Feed Sheep Hay First

Sheep are ruminant animals; this makes it possible for them to consume and utilize roughage or highly fibrous feeds. Animals with simple stomachs (pigs or dogs) are not capable of fully digesting fibrous plant material such as hay. However, the ruminant animal can digest more complex carbohydrates such as cellulose that is the major component of the fibre in hay. The microbes that inhabit the rumen of the sheep can break down the fibre and make the energy, protein and other plant components available to the sheep. It is very important that the microbial populations in the rumen are maintained at a proper level to ensure efficient breakdown of the roughage (hay) consumed by the sheep. Furthermore, much of the protein absorbed by the sheep is in the form of microbial protein. Therefore, the microbial populations in the rumen are continually being replaced. When the hay is fed in relation to when the grain ration is fed will affect the growth of microbes in the rumen and affect the ability of the microbial population to break down fibre and supply microbial protein to the ewe.

When hay is eaten by the ewe, large amounts of saliva are secreted. This saliva is basic (high pH) and creates an environment in the rumen to encourage the growth of microbial populations that will digest the fibre in the hay. The saliva also acts as a buffer to control the pH in the rumen from dropping too low. When the rumen pH becomes acidic, the microbes needed for efficient digestion of the forage are killed. If the pH in the rumen falls too low, the ewe will become ill and suffer from acidosis, commonly known as grain or rumen overload.

When grain is fed to the ewe, it creates an environment in the rumen that is acid (low pH). If too much grain is fed at one time or if grain is consumed by the ewe into a rumen that has not been buffered with the ewe’s saliva, grain overload or acidosis can occur. When large amounts of grain are being fed, it is important that the rumen is properly buffered. A large amount of grain would be in excess of one pound per feeding. The rumen can be properly buffered by feeding part of the total hay consumed by the ewe to her before feeding grain. I would recommend the ewes consume hay for about 30 to 45 minutes before feeding grain. By allowing the ewe to eat hay before feeding grain a drop in rumen pH can be avoided. By feeding hay first, the forage in the rumen will break down more efficiently because the pH is maintained at the proper level to promote regeneration of microbial populations. Carbohydrates supplied by grain provide energy for microbial regeneration.

By improving the efficiency of fibre breakdown, the amount of total dry matter intake (DMI) can be increased. When DMI is increased, the amount of crude protein and TDN (energy) for the ewe is increased. This increase in nutrients should result in increased production. This increase in production is important in late gestation and during lactation. Improving DMI in late gestation, helps prevent pregnancy toxaemia and reduce the number of stillborn lambs. If DMI can be increased during lactation, the production of milk will increase and this translates to improved 50 day lamb weights. Body condition should also be more easily maintained during lactation; this may improve conception rates for ewes on an accelerated lambing program because less time will be required to get the ewe into breeding condition after weaning.

By feeding hay first, an environment in the rumen is created to promote proper microbial growth, the efficiency of fibre breakdown is improved, dry matter intakes are increased, and the risk of grain overload will be reduced. The consumption of more nutrients by the ewe will improve the production of lamb and wool and hopefully improve the profit per ewe per year.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Bill McCutcheon - Sheep Specialist/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 1 March 1991
Last Reviewed: 11 February 2010

Donner d'abord du foin

Les moutons sont des animaux ruminants, ce qui leur permet de consommer et d'utiliser le fourrage grossier ou des aliments hautement fibreux. Les animaux dotés d'estomac simple (cochons ou chiens) sont incapables de digérer entièrement les plantes fibreuses comme le foin. Par contre, l'animal ruminant peut digérer des glucides plus complexes, comme la cellulose qui est le composant principal de la fibre du foin. Les microbes qui vivent dans la panse du mouton peuvent transformer la fibre et mettre l'énergie, la protéine et les autres constituants de la plante à la disposition du mouton. Il est très important de maintenir la flore microbienne dans la panse à un niveau qui assure la transformation efficace du fourrage grossier (foin) consommé par le mouton. De plus, la protéine absorbée par le mouton est en grande partie sous forme de protéine microbienne. Par conséquent, la flore microbienne est continuellement remplacée dans la panse. La proportion de foin par rapport au grain influencera la croissance des microbes dans la panse et la capacité de la flore microbienne à transformer la fibre et fournir la protéine microbienne à la brebis.

De grandes quantités de salive sont sécrétées quand la brebis mange du foin. Cette salive est basique (pH haut) et crée un milieu dans la panse qui favorise la croissance de la flore microbienne qui digèrera la fibre du foin. La salive agit aussi comme tampon pour contrôler le pH dans la panse et l'empêcher de descendre trop bas. Quand le pH de la panse devient acide, les microbes nécessaires à la bonne digestion du fourrage sont tués. Si le pH de la panse descend trop bas, la brebis devient malade et souffre d'acidose, communément appelée surcharge de la panse ou surcharge par le grain.

Quand la brebis mange du grain, il se crée dans la panse un milieu acide (pH bas). Une acidose ou une surcharge par le grain peut se produire si trop de grain est donné en même temps ou si le grain arrive dans une panse qui n'a pas été tamponnée par la salive de la brebis. Quand de grandes quantités de grain sont données à manger à la brebis, il importe que la panse soit bien tamponnée. Plus d'une livre par ration constitue une grande quantité de grain. On peut adéquatement tamponner la panse en donnant à manger à la brebis une partie de la quantité totale de foin avant de lui donner du grain. Je suggère que les brebis consomment du foin pendant environ 30 à 45 minutes avant de recevoir du grain. On peut éviter une baisse du pH dans la panse en permettant à la brebis de manger du foin avant le grain. En donnant d'abord du foin, la transformation du fourrage dans la panse est plus efficace parce que le pH est maintenu à un niveau adéquat pour promouvoir la régénération de la flore microbienne. Les glucides contenus dans le grain fournissent l'énergie nécessaire à la régénération microbienne.

En améliorant la transformation de la fibre, on peut augmenter l'ingestion totale de matières sèches (IMS). Quand l'IMS augmente, il en va de même pour les protéines brutes et les MDT (énergie). Cette augmentation des nutriments entraîne une plus grande production. Cet accroissement de la production joue un rôle important à la fin de la gestation et durant la lactation. L'amélioration de l'IMS en fin de gestation aide à prévenir la toxémie de gestation et réduire le nombre d'agneaux mort-nés. Si l'IMS peut être augmentée durant la lactation, la production de lait s'intensifie, ce qui se traduit par un meilleur poids de l'agneau à 50 jours. Il est aussi plus facile de maintenir la forme physique durant la lactation; ceci peut améliorer les taux de conception des brebis soumises à un programme d'agnelage accéléré parce qu'il faut moins de temps pour amener la brebis en condition d'accouplement après le sevrage.

Le fait de donner d'abord du foin crée dans la panse un milieu qui favorise une bonne croissance microbienne, améliore la transformation de la fibre, augmente l'ingestion de matières sèches et réduit le risque de surcharge par le grain. La consommation d'une plus grande quantité de nutriments par la brebis améliorera la production d'agneau et de laine et, espérons-le, le profit annuel par brebis.


Auteur : Bill McCutcheon - spécialiste des moutons/MAAARO
Date de création : 01 mars 1991
Dernière révision : 11 février 2010

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca