Nutrient Management Considerations When Planning to Build a Horse Barn or Manure Storage Facility

Table of Contents

  1. Related Links

Introduction

Spring is here and some horse farm owners may be thinking about construction projects. Before obtaining a building permit, you may be required to develop or obtain a Nutrient Management Strategy (NMS) and a Nutrient Management Plan (NMP). These requirements are part of the Nutrient Management Act (2002) and the associated regulation. Funding for horse farms may be available under the Canada-Ontario Environmental Farm Plan and the Canada-Ontario Farm Stewardship Programs to complete some of these projects, as well as hire consultants for completing the NMS and NMP.

Nutrient Management Strategies and Nutrient Management Plans

The Nutrient Management Strategy sets out the environmentally acceptable methods for managing all prescribed materials generated at an agricultural or non-agricultural operation. It is a document that describes generation, storage and destination of manure and other prescribed materials. It provides information such as: number of animals, barns, manure storages, livestock yards and runoff management. The total capacity of the barns may be considered when applying for a building permit.

The Nutrient Management Plan details how manure, fertilizer and other nutrients are applied to a given land base. It is a five-year plan that details the characteristics of the land, crop rotation, as well as cropping and nutrient application practices. It optimizes the utilization of the nutrients by crops in the field and minimizes environmental impacts.

What Projects Require an Approved NMS?

On any farm, where the barn(s) will have a capacity for greater than five (5) nutrient units (NU) upon completion of construction, the following projects require an approved NMS:

  1. Expansion or construction of any building or structure used to house farm animals that requires a building permit under the Building Code Act*.
  2. Construction of any manure storage facility that requires a building permit under the Building Code Act*.
  3. Construction or excavation of any earthen manure storage (e.g., lagoon), including expansions of existing earthen storages.

* An approved NMS is also required in these situations in unorganized townships.

Nutrient Units

Nutrient units are calculated based on the number of livestock housed on a farm unit. A nutrient unit is defined as the number of animals that will give the fertilizer replacement value of the lower of; 43 kilograms of nitrogen or 55 kilograms of phosphate per year as nutrients.

The numbers of horses of various sizes that generate nutrients equivalent to or greater than five (5) NU are:

  • 4 large framed horses (mature at >1500 lbs, includes unweaned foal)
  • 5 medium framed horses (mature at 500-1500 lbs, includes unweaned foal)
  • 10 small framed horses (mature at <500 lbs; includes unweaned foal)

For farms with other livestock species and/or mixed livestock operations, call the toll-free Nutrient Management Information Line at 1-866-242-4460 or refer to the Nutrient Management section of the website.

Does this Mean I Must Document the 5-Year Crop Plan for my Farm?

Not necessarily. The five-year crop plan would be part of a nutrient management plan. Although a Nutrient Management Plan (NMP) is recommended to all farm operations that apply manure and fertilizer, only some farms that have a Nutrient Management Strategy will need to have a Nutrient Management Plan. If any of the following conditions apply, the farm must also have a NMP:

  1. Livestock numbers 300 NU in the farm unit (The NMP is kept on file on the farm.);
  2. Any part of the land in the farm unit is within 100 metres of a municipal well (NMS approved by OMAFRA and NMP is kept on file on farm.);
  3. Apply non-agricultural source material (NASM), such as biosolids, on land in the farm unit. (NMP approved by OMAFRA).

How do I get my NMS approved?

First of all, NM strategies and NM plans must be prepared by someone certified under the Nutrient Management Act (2002). There are two options for certification: 1) a farmer can take the necessary courses to be certified or 2) you can hire a certified consultant to prepare your NMS. Once your NM strategy has been prepared, it is sent to OMAFRA in Guelph for approval.

For more information on consultants, nutrient management courses, or who to contact in your area for more information on nutrient management, call the toll-free Nutrient Management Information Line at 1-866-242-4460 or refer to the Nutrient Management section of the website.

For information on the Environment Farm Plan Program and related cost share program, contact the Ontario Soil and Crop Improvement Association 1-800-265-9751, (519) 826-4214, or visit their website.

Related Links


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Peter Doris - Nutrient Management Specialist/OMAFRA
Creation Date: April 2006
Last Reviewed: June 2006

Gestion des éléments nutritifs : facteurs à considérer pour planifier la construction d'une écurie ou d'une installation d'entreposage de fumier

Introduction

Le printemps est arrivé et certains propriétaires de ferme de chevaux ont peut-être des projets de construction en tête. Avant d'obtenir un permis de construire, il se peut que vous deviez élaborer ou obtenir une stratégie de gestion des éléments nutritifs (SGEN) ou un plan de gestion des éléments nutritifs (PGEN). Ces exigences proviennent de la Loi de 2002 sur la gestion des éléments nutritifs et de ses règlements d'application. On peut obtenir une aide financière aux termes du programme relatif au Plan agro-environnemental Canada-Ontario et du Programme de gérance agroenvironnementale (Canada-Ontario) afin d'effectuer certains de ces projets et de retenir les services de consultants pour établir une SGEN ou un PGEN.

Les stratégies et les plans de gestion des éléments nutritifs

La SGEN décrit les méthodes acceptables sur le plan environnemental pour gérer les matières prescrites produites dans une exploitation agricole ou non agricole. Le document décrit la production, l'entreposage et la destination du fumier et des autres matières prescrites. Il renferme des renseignements sur le nombre d'animaux, les étables, l'entreposage du fumier, les enclos de bétail et la gestion des eaux de ruissellement. La capacité totale des étables peut être prise en considération dans la demande de permis de construire.

Le PGEN renferme des renseignements sur le mode d'application du fumier, des engrais et d'autres éléments nutritifs sur le bien-fonds. Il s'agit d'un plan quinquennal qui décrit en détail les caractéristiques du bien-fonds, la rotation des cultures et les pratiques de culture et d'application des éléments nutritifs. Il optimise l'utilisation d'éléments nutritifs par culture et minimise les incidences sur l'environnement.

Quels projets requièrent une SGEN approuvée?

Une SGEN est requise pour les projets suivants réalisés dans une ferme où les bâtiments d'élevage auront une capacité de plus de cinq (5) unités nutritives (UN) une fois la construction terminée :

  1. L'agrandissement ou la construction d'une structure ou d'un immeuble utilisé pour abriter des animaux d'élevage qui requiert l'obtention d'un permis de construire en application de la Loi sur le code du bâtiment*.
  2. La construction d'une installation d'entreposage de fumier qui requiert l'obtention d'un permis de construire en application de la Loi sur le code du bâtiment*.
  3. La construction ou l'excavation d'un site d'entreposage de fumier en terre (p. ex. un étang d'épuration), y compris l'agrandissement de telles installations.
    * Une SGEN approuvée est également requise dans ces situations dans les cantons non érigés en municipalité.

Unités nutritives

Les unités nutritives sont calculées selon le nombre d'animaux d'élevage dans une unité agricole. Une unité nutritive s'entend du nombre d'animaux qui donne à l'engrais une valeur de remplacement correspondant au moindre de 43 kilogrammes d'azote et de 55 kilogrammes de phosphate par an en tant qu'éléments nutritifs.

Le nombre de chevaux de diverses tailles qui produisent des éléments nutritifs équivalents ou supérieurs à cinq (5) UN est de :

  • 4 chevaux de grande taille (adulte, de plus de 1 500 lb, y compris poulain non sevré);
  • 5 chevaux de taille moyenne (adulte, de 500 à 1 500 lb, y compris poulain non sevré);
  • 10 chevaux de petite taille (adulte, de moins de 500 lb, y compris poulain non sevré).

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les fermes d'autres types d'animaux d'élevage ou d'animaux d'élevage mixtes, veuillez appeler sans frais la Ligne d'information sur la gestion des éléments nutritifs (1 866 242-4460) ou consulter la section sur les stratégies de production liées à la gestion des éléments nutritifs.

Dois-je documenter le plan de culture quinquennal de ma ferme?

Pas obligatoirement. Le plan de culture quinquennal devrait faire partie de votre PGEN. Même si un PGEN est recommandé pour toutes les exploitations agricoles qui épandent du fumier et des engrais, seules certaines fermes qui sont dotées d'une SGEN doivent avoir un PGEN. Si l'une des conditions suivantes s'applique, vous devez vous doter d'un PGEN :

  1. Le nombre d'animaux d'élevage de l'unité agricole équivaut à au moins 300 UN (on conserve le PGEN à la ferme).
  2. Une partie du bien-fonds de l'unité agricole est située dans un rayon de 100 m d'un puits municipal (le MAAARO approuve la SGEN et on conserve le PGEN à la ferme).
  3. Des matières de source non agricole telles des matières sèches biologiques sont épandues sur le bien-fonds de l'unité agricole (le MAAARO approuve le PGEN).

Comment faire approuver ma SGEN?

Les SGEN et les PGEN doivent d'abord être préparés par une personne certifiée en vertu de la Loi de 2002 sur la gestion des éléments nutritifs. Il y a deux options : 1) un producteur peut prendre les cours nécessaires pour obtenir la certification; 2) vous pouvez retenir les services d'un consultant certifié qui préparera votre SGEN. Une fois celle-ci terminée, on l'envoie au MAAARO à Guelph pour la faire approuver.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les consultants et les cours en gestion des éléments nutritifs ou pour savoir avec qui communiquer dans votre région pour en savoir plus, appelez sans frais la Ligne d'information sur la gestion des éléments nutritifs (1 866 242-4460) ou consultez la section sur la gestion des éléments nutritifs de notre site Web.

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur le programme relatif au Plan agro-environnemental Canada-Ontario et d'autres programmes à frais partagés, communiquez avec l'Association pour l'amélioration des sols et récoltes de l'Ontario, au 1 800 265-9751 ou au (519) 826-4214, ou visitez son site Web.


Auteur : Peter Doris - Spécialiste en gestion des éléments nutritifs/MAAARO
Date de création : 01 avil 2006
Dernière révision : 01 avil 2006

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca