How to Differentiate Between Coyote and Dog Predation on Sheep

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Predation or Scavenging
  3. Was It a Coyote or a Dog?
  4. Conclusion
  5. References

Introduction

The range and extent of predation on Ontario sheep has increased to the point where it threatens the viability of many operations. Ontario producers lost an average of 2,965 sheep and lambs/year to coyotes and wolves during the five year period from 2004 to 2009, losses which were compensated at $427,000/year under the Livestock, Poultry and Honeybee Protection Act. The total losses would be substantially higher, as losses attributed to feral or domestic dogs are not included, since they are compensated by the districts or municipalities. As well, animals that are killed, but not found are not included in these figures.

Identifying the cause of death is not easy, but it can be especially difficult for inexperienced sheep producers. The purpose of this factsheet is to aid producers and livestock evaluators in distinguishing between losses caused by predators and non-predator causes. If predation is the cause of death then it is particularly important to identify the species responsible so additional control measures can be implemented to minimize future losses. Heavy emphasis is placed on distinguishing between coyote predation and dog predation, since they collectively account for almost all predator related losses in Ontario flocks.

Predation or Scavenging

A dead sheep has been found. The first question which needs to be answered is whether the sheep was killed by a predator or whether it died of some other cause and the carcass was subsequently scavenged. The key clue to look for in distinguishing between predation and scavenging or carrion feeding is the presence of blood either at the point(s) of attack on the carcass or around the kill site. Bleeding can only occur before, and shortly after death. Bites made to a live animal will produce haemorrhaging which eventually shows as bruising under the skin. However haemorrhaging, and subsequently bruising will not occur on a dead animal which has been scavenged. In densely wooled sheep carcasses it may be necessary to skin the neck and head area in order to see tooth punctures and bruises.

Being opportunistic predators, coyotes often prefer lambs to adult sheep. Distinguishing a newborn lamb which has been killed by coyotes from a stillborn lamb which has been scavenged can be difficult. In order to do so, it must be determined whether the lamb breathed, drank or walked before it was eaten. Alberta Agriculture recommends looking for the following clues:

  1. Did the lamb walk? The soft membrane covering the sole of the hoof wears off quickly when the lamb begins to walk. If the membrane is still intact odds are that the lamb was stillborn.
  2. Did the newborn lamb breathe? If the animal has breathed the lungs will be pink and feel light and spongy and will float in water. The lungs of a stillborn lamb will be a dark purplish-red colour and will sink when placed in water.
  3. Did the lamb nurse? The presence of milk in the stomach is also evidence of a live birth.

If scavengers are given adequate time and opportunity to feed on the carcass, it will be virtually impossible to differentiate between predation and scavenging on an animal's carcass that died from some other cause.

Producers should also search the area where the carcass was found, for other evidence which may explain the cause of the loss. Finding predator tracks, hair or droppings near a carcass may support the theory of predation, but these findings on their own do not automatically mean that predation has occurred, as predators do often scavenge carcasses. Signs of a struggle, drag marks on the ground, broken vegetation and/or blood around the site are all strong evidence of predation. Another possible indicator of a predator attack is if the flock appears somewhat more nervous and vocal than normal.

Was It a Coyote or a Dog?

Based on the above criteria the producer has concluded that predation is the likely cause of death. But what species of predator was responsible? Fortunately each species of predator has its own predatory habits and feeding characteristics. Undoubtedly there will be some exceptions but the following guidelines should better enable individuals to distinguish between losses caused by the most significant Ontario predators, coyotes and dogs.

Time of Attack

Coyotes normally hunt at night but also have been known to kill in the early morning hours. Dogs on the other hand will attack at any time during the day or night.

Duration of Attack

Coyote attacks do not generally last very long as they are quick and competent killers. Dog attacks on the other hand tend to be longer and more drawn out as they are generally inefficient predators.

Temperament of Flock

The behaviour of the flock after an attack can be important in determining the species of predator. Since coyotes kill principally for survival, their attacks are usually quick and focused on a small number of sheep. After a kill, coyotes will eat their prey and leave the rest of the flock alone. Consequently a flock witnessing a coyote kill will not normally appear as spooked, stressed or noisy as those suffering a dog attack. After a dog attack the flock is more apt to be nervous and confused because the attack lasts longer, involves more chasing and harassing and usually involves several dogs attacking numerous sheep. As a result, there is normally a lot of commotion and confusion during and after a dog attack.

The only exception to this might be during the period from July to September when the female coyote is teaching young pups to hunt. In such cases the flock may be high-strung due to the puppy's inexperienced attack techniques.

Extent of Attack or Kill

The number of sheep killed can also reveal the predator's identity. Kills in excess of two or three animals may suggest that dogs were involved. Dogs normally attack sheep for fun, rather than food, thus their harassment frequently leads to indiscriminate mutilation. Being relatively poor killers, dogs tend to chase sheep extensively and as a result more sheep are attacked, injured or killed over a wider area than in coyote attacks.

Dog attacks often involve more than one dog whereas coyotes normally hunt alone and like most wild predators they tend to kill only what they need to survive. Usually only one or two sheep will be killed with very few sheep injured. Again the possible exception is in the late summer and early fall when the pups are accompanying the adults.

Location of Attack or Carcasses

If coyotes are responsible then the carcasses are likely to be found relatively close together, near areas with plenty of cover which provides an easy escape. Carcasses resulting from dog attacks will on the other hand tend to be scattered throughout the pasture as the sheep panic to escape.

Target Animals

Being efficient predators, coyotes will generally target the smallest, slowest and most vulnerable animals, which most often includes lambs. Dogs tend to be non-selective and will attack sheep of any age.

Attacking Behaviour

A thorough examination of the carcass or injured animal will provide key clues to narrow the predator's identity. To kill as quickly as possible, coyotes typically attack by biting sheep in the throat just behind the jaw and under the ears. They maintain a grip until the animal suffocates or dies of internal bleeding. The external puncture wounds in the throat may be difficult to see. Internal wounds will generally be a rupture of the larynx and severe subcutaneous trauma and bleeding. Coyotes seldom inflict injuries to other parts of the adult animal or carcass. Lambs will likely have bites to the head, neck and back causing extensive bone and tissue damage.

In late summer or early fall when the female coyote is teaching pups to hunt, some unusual wounds may result from the pups' inexperienced hunting techniques. At this time, bites and rips to different body areas are common. In such cases more than one sheep of a flock can be injured. However, if coyotes are the culprit, one clean kill should have occurred.

Wounds to numerous live sheep on body areas other than the head or neck are signs of dog predation. Dogs usually attack from the side or rear inflicting non-fatal wounds on various parts of the body. Frequently the skin and muscles in the flank, hindquarters and head will be ripped. Neck wounds will be superficial or severe lacerations, unlike the characteristic puncture wounds left by the teeth of a coyote. Lambs killed by dogs will have a slashed and ripped appearance. Clumps of wool lying spread around the attack area likely suggest an inefficient dog attack.

Feeding Behaviour

Coyotes generally eat their kill. They start feeding in the abdominal cavity, eating the kidney, liver and lungs. The stomach and intestines are usually pulled out, but are not normally eaten, other than the surrounding fatty tissues. After the organs have been eaten the coyote will feed on the muscle tissue of the rear quarters or the rib cage and shoulder. Reliable signs of coyote feeding include muscle tissue with ragged edges and splintered and chewn ribs. Coyotes will often rub and roll in the carcass remains then may defecate after feeding. Coyotes generally do not scatter the wool or hide around the site.

Odds are if lambs go missing, coyotes are the probable predator. Coyotes will often take smaller prey back to its den, especially during May and June when feeding its pups.

It is rare that dogs will either remove or feed on a kill. They may however chew on various parts of the carcass. If the dogs do feed they will usually eat from the outside in, generally starting around the anus area, as opposed to the coyote feeding on internal organs first. Coyotes may come back to feed on the carcass while dogs seldom return to feed off kills.

Tracks at Site

Since most kills occur on pasture there is rarely distinguishable tracks left behind. However if the ground is sandy or soft from a recent rain, tracks can distinguish the presence of either coyotes or dogs. It must be stressed however that tracks alone do not confirm that animal was the killer (Figure 1). Coyote tracks are more oval shaped and the nail marks left are less prominent than those of dogs. Coyote tracks are more uniform in size while dog tracks will vary in size according to size and weight of the dog species. Coyote tracks tend to follow a straighter line and the rear tracks follow directly in line with or on top of front tracks. A dog's rear tracks are normally slightly to one side of the front tracks.

Track samples for wolves, coyotes, foxes, and large dogs.

Figure 1. Animal tracks.

Droppings

Droppings found near the site can also help to differentiate between coyotes and domestic dogs. Hair and pieces of bone in the droppings would suggest either a coyote or feral dog. The droppings from a domestic dog receiving dog food will show no evidence of hair or bones. Coyote's droppings tend to be black, due largely to their consumption of blood, while domestic dog droppings will be brown.

Conclusion

In most instances a prompt and thorough examination of the carcass, the site and live animals associated with the attack will aid in determining whether the death was due to an accident, disease or predation. If predation is the cause of death then the producer must decide if the problem can be resolved by modifying farm management practices (i.e. pasturing closer to buildings, implementing night housing, improving dead animal disposal practices ...). If losses are extensive then the producer should consider implementing other predator control practices (use of livestock guard animals, electric fences, hunting, trapping, etc.).

References

  1. Characteristics of Coyote & Dog Predation on Sheep, Michael J. Dorrance & Lawrence D. Roy, Alberta Agriculture
  2. Get Rid of That Dang Coyote, Cattlemen, 1992
  3. Prevention and Control of Coyote Predation, Alberta Agriculture, 1987
  4. Recognize and Control Predator Attacks on Your Livestock, United Grain Growers, 1982
  5. Recognizing and Reducing Sheep Predator Losses, Iowa State University, 1981
  6. Stock Predation and Predator Control - A Brief Summary of General Characteristics of Predator Kills and Response Program, M.L. Hart, Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources, 1988
  7. Understanding the Coyote, University of Kentucky, 1995



For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 1 September 1997
Last Reviewed: 7 June 2010

Quelque chose a tué mes moutons - Mais quoi?


Table des matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Prédateur ou nécrophage
  3. Était-ce un coyote ou un chien?
  4. Conclusion
  5. Références

Introduction

L'étendue et l'importance de la prédation sur les moutons de l'Ontario ont grimpé à un taux alarmant, à tel point qu'elle menace la viabilité d'un grand nombre d'exploitations. Déterminer la cause de la mort n'est pas facile, mais cela peut être particulièrement difficile pour les producteurs d'ovins inexpérimentés. L'objectif de la présente fiche technique est d'aider les producteurs et les évaluateurs d'animaux d'élevage à faire la distinction entre les pertes causées par les prédateurs et les causes non liées à la prédation. Si la prédation est la cause de la mort, il est alors particulièrement important de déterminer l'espèce responsable afin que des mesures de contrôle supplémentaires puissent être mises en place pour réduire au minimum des pertes futures. Un accent important est mis sur la distinction entre la prédation par le coyote et la prédation par le chien, puisque ensemble elles sont responsables de presque toutes les pertes liées à la prédation dans les troupeaux de l'Ontario.

Prédateur ou nécrophage

Un mouton mort a été trouvé. La première question qui doit être résolue est de déterminer si le mouton a été tué par un prédateur ou s'il est mort d'une autre cause et la carcasse a été par la suite mangée par un nécrophage. L'indice clé à chercher au moment de faire la distinction entre le prédateur et le nécrophage ou charognard est la présence de sang, soit aux points d'attaque sur la carcasse ou aux alentours du lieu de mise à mort. Le saignement peut seulement se faire avant et peu de temps après la mort. Les morsures faites à un animal vivant produiront une hémorragie qui se présentera par la suite comme une contusion sous la peau. Cependant, l'hémorragie et, par la suite, les contusions ne se produiront pas sur un animal mort qui a été trouvé par un nécrophage. Dans les carcasses de moutons de laine épaisse, il peut être nécessaire de dégager le cou et la tête afin de voir les marques de dents et les ecchymoses.

Les coyotes, étant des prédateurs opportunistes, préfèrent souvent les agneaux aux moutons adultes. Distinguer un agneau néonate qui a été tué par des coyotes d'un agneau mort-né qui a été trouvé par un nécrophage peut être difficile. Afin de pouvoir le faire, il faut déterminer si l'agneau a respiré, bu ou marché avant d'être mangé. Alberta Agriculture recommande de chercher les indices suivants:

  1. L'agneau a-t-il marché? La douce membrane couvrant la sole de l'onglon s'use rapidement lorsque l'agneau commence à marcher. Si la membrane est encore intacte, il est probable que que l'agneau était mort-né.
  2. L'agneau néonate a-t-il respiré? Si l'animal a respiré, les poumons seront roses et sembleront légers et spongieux et flotteront sur l'eau. Les poumons d'un agneau mort-né seront d'une couleur foncée tirant sur le rouge violacé et couleront lorsque placés dans l'eau.
  3. L'agneau a-t-il été allaité? La présence de lait dans l'estomac est aussi la preuve d'une naissance vivante.

Si les nécrophages ont assez de temps et d'occasions pour se nourrir de la carcasse, il sera pratiquement impossible de faire la différence entre la prédation et la nécrophagie sur la carcasse d'un animal qui est mort d'autres causes.

Les producteurs devraient aussi inspecter l'endroit où la carcasse a été trouvée, à la recherche d'autres preuves qui pourraient expliquer la cause de la perte. La découverte de traces, de poils ou de déjections du prédateur près d'une carcasse peut appuyer la théorie de la prédation, mais ces découvertes en soi ne signifient pas automatiquement que la prédation s'est produite, puisque les prédateurs se nourrissent souvent aussi des carcasses. Des signes de lutte, des empreintes de traînage sur le sol, de la végétation cassée et/ou du sang aux alentours du site sont tous de fortes indications de prédation. Un autre indicateur possible d'une attaque par un prédateur est le comportement passablement plus nerveux et plus bruyant du troupeau.

Était-ce un coyote ou un chien?

En se fondant sur les critères susmentionnés, le producteur a conclu que la prédation est la cause probable de la mort. Mais quelle espèce de prédateur est responsable? Heureusement, chaque espèce de prédateur a ses propres habitudes de prédation et ses caractéristiques d'alimentation. Indubitablement, il y a certaines exceptions, mais les indications suivantes devraient permettre davantage aux individus de faire la distinction entre les pertes causées par les prédateurs les plus importants de l'Ontario, soit les coyotes et les chiens.

Temps de l'attaque - Les coyotes chassent normalement la nuit, mais on sait qu'ils tuent aux premières heures du jour, tandis que les chiens attaqueront à tout moment du jour ou de la nuit.

Durée de l'attaque - Les attaques des coyotes ne durent jamais très longtemps car ceux-ci sont des tueurs rapides et habiles. Les attaques des chiens ont tendance à être plus longues et plus interminables, car ces derniers sont généralement des prédateurs inefficaces.

Tempérament du troupeau - Le comportement du troupeau après une attaque peut être important pour déterminer l'espèce du prédateur. Puisque les coyotes tuent principalement à des fins de subsistance, leurs attaques sont habituellement rapides et visent un petit nombre de moutons. Après avoir tué, les coyotes mangeront leur proie et laisseront le reste du troupeau tranquille. Par conséquent, un troupeau témoin d'une mise à mort par un coyote ne semblera pas normalement aussi effrayé, stressé ou bruyant que le troupeau victime d'une attaque par un chien. Après une attaque par un chien, le troupeau a davantage tendance à être nerveux et troublé, car l'attaque dure plus longtemps, comprend plus de poursuite et de harcèlement et comprend habituellement plusieurs chiens qui attaquent de nombreux moutons. En conséquence, il y a normalement beaucoup d'agitation et de confusion durant et après une attaque par des chiens.

La seule exception à cela pourrait être pendant la période de juillet à septembre lorsque le coyote femelle enseigne à ses petits comment chasser. Dans tels cas, le troupeau peut être nerveux en raison des techniques d'attaque inexpérimentées des jeunes coyotes.

Importance de l'attaque ou de la mise à mort - Le nombre de moutons tués peut aussi révéler l'identité du prédateur. Plus de deux ou trois moutons tués peut suggérer que des chiens étaient les agresseurs. Normalement, les chiens attaquent les moutons pour s'amuser plutôt que pour se nourrir; leur harcèlement mène donc fréquemment à des mutilations sans discrimination. Les chiens, étant relativement de piètres tueurs, tendent à poursuivre de manière prolongée les moutons, ce qui fait qu'un plus grand nombre de moutons sont attaqués, blessés ou tués dans une aire plus grande que dans le cas d'attaques par des coyotes.

Les attaques par des chiens comprennent souvent plus d'un chien alors que les coyotes chassent normalement seuls et que, comme tout prédateur sauvage, ils ont tendance à tuer seulement ce dont ils ont besoin pour assurer leur survie. Habituellement, seulement un ou deux moutons seront tués, et très peu de moutons seront blessés. Encore une fois, l'exception possible se présente à la fin de l'été et au début de l'automne lorsque les jeunes coyotes accompagnent les adultes.

Lieu de l'attaque ou emplacement des carcasses - Si les coyotes sont responsables, alors les carcasses seront plus probablement trouvées l'une près de l'autre, près d'aires ayant un couvert abondant permettant une fuite facile. Cependant, les carcasses résultant des attaques par des chiens auront tendance à être dispersées dans tout le lieu de pâture, car les moutons paniquent pour s'échapper.

Animaux ciblés - Étant des prédateurs efficaces, les coyotes auront généralement pour cible les animaux les plus petits, les plus lents et les plus vulnérables, lesquels incluent, la plupart du temps, les agneaux. Les chiens ont tendance à ne pas être sélectifs et attaqueront des moutons de tout âge.

Comportement d'attaque - Un examen approfondi de la carcasse ou de l'animal blessé fournira des indices clés permettant de cerner l'identité possible du prédateur. Pour tuer aussi rapidement que possible, les coyotes attaquent d'habitude en mordant le mouton dans la gorge juste derrière la mâchoire et sous les oreilles. Ils maintiennent cette prise jusqu'à ce que l'animal suffoque ou meurt de saignement interne. Les plaies punctiformes externes dans la gorge peuvent être difficiles à voir. Les blessures internes consisteront généralement en une rupture du larynx et en de graves trauma et saignement sous-cutanés. Les coyotes infligent rarement des blessures à d'autres parties de l'animal adulte ou de la carcasse. Les agneaux auront des morsures à la tête, au cou et au dos causant des dommages importants aux os et aux tissus.

À la fin de l'été ou au début de l'automne, lorsque le coyote femelle enseigne à ses petits à chasser, certaines blessures inhabituelles peuvent résulter des techniques de chasse inexpérimentées des jeunes coyotes. À ce moment-là, les morsures et les déchirures sur différentes parties du corps sont communes. Dans de tels cas, plus d'un mouton d'un troupeau peut être blessé. Toutefois, si les coyotes sont les coupables, une mise à mort propre devrait s'être produite.

Les blessures sur de nombreux moutons vivants à des parties du corps autres que la tête ou le cou sont des signes de prédation de chiens. Les chiens attaquent habituellement du côté ou d'en arrière, infligeant des blessures non mortelles sur différentes parties du corps. Fréquemment, la peau et les muscles du flanc, de l'arrière-train et de la tête seront déchirés. Les blessures au cou seront superficielles ou consisteront en de graves lacérations, contrairement aux plaies punctiformes caractéristiques laissées par les dents d'un coyote. Les agneaux tués par des chiens auront une apparence tailladée et en lambeaux. Des touffes de laine se trouvant aux alentours de l'aire d'attaque témoigneront possiblement d'une attaque inefficace par des chiens.

Comportement d'alimentation - Les coyotes mangent généralement leur proie. Ils commencent à se nourrir dans la cavité abdominale, mangeant le rein, le foie et les poumons. L'estomac et les intestins sont habituellement retirés, mais ne sont pas normalement mangés, à l'exception des tissus de gras environnants. Après que les organes aient été mangés, le coyote se nourrira des tissus musculaires des quartiers arrières ou de la cage thoracique et des épaules. Des signes fiables de nourrissage du coyote incluent le tissu musculaire aux bords en lambeaux et des côtes brisées et mâchonnées. Les coyotes souvent se frotteront et se rouleront dans les restes de la carcasse, puis peuvent déféquer après s'être nourris. Les coyotes généralement ne dispersent pas la laine ou ne se cachent pas aux alentours du site.

Il est fort possible que si des agneaux sont disparus, les coyotes sont les prédateurs probables. Les coyotes ramèneront souvent leurs plus petites proies dans leur repaire, particulièrement durant mai et juin lorsqu'ils nourrissent les petits.

Il est rare que les chiens emportent leurs victimes ou s'en nourriront. Ils peuvent cependant mâchonner diverses parties de la carcasse. Si les chiens se nourrissent, ils le feront normalement de la périphérie vers le centre, généralement en commençant dans la région de l'anus, contrairement au coyote qui se nourrit des organes internes en premier. Les coyotes peuvent revenir se nourrir de la carcasse, alors que les chiens reviennent rarement se nourrir de leurs victimes.

Traces sur le site - Puisque la plupart des moutons tués le sont sur le lieu de pâture, il y reste rarement des traces reconnaissables. Toutefois, si le sol est sableux ou mou à la suite d'une pluie récente, les traces peuvent permettre de discerner la présence de coyotes ou de chiens. Il doit être souligné cependant que les traces à elles seules ne confirment pas que l'animal était le tueur (Figure 1). Les traces des coyotes sont de forme plus ovales, et les traces d'ongles laissées sont moins prononcées que celles des chiens. Les traces des coyotes sont plus uniformes en grandeur, alors que les traces des chiens varieront en grandeur selon la taille et le poids de l'espèce du chien. Les traces des coyotes ont tendance à suivre une ligne plus droite et les traces arrières suivent directement en ligne avec les traces avant ou sont par-dessus celles-ci. Les traces arrières d'un chien sont normalement quelque peu sur un côté des traces avant.

Déjections - Les déjections trouvées près du site peuvent aussi aider à établir la différence entre les coyotes et les chiens domestiques. Le poil et les parties d'os dans les déjections indiqueraient un coyote ou un chien sauvage. Les déjections d'un chien domestique qui reçoit de la nourriture pour chiens ne montreront aucun signe de poil ou d'os. Les déjections des coyotes ont tendance à être noires, grandement en raison de leur consommation de sang, alors que les déjections des chiens domestiques seront de couleur brune.

Conclusion

Dans la plupart des cas, un examen rapide et approfondi de la carcasse, du lieu et des animaux vivants associés à l'attaque aidera à déterminer si la mort a été causée par un accident, par une maladie ou par la prédation. Si la prédation est la cause de la mort, le producteur doit alors décider si le problème peut être réglé en modifiant les pratiques de gestion agricole (c.-à-d. pâturage plus près des bâtiments, établissement d'un logement de nuit, amélioration des pratiques d'élimination des animaux morts, etc.). Si les pertes sont considérables, le producteur devrait alors considérer mettre en oeuvre d'autres pratiques de contrôle des prédateurs (utilisation d'animaux de garde du bétail, clôtures électriques, chasse, piégeage, etc.).

Figure 1. Traces des animaux

Image illustrant la trace du loup (5 pouces), du coyote (3 pouces), du renard roux (2 1/2 pouces) et du chien domestique (4 pouces)

Références

Characteristics of Coyote & Dog Predation on Sheep, Michael J. Dorrance et Lawrence D. Roy, Alberta Agriculture.

Get Rid of That Dang Coyote, Cattlemen, 1992.

Prevention and Control of Coyote Predation, Alberta Agriculture, 1987.

Recognize and Control Predator Attacks on Your Livestock, United Grain Growers, 1982.

Recognizing and Reducing Sheep Predator Losses, Iowa State University, 1981.

Stock Predation and Predator Control - A Brief Summary of General Characteristics of Predator Kills and Response Program, M.L. Hart, Ministère des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario, 1988.

Understanding the Coyote, University of Kentucky, 1995.


Auteur : Brian Tapscott - Spécialiste de l'élevage d'animaux non traditionnels/MAAARO
Date de création : 8 décembre 2016
Dernière révision : 20 April 2010

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca