Gilts Are More Sensitive to Vomitoxin Than Barrows

The incidence of Fusarium infestation in cereal crops in western Canada has been increasing over the past few years. Fusarium-infected grains produce a toxic metabolite commonly known as vomitoxin. Consuming vomitoxin-contaminated rations can lead to significant reductions in feed intake and reduced pig performance. Generally accepted guidelines suggest that vomitoxin in complete swine rations be maintained at levels under 1 ppm. Faced with a growing supply of contaminated grain, researchers at the University of Manitoba undertook a study to examine the impact of low levels of vomitoxin on feed consumption, weight gain, and carcass parameters of growing-finishing pigs.

The experiment involved 144 pigs (average starting weight of 23 kg) fed a simple barley-based diet containing either 0, 1 or 2 ppm vomitoxin. The different ration concentrations were achieved by diluting contaminated barley with clean, vomitoxin-free barley. The pigs were raised to 110 kg market weight. The results are summarized in Table 1. As expected, vomitoxin depressed feed intake by approximately seven per cent at the 2 ppm level. However, average daily gain and feed conversion were virtually unaffected by treatment.

The most interesting finding from the experiment related to differences between barrows and gilts in the time it took for each to reach market weight. Amazingly enough, the barrows tolerated the vomitoxin-contaminated rations very well and grew at the same rate regardless of treatment. In contrast, the gilts reacted negatively to the vomitoxin treatments. Higher levels of dietary vomitoxin resulted in increased days to 110 kg and there was also a much greater variation in marketing times for gilts receiving the higher vomitoxin levels. Gilts consuming the 2 ppm treatment took as much as two weeks longer to reach market weight compared to the control. The researchers are intrigued by these sex effects of vomitoxin and are in the process of exploring this relationship further.

The researchers also examined carcass quality and found that, as long as pigs were marketed at as close to 110 kg as possible, there was no effect of vomitoxin on carcass weight, index or backfat thickness. They did note, however, that in both barrows and gilts, pigs receiving the diets containing 1 and 2 ppm vomitoxin tended to receive higher loin premiums. Barrows on the 2 ppm vomitoxin diet returned, on average, $0.57 more per pig than barrows receiving 0 ppm vomitoxin diets, with gilts achieving $0.73 more per pig. The researchers hope to do some further experiments to gain some insight into the mechanisms involved in vomitoxin's effects on carcass quality.

The researchers hope their findings will eventually help to refine feeding programs so that effective strategies can be developed to use vomitoxin contaminated grains for gilts. In the meantime, the results to date suggest that the use of split-sex feeding may allow producers to take advantage of using available vomitoxin-contaminated grains in their feeding programs for barrows. Ongoing research into the impact of vomitoxin on feed intake, performance and carcass characteristics, working alongside initiatives to decontaminate vomitoxin-contaminated grains, will help to ensure that producers can take advantage of local sources of feed grains on-farm.

Table 1. Effect of Vomitoxin-Contaminated Barley on Pig Performance

Parameter

Vomitoxin Level in Diet

0 ppm

1 ppm

2 ppm

Average Daily Feed Intake (kg/day)

2.38

2.29

2.20

Average Daily Gain (kg/day)

0.82

0.83

0.80

Feed Conversion

0.35

0.36

0.36

Days to Market (110 kg)

Barrows

159.2

159.3

158.2

Gilts

167.6

171.6

180.4

   

Source: Jim House, David Abramson, Gary Crow, and Martin Nyachoti. Can I Use Vomitoxin-Contaminated Barley to Feed my Pigs? Manitoba Swine Update, Volume 14, No. 2, April 2002.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Greg Simpson - Swine Nutritionist/OMAFRA
Creation Date: October 2002
Last Reviewed: 29 Febuary 2012

Les jeunes truies sont plus sensibles aux vomitoxines que les castrats


L'incidence des infestations de Fusarium dans les cultures de céréales dans l'Ouest du Canada augmente ces dernières années. Les grains de céréales infectés au Fusarium produisent un métabolite toxique appelé communément vomitoxine. L'ingestion de rations contaminées aux vomitoxines peut réduire de façon significative la consommation alimentaire et la performance des porcs. Des pratiques généralement acceptées suggèrent que l'on maintienne les vomitoxines dans les rations complètes des porcs à des taux inférieurs à 1 ppm. Étant donné un plus grand approvisionnement en grains contaminés, les chercheurs de l'Université du Manitoba ont entrepris une étude sur l'impact de faibles niveaux de vomitoxines sur la consommation alimentaire, le gain de poids et les paramètres de classement des carcasses des porcs en croissance finition.

L'expérience s'est déroulée avec 144 porcs (poids de départ moyen de 23 kg) nourris d'une simple ration à base d'orge avec des teneurs de 0, 1 ou 2 ppm de vomitoxine. Les rations de différentes concentrations ont été obtenues en diluant de l'orge contaminée avec de l'orge propre sans vomitoxine. Les porcs ont été engraissés à un poids de marché de 110 kg. Les résultats sont donnés au tableau 1. Comme prévu, les vomitoxines ont réduit l'ingestion d'aliments d'environ sept pour cent à une teneur de 2 ppm. Toutefois, le gain moyen quotidien et la conversion alimentaire ont été virtuellement inchangés par le traitement.


Le résultat le plus intéressant est lié aux différences entre les castrats et les jeunes truies dans le temps nécessaire pour atteindre leur poids de marché. Les chercheurs ont été surpris que les castrats tolèrent très bien les rations contaminées aux vomitoxines et montrent un même gain de poids peu importe le traitement. Par opposition les traitements avec vomitoxine ont provoqué une réaction négative chez les cochettes. De plus hautes teneurs en vomitoxine alimentaire ont augmenté le nombre de jours nécessaire pour atteindre 110 kg et il y avait plus de variation dans le temps nécessaire pour atteindre le poids de vente chez les jeunes truies nourries avec les rations contenant plus de vomitoxine. Les cochettes qui ont consommé le traitement à une teneur de 2 ppm ont mis jusqu'à deux semaines de plus pour atteindre leur poids de marché comparé au groupe témoin. Les chercheurs sont perplexes devant ces effets différents selon le sexe et continuent d'explorer ces liens.

Les experts ont aussi examiné la qualité des carcasses et ils ont trouvé que, aussi longtemps que les porcs étaient vendus à un poids le plus près possible de 110 kg, les vomitoxines n'avaient pas d'effet sur le poids, l'indice de gras ou son épaisseur. Ils ont remarqué cependant que dans les deux cas, cochettes et castrats soumis aux rations contenant 1 et 2 ppm de vomitoxine avaient tendance à recevoir un prix plus élevé pour la longe. Les castrats soumis au régime avec 2 ppm de vomitoxine ont reçu en moyenne 0,57 $ de plus par porc que ceux qui avaient consommé la ration avec 0 ppm de vomitoxine, les jeunes truies recevant 0,73 $ de plus par porc. Les chercheurs comptent poursuivre avec d'autres expériences pour mieux comprendre les mécanismes qui sont reliés aux effets de la vomitoxine sur la qualité des carcasses.

Les chercheurs espèrent que ces résultats leur permettent éventuellement de raffiner les programmes alimentaires pour des stratégies plus efficaces permettant d'utiliser des grains contaminés à la vomitoxine dans les programmes d'alimentation des jeunes truies. D'ici là, les résultats à ce jours indiquent que les éleveurs pourraient tirer avantage de l'inclusion possible de grains contaminés à la vomitoxine en ayant recours à une alimentation selon le sexe, et tirer parti à l'heure actuelle dans leurs programmes alimentaires des grains disponibles qui sont contaminés. La recherche se poursuit visant l'impact des vomitoxines sur l'ingestion alimentaire, les caractéristiques de carcasse et la performance, en parallèle avec des initiatives visant à décontaminer les grains contenant des vomitoxines, ce qui permettrait aux éleveurs de s'approvisionner auprès des ressources locales de céréales fourragères sur la ferme.

Table 1. Effet de l'orge contaminé aux vomitoxines sur la performance des porcs

Paramètre Teneur en vomitoxines dans la ration
  0 ppm 1 ppm 2 ppm
Ingestion quotidienne moyenne (kg/jour) 2,38 2,29 2,20
Gain de poids quotidien moyen (kg/jour) 0,82 0,83 0,80
Conversion alimentaire 0,35 0,36 0,36      
Jours pour atteindre le poids de marché (110 kg)
Castrats 159,2 159,3 158,2
Cochettes 167,6 171,6 180,4

Source : Jim House, David Abramson, Gary Crow, and Martin Nyachoti. Can I Use Vomitoxin-Contaminated Barley to Feed my Pigs? Manitoba Swine Update, Volume 14, No. 2, April 2002.


Auteur : Greg Simpson - Spécialiste de la nutrition des porcs/MAAARO
Date de création : octobre 2002
Dernière révision : 29 février 2012

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca