OMAFRA Minister Lisa Thompson

Lisa Thompson, Minister
Lisa Thompson, Minister

Minister Thompson was first elected to Queen's Park in October, 2011, re-elected in June, 2014, and she was elected for a third term in June, 2018 by more than 50% of the vote in Huron-Bruce, as part of the Ontario PC government.

On June 18, 2021, Minister Thompson was proudly appointed Ontario's 40th Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs by Premier Doug Ford. Prior to being Agriculture Minister, Minister Thompson served as Minister of Government and Consumer Services, Ontario's Registrar General and Minister of Education. Additional to her parliamentary roles, Minister Thompson is honoured to represent Ontario as Chair for Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians-Canada Region.

Minister Thompson was born and raised near Wingham in Huron County, but now calls Bruce County home as she lives near Teeswater on a farm that has been in her husband's family for 120 years. Minister Thompson is a graduate of the University of Guelph and is also an alumnus of Class 6 of the Advanced Agricultural Leadership Program and the George Morris Executive Leadership Program. Before entering into politics, Minister Thompson served as the General Manager of the Ontario Dairy Goat Cooperative (ODGC).

Minister Thompson has a long history of being an active and engaged citizen, working with many community organizations. She is a past Chair of the Ontario 4-H Foundation and also served as Vice-chair of Ontario Agri-Food Education Inc. (now known as Agscape).

For more information:
Toll Free: 1-877-424-1300