Creep Feeding

The challenge of moving a pig from a diet of sow milk to solid food has been looked at from many perspectives. Over time, it becomes apparent that how successful you are in making the change happen has a lot to do with how much attention you pay to the details. It is understood that exposing piglets to creep feed early, at 7 – 10 days, several times a day, is a good start.

The detail emerging is that the feed should either be fed in a feeder, or on a mat that is clean and free of all odours. If feed in a stainless steel dish smells like dried disinfectant, it will not be as readily eaten as feed in a stainless dish that has been rinsed in water, allowed to dry and has no smell. Once feed is in the dish, it is best changed three times a day and replaced with fresh feed. Leaving it until it is gone or adding more is not acceptable. Have you ever eaten three meals off the same plate for a day without washing it?

The feed itself should be highly palatable. It can be improved by sprinkling dry powdered milk on the feed to improve its smell. Part of palatability means the feed must be soft enough to chew by the animal eating it. This means the feed particles must be small enough to be picked up by the tongue and soft enough to be chewed without causing discomfort to the animal’s mouth.

The feeder should be of a design that allows easy access by the pig, stays relatively clean and can be locked to a mounting bracket inside the creep area. Any feeders contaminated with urine or feces should be replaced at the next feeding with a clean feeder. The natural inclination of a pig is to root or look for feed from a flat floor surface. Most feeders are designed to take advantage of this behaviour.

The creep feed that is supplied when the litters are still on the sow should be continued into the weaning process for the length of time recommended by the feed supplier.

While all this is nothing new to most producers, the attention paid to the details of doing it well, consistently and correctly do make a significant difference in pig performance.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Ed Barrie - Swine Sow, Nursery Specialist/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 01 October 2002
Last Reviewed: 16 February 2016

Alimentation de tout premier âge

C'est un défi qui a été examiné de diverses façons : comment amener le porcelet allaité par sa mère à des aliments solides. Avec le temps, il devient apparent que la façon d'y arriver avec succès passe par une grande attention aux détails. C'est évidemment un bon début d'exposer les porcelets à une alimentation complémentaire dès le plus jeune âge, comme de 7 à 10 jours, plusieurs fois par jour.

Premier détail à souligner, les aliments doivent être présentés dans une mangeoire ou sur un tapis propre et sans odeur. Si des aliments sentent le désinfectant séché dans leur plat en inox, ils ne seront pas consommés aussi volontiers que dans un bol qui a été rincé à l'eau, séché et qui est inodore. Une fois que la ration est dans le bol, il faut en changer trois fois par jour et la remplacer par des aliments frais. Évitez de laisser les aliments tels quels tant qu'ils ne sont pas mangés, ou d'en rajouter. Seriez-vous tenté de manger vos trois repas de la journée dans la même assiette sans la laver?

Les aliments doivent être attirants pour les porcelets. Ils seront plus alléchants si on les saupoudre de lait en poudre pour en améliorer l'odeur. Pour plaire, les aliments doivent aussi être assez tendres pour que l'animal puisse les mâcher. Il faut des morceaux d'aliments assez petits pour que l'animal puisse les prendre avec la langue, et assez tendres pour être mâchés sans que le porcelet ne ressente d'inconfort en bouche.

Le distributeur d'aliments doit offrir au porcelet un accès facile, être maintenu relativement propre et pouvoir être monté sur un support de fixation dans le compartiment de dérobée. Il faut remplacer tout distributeur d'aliment qui est souillé d'urine ou de matières fécales par un autre qui est propre. L'inclination naturelle d'un porc est de chercher les aliments sur une surface plane au sol. La plupart des distributeurs sont conçus pour répondre à ce comportement.

Les aliments de tout premier âge qui sont donnés pendant que la portée est encore allaitée par la mère doivent être fournis pendant le sevrage pour la durée indiquée par le fabricant.

Les éleveurs sont déjà au fait de ce qui précède, mais il est bon de rappeler l'importance de l'attention portée aux menus détails et de s'assurer de bien faire les choses, de façon constante. C'est ce qui fait toute la différence dans la performance des porcs.


Auteur : Ed Barrie - Swine Sow, Nursery Specialist/OMAFRA
Date de création : 01 October 2002
Dernière révision : 16 février 2016

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca