Water Quality for Horses
Understanding Bacterial Counts


Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Assessing Water Quality:
    1. Total Bacteria Count
    2. Total Coliform Bacteria
    3. Fecal Coliforms

Introduction

Water used on horse farms can be supplied from a private well, a public water source, a river, pond or lake. Public water suppliers e.g. municipal water suppliers are responsible for ensuring the quality of the water being supplied to you. If you own your well, it is your responsibility to ensure water quality for you and your animals and to ensure the safety of the ground water.

Drinking water is normally tested for the presence or absence of two groups of bacteria; total coliforms and fecal coliforms. These bacteria are considered indicators of the presence of animal wastes and sewage. Fecal coliforms are present in large numbers in intestinal contents of humans and warm blooded animals. They die fairly easily once they are outside of the body. Their presence in well water indicates relatively recent contamination and a short distance of travel. Water containing f ecal coliform bacteria should not be consumed without adequate treatment e.g. boiling or disinfection (1).

The Ministry of Health provides bacterial analysis of water in Ontario. Contact your local health unit for sterile bottles and sampling and handling instructions. Water testing should be done on a regular basis at different times of the year and during different rainfall situations. If there is a problem, a more specific second test should be done to differentiate, for example, if the high coliform count is fecal coliforms from animal or human waste. Tests for specific chemicals, toxic metals, pesticides, herbicides, solvents or organic compounds can also be done.

Assessing Water Quality:

Total Bacteria Count
Water intended for livestock should have a total bacteria count of less than 200 bacteria per 100 ml. of water but, based on research literature and field experience, livestock can tolerate levels up to 1 million bacteria per 100 ml. of water (2).

Total Coliform Bacteria
The Ontario Drinking Water Objective for human consumption states that total coliform bacteria should not be present at 5 or more coliform bacteria per 100 ml. of water when using the Most Probable Number (MPN) test or Membrane Filter (MF) test and should not be present within 48 hours when using the Presence-Absence (P-A) test (3). Calves can contract scours (diarrhea) when drinking water containing coliform bacteria counts of more than 1 coliform bacteria per 100 ml. of water. However, older cattle can tolerate concentrations of 20-50 coliforms per 100 ml. of water with no adverse affects (4) (5).

Fecal Coliforms
Fecal Coliforms should not be detected in any sample for any of the above tests.
As a general recommendation, the minimum distance from any potential source of contamination, e.g. septic tank, manure storage or live animals, should be 50 feet for a drilled well and at least 100 feet for a dug well or surface water source such as a pond.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Dr. Bob Wright - Veterinary Scientist, Equine and Alternative Livestock/OMAFRA
Creation Date: November 1998
Last Reviewed: November 1998

Qualité de l'eau - comprendre le comptage bactérien

L'eau utilisée par les fermes chevalines peut provenir d'un puits privé, d'un service publiques (aqueduc), une rivière, un étage ou un lac. Les municipalités possédant un service d'aqueduc, ont la responsabilité d'assurer la qualité de l'eau qu'elles distribuent. Si vous avez un puits sur votre propriété vous êtes responsable de la qualité de l'eau utilisée pour abreuver vos chevaux.

L'eau potable est normalement analysée pour vérifier la présence de deux groupes de bactéries : les coliformes totaux et les coliformes fécaux. Ces bactéries sont un bon indicateur de la de la présence de déchets animales et de contenus d'égouts. Les coliformes fécaux sont présents en grand nombre dans le contenu intestinal des humains et les animaux à sang chaud. Les coliformes ont une vie de courte durée s'ils se retrouvent en dehors du corps. Leur présence dans puits in disque une contamination assez récente et de courte distance du puits. L'eau qui contient de coliformes fécaux ne doit pas être consommée sans un traitement adéquat (ex. 1 ébullition ou la désinfection).

Les laboratoires privés du Québec fournissent des analyses bactériennes de l'eau. Il faut les contacter pour obtenir des bouteilles stériles (ou les pharmacies) et pour toutes autres informations sur les procédures. Les analyses doivent être faites sur une base régulière a différentes périodes de l'année et lors de périodes pluviales variées. S'il y a un problème, une analyse plus spécifique est recommandée afin d'identifier si les coliformes fécaux proviennent de déchets d'humains ou d'animaux. Il y a aussi des analyses pour identifier des produits chimiques spécifiques, les métaux toxiques, les pesticides, les herbicides, les produits, solvants ou les composantes organiques.

Évaluation de la qualité le l'eau

Comptage bactérien total

L'eau utilisée pour abreuver les chevaux devrait avoir un comptage bactérien total de moins de 200 bactéries per 100 ml d'eau, mais, base sur des recherches et des expériences réelles, les animaux peuvent tolérer des niveaux jusqu'à 1,000,000 per 100 ml d'eau.

Bactérie coliforme total

L'objectif de qualité de l'eau potable pour la province de l'Ontario spécifie que le comptage no doit dépasser 5 bactéries coliformes per 100 ml d'eau lorsque l'on utilise le test « Most Probable Number (MPN) » ou le test « Membrane Filter (MF) ». On ne doit pas déceler la présence de bactéries avant 48 heurs suite à l'utilisation du test « Presence Absence (PA) ». Les veaux peuvent être atteints de diarrhée s'ils boivent de l'eau qui contient un comptage bactérien total de plus de 1 bactérie coliforme per 100 ml d'eau. Les bovins adultes tolèrent des concentrations de 20 à 50 bactéries per 100 ml d'eau sans effets défavorables.

Coliformes Fécaux

Les coliformes fécaux ne devraient pas être détectés par aucune des analyses ci haut mentionnées.

Recommandation générale : la distance minimale de toute source potentielle de contamination (ex. fosse septique, entreposage de fumier ou animaux) est de 50 pieds pour un puits creusé ou une source d'eau de surface (ex. étang).

Sommaire

  1. Analyser l'eau potable pour les humains et les animaux sur un base régulière.
  2. Si vous détectez un problème de bactéries, consulter un spécialiste en la matière qui pourrait vous conseiller.
  3. Prévenir la contamination des puits et les étangs en suivant les pratiques décrites par « Best Management Practices - Water Quality » et « Best Management Practices - Water Well » disponibles dans les bureaux d'Agriculture Ontario.

Références

  1. Water Wells & Ground Water Supplies in Ontario, Ontario Ministry of Environment and Energy, Third Printing, 1995
  2. Mantey, S., Monitor your Water Quality, Dairy Herd Management, July 1994.
  3. Farm water Supply - Water Treatment Systems, Publication 85, Ontario Ministry of Agriculture and Food
  4. Canadian Water Quality Guidelines, Environmental Quality Guidelines Division, Ottawa
  5. Rodenburg J., 1985, Water Quality Can Affect Production and Health, Ontario, Milk Producers. 62 (2) : 12-14

| Haut de la page |


Auteur : Dr. Bob Wright - scientifique vétérinaire, chevaux et animaux non traditionnels/MAAARO
Date de création : 01 novembre 1998
Dernière révision : 01 novembre 1998

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca