupeaux, la compagnie, la reproduction et la formation des petits. Les ânes et les mules ne sont pas de petits chevaux. Ils ont des différences anatomiques et physiologiques qui les différencient des chevaux. De plus, leur soin nécessite des considérations particulières. La preuve de ces différences structurelles en comparaison avec les chevaux est qu'ils ont besoin de selles et de harnais spéciaux pour la promenade et la conduite (1).

Terminologie

Jack : âne mâle;
Jennet ou Jenny (les deux sont prononcés de la même façon) : âne femelle;
Âne hongre : âne mâle castré;
Mule : progéniture issue de l'accouplement d'un Jack et d'une jument (cheval femelle);
Bardot : la progéniture issue de l'accouplement d'un étalon (cheval mâle) et d'une jennet;

Les animaux adultes peuvent de plus être désignés dans les classifications suivantes en fonction de leur hauteur mesurée au garrot :
Miniature : moins de 91,5 cm;
Standard petit : de 91,5 cm à 1,22 m;
Standard grand : plus de 1,22 m et moins que 1,37 m pour les femelles; plus de 1,22 m et moins que 1,4 m pour les jacks et les mâles castrés :
Mammoth : 1,37 m et plus pour la femelle et 1,42 m et plus pour le mâle.www.equistation.com
Pour plus d'informations sur les directives d'enregistrement, contactez www.equistation.com.

Différences anatomiques entre les chevaux et les ânes

Un certain nombre de différences anatomiques peuvent poser un défi pour le propriétaire dont il s'agit du premier âne et son vétérinaire. En voici deux :

  • Un sillon jugulaire caché l'endroit où sont prélevées les prises de sang et administrés les tranquillisants). Le muscle cutané du cou est beaucoup plus épais que chez le cheval et cache le tiers supérieur de la jugulaire. Il est plus facile de trouver le tiers supérieur de la veine jugulaire.
  • Le conduit nasolacrimal de l'âne est situé sur la narine plutôt que sur la base de la narine comme chez le cheval (2).

Comportement

On connaît les ânes et les mules comme des animaux très stoïques qui tardent à montrer la douleur et le malaise. Même si ces caractéristiques peuvent être désirables dans de nombreux cas, elles peuvent mener à des difficultés de diagnostic d'un animal malade.

Les attributs que nous assignons à un âne, par exemple qu'il est têtu et manque d'intelligence, sont en réalité leurs réponses naturelles à de nouvelles expériences et leur interprétation logique d'une situation. Animal robuste, il donnera un coup de pied facilement et vite (2). Les ânes et les mules sont des animaux très sociaux et profiteront énormément de la compagnie d'autres animaux, comme le cheval, le bétail, le mouton ou la chèvre.

Nutrition et gestion de pâturage

Les ânes et les mules peuvent survivre dans des pâturages plus rudes mieux qu'un cheval. Les pâturages luxuriants appropriés pour les chevaux peuvent être trop riches en protéine et en énergie et, donc, peu convenables pour les ânes. Leur consommation de matière sèche devrait se situer entre 1,75 % et 2,25 % du pourcentage de leur poids corporel pour satisfaire leurs demandes métaboliques, et ce, pour la plupart des ânes et des mules. Les bêtes enceintes, qui allaitent, en pleine croissance ou utilisés pour du travail difficile, auront des exigences alimentaires additionnelles (flocons d'avoine, grain, foin ou pâturage) à leurs besoins (1).

Les ânes pouvant brouter librement dans des pâturages riches sont sujets à l'obésité, à la laminite (le " founder ") et à l'hyperlipidémie (excès de lipides dans le sang). En calculant les demandes d'énergie de votre âne, sachez que son poids corporel ne peut pas être évalué au moyen d'une mesure du tour de taille concue pour les chevaux. L'évaluation de la condition corporelle d'un âne requerra une approche différente que celle utilisée pour les chevaux puisque les ânes entreposent la graisse un peu différemment que les chevaux.

On peut alterner entre les ânes, le bétail et le mouton sur le pâturage. Cette gestion aide à maximiser l'utilisation du pâturage et réduit la présence de parasites, puisque les parasites ne sont pas généralement les mêmes d'une espèce à l'autre (1,3). Les moutons et/ou le bétail, broutant dans les pâturages, après les ânes, peuvent consommer l'herbe qui reste ainsi que les larves écloses qui ont émigré des amas de bouse jusqu'aux brins d'herbe. Les ânes créent habituellement une zone où ils peuvent prendre des bains de poussière et/ou de sable pendant les temps chauds (4).

Les ânes et les mules doivent toujours avoir accès à de l'eau propre et à du sel. Le sel en grain est préférable à des blocs de sel puisqu'ils en consommeront un volume plus grand, particulièrement à des températures sous la barre de zéro degré Celsius. La plupart des animaux consomment entre 10 et 25 litres d'eau par jour. La neige ne fournira pas à ces animaux assez d'eau pour répondre à leurs besoins. On doit prendre soin d'assurer à ces animaux une source d'eau liquide en cas de températures ambiantes sous la barre de 0° C.

Abris ouverts

Les ânes et les mules étaient initialement des animaux de désert. Ils sont bien adaptés aux climats plus chauds. Ils peuvent bien faire aussi dans des climats froids, mais ils ont vraiment besoin d'abris ou de granges à des températures encore plus froides et humides. Les logements intérieurs ou les abris ouverts sont nécessaires pendant les périodes météorologiques extrêmes, tout spécialement pour les jennets et leurs poulains. La fourrure d'un âne ne fournit pas une protection adéquate et les poulains peuvent geler facilement. Les ânes ont tendance à avoir une fourrure plus longue et plus drue à laquelle fait défaut la couche de fond protectrice que les chevaux ont en hiver (4).

Soin des sabots

Le soin des sabots chez les ânes et les mules est requis toutes les 6-8 semaines. Il y a des différences entre le sabot de l'âne et celui du cheval. En général, les sabots sont plus verticaux, plus rudes et plus élastiques que ceux d'un cheval. Les glones d'âne sont moins développés et la fusion des bulbes du talon est moins complète. Les talons sont naturellement longs. Les angles du paturon sont plus grands que chez le cheval. La fourchette du sabot de l'âne n'a pas été conçue pour porter du poids (5). En général, les mules auront différents points de ressemblance avec les ânes ou les chevaux (6).

Génétique et reproduction

Les chevaux ont 64 chromosomes, tandis que les ânes en ont 62. Quand les chevaux et les ânes sont accouplés, le mulet possède 63 chromosomes. La période de gestation des ânes est de 12 mois en moyenne, mais elle peut varier de 11 à 14 mois. Même si elles sont généralement stériles, les mules et les hinny auront des cycles d'oestrus. Ces cycles peuvent être périodiques, ou irréguliers et variables. Les bardots et les mules femelles peuvent être utilisés comme des réceptrices de transfert embryonique, mais on doit veiller à la compatibilité du donneur et du destinataire. Il y a eu des cas documentés de fertilité chez les mules femelles, mais aucun chez le bardot femelle (7). Un rapport du Maroc indique qu'une mule jument a conçu un poulain à 62 chromosomes. Les cellules de la mule jument étaient une mosaïque, certaines avec 63 chromosomes et d'autres avec 62. Le poulain en a 62 et on croit qu'il a été engendré par un âne. C'est la quatrième mule femelle fertile recensée (8).

Des ânes et des mules mâles intacts peuvent agir tout à fait " comme des étalons " ou se comporter avec agressivité. S'ils ne sont pas utilisés pour élever à des fins de reproduction ou comme souffleur, on recommande fortement qu'ils soient castrés. La castration doit être effectuée par un vétérinaire.

Parasites

Les ânes et les mules peuvent aussi être infestés par des ectoparasites (parasites de la peau) comme les mouches, les poux, les punaises, les mites et les larves d'Hypoderma. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les poux chez les chevaux, veuillez vous référer à http://www.omafra.gov.on.ca/english/livestock/horses/facts/info_lice.htm.
Les parasites internes qui touchent les ânes et les mules sont les mêmes que pour d'autres espèces équines et, donc, les recommandations pour le contrôle et le traitement sont les mêmes que ceux utilisés pour les chevaux. Cependant, on indique que les vers parasites du poumon sont plus fréquents chez les ânes que chez les chevaux. Un programme complet de contrôle parasitaire devrait inclure la gestion de pâturage l'assainissement de l'environnement et l'administration périodique d'un vermifuge. L'exécution routinière d'un compte d'œufs fécaux aidera à déterminer l'efficacité du traitement et des programmes de contrôle. Les vermifuges devraient être choisis consciencieusement et leur utilisation devrait faire l'objet d'une rotation lente pour diminuer l'occurrence d'une résistance. On recommande une rotation lente des vermifuges (soit le même pendant un an ou plus). Votre vétérinaire vous aidera à déterminer le programme de contrôle parasitaire qui sied à vos bêtes.

Vaccination

L'utilisation de vaccins de chevaux pour les ânes et les mules est nécessaire parce qu'il n'y a aucun vaccin spécifiquement conçu pour ceux-ci. Les protocoles pour un programme de vaccination sont habituellement adaptés à partir de ceux recommandés pour les chevaux. On estime que les chances de réactions négatives sont les mêmes que pour les chevaux. Il est important que les ânes et les mules soient vaccinés pour aider à contrôler la propagation de maladies.

Résumé

Les susdites recommandations sont destinées à présenter des concepts de base de gestion d'ânes ou de mules. Pour plus d'information sur les soins des ânes, des mules et des chevaux et leur gestion, veuillez vous référer à http://www.omafra.gov.on.ca/english/livestock/index.html

References

  1. Svendsen ED. The Professional Handbook of the Donkey. England: Sovereign Printing Group, 1989.
  2. Burnham SL. Anatomical differences of the donkey and mule. Proceedings of the 48th Annual AAEP Convention 2002: 102-109.
  3. Peregrine A. (2003) Personal communication.
  4. The Donkey. Alberta Agriculture, Food and Rural Development http://www1.agric.gov.ab.ca/$department/deptdocs.nsf/all/agdex598
  5. Fowler J. Trimming donkey feet. Equine Veterinary Education 1995; 7: 18-21.
  6. Jackson J. Naturally shaped hooves. Mules and More 1998; 8 (12): 68-69.
  7. Taylor TS, Matthews NS, Blanchard TL. Introduction to Donkeys in the US, Elementary Assology. Texas A&M University College of Veterinary Medicine http://www.donkeyandmule.com
  8. Kay G. A foal from a mule in Morocco. Vet Record 2003;152 (3): 92.

| Haut de la page |


Auteur : Heather McClinchey - Collège de médecine vétérinaire de l'Ontario/Université de Guelph;Jeffrey Sankey - Collège de médecine vétérinaire de l'Ontario/Université de Guelph; Dr. Bob Wright - Prévention des maladies/Chevaux et animaux non traditionnels/ MAAARO
Date de création : 01 décembre 2003
Dernière révision : 01 décembre 2003

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca