Dry Sows Looking for Satisfaction

The modern gestating sow has a problem we can all identify with - she really likes to eat but, at the same time, has to watch her weight. Restricting feed intake in gestating sows is necessary to limit excessive weight gain and fat deposition, stimulate lactation feed intake and increase overall sow productivity. However, limit feeding does not allow the sow the chance to feel full or satisfied after eating and can lead to frustration and, ultimately, stereotypic behaviours. Given the opportunity, a sow would voluntarily eat almost twice the amount of feed that she receives.

Normally a hormone, cholecystokinin, signals the end to feeding behaviour. However, when meal size is small, this hormone may not reach high enough levels to trigger. Without this trigger, the sow has the motivation to continue eating after the feed is gone. In response, she will often engage in stereotypic feeding activities such as rubbing the feeder, biting bars, chewing, playing with the water nipple, or drinking in an attempt to get that satisfaction.

Skip-a-day feeding is a common practice in modern swine production that may help address this situation. Recent research in Iowa has taken this idea one step further and looked at feeding once every third day. Researchers compared sows being fed a 12% corn-soybean meal ration either 2 kg daily or 6 kg once every third day. The weight gain of sows on the 2 regimens did not differ.

Table 1 summarizes some of the more interesting results from the experiment. Overall, behaviour observations suggested the large meal fed to interval-fed sows decreased feeding motivation and arousal substantially. Despite the length of time between feedings, the interval-fed sows did not compensate for the lack of feed on non-feed days with excessive water consumption. In contrast, daily-fed sows spent more time exhibiting a wide range of behaviours, such as sham chewing, drinking or playing with the drinker. The researchers suggested that these behaviours can result in increased energy expenditure by a magnitude of 40%, which likely increases the nutrient requirements needed to maintain body weight and condition.


Table 1. Effect of feeding regimen on sow activity, behaviour and water consumption

  Sow Group
Daily Fed Interval Fed
Activity (% of time)
Standing
19.9
12.7
Active
26.7
15.8
Inactive
73.2
84.1
Behaviour (during 2 hours following feeding)

Consumption/Searching

Eating
10.15
1.69

Licking

9.68
2.53
Drinking
8.84
4.21
Sham chewing
36.89
8.75
Bar biting
0.74
0.75
Rubbing
0.59
0.79
Water Consumption (L)
Day of feeding
11.58
14.40
Day after feeding
-
6.54
Day before feeding
-
4.56
Average
11.58
8.50


Based on this research, it is clear that interval feeding is one management practice that can be used to increase the sow's level of satisfaction after feeding. Another option is the inclusion of low-energy nutrients or roughage to increase satiety without the risk of increasing weight gain during gestation.

Researchers in France have shown that feeding fibrous diets can reduce feeding motivation and the resulting behaviours. Sows were fed wheat-barley-soybean meal diets containing increasing levels of sunflower meal, wheat bran, sugar beet pulp, soybean hulls and corn gluten feed to achieve crude fiber levels of 3.3, 10.6 and 18.14%. Sows fed high levels of fiber ate slower, taking three times longer to eat their meals, and were quieter between meals.

Regardless of the diet received, overall the sows were engaged in oral activity (feeding and non-feeding) for the same length of time. For sows fed the low fiber diet, this meant that they spent more time exhibiting stereotypic feeding behaviours, such as licking and bar biting. The researchers did note that substrates in the sow's environment, such as straw bedding, can provide a supplementary source of fiber and potentially alter the nature of the behaviours exhibited.

Research has clearly shown that feeding regimen has a strong impact on feeding motivation in dry sows. Although it remains to be confirmed, it is assumed that this reduction in feeding motivation improves animal welfare. This is definitely a step in the right direction for the sow in search of satisfaction. However, the consequences of interval-feeding and fibrous feeding regimens need to be evaluated further to assess impacts on reproductive parameters and subsequent litters, as well as possible environmental consequences.

Sources

Douglas, M.W., Cunnick, J.E., Pekas, J.C., Zimmerman, D.R., and von Borell, E.H. 1998. Impact of feeding regimen on behavioral and physiological indicators for feeding motivation and satiety, immune function, and performance of gestating sows. J. Anim. Sci. 76:2589-2595.

Ramonet, Y., Meunier-Salaun, M.C., and Dourmad, J.Y. 1999. High-fiber diets in pregnant sows: Digestive utilization and effects on the behavior of the animals. J. Anim. Sci. 77:591-599.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Greg Simpson - Swine Nutritionist/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 18 August 2000
Last Reviewed: 29 Febuary 2012

Truies taries recherchent satisfaction!

De nos jours la truie en gestation connaît un problème semblable à plusieurs d'entre nous : elle aime manger mais elle doit surveiller son poids. Il faut restreindre la quantité d'aliments ingérés par la truie en gestation pour limiter un gain de poids excessif et un excès de gras, stimuler l'ingestion de la ration de lactation et augmenter la productivité globale de l'animal. Toutefois, quand sa ration est limitée la truie n'a pas l'impression d'avoir bien mangé et elle ne se sent pas rassasiée, ce qui donne lieu à de la frustration et au bout du compte, à des comportements stéréotypés. Si elle en avait l'occasion, une truie pourrait dévorer presque deux fois la quantité de ration qu'elle reçoit.


En temps normal, une hormone, la cholécystokinine, signale la fin du comportement d'alimentation. Toutefois, si le repas est léger, cette hormone n'atteint pas un seuil assez élevé pour se déclencher. Or sans ce déclencheur, la truie continue de vouloir s'alimenter même après avoir consommé sa ration. Elle réagit souvent en s'adonnant à des activités d'alimentation stéréotypées comme se frotter contre la mangeoire, mordre les barreaux, mâcher, jouer avec la tétine d'eau ou boire, pour tenter d'obtenir satisfaction.


De nos jours dans la production porcine on nourrit habituellement les animaux une fois tous les deux jours, ce qui est une façon de parer à la situation. En Iowa récemment des chercheurs sont passés à une autre étape en nourrissant les truies une fois aux trois jours. Ils ont comparé des truies qui recevaient une ration de pâtée à 12 % de maïs soya au rythme de 2 kg chaque jour, ou encore de 6 kg une fois aux trois jours. Le gain de poids des truies soumises à ces deux régimes n'était pas différent.


Le tableau 1 résume les résultats les plus intéressants de cette expérience. De manière générale selon les observations du comportement, le fait de donner aux truies un gros repas par intervalle diminuait substantiellement leur motivation à se nourrir et à l'éveil. Malgré le temps écoulé entre les rations, les truies nourries par intervalle n'ont pas compensé leur manque en consommant une quantité d'eau excessive les jours sans ration. En comparaison, les truies nourries chaque jour consacraient plus de temps à toute une gamme de comportements : ruminer dans le vide, boire ou jouer avec l'abreuvoir. Les chercheurs ont indiqué que ces comportements accroissent la dépense d'énergie jusqu'à 40 %, ce qui augmente les besoins alimentaires nécessaires pour maintenir le poids corporel et la bonne forme.

Tableau 1. Effet du régime alimentaire sur l'activité des truies, leur comportement et leur consommation d'eau

 
Groupe de truies Alimentées chaque jour
Groupe de truies Alimentées par intervalle
Activité (% de temps)
Être debout
19,9
12,7
Être active
26,7
15,8
Être inactive
73,2
84,1
Comportement (2 heures après avoir mangé)
Consomme ou cherche

à manger

10,15
1,69
à lécher
9,68
2,53
Boire
8,84
4,21
Ruminer dans le vide
36,89
8,75
Mâcher les barreaux
0,74
0,75
Se frotter
0,59
0,79
Consommation d'eau (L)
Jour de la ration
11,58
14,40
Lendemain de la ration
-
6,54
Jour précédant la ration
-
4,56
Moyenne
11,58
8,50

 


Selon cette recherche, il est clair que de nourrir les truies par intervalle permet d'augmenter leur niveau de satisfaction après qu'elles aient mangé. On pourrait aussi inclure des éléments nutritifs moins caloriques ou du fourrage grossier pour une plus grande impression de satiété, sans risque d'augmenter le gain de poids pendant la gestation.


En France les chercheurs ont démontré qu'en donnant des rations plus fibreuses, on peut réduire la motivation de manger et les comportements qui en résultent. Les truies ont reçu des pâtées composées de blé orge soya, avec des teneurs plus élevées de tourteau de tournesol, de son de blé, de pulpe de betteraves, d'enveloppes de soya et de gluten de maïs, pour atteindre des teneurs en fibres brutes de 3,3, 10,6 et 18,14 %. Les truies qui ont reçu les pâtées à hautes teneurs en fibre ont mangé plus lentement, mettant trois fois plus longtemps à consommer leur ration, et elles étaient plus calmes entre les repas.


Peu importe la ration qu'elles avaient reçu, de façon générale les truies s'adonnaient à des activités orales (alimentaires ou non) pour la même durée. Pour les truies ayant reçu la ration à faible teneur en fibres, cela voulait dire plus de temps consacré à des comportements stéréotypés comme lécher et mordre les barreaux. Les chercheurs ont signalé que la présence de substrats comme de la paille dans l'environnement de la truie, représente une source supplémentaire de fibres et peut potentiellement changer la nature des comportements adoptés.


La recherche a clairement démontré que les intervalles auxquels on nourrit les truies influent fortement sur la motivation des truies taries. Même si cet élément reste à confirmer, on présume que cette réduction de la motivation à s'alimenter améliore le bien-être animal. C'est clairement un pas dans la bonne direction pour une plus grande satisfaction des truies. Toutefois, les conséquences de l'adoption d'intervalles d'alimentation différents et le fait de donner des aliments à plus haute teneur en fibres doivent être analysés plus avant pour mieux en connaître les impacts sur les paramètres reproductifs et les portées subséquentes, de même que les effets possibles sur l'environnement.


Références


Douglas, M.W., Cunnick, J.E., Pekas, J.C., Zimmerman, D.R., and von Borell, E.H. 1998. Impact of feeding regimen on behavioral and physiological indicators for feeding motivation and satiety, immune function, and performance of gestating sows. J. Anim. Sci. 76:2589-2595.

Ramonet, Y., Meunier-Salaun, M.C., and Dourmad, J.Y. 1999. High-fiber diets in pregnant sows: Digestive utilization and effects on the behavior of the animals. J. Anim. Sci. 77:591-599.


Auteur : Greg Simpson - Spécialiste de la nutrition des porcs/MAAARO
Date de création : 18 August 2000
Dernière révision : 29 février 2012

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca