Potential Options for Disposal of Carcasses following Flock Depopulation

There are several options for disposal of large numbers of carcasses that meet regulatory requirements when a farm is required to depopulate because of lack of processing capacity, disease issue or market interruption. Ontario Regulation 106/09 Disposal of Dead Farm Animals specifies the requirements.

Options for mass carcass disposal include:

Option 1: Delivery to a Licensed Disposal Facility (Rendering Plant) or an Approved Waste Disposal Site by licensed hauler within 48 hours after Depopulation.

In both of these scenarios there will be cost associated with trucking the carcasses from the farm to these disposal sites. In the case of rendering plants there will also be a tipping fee cost for accepting the material and there is limited capacity to process this material so pre-booking a time and volume would be advised before undertaking the depopulation. In the case of the Landfill sites there will also be tipping fee cost for taking this material generally charged on a tonnage basis.

Licensed Disposal Facilities

Rothsay Rendering contact Kevin Debruyn: 905-975-2396, kevin.debruyn@rothsay.ca
Atwood Resources contact Tom Smith: 519-291-0418, admin.ari@xplornet.com

Landfills that will accept deadstock

Twin Creeks contact is Britt Wight: 647-328-2934, bwight@wm.com
Ridge - Jeff Mailloux: 519-796-0679, jeffrey.mailloux@wasteconnections.com
GFL Lefleche - Greg Van Loenen: 613-538-2776 ext. 223

Options #2 and #3 listed below have a number of regulatory requirements that must be adhered to. If the farmer requires consideration beyond the regulations, they must submit written application requesting an Emergency Authorization under O.Reg. 106/09. However this request must be submitted to OMAFRA 48-72 hours prior to flock depopulation event. Contact OMAFRA for further guidance, either the Agricultural Information Contact Centre: 1-877-424-1300 or Dan Carlow: 519-275-0016 dan.carlow@ontario.ca.

Option 2: Windrow Composting of the Carcasses On-farm

This has proven to be a viable option for handling large volumes of poultry carcasses following a depopulation event. See Windrow Composting factsheet. If done properly after 40-60 days, the farm will have a pile of humus-like material to land apply to crop land as a source of nutrients, (N-P-K) and organic matter.

There are several challenges to overcome with using this method:

  1. Location of windrow piles away from sensitive features like 15 m from drilled wells, 30 m from dug wells, 100 m from municipal wells, 50 m flow path from nearest watercourse or tile inlet, 200 m from neighbouring houses, 100 m from neighbouring barns, 30 m from highways, etc.
  2. Compost piles must not be located on organic soils, porous sandy soils (hydraulic soil group A or AA) nor soils having depth less than 0.9 m to bedrock. Compost piles must be located at least 6 m away from field drainage tiles.
  3. Having sufficient volume of appropriate substrate material for composting. It requires large volumes of substrate material to build absorbent base under the carcasses to prevent liquid from seeping out and to provide adequate cover over the carcasses to prevent scavenging. Appropriate substrate contains adequate carbon containing materials to achieve target Carbon: Nitrogen ratio in the pile for the aerobic microorganisms to break down. Suitable materials include cereal or bean straw, corn stover, hay or silage, wood shavings or sawdust, poultry litter or bedded horse manure. Manure from cage layer barns is not recommended as it does not have high enough carbon content and without bedding it is extremely dense so not suitable for providing aerobic environment in the pile.
  4. The windrow will need to be "turned" or inverted at least once during the process to re-blend the materials and introduce oxygen into the pile for the microorganisms to do their job of breaking down the carcasses.

Option 3: Burial of Carcasses on Farm Property

This option is strictly tied to site feasibility as location of the burial pit is contingent on soil conditions and setback distances from sensitive features to prevent contamination of groundwater since the carcasses will take a long time to breakdown. There must be minimum 0.6m (2 ft) of soil cover placed over the carcasses to prevent scavenging and backfill should be mounded over burial pit to prevent water ponding on top of pit and to account for soil settlement.

  1. Burial pits must be located more than 50 m from a drilled well, 100 m from dug well or 250 m from a municipal well, 100 m from any surface water or tile inlet and at least 6 m from any field drainage tile.
  2. Burial pits must be located at least 15 m from lot lines, 100 m from barns located on adjacent properties, 200 m from lot line of land that is in a residential area, commercial, community or institutional use.
  3. Burial pits are prohibited from being located on land that is included in the 1 in a 100-year flood plain, contains organic soils or soil that is classified as hydrologic soil group AA.
  4. The lowest point of a burial pit must be at least 0.9 m above the top of the uppermost identified bedrock layer or aquifer.

Failure to dispose of your deadstock properly will be a threat to the environment, the safety of fellow citizens, cause nuisance complaints and is a provincial offence where an Agriculture Enforcement Officer from the Ministry of Environment, Conservation and Parks has the authority to investigate and place fines for violations of Ontario Regulation 106/09 Disposal of Dead Farm Animals.

For more information on emergency disposal of on-farm deadstock please refer to these links or call the Agricultural Information Contact Centre at 1-877-42-1300:

Deadstock Disposal
Emergency Disposal of On-Farm Deadstock

 


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca

Modes d'élimination des carcasses envisageables après l'abattage de volaille

Lorsqu'une ferme doit abattre ses animaux en raison d'un manque d'infrastructure de transformation, d'un problème de maladie ou d'une interruption du marché, elle peut utiliser plusieurs méthodes réglementaires pour éliminer un grand nombre de carcasses. Le Règlement de l'Ontario 106/09 : Élimination des cadavres d'animaux d'élevage énonce les exigences.

Parmi ces modes d'élimination massive de carcasses :

Option 1 : Livraison à une installation d'élimination autorisée (usine d'équarrissage) ou à un site d'élimination des déchets autorisé par un transporteur titulaire d'un permis dans les 48 heures après l'abattage.

Dans ces deux cas, il y aura des coûts pour transporter les carcasses par camion de la ferme aux sites d'élimination. D'autre part, les usines d'équarrissage facturent une redevance pour recevoir les matières. Leur capacité étant limitée, il est conseillé de prendre rendez-vous et de préciser le volume avant d'entreprendre l'abattage. Dans le cas d'un site d'élimination des déchets, il faudra également payer une redevance de déversement de ces matières, généralement facturée sur la base du tonnage.

Installations d'élimination autorisées

Rothsay Rendering : communiquer avec Kevin Debruyn au 905 975-2396, par courriel à kevin.debruyn@rothsay.ca

Atwood Resources : communiquer avec Tom Smith au 519 291-0418, par courriel à admin.ari@xplornet.com

Décharges qui accepteront les animaux morts

Twin Creeks : communiquer avec Britt Wight au 647 328-2934, par courriel à bwight@wm.com
Ridge : communiquer avec Jeff Mailloux au 519 796-0679, par courriel à jeffrey.mailloux@wasteconnections.com

GFL Lefleche : communiquer avec Greg Van Loenen au 613 538-2776 (poste 223)

Les modes d'élimination n° 2 et n° 3 présentés ci-dessous exigent de respecter un certain nombre de dispositions réglementaires. Si l'agriculteur a des motifs pour ne pas être en mesure de se conformer au règlement, il doit présenter une demande écrite d'autorisation en raison d'une situation d'urgence en vertu du Règlement de l'Ontario106/09. Toutefois, cette demande doit être remise au MAAARO 48 à 72 heures avant l'abattage des animaux. Pour obtenir des conseils supplémentaires, communiquez avec le MAAARO, en appelant le Centre d'information agricole au 1 877 424-1300, ou Dan Carlow, au 519 275-0016 ou par courriel à dan.carlow@ontario.ca.

Option 2 : Compostage en andain des carcasses à la ferme

Cela s'est avéré être un mode d'élimination viable quand il y a une quantité importante de carcasses de volaille après un abattage. Voir la fiche technique sur le compostage en andain. Si l'opération est menée dans de bonnes conditions, l'exploitation agricole obtiendra dans les 40 à 60 jours un andain de matière ressemblant à du terreau à épandre sur les terres cultivées comme source de nutriments, (N-P-K) et de matière organique.

Cette méthode présente plusieurs défis :

  1. Une distance minimale doit séparer les andains de certains éléments sensibles : 15 m d'un puits foré à la sondeuse, 30 m d'un puits creusé, 100 m d'un puits municipal, 50 m d'une voie d'écoulement d'un cours d'eau ou de l'entrée du drain souterrain la plus proche, 200 m d'une habitation voisine, 100 m d'une grange voisine, 30 m d'une voie publique, etc.
  2. Les andains de compost ne doivent pas se trouver sur des sols organiques, des sols sableux poreux (groupe hydrologique de sols A ou AA) ou des sols dont la couche qui recouvre la roche-mère est inférieure à 0,9 m. Les andains de compost doivent être à au moins 6 m d'un drain souterrain.
  3. Il faut un volume suffisant de substrat propice au compostage. Il est nécessaire d'avoir un gros volume de substrat pour établir une base absorbante sous les carcasses qui empêchera les liquides de s'écouler, et qui recouvrira adéquatement les carcasses afin d'empêcher les charognards de les déterrer. Le substrat adéquat renferme suffisamment de matières riches en carbone pour atteindre l'objectif fixé : rapport d'azote dans l'andain pour que les micro-organismes aérobies puissent se décomposer. Les matières appropriées sont notamment la paille de céréales ou de fève, la canne de maïs, le foin ou l'ensilage, les copeaux ou la sciure de bois, la litière de volaille ou le fumier de cheval en litière. Le fumier provenant d'élevages en cage n'est pas recommandé, car sa teneur en carbone n'est pas assez élevée et, sans litière, il est extrêmement dense et ne convient donc pas pour créer un environnement aérobie dans l'andain.
  4. Il faudra retourner l'andain au moins une fois au cours du processus dans le but de mélanger à nouveau les matières et d'y faire pénétrer de l'oxygène afin que les micro-organismes puissent décomposer les carcasses.

Option 3 : Enfouissement des carcasses dans des terres agricoles

Ce mode d'élimination est strictement lié à la faisabilité du site, car l'emplacement de la fosse d'enfouissement dépend des conditions du sol et des distances de recul par rapport aux éléments sensibles pour éviter toute contamination des eaux souterraines puisque les carcasses mettront beaucoup de temps à se décomposer. Les carcasses doivent être recouvertes d'un minimum de 0,6 m (2 pi) de terre pour empêcher les charognards d'y accéder et le remblai doit former un dôme au-dessus de la fosse d'enfouissement pour empêcher l'eau de s'accumuler et prendre en compte le tassement du sol.

  1. Les fosses d'enfouissement doivent être situées à plus de 50 m d'un puits foré à la sondeuse, de 100 m d'un puits creusé, de 250 m d'un puits municipal, de 100 m d'une eau de surface ou d'un drain agricole souterrain et de 6 m d'un drain souterrain.
  2. Les fosses d'enfouissement doivent être situées à au moins 15 m de la limite du lot, 100 m d'une grange située sur un bien-fonds adjacent, 200 m de la limite d'un lot situé dans une zone résidentielle, à utilisation commerciale, communautaire ou institutionnelle.
  3. Il est interdit de creuser des fosses d'enfouissement dans une zone de crue centenaire qui renferme des sols organiques ou un sol appartenant au groupe hydrologique de sols AA.
  4. Il faut qu'il y ait au moins 0,9 m (3 pi) entre le point le plus bas de la fosse d'enfouissement et le haut de la couche supérieure identifiée de la roche-mère ou de l'aquifère.

Le fait de ne pas éliminer en bonne et due forme les animaux morts constitue une menace pour l'environnement et la sécurité des citoyens, donne lieu à des plaintes pour nuisance et constitue une infraction provinciale pour laquelle un agent du ministère de l'Environnement, de la Protection de la nature et des Parcs est habilité à enquêter et à imposer des amendes en cas d'infraction au Règlement de l'Ontario 106/09 : Élimination des cadavres d'animaux d'élevage.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'élimination des animaux morts à la ferme dans des situations d'urgence, veuillez consulter les liens suivants ou appeler le Centre d'information agricole au 1 877 424-1300.

Élimination des cadavres d'animaux

Élimination des animaux morts à la ferme dans des situations d'urgence


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca