Feeding Value of Low Test Weight Corn for Pigs

As we move into November and continue to see corn standing in the fields waiting for harvest, concern grows for the quality and quantity of our Ontario corn crop. What will this mean for swine producers?

Depending on the corn’s maturity at the time of the first frost and the intensity of the freeze, the impact on the quality and quantity of the corn will vary. Table 1 demonstrates the relative maturity of corn, the estimated percent moisture and crude protein of the grain at each stage, as well as an estimate of the test weight of the grain if a killing frost occurred at various points in the crop’s maturity.

Table 1. Corn characteristics at different stages of development.
Stage

Moisture (%)

Protein (%)

Test Weight (lbs/bu)

Early milk

75-80

6-13

35

Early dough
60-65
10.5
47
Mid-dent
50-55
7-9
55
Maturity
25-40
7-9
58

Because low test weight corn has a lower feed value than normal corn, it can be severely docked at the elevator. As a result, producers are inclined to try to find ways of using this low test weight corn in their own feeding programs. Surprisingly, considering the prevalence of this issue, there has not been a lot of research into the feeding value of low test weight corn for pigs.

Based on current knowledge, corn test weight does not significantly affect pig growth until it drops below 45 lbs/bu. As test weight declines below 45 lbs/bu, digestible energy decreases by 5-6 % and as a result, feed efficiency and growth rate will also suffer (3-10%) because of reduced energy intake. Research has shown that adding 2-3% oil or fat to diets made with very low test weight corn (below 45 lbs/bu) will help improve performance, but it will not return it to the level achieved with normal test weight corn (56 lbs/bu).

Besides energy, the level of lysine and crude protein is likely to be lower in very low test weight corn because the corn has not had the chance to completely assimilate amino acids. In addition, the crude protein value in very low test weight corn is extremely variable and should be determined. Corn with test weights above 45 lbs/bu may also have variable crude protein content; however, normal published averages for lysine (0.25%) should be relatively constant. Another concern with frost damaged corn is the potential for mycotoxins, specifically vomitoxin and zearalenone, to develop. When immature grain is frozen, the grain moisture is extremely high and if the killing frost is followed by several days of warm summer-type weather (21 °C), the conditions in the field would be perfect for molds to grow.

Feed companies adjust their product ingredient formulas to compensate in bad years when corn has a lower nutritive value. On farm feed mixers must adjust their own rations to compensate as well.

To deal with low test weight corn, producers should:

  • Test corn for moisture and protein.
  • Determine bushel weight of corn at 15% moisture.
  • Balance rations to account for differences in protein, energy and moisture.
  • Recalibrate volumetric mix mills to compensate for lower bushel weights.

Table 2 provides an estimate of the weight of low grade corn needed to provide the same energy as 1 kg of 56 lbs/bu corn. These guidelines can be used to reformulate rations.

Table 2. Feed weight adjustments for low grade corn.

Bushel Weight (lbs)

Kg required to equal 1 kg 56 lbs/bu corn

56
1.000
55
1.004
54
1.009
53
1.013
52
1.017
51
1.022
50
1.026
49
1.030
48
1.035
47
1.039
46
1.044
45
1.049
44
1.053
43
1.058
42
1.063

Example calculation

Reformulate mix of 800 kg corn (56 lbs/bu) + 200 kg soybean meal (SBM) with 50 lbs/bu corn.

Calculate amount of corn needed to provide identical amount of energy:

            800 kg x 1.026 = 820.8 kg

Reformulate mix = 820.8 kg corn + 200 kg SBM = 1020.8 kg mix

On a 1000 kg basis, new mix would contain:

        820.8/1020.8 x 1000 = 804 kg corn

        200/1020.8 x 1000 = 196 kg SBM

Sources

McBride, G. 1992. Feeding value of low bushel weight corn. OMAF Adverse Weather File.

Richert, B. 1996. Feeding value of immature, low-test weight corn and soybeans for swine.

Purdue Crop and Livestock Update.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Greg Simpson - Swine Nutritionist/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 15 September 2000
Last Reviewed: 29 Febuary 2012

Valeur nutritive du maïs d'un faible poids spécifique pour les porcs

 

À l'approche de novembre quand nous voyons du maïs non encore récolté dans les champs, nous sommes préoccupés par la qualité et la quantité de la récolte du maïs en Ontario. Que dire aussi des répercussions pour les producteurs de porcs?

Selon le degré de maturité atteint par le maïs au moment du premier gel et l'intensité du gel, l'impact sur la qualité et la quantité du maïs récolté varie. Le tableau 1 présente la maturité relative du maïs, les pourcentages estimés d'humidité et de protéine brute à chaque stade de développement du grain, ainsi qu'une évaluation du poids au boisseau du grain advenant qu'une gelée meurtrière survienne aux divers stades de maturité de la culture.

 

Tableau 1. Caractéristiques aux différents stades de développement du maïs

Stade Humidité (%) Protéine (%) Poids spécifique (lb/boisseau)
Début du stade laiteux
75-80
6-13
35
Début du stade pâteux
60-65
10.5
47
Mi stade d'entaille des grains
50-55
7-9
55
Maturité
25-40
7-9
58


Comme le maïs dont le poids spécifique est plus faible possède une valeur nutritive moindre que le maïs normal, il peut être sévèrement déclassé à l'élévateur. Les producteurs auront donc tendance à vouloir utiliser ce maïs de faible poids spécifique dans leurs propres programmes de nutrition. Étonnamment, si on considère la prévalence de cette question par le passé, il y a eu relativement peu de recherches sur la valeur nutritive du maïs à faible poids spécifique chez les porcs.

Selon les connaissances actuelles, le poids spécifique du maïs n'affecte pas beaucoup la croissance des porcs jusqu'à ce qu'il passe sous les 45 lb/boisseau. À mesure que le poids spécifique baisse sous les 45 lb/boisseau, l'énergie digestible diminue de 5-6 % et par conséquent, la conversion alimentaire et le taux de croissance s'en ressentent (3-10 %) à cause d'un apport en énergie moindre. Des chercheurs ont indiqué que l'ajout environ 2 à 3 % d'huile ou de gras aux régimes composés de maïs de très faible poids spécifique (sous les 45 lb/boisseau) peut améliorer la performance, mais ne la ramène pas aux niveaux qui sont atteints avec du maïs de poids spécifique normal (56 lb/boisseau).

Outre l'énergie, les niveaux de lysine et de protéine brute seront moindres dans le maïs de faible poids spécifique parce que le maïs n'a pas eu le temps d'assimiler complètement les acides aminés. De plus, la teneur en protéine brute du maïs à très faible poids spécifique est extrêmement variable et doit être évaluée. Le maïs de poids spécifique supérieur à 45 lb/boisseau peut avoir aussi des teneurs variables en protéine brute; toutefois, les moyennes normales publiées pour la lysine (0,25 %) devraient être relativement constantes. Dans le cas du maïs endommagé par le gel, il faut tenir compte de la présence possible de mycotoxines, particulièrement la vomitoxine et la zéaralenone. Si les grains gèlent avant d'atteindre la maturité, la teneur en humidité est extrêmement élevée et si la gelée meurtrière est suivie de quelques jours de temps chaud estival (21 °C), les conditions au champ favorisent la croissance de moisissures.

Les fournisseurs d'aliments pour animaux adaptent la composition des ingrédients pour compenser les mauvaises années où le maïs a perdu de sa valeur nutritive. Les producteurs qui effectuent eux-mêmes leurs mélanges doivent adapter leurs propres rations pour aussi compenser.

Quand le maïs a un faible poids spécifique, le producteur doit :

  • mesurer les teneurs en humidité et en protéine;
  • déterminer le poids au boisseau du maïs à 15 % d'humidité;
  • équilibrer les rations pour tenir compte des différences en protéine, en énergie et en humidité;
  • calibrer les broyeurs distributeurs volumétriques pour tenir compte de poids au boisseau plus faibles.

Le tableau 2 donne une estimation du poids de maïs de grade inférieur nécessaire pour fournir la même énergie que 1 kg de maïs de 56 lb/boisseau. Ces lignes de conduite peuvent servir à reformuler les rations.

Tableau 2. Réglages à effectuer dans le poids des aliments pour le maïs de grade inférieur

Poids au boisseau (lb) Kg nécessaire pour l'équivalent de 1 kg de maïs d'un poids de 56 lb/boisseau
56
1,000
55
1,004
54
1,009
53
1,013
52
1,017
51
1,022
50
1,026
49
1,030
48
1,035
47
1,039
46
1,044
45
1,049
44
1,053
43
1,058
42
1,063


Exemple de calcul

Reformuler un mélange de 800 kg de maïs (56 lb/boisseau) + 200 kg de tourteau de soya (TS) avec du maïs d'un poids de 50 lb/boisseau.

Pour calculer la quantité de maïs nécessaire pour fournir une quantité identique d'énergie :
800 kg x 1,026 = 820,8 kg


Reformuler le mélange = 820,8 kg de maïs + 200 kg de TS = 1 020,8 kg de mélange
Pour 1 000 kg de nouveau mélange, il faudrait :

820,8/1 020,8 x 1000 = 804 kg de maïs
200/1 020,8 x 1000 = 196 kg de TS

 

Sources

  1. McBride, G. 1992. Feeding value of low bushel weight corn. OMAF Adverse Weather File.
  2. Richert, B. 1996. Feeding value of immature, low-test weight corn and soybeans for swine.
  3. Purdue Crop and Livestock Update.

Auteur : Greg Simpson - Spécialiste de la nutrition des porcs/MAAARO
Date de création : 15 septembre 2000
Dernière révision : 29 février 2012

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca