Non-Agricultural Source Materials (NASM)

Table of Contents

  1. What are Non-Agricultural Source Materials?
  2. The benefits of using NASM
  3. NASM categories
  4. Land application practices
  5. Specific information for municipalities that receive NASM
  6. Additional information
    1. Web pages
    2. Factsheets
    3. Regulatory information
  7. Roles of provincial ministries
  8. Contact information
  9. Disclaimer

What are Non-agricultural Source Materials?

Non-Agricultural Source Material, or NASM, is treated and recycled material from non-agricultural sources, like leaf and yard waste, fruit and vegetable peels, food processing waste, pulp and paper biosolids and sewage biosolids, that is applied to agricultural land to provide a beneficial use. A full list of materials that are considered NASM can be found in Schedule 4 of the Nutrient Management Regulation.

NASM does not include compost that meets the standards for Category AA or A outlined in Part II of the Ontario Compost Quality Standards. It also does not include untreated septage or commercial fertilizers.

The regulation, under the Nutrient Management Act, 2002, provides the rules for the storage, sampling, analysis and land application of NASM.

The benefits of using NASM

NASM has been applied to Ontario farmland for more than 30 years. It provides organic matter that can help maintain soil productivity, reduce soil erosion and adds valuable nutrients to soil for crops. Public health and the environment are protected when NASM is applied according to Ontario's rules and guidelines.

NASM provides an additional cost-effective option for improving soil quality and for fertilizing crops. For example, compared to the cost of buying commercial fertilizers, farmers can save as much as $200 a hectare by applying NASM, depending on the crop grown, the type of NASM used and the management practice for applying the material.

NASM Catagories

The regulation establishes consistent standards and requirements for using and managing NASM. These standards and requirements apply to anyone in Ontario who generates or uses NASM. The standards focus on the nature of the material being land applied, ensuring it meets strict criteria and provides a benefit to the farmer.

NASM is classified under one of three categories. The NASM in each of the categories can be applied to agricultural land.

  • Category 1: e.g. Leaf and yard waste that has not been composted
  • Category 2: e.g. organic waste matter that contains no meat or fish and is derived from food processing at a bakery
  • Category 3: e.g. pulp and paper biosolids, paunch manure and sewage biosolids

The land application standards vary based on the category and other qualities of the NASM being applied.

NASM cannot be land applied if it has any of these characteristics:

  • the content of a regulated metal exceeds CM2 NASM
  • the content of E. coli exceeds that of CP2 NASM
  • the odour detection threshold exceeds that of OC3

Land application standards and practices

There are a number of land application standards and practices that make sure NASM is land applied in an environmentally responsible way. The standards and practices limit where, when, how and how much NASM can be applied in a particular set of circumstances, and are enforced by the Ministry of the Environment and Climate Change (MOECC). They are good management practices that allow the farmer to use the NASM while protecting land and water from potentially harmful environmental impacts.

Agricultural soils where NASM will be applied must first be tested for soil pH, phosphorus and the concentration levels of 11 regulated metals. Testing makes sure that the soil is appropriate to receive NASM.

When applying NASM to land, farmers must stay a safe distance away from sensitive features, such as wells, surface water, and neighbouring homes and businesses, and must consider land characteristics, such as surface slopes and depth of soil to bedrock. Sometimes the material must be incorporated into the soil in order to prevent odours and the flow of the NASM off of the field. Farmers always have to make sure that they are applying the right amount of NASM appropriate for the material that they are applying, the crop that they are growing and the soil.

Some crops are better suited for receiving NASM than others. There are mandatory pre-harvest and pre-grazing periods for certain crops.

For Category 2 and 3 NASM, land application standards must be documented in a NASM Plan. A NASM Plan is a legal document that demonstrates that the application of NASM is done correctly. It considers site-specific information and demonstrates that the application rates of NASM and other nutrients are appropriate for the crops being grown. It also includes a contingency plan that outlines what can be done in the event of an emergency, such as a spill. NASM Plans must be prepared by a certified NASM Plan developer, and must comply with the regulation, the Nutrient Management Protocol, the NASM Odour Guide and the Sampling and Analysis Protocol. Most NASM plans must be approved by the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA).

Specific information for municipalities that receive NASM

Once a NASM Plan is approved, OMAFRA will notify the local municipality (lower or single tier) that an application site has been approved to accept NASM. The notification is sent to the Clerk and is circulated as needed.

Additional information

The following resources provide more specific information about NASM:

Web pages


Regulatory information:

Roles of provincial ministries

The act and the regulation are administered by MOECC and OMAFRA. Environmental protection is a top priority for both ministries.

  • OMAFRA is responsible for the approvals, training, certification and education activities required for the safe application of NASM.
  • OMAFRA notifies the local municipality (lower or single tier) when any NASM Plan within its jurisdiction is approved.
  • MOECC is responsible for enforcing compliance with the regulation.
  • MOECC does proactive inspections and responds to complaints of NASM land application activities to ensure compliance with the regulatory standards and protection of the environment. If an adverse effect occurs or may occur, or if a discharge may impair water quality, the Environmental Protection Act and/or the Ontario Water Resources Act may apply. Any concerns about compliance with land application standards can be referred to MOECC.

Contact information

For information about NASM training, certification and education, visit the University of Guelph Ridgetown Campus's website. For more information about NASM, visit the OMAFRA website or contact OMAFRA's Agricultural Information Contact Centre at 1-877-424-1300 or

For information about compliance and enforcement, visit MOECC's website, or call 1-800-565-4923.


The information contained on this page is not authoritative. It is derived from the Nutrient Management Act, 2002 (NMA) and its General Regulation (O. Reg. 267/03) and is for informational purposes only. Efforts have been made to make it as accurate as possible, but in the event of a conflict, inconsistency or error, the requirements set out in the NMA and the regulation take precedence. Please refer to e-Laws for what the NMA and the regulation actually provide. In addition, there may be additional legal obligations under different pieces of Legislation which are not the subject of this informational web page. The Government of Ontario assumes no liability for any inaccurate or incomplete information, nor for any actions taken in reliance thereon. Prior to implementing any changes to your operations, it is strongly recommended that you review the NMA and the regulation directly and seek any advice you consider appropriate from a qualified person.

For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300
Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 18 January 2010
Last Reviewed: 03 November 2014

Matières de source non agricole (MSNA)

Table des matières

  1. Que cont les matières de source non agricole (MSNA)?
  2. Quels sont les avantages d'utiliser des MSNA?
  3. Catégories de MSNA
  4. Normes et pratiques d'épandage sur les biens-fonds
  5. Renseignements à l'intention des municipalités qui reçoivent des MSNA
  6. Renseignements additionnels
    1. Pages Web
    2. Fiches techniques
    3. Renseignements sur la réglementation
  7. Rôle des ministères provinciaux
  8. Pour plus de renseignements
  9. Avertissement

Que sont les matières de source non agricole (MSNA)?

Les matières de source non agricole (MSNA) sont des matières traitées et recyclées de source non agricole, comme des feuilles et des déchets de jardin, des pelures de fruits et légumes, des déchets de transformation des aliments, des biosolides provenant de la pulpe et du papier, et des biosolides d'égouts. Ces MSNA sont épandues sur des terres agricoles pour fournir des bienfaits. Une liste complète des matières jugées être des MSNA est présentée à l'annexe 4 du Règlement sur la gestion des éléments nutritifs

Les MSNA ne comprennent pas le compost qui satisfait aux critères applicables au compost de catégorie AA ou A prévus à la partie II des Normes de qualité du compost en Ontario. Elles ne comprennent pas non plus les boues non traitées et les engrais commerciaux.

Le Règlement, pris en application de la Loi de 2002 sur la gestion des éléments nutritifs, stipule les règles qui visent l'entreposage, l'échantillonnage, l'analyse et l'épandage des MSNA.

Quels sont les avantages d'utiliser des MSNA?

Depuis plus de 30 ans, des MSNA sont épandues sur les biens-fonds agricoles de l'Ontario. Les MSNA fournissent de la matière organique qui peut aider à maintenir la productivité du sol, à réduire son érosion et à ajouter des éléments nutritifs importants pour les cultures. La santé du public et de l'environnement est protégée lorsque des MSNA sont épandues conformément aux règles et aux lignes directrices de l'Ontario.

Les MSNA vous offrent une option rentable pour améliorer la qualité du sol et fertiliser les cultures. Par exemple, comparativement au prix d'achat des engrais commerciaux, les agriculteurs peuvent économiser jusqu'à 200 $/hectare en épandant des MSNA, selon la culture, le type de MSNA utilisé et les pratiques de gestion adoptées pour l'épandage.

Catégories de MSNA

Le Règlement définit des normes et des exigences uniformes pour l'utilisation et la gestion des MSNA. Ces normes et exigences visent toute personne qui produit ou utilise des MSNA en Ontario. Les normes portent principalement sur la nature des matières qui sont épandues sur les terres et veillent à ce qu'elles satisfassent des critères stricts et soient bénéfiques pour les agriculteurs.

Les MSNA sont divisées en trois catégories. Les matières de toutes les catégories peuvent être épandues sur des biens-fonds agricoles.

  • Catégorie 1 : p. ex. résidus de feuilles et de jardin qui n'ont pas été compostés
  • Catégorie 2 : p. ex. déchets organiques qui ne contiennent ni viande ni poisson et qui sont issus de la transformation des aliments dans les boulangeries
  • Catégorie 3 : p. ex. biosolides de papetières, fumier de panse et biosolides d'égouts

Les normes d'épandage sur les biens-fonds varient selon la catégorie de MSNA et les autres caractéristiques des matières épandues.

Des MSNA ne peuvent pas être épandues si elles ont une des caractéristiques suivantes :

  • La teneur en un métal réglementé dépasse celle des MSNA TM2
  • La teneur en E. coli dépasse celle des MSNA TP2
  • Le seuil olfactif dépasse CO3

Normes et pratiques d'épandage sur les biens-fonds

Il y a un certain nombre de normes et pratiques d'épandage sur les biens-fonds qui visent à assurer que les MSNA sont épandues de façon écologique. Ces normes et pratiques limitent le lieu, le moment, la manière et la quantité de MSNA qui sont épandues dans des circonstances données et elles sont appliquées par le ministère de l'Environnement et de l'Action en matière de changement climatique (MEACC). Il s'agit de bonnes pratiques de gestion qui permettent à l'agriculteur d'utiliser des MSNA tout en protégeant les terres et l'eau contre des répercussions environnementales qui pourraient être néfastes.

Les sols agricoles sur lesquels les MSNA seront épandues doivent d'abord être analysés pour identifier leur pH, leur teneur en phosphore et les niveaux de concentration de 11 métaux réglementés. L'analyse permet d'assurer que le sol peut recevoir les MSNA.

Lorsqu'ils épandent des MSNA sur leurs biens-fonds, les agriculteurs doivent respecter une distance de retrait appropriée des éléments vulnérables, comme les puits, les eaux de surface ainsi que les résidences et entreprises avoisinantes, et ils doivent tenir compte des caractéristiques du terrain, comme les pentes et la profondeur du sol jusqu'à la roche-mère. Les matières doivent parfois être incorporées dans le sol afin de prévenir le dégagement d'odeurs ou l'écoulement des MSNA hors du champ. Les agriculteurs doivent toujours s'assurer qu'ils épandent la quantité appropriée de MSNA, compte tenu des matières qu'ils veulent appliquer, de la culture plantée et du sol.

Certaines cultures sont mieux à même de recevoir des MSNA que d'autres. Il existe des périodes d'attente obligatoires avant la récolte et le pâturage pour certaines cultures.

Les normes d'épandage relatives aux MSNA de catégories 2 et 3 doivent être documentées dans un plan MSNA. Un plan MSNA est un document légal qui démontre que l'épandage des MSNA est effectué correctement. Il tient compte de renseignements propres au terrain et démontre que les taux d'épandage des MSNA et d'autres éléments nutritifs conviennent aux cultures sur le terrain. Ce document comprend également un plan d'urgence qui décrit ce qui peut être fait dans le cas d'une urgence, comme un déversement. Les plans MSNA doivent être élaborés par un concepteur agréé de plans MSNA et doivent satisfaire les exigences du Règlement, du Protocole de gestion des éléments nutritifs, du Guide des odeurs MSNA et du Protocole d'échantillonnage et d'analyse. La plupart des plans MSNA doivent être approuvés par le ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales de l'Ontario (MAAARO).

Renseignements à l'intention des municipalités qui reçoivent des MSNA

Une fois qu'un plan MSNA est approuvé, le MAAARO avisera la municipalité locale (à palier inférieur ou unique) qu'un site d'épandage a été approuvé pour recevoir des MSNA. L'avis est envoyé au secrétaire de la municipalité et distribué selon les besoins.

Renseignements additionnels

Les ressources suivantes fournissent des renseignements plus précis sur les MSNA :

Pages Web

Fiches techniques

Regulatory information:

Rôle des ministères provinciaux

La Loi et le Règlement sont administrés par le MEACC et le MAAARO. La protection de l'environnement est l'une des principales priorités de ces deux ministères.

  • Le MAAARO est chargé des activités d'autorisation, de formation et de certification qui font que l'épandage des MSNA se déroulera sans risques.
  • Le MAAARO informe les municipalités locales (à palier inférieur ou unique) lorsqu'un plan MSNA visé par leur compétence est approuvé.
  • Le MEACC est chargé de l'application du Règlement.
  • Le MEACC effectue des inspections proactives et intervient en cas de plainte relative aux activités d'épandage pour assurer la conformité aux normes réglementaires et la protection de l'environnement. En cas d'effet néfaste réel ou potentiel, ou si un déversement est susceptible de nuire à la qualité de l'eau, il pourra invoquer la Loi sur la protection de l'environnement et (ou) la Loi sur les ressources en eau de l'Ontario. Vous pouvez communiquer toute inquiétude concernant la conformité aux normes d'épandage sur les biens-fonds au MEACC.

Pour plus de renseignements

Pour plus de renseignements sur la formation et la certification sur les MSNA, visitez le site Web de l'Université de Guelph, campus de Ridgetown. Pour plus de renseignements sur les MSNA, visitez le site Web du MAAARO ou communiquez avec le Centre d'information agricole au 1 877 424-1300 ou ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca.

Pour plus de renseignements sur la conformité et la mise en application, visitez le site Web du MEACC ou composez le 1 800 565-4923.

Avertissement

L'information qui figure sur cette page ne fait pas autorité. Elle est tirée de la Loi de 2002 sur la gestion des éléments nutritifs (LGEN) et de son Règlement général (Règl. de l'Ont. 267/03), et elle est fournie à titre purement indicatif. Nous avons fait tout notre possible pour présenter des informations exactes mais en cas de désaccord, de discordance ou d'erreur, les exigences stipulées dans la LGEN et le Règlement ont préséance. Veuillez consulter le site Web lois-en-ligne pour connaître les dispositions de la LGEN et du Règlement. De plus, l'exploitant agricole peut avoir d'autres obligations légales en vertu de diverses lois dont la présente page d'information Web ne traite pas. Le gouvernement de l'Ontario n'accepte aucune responsabilité pour toute information inexacte ou incomplète ou pour toute action en découlant. Avant de mettre en œuvre tout changement dans une exploitation, il est fortement recommandé de consulter directement la LGEN et le Règlement et, au besoin, de demander conseil à une personne qualifiée.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 22 decembre 2010
Dernière révision : 03 novembre 2014