Shedding Some Light on Newly-Weaned Pigs

Weaning is one of the most stressful times in a pig's life. Not only does it mean big adjustments in social, thermal and physical environment, but it also means a huge change in diet form and composition. As a result, piglets often suffer from poor feed intakes and performance during this initial period following weaning, until they are able to adapt. To reduce stress during this period, many different techniques have been tried to encourage pigs to consume dry feed and to stimulate the development of digestive capacity. The goal is to minimize the potential for postweaning health problems, like diarrhea, and mortality.

Researchers have recently demonstrated that the majority of newly-weaned pigs do not start eating when it is dark. Armed with this information, the same researchers decided to investigate whether or not a prolonged period of light could stimulate feed intake during the first days of weaning. Forty 4-week-old crossbred weanling barrows, weighing approximately 8 kg, were randomly allotted to one of two lighting schedules for two weeks - 8 hours light:16 hours darkness or 23 hours light:1 hour darkness. The pigs were allowed ad libitum access to water and a commercial weaner ration for the duration of the experiment. Table 1 summarizes some of the performance results.

Lighting schedule did not affect the timing of the first visit to the feeder, or subsequent first feed intake, by newly-weaned pigs. However, this study showed that performance of weanling pigs is strongly affected by the lighting schedule used in the weaner room. A prolonged photoperiod (23 hours vs. 8 hours within a 24-hour period) resulted in an increase in feed intake and average daily gain (Table 1), as well as increased metabolizability of energy and decreased energy requirements for maintenance. Metabolizability refers to the ratio between metabolizable energy and gross energy intake.

The researchers suggested that pigs housed in the shorter photoperiod might have required more energy for recovery of the gut wall. Consequently, pigs that were exposed to a prolonged photoperiod were able to retain more energy and protein for growth and development. These effects were most pronounced during the second week after weaning. Considering performance and energy metabolism as a direct reflection of the health of the weanling pig, this study provides some clues for the use of lighting schedules within weaner rooms to optimize postweaning health and performance.

Table 1a. Growth performance of weanling pigs under different lighting schedules in Average Daily Feed Intake, g/d

Parameter

Lighting Schedule

8L:16D*

23L:1D**

Number of Pigs

20

20

Week 1

121

140

Week 2

302a

418B

Total Period

218a

289B

 

Table 1b. Growth performance of weanling pigs under different lighting schedules in Average Daily Gain, g/d

Parameter

Lighting Schedule

8L:16D*

23L:1D**

Number of Pigs

20

20

Week 1

97

117

Week 2

240a

381B

Total Period

173a

258B

 

Table 1c. Growth performance of weanling pigs under different lighting schedules in Gain:Feed

Parameter

Lighting Schedule

8L:16D*

23L:1D**

Number of Pigs

20

20

Week 1

0.67

0.85

Week 2

0.79

0.92

Total Period

0.78

0.90

* 8L:16D = 8 hours of light followed by 16 hours of darkness; ** 23L:1D = 23 hours of light followed by 1 hour of darkness

a,b = Within a row, means without a common superscript letter differ (P<0.05)

Source: Bruininx, E.M.A.M. et al. 2002. A prolonged photoperiod improves feed intake and energy metabolism of weanling pigs. J. Anim. Sci. 80: 1736-1745.


For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
E-mail: ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Author: Greg Simpson - Swine Nutritionist/OMAFRA
Creation Date: 01 April 2003
Last Reviewed: 29 Febuary 2012

Un peu de lumière sur les porcelets nouvellement sevrés

Le sevrage constitue l'un des moments les plus stressants de la vie du porcelet. C'est non seulement synonyme d'adaptation à un environnement physique, thermique et social, mais aussi un énorme changement dans la forme et dans la composition du régime alimentaire. En conséquence, les porcelets ont souvent une ingestion limitée de leur ration et une mauvaise performance pendant la période initiale qui suit le sevrage jusqu'à ce qu'ils soient capables de s'adapter. Pour réduire le stress pendant cette période, on a essayé différentes techniques pour encourager les porcelets à consommer des granulés secs et stimuler le développement de la capacité digestive. Le but visé est de réduire le potentiel de problèmes de santé post-sevrage comme la diarrhée, et la mortalité.

Des chercheurs ont récemment démontré que la majorité des porcelets nouvellement sevrés ne commencent pas à manger quand il fait noir. Armés de cette information, les chercheurs ont voulu savoir si une période prolongée de lumière pouvait stimuler l'ingestion d'aliments pendant les premiers jours du sevrage. Pour ce faire, on a soumis au hasard quarante porcelets sevrés castrés issus de croisement âgés de quatre semaines, d'un poids d'environ 8 kg, à deux calendriers d'éclairage pendant deux semaines : 8 heures d'éclairage et 16 heures de noirceur, ou 23 heures d'éclairage et 1 heure de noirceur. Les porcelets avaient accès à de l'eau à volonté et à une ration de sevrage du commerce pour toute la durée de l'expérience. On trouve au tableau 1 le résumé des résultats de la performance.

L'horaire d'éclairage n'a pas affecté le moment de la première visite à la mangeoire, ni la première ingestion de ration subséquente des porcelets nouvellement sevrés. Toutefois, l'étude a indiqué que la performance des porcelets sevrés est fortement affectée par l'horaire de l'éclairage utilisé dans l'unité de sevrage. Une photopériode prolongée (de 23 heures par opposition à 8 heures sur une période de 24 heures) a eu pour effet d'augmenter l'ingestion d'aliments et le gain quotidien moyen (voir tableau 1), d'accroître la quantité d'énergie métabolisable et de diminuer les besoins énergétiques nécessaires au maintien. La métabolisation se réfère au ratio entre l'énergie métabolisable et l'apport d'énergie brute.

Les chercheurs ont indiqué que les porcelets soumis à la photopériode plus courte auraient eu besoin de plus d'énergie pour la récupération de la paroi intestinale. Par conséquent, les porcelets exposés à une photopériode prolongée disposaient de plus d'énergie et de protéines à consacrer à leur croissance et à leur développement. Ces effets étaient plus prononcés pendant la deuxième semaine après le sevrage. En considérant la performance et le métabolisme énergétique comme le reflet direct de la santé des porcelets sevrés, cette étude fournit des pistes quant à l'usage de l'éclairage au sein des unités de sevrage pour optimiser la santé et la performance après le sevrage.

Tableau 1a. Performance de croissance des porcelets sevrés sous différents horaires d'éclairage selon l'ingestion moyenne quotidienne, g/j
Paramètre
Horaire d'éclairage
8É:16N*
23É:1N**
Nombre de porcelets
20
20
1ère semaine
121
140
2e semaine
302a
418b
Total pour la période
218a
289b
Tableau 1b. Performance de croissance des porcelets sevrés sous différents horaires d'éclairage selon le gain moyen quotidien, g/j
Paramètre
Horaire d'éclairage
8É:16N*
23É:1N**
Nombre de porcelets
20
20
1ère semaine
97
117
2e semaine
240a
381b
Total pour la période
173a
258b
Table 1c. Performance de croissance des porcelets sevrés sous différents horaires d'éclairage selon le ratio gain:ration
Paramètre
Horaire d'éclairage
8É:16N*
23É:1N**
Nombre de porcelets
20
20
1ère semaine
0,67
0,85
2e semaine
0,79
0,92
Total pour la période
0,78
0,90

* 8É:16N = 8 heures d'éclairage suivies de 16 heures de noirceur; ** 23É:1N = 23 heures d'éclairage suivies d'une heure de noirceur
a,b = dans la même rangée, signifie que statistiquement les résultats sont significatifs (P<0,05)
Référence : Bruininx, E.M.A.M. et al. 2002. A prolonged photoperiod improves feed intake and energy metabolism of weanling pigs. J. Anim. Sci. 80: 1736-1745

 


Auteur : Greg Simpson - Spécialiste de la nutrition des porcs/MAAARO
Date de création : 01 avril 2003
Dernière révision : 29 février 2012

Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca