Rural Ontario Leaders Awards

Rural communities are an essential part of our cultural and economic fabric and our government is committed to ensuring they remain vibrant places where our children can learn, grow, work and play.

That's why our government is launching the Rural Ontario Leaders Awards, to help celebrate the achievements of those who are dedicated to helping improve the quality of life and economic development of rural Ontario. The Rural Ontario Leaders Awards will recognize and celebrate rural residents, communities, regions, and businesses, who demonstrate leadership in building a stronger rural Ontario.

The awards will also help to raise the awareness of rural Ontario's ability to foster a competitive and innovative business environment, and help recognize the contribution of rural Ontario to the provincial economy.

One award will be provided in each of the following streams;

  • Individual Award (25 years of age and older)
  • Individual - Youth (24 years of age and younger)
  • Community (Municipality or Indigenous community)
  • Business
  • Not-for-profit/non-government organization

Every two years, this program will recognize outstanding leadership in the area of rural economic development, that support on or more of the following outcomes:

  • Training and Skills Development
  • Entrepreneurship and Local Employment
  • Strong Social infrastructure
  • Civic Engagement

Rural residents, communities, businesses and organizations are eligible to apply for an award, and can self-nominate through the application process. An application can also be submitted on behalf of an individual or group.

Submit your application on or before November 24, 2017, at 5:00 p.m. Eastern time, to be eligible.

If you have any questions on the Rural Ontario Leaders Awards program, please contact the Agricultural information Contact Centre at 1-877-424-1300, or at ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca, or visit our website at: ontario.ca/ruralleaders.



Author: OMAFRA Staff
Creation Date: 14 August 2017
Last Reviewed: 14 August 2017

Prix Leaders du milieu rural en Ontario

Les collectivités rurales constituent une partie essentielle de notre tissu culturel et économique, et notre gouvernement s'est engagé à faire en sorte qu'elles continuent d'être des lieux dynamiques où nos enfants peuvent apprendre, grandir, travailler et jouer.

Notre gouvernement lance donc le Programme des prix Leaders du milieu rural en Ontario dans le but de récompenser les réalisations de ceux qui se consacrent à l'amélioration de la qualité de vie et du développement économique de l'Ontario rural. Les prix Leaders du milieu rural en Ontario visent à reconnaître et à célébrer les collectivités, régions, entreprises et résidents ruraux qui font preuve de leadership en bâtissant un Ontario rural plus fort.

Ces prix contribueront également à conscientiser les gens sur la capacité de l'Ontario rural à s'inscrire dans un contexte commercial compétitif et novateur, et permettront de reconnaître la contribution de l'Ontario rural à l'économie provinciale.

Un prix sera décerné dans chacun des volets suivants :

  • Le prix du volet Particulier (personne âgée d'au moins 25 ans);
  • Le prix du volet Jeune particulier (personne âgée de 24 ans et moins);
  • Le prix du volet Communauté (municipalité ou communauté autochtone);
  • Le prix du volet Entreprise;
  • Le prix du volet Organisme sans but lucratif ou non gouvernemental.

Tous les deux ans, ce programme permettra de récompenser les démonstrations de leadership remarquable dans le domaine du développement économique rural, à l'appui d'un ou de plusieurs des éléments suivants :

  • Formation et perfectionnement des compétences;
  • Entrepreneuriat et emploi local;
  • Solide infrastructure sociale;
  • Engagement civique.

Les résidents, communautés, entreprises et organismes ruraux peuvent y participer dans le but de remporter un prix, et peuvent même se présenter eux-mêmes au moyen du processus de candidature. Une candidature peut également être présentée pour le compte d'un particulier ou d'un groupe

Présentez votre candidature au plus tard le 24 novembre 2017 à 17 h (heure de l'Est), pour être admissible.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le Programme des prix Leaders du milieu rural en Ontario, veuillez communiquer avec le Centre d'information agricole par téléphone au 1 877 424-1300, ou par courriel à ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca. Vous pouvez également consulter notre site Web à la page ontario.ca/leadersrurales.


Pour plus de renseignements :
Sans frais : 1 877 424-1300
Local : 519 826-4047
Courriel : ag.info.omafra@ontario.ca
Auteur : Le personnel du MAAARO
Date de création : 14 août 2017
Dernière révision : 14 août 2017